DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to in regards to the term, "HT" any abbreviation or shortened representations of a term should be spelled out completely upon its first use in each claim branch. Acronym HT was not completely stated out on first use in the branch that contains claims 1 and 11 though EHT was stated out.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2, 8-10, 11, 12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 20240259242), Park hereinafter.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Park teaches a method for use in a station (STA), the method comprising: receiving, from another STA, a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including a first aggregated-control (A-control) field that comprises a High Efficiency (HE)/Extremely High Throughput (EHT) subfield and a first primary secondary (PS)160 subfield, wherein the HT/EHT subfield indicates whether a second PPDU that will be transmitted by the STA is based on HE-related parameters or EHT-related parameters, and the first PS160 subfield indicates a primary 160 MHz channel or a secondary 160 MHz channel; and (paragraph discloses EHT, Primary/Secondary subfield and 160 MHz channel - [0276] The RU Allocation subfield may indicate the RU location of the EHT STA allocated to the EHT PPDU among DL A-PPDUs. Depending on the BW indicated by the actual UL BW and UL BW Extension subfield (which actually indicates the bandwidth of the DL EHT PPDU), B0 and PS160 subfield can be set as described above. Regardless of BW, it may always be set based on 160 MHz (since it is allocated within Secondary 160 MHz). In this case, a new subfield may be needed to distinguish the HE/EHT variant User Info field. When using a new Trigger frame variant, the HE/EHT Indication subfield (a different name may be used) can be defined in the HE/EHT variant User Info field. If the value of the HE/EHT Indication subfield is 0, it may indicate the HE variant User Info field. If the value of the HE/EHT Indication subfield is 1, it may indicate the EHT variant User Info field. Or, it can always be set based on 320 MHz regardless of BW. Among DL A-PPDUs, it is a PPDU transmitted on Secondary 160 MHz and is used to differentiate the HE/EHT variant User Info field (if there is no HE/EHT Indication subfield). It may be desirable for the actual EHT PPDU to be set based on the RU Allocation subfield indicating RU allocation of 320 MHz and Secondary 160 MHz. ... Paragraphs 0146 and 0159 discloses first and second aggregated control - [0146] A universal SIG (U-SIG) may be inserted after the RL-SIG of FIG. 10. The U-SIB may be called in various terms such as a first SIG field, a first SIG, a first type SIG, a control signal, a control signal field, a first (type) control signal, or the like. ... [0159] ... For example, when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 160 MHz, the PPDU may include a first U-SIG for a first 80 MHz band and a second U-SIG for a second 80 MHz band. In this case, a first field of the first U-SIG may include information related to a 160 MHz bandwidth, and a second field of the first U-SIG may include information related to a preamble puncturing (i.e., information related to a preamble puncturing pattern) applied to the first 80 MHz band. In addition, a first field of the second U-SIG may include information related to a 160 MHz bandwidth, and a second field of the second U-SIG may include information related to a preamble puncturing (i.e., information related to a preamble puncturing pattern) applied to the second 80 MHz band. ...)
transmitting, to the another STA, based on the HE/EHT subfield, the second PPDU including a second A-control field that comprises a second PS160 subfield, an EHT-modulation and coding scheme (MCS) subfield, and a number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield, wherein the second PS160 subfield indicates a 160 MHz channel determined from among the primary 160 MHz channel and the secondary 160 MHz channel based on the indication of the first PS160 subfield, wherein an index in the EHT-MCS subfield and a value in the NSS subfield are determined based on measurement of the determined 160 MHz channel. (paragraph 0135, 0150, 0278 and 0282 - [0135] A first bit (e.g., B0-B10) in the user field of the second format may include identification information of a user STA. In addition, a second bit (e.g., B11-B13) in the user field of the second format may include information related to the number of spatial streams applied to a corresponding RU. In addition, a third bit (e.g., B14) in the user field of the second format may include information related to whether a beamforming steering matrix is applied. A fourth bit (e.g., B15-B18) in the user field of the second format may include modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. In addition, a fifth bit (e.g., B19) in the user field of the second format may include information related to whether dual carrier modulation (DCM) is applied. In addition, a sixth bit (i.e., B20) in the user field of the second format may include information related to a coding type (e.g., BCC or LDPC). ... [0150] The A-bit information (e.g., 52 un-coded bits) transmitted by the U-SIG (or U-SIG field) may be divided into version-independent bits and version-dependent bits. ... For example, the version-independent bits and the version-dependent bits may be called in various terms such as a first control bit, a second control bit, or the like. ... [0278] The UL EHT-MCS subfield can be reinterpreted as the DL EHT-MCS subfield, and among the DL A-PPDUs, the UL EHT-MCS subfield may indicate EHT-MCS used in the data part transmitted to the EHT STA assigned to the EHT PPDU (i.e., indicated by the AID). When using a new trigger frame variant, the UL EHT-MCS subfield may be changed to the DL EHT-MCS subfield (a different name may be used). ... [0282] The SS Allocation subfield indicates the number of spatial streams used in the data part transmitted to the EHT STA allocated to the EHT PPDU (i.e., indicated by the AID) among the DL A-PPDUs.)
