Response to Arguments
In the remarks filed on 04/09/2026. The applicant amended claims 1, 8, 9, and 11-14 are amended. Claims 15-18 are added.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §112 rejections:
Applicant’ claim amendments and remarks filed on 04/09/2026 have been fully considered and overcame the 112 rejections for claim 8 and 12 and only partially overcomes for claim 11 as presented in the non-final office action filed 01/30/2026. Therefore, 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections:
Applicant’ claim amendments and remarks filed on 04/09/2026 have been fully considered and overcome for claim 14 but does not overcome the 101 rejections form claims 1-14 as presented in the non-final office action filed 01/30/2026.
Applicant ‘s argument have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant contends that the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more because the claimed method permits identification of new or unanticipated kill chains without specific path being known in advance.
Examiner acknowledges that the specification describes identifying previously undefined combinations of known attack techniques as a benefit disclosed system. However, eligibility is determined based on subject matter actually recited in the claims. Claim 1 broadly recites defining and associating categories of cybersecurity information, detecting events, corelating and linking the detected information, and identifying an attack path from the linked information. These limitations constitute the collection, classification, organization, and analysis of information. The amended limitation requiring identification of attack paths “without these one or more paths of attack techniques being known in advance” does not recite a particular technical mechanism for producing the identified paths. Rather, the limitation describes the prior status of the information and the desired result of the analysis. The claim does not specify a particular detection rule structure, event linking algorithm, graph processing technique, or other technical operation that improves the functioning of the computer or network itself. In addition, the present claim use generic computing components to analyze cybersecurity event information without reciting a comparable technical implementation.
The dependent claims further recite determining frequencies, ordering events, comparing likelihoods or risk, generating strategies, or applying unspecified mitigation measures. These limitations either constitute further analysis of information or merely instruct that the result of analysis be applied without specifying a particular technical mitigation, network component, system parameter or configuration change. In dependent claims 13 and 14 recite the same abstract process using generic processor, memory and storage medium. Thus, when considering individually or in combination, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into practical application and do not recite additional elements for significantly more than the judicial exception. Hence, The rejection of claims 1-18 under 101 is therefore maintained.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §102 and 103 rejections:
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/09/2026 have been received and entered.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the newly amended independent claims, see Applicant Arguments 12-14, with respect to the rejection (s) of independent claims 1,13 and 14 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues the amended limitation requires discovery of an entirely new or previously unknown unanticipated kill chain. However, claim 1 only requires that particular path ultimate identified from the linked attack events was not known in advance. The claim does not require that tactic sequence, possible techniques, or attack framework be previously unknown. Hertz teaches a sequence of tactics, each associated with multiple possible techniques. Hertz identifies the techniques actually performed matching actual events to corresponding event types and links the implemented techniques using common properties to create a “relation chain”, See Herz, [0025], [0054], [0056-0057], and [0076]. Thus, Although the possible tactics and techniques are predefined, the particular technique chain representing observed attack is determined from the actual linked events and is not known as the realized path before those events are analyzed. Under BRI, Hertz therefore teaches the amended limitation.
Applicant’s reliance on the office action’s statement does not “explicitly teach” identifying one or more paths is also unpersuasive. Herz may not use the identical claim terminology; however, Hertz functionally identifies such path by identifying implemented techniques from actual events and forming a relation chain between the implemented techniques across successive tactics. Hassanzadeh further teaches rule-based attack event detection, classification of alerts according to cyber kill chain stages, correlation of the alerts, and identification of multistage attack paths, see Hassanzadeh at [0025][0028,[0036] [0050] and [0066]. Therefore, the combination teaches or renders obvious the amended limitation and Applicant’s argument does not overcome the rejection. Thus, 103 rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 8, Applicant argues that Herz predicts only a subsequent tactic. However, Hertz further teaches predicting “one or more cyber techniques associated with the next step cyber tactic that will be used by the adversary”, see Hertz [0079]. Hertz selects or predicts from multiple techniques potentially associated with subsequent tactic, one or more particular techniques expected to be used by the adversary. Under BRI, predicting particular techniques from among multiple possible techniques reasonably identifies the predicted techniques a having higher likelihood of progression to or occurrence in the subsequent tactic than other, non-predicted techniques. Claim 8 does not require assigning numerical probabilities, or ranking every possible techniques. Therefore, under BRI, Hertz teaches or suggests the claim 8,. Applicant argument does not overcome the rejection of claim 8. Thus, rejection has been maintained.
Claim Objections
Regarding claims 10, and 11, Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because they introduce attack paths, whereas claim recites “path of attack techniques” Consistent terminology should be used. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite the limitation " identifying one or more paths of attack techniques through the sequence in dependence on the linked attack events and without these one or more paths of attack techniques being known in advance”. The phrase “known in advance” doesn’t provide an objective boundary for determining the scope of the claims. It is unclear whose knowledge controls the satisfies faction of the limitation such as claimed computer system, cybersecurity analyst etc., and al not clear when the relevant knowledge is evaluated such as before defining the tactic sequence, before detecting attack events or immediately before identifying the path. It is further unclear whether an attack path is “known” when path has been recognized. Examiner suggest applicant to clarify the scope of the claim 1. Same applies for independent claims 13 and 14. Dependent claims are also rejected for inheriting the deficiencies set forth above for independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant amended claim 11 to recite “identifying attack paths having a higher security risk to the system or network than other attack paths and employing mitigation measures in relation to the identified attack paths”. The amendment resolves the previously identified uncertainty concerning what degree risk qualifies as absolutely high, because the claim now recites a comparative relationship. However, the amendment does not resolve the separate uncertainty concerning how “security risk” is determined. The specification discusses multiple possible measures such as frequency, likelihood of progression, severity of harm , system vulnerability which may produce different risk rankings. The claim does not specify which consideration or combination of considerations governs the comparison. The claim also does not specify whether the identified path must have a higher risk than one other path, all the paths or defined baseline. Therefore, the scope of “higher security risk “ cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claims 1, 13 and 14:
Step1:
Claims 1 is drawn to “a method”, claim 13 is drawn to “a system”, and claim 14 is drawn to “ a computer program product”, therefore each of these claim groups falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claims 1, 13, and 14 are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more. Each of claims 1, 13, and 14 recites limitations “defining a sequence of attack tactics, each attack tactic representing a generalization of a set of attack techniques”, “associating one or more attack detection rules with each of the attack techniques; detecting attack events based on the attack detection rules”, “correlating the detected attack events with the attack tactics based on the attack technique associated