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Park teaches claims 1 and 11.
Park further teaches wherein the second A-control field further comprises an unsolicited MCS feedback (MFB) subfield, a resource unit (RU) allocation subfield, a bandwidth (BW) subfield, and a MCS request sequence index (MSI)/Partial PPDU parameters subfield (paragraph 0371 - The second RU allocation subfield may include allocation information for the second RU defined in the EHT wireless LAN system in the secondary 160 MHz channel based on the DL BW subfield, the DL BW Extension subfield, and the PS160 subfield.).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Park teaches claims 1 and 11.
Park further teaches wherein the HE/EHT subfield received in the first A-control field indicates to the STA that the EHT-related parameters are indicated in the second A-control field of the second PPDU. (paragraphs 0146 and 0159 - A universal SIG (U-SIG) may be inserted after the RL-SIG of FIG. 10. The U-SIB may be called in various terms such as a first SIG field, a first SIG, a first type SIG, a control signal, a control signal field, a first (type) control signal, or the like. ... [0159] ... For example, when the bandwidth of the PPDU is 160 MHz, the PPDU may include a first U-SIG for a first 80 MHz band and a second U-SIG for a second 80 MHz band. In this case, a first field of the first U-SIG may include information related to a 160 MHz bandwidth, and a second field of the first U-SIG may include information related to a preamble puncturing (i.e., information related to a preamble puncturing pattern) applied to the first 80 MHz band. In addition, a first field of the second U-SIG may include information related to a 160 MHz bandwidth, and a second field of the second U-SIG may include information related to a preamble puncturing (i.e., information related to a preamble puncturing pattern) applied to the second 80 MHz band. ...)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Park teaches claims 1 and 11.
Park further teaches wherein the EHT-related parameters includes the index, the value, a primary/secondary 160 MHz channel indication, and an EHT PPDU format (paragrapsh 0131, 0192 and 0262 - An MCS, MCS information, an MCS index, an MCS field, or the like used in the present specification may be indicated by an index value. ... [0192] FIG. 10 shows a representative EHT MU PPDU format. … [0262] For 320 MHz bandwidth, X1 is set to 0 to indicate that RU/MRU allocation applies to the lower 160 MHz segment, and is set to 1 to indicate that the RU/MRU allocation applies to the high 160 MHz segment. X0 is set to 0 to indicate that the RU/MRU allocation applies to the lower 80 MHz subblock, and is set to 1 to indicate that RU/MRU allocation applies to the high 80 MHz subblock. The configuration represents the frequency order of the primary and secondary 80 MHz and 160 MHz channels. The order from left to right represents the order from low to high frequencies. The primary 80 MHz channel is indicated as P80, the secondary 80 MHz channel is indicated as S80, and the secondary 160 MHz channel is indicated as S160.)
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Park teaches claims 1 and 11. Park further teaches wherein the another STA is an access point (AP) or a non-AP STA. (paragraph 0056 - For example, the STAs 110 and 120 may serve as an AP or a non-AP. That is, the STAs 110 and 120 of the present specification may serve as the AP and/or the non-AP.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0259242), Park hereinafter, in view of Hedayat (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0020460), Hedayat hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 3, Park teaches claim 2.
Yet, Park does not expressly teach further comprising: determining, based on one or more RUs indicated in the RU allocation subfield and a BW indicated in the BW subfield, a size and location of the one or more RUs in the 160 MHz channel to measure a channel quality; and determining, based on the channel quality, the index of the EHT-MCS subfield and the value of the NSS subfield for the transmission of the second PPDU to the another STA.
However, in the analogous art, Hedayat explicitly discloses further comprising: determining, based on one or more RUs indicated in the RU allocation subfield and a BW indicated in the BW subfield, a size and location of the one or more RUs in the 160 MHz channel to measure a channel quality; (paragraph 0056 - An HE Control subfield that is used to carry information regarding CQIC is referred to herein as an HEC-CQIC subfield. An HEC-CQIC subfield may carry information regarding channel quality (e.g., MCS/NSS recommendation or signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measurement). The channel quality information may include information regarding CQIC token, MCS feedback, NSS feedback, SNR report, BW, and RU index. In one embodiment, a reserved value for RU index indicates that the feedback reports are for full band. Other values for RU index indicate the specific RU that the feedback (e.g., MCS/NSS/SINR) is reported for. In one embodiment, an HEC-CQIC subfield may include a CQI request subfield that is used to indicate that a CQI measurement report is requested, a CQI report subfield that is used to indicate that a CQI measurement report is being provided, a CQI request type subfield that is used to indicate the CQI request type, a CQI report subfield that is used to carry a CQI measurement report, an RU index subfield that is used to carry information regarding the RU that the CQI measurement report is being requested/provided for, a CQI token subfield that is used to indicate a CQI token, a measurement request subfield that is used to carry information regarding the type of frame and/or specific field of a frame that measurement is requested for, a measurement report subfield that is used to carry information regarding the type of frame and/or specific field of a frame that measurement is reported based upon, a measurement report bandwidth subfield that is used to carry information regarding the bandwidth of a frame that measurement is reported based upon (or report is prepared from multiple frames with the same or different bandwidth), a measurement request bandwidth subfield that is used to carry information regarding the bandwidth of a frame that measurement report is requested for (or that the report may be prepared from multiple frames with the same or different bandwidth), a measurement report beamforming subfield that is used to indicate whether the frame that measurement report is prepared from is beamformed or not, a measurement request beamforming subfield that is used to indicate whether the frame that the measurement report is requested is to be prepared from is to be beamformed or not.)
and determining, based on the channel quality, the index of the EHT-MCS subfield and the value of the NSS subfield for the transmission of the second PPDU to the another STA (paragraph 0056 - An HE Control subfield that is used to carry information regarding CQIC is referred to herein as an HEC-CQIC subfield. An HEC-CQIC subfield may carry information regarding channel quality (e.g., MCS/NSS recommendation or signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measurement). The channel quality information may include information regarding CQIC token, MCS feedback, NSS feedback, SNR report, BW, and RU index. In one embodiment, a reserved value for RU index indicates that the feedback reports are for full band. Other values for RU index indicate the specific RU that the feedback (e.g., MCS/NSS/SINR) is reported for. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s method and device for configuring trigger frame including control information for DL A-PPDU in WLAN system to include Hedayat's channel quality, Bandwidth and RU information for adaptation to radio condition thereby maximizing throughput.
Regarding Claim 13, Park teaches claim 12.
Yet, Park does not expressly teach the STA of claim 12, further comprising: a processor configured to: determine, based on one or more RUs indicated in the RU allocation subfield and a BW indicated in the BW subfield, a size and location of the one or more RUs in the 160 MHz channel to measure a channel quality; and determine, based on the channel quality, the index of the EHT-MCS subfield and the value of the NSS subfield for the transmission of the second PPDU to the another STA.
However, in the analogous art, Hedayat explicitly discloses the STA of claim 12, further comprising: a processor configured to: (paragraph 0133 - The PHY processor 15 includes a transmitting signal processing unit 100 and a receiving signal processing unit 200 described further herein below with reference to FIGS. 12 and 13.)
determine, based on one or more RUs indicated in the RU allocation subfield and a BW indicated in the BW subfield, a size and location of the one or more RUs in the 160 MHz channel to measure a channel quality; (paragraph 0056 - An HE Control subfield that is used to carry information regarding CQIC is referred to herein as an HEC-CQIC subfield. An HEC-CQIC subfield may carry information regarding channel quality (e.g., MCS/NSS recommendation or signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measurement). The channel quality information may include information regarding CQIC token, MCS feedback, NSS feedback, SNR report, BW, and RU index. In one embodiment, a reserved value for RU index indicates that the feedback reports are for full band. Other values for RU index indicate the specific RU that the feedback (e.g., MCS/NSS/SINR) is reported for. In one embodiment, an HEC-CQIC subfield may include a CQI request subfield that is used to indicate that a CQI measurement report is requested, a CQI report subfield that is used to indicate that a CQI measurement report is being provided, a CQI request type subfield that is used to indicate the CQI request type, a CQI report subfield that is used to carry a CQI measurement report, an RU index subfield that is used to carry information regarding the RU that the CQI measurement report is being requested/provided for, a CQI token subfield that is used to indicate a CQI token, a measurement request subfield that is used to carry information regarding the type of frame and/or specific field of a frame that measurement is requested for, a measurement report subfield that is used to carry information regarding the type of frame and/or specific field of a frame that measurement is reported based upon, a measurement report bandwidth subfield that is used to carry information regarding the bandwidth of a frame that measurement is reported based upon (or report is prepared from multiple frames with the same or different bandwidth), a measurement request bandwidth subfield that is used to carry information regarding the bandwidth of a frame that measurement report is requested for (or that the report may be prepared from multiple frames with the same or different bandwidth), a measurement report beamforming subfield that is used to indicate whether the frame that measurement report is prepared from is beamformed or not, a measurement request beamforming subfield that is used to indicate whether the frame that the measurement report is requested is to be prepared from is to be beamformed or not.)
and determine, based on the channel quality, the index of the EHT-MCS subfield and the value of the NSS subfield for the transmission of the second PPDU to the another STA (paragraph 0056 - An HE Control subfield that is used to carry information regarding CQIC is referred to herein as an HEC-CQIC subfield. An HEC-CQIC subfield may carry information regarding channel quality (e.g., MCS/NSS recommendation or signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measurement). The channel quality information may include information regarding CQIC token, MCS feedback, NSS feedback, SNR report, BW, and RU index. In one embodiment, a reserved value for RU index indicates that the feedback reports are for full band. Other values for RU index indicate the specific RU that the feedback (e.g., MCS/NSS/SINR) is reported for. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s method and device for configuring trigger frame including control information for DL A-PPDU in WLAN system to include Hedayat's channel quality, Bandwidth and RU information for adaptation to radio condition thereby maximizing throughput.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0259242), Park hereinafter, in view of Hedayat (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0020460), Hedayat hereinafter and further in view of Huang (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0379760), Huang hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Park in view of Hedayat teaches claim 3 and 13.
Yet, Park in view of Hedayat does not expressly teach 4. The method of claim 3, wherein the one or more RUs in the RU allocation subfield are an RU or multiple RUs (MRU), the index is a EHT MCS index, and the value represents a number of spatial streams.
However, in the analogous art, Huang explicitly discloses wherein the one or more RUs in the RU allocation subfield are an RU or multiple RUs (MRU), the index is a EHT MCS index, and the value represents a number of spatial streams (paragraph 0112 - FIG. 6F is a block diagram illustrating a format of the Recommended Parameters subfield in the MFB subfield in FIG. 6C. As illustrated in FIG. 6F, the Recommended Parameters subfield may include a RU Allocation subfield, a BW subfield, a Coding Type subfield, an EHT-MCS subfield and a number of spatial streams (NSS) subfield. The RU Allocation subfield is set to indicate a RU or MRU for which the recommended EHT-MCS applies to the PPDU. The BW subfield is set to indicate the bandwidth for which the recommended EHT-MCS applies to the PPDU. The RU Allocation subfield is interpreted with the BW subfield to specify the RU or MRU. When the Unsolicited MFB subfield of the MFB Control subfield is set to 0 to indicate the solicited MFB, the RU Allocation subfield and the BW subfield are reserved. The Coding Type subfield is set to indicate the coding type for which the recommended EHT-MCS applies to the PPDU. The EHT-MCS subfield is set to indicate the recommended EHT-MCS for the PPDU. The NSS subfield is set to indicate the recommended number of spatial streams for the PPDU.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s method and device for configuring trigger frame including control information for DL A-PPDU in WLAN system to include Huang's NSS, RU or MRU subfield for matching recommended EHT-MCS to maximize throughput.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Park teaches claim 2 and 12.
Yet, Park does not expressly teach wherein, on a condition that the unsolicited MFB is zero (0) or false, the MSI/Partial PPDU parameters subfield includes a sequence number indicating a PPDU that the STA received for a EHT MCS feedback request or the STA transmitted for a EHT MCS feedback response.
However, in the analogous art, Chun explicitly discloses wherein, on a condition that the unsolicited MFB is zero (0) or false, the MSI/Partial PPDU parameters subfield includes a sequence number indicating a PPDU that the STA received for a EHT MCS feedback request or the STA transmitted for a EHT MCS feedback response (paragraph 0222 - If the Unsolicited MFB subfield is 0 and the MRQ subfield is 1, the MSI/Partial PPDU parameters subfield contains a sequence number (within the range 0 to 6) that identifies the specific HE-MCS feedback request. If the Unsolicited MFB subfield is 0 and the MRQ subfield is 0, the MSI/Partial PPDU parameters subfield contains the sequence number in response to the specific solicited HE-MCS feedback request (within the range 0 to 6)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s method and device for configuring trigger frame including control information for DL A-PPDU in WLAN system to include Chun's MCS feedback and coding type subfield for adaptation to radio condition thereby maximizing throughput.
Regarding Claim 6 and 16, Park teaches claims 2 and 12.
Yet, Park does not expressly teach wherein, on a condition that the unsolicited MFB is one (1) or true, the MSI/Partial PPDU parameters subfield includes a value indicating an EHT PPDU format and Coding Type that the STA measured for a channel quality.
However, in the analogous art, Chun explicitly discloses wherein, on a condition that the unsolicited MFB is one (1) or true, the MSI/Partial PPDU parameters subfield includes a value indicating an EHT PPDU format and Coding Type that the STA measured for a channel quality (paragraphs 0223 and 0241 to 0248 - If the Unsolicited MFB subfield is 1, the MSI/Partial PPDU parameters subfield includes a PPDU Format subfield and a Coding Type subfield, as shown in FIG. 14. ... [0241] In the unsolicited MFB response, the PPDU Formats, Coding Type and Tx Beamforming subfields are set according to the RXVECTOR parameters of the received PPDU for which HE-MCS, RU, BW and NSS are estimated as follows: [0242] i) The PPDU format subfield is set and encoded as follows: [0243] 0 if the parameter FORMAT equals HE_SU [0244] 1 if the parameter FORMAT equals HE_MU [0245] 2 if the parameter FORMAT equals HE_ER_SU [0246] 3 if the parameter FORMAT equals HE_TB [0247] ii) The Coding Type subfield is set to 0 if the FEC_CODING parameter is equal to BCC_CODING, and is set to 1 if the parameter is equal to LDPC_CODING. [0248] iii) The Tx Beamforming subfield is set to 1 if the BEAMFORMED parameter is 1, and is set to 0 if the parameter is 0. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s method and device for configuring trigger frame including control information for DL A-PPDU in WLAN system to include Chun's MCS feedback and coding type subfield for adaptation to radio condition thereby maximizing throughput.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Park in view of Chun teaches claim 6 and 16.
Park further teaches 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the EHT PPDU format includes an EHT multi-user (MU) PPDU and an EHT trigger-based (TB) PPDU, and the Coding Type includes Binary Convolutional Codes (BCC) and Low-Density Parity-Check (LDPC) (paragraph 0135 - A first bit (e.g., B0-B10) in the user field of the second format may include identification information of a user STA. In addition, a second bit (e.g., B11-B13) in the user field of the second format may include information related to the number of spatial streams applied to a corresponding RU. In addition, a third bit (e.g., B14) in the user field of the second format may include information related to whether a beamforming steering matrix is applied. A fourth bit (e.g., B15-B18) in the user field of the second format may include modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. In addition, a fifth bit (e.g., B19) in the user field of the second format may include information related to whether dual carrier modulation (DCM) is applied. In addition, a sixth bit (i.e., B20) in the user field of the second format may include information related to a coding type (e.g., BCC or LDPC). ... [0139] The PPDU of FIG. 10 may indicate the entirety or part of a PPDU type used in the EHT system. For example, the example of FIG. 10 may be used for both of a single-user (SU) mode and a multi-user (MU) mode. In other words, the PPDU of FIG. 10 may be a PPDU for one receiving STA or a plurality of receiving STAs.When the PPDU of FIG. 10 is used for a trigger-based (TB) mode, the EHT-SIG of FIG. 10 may be omitted. ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2016/0330714 which describes multiplexing acknowledgment messages in response to downlink frames
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0030604 which describes signaling method for multiplexing different amendment devices in an enhanced wireless local area network
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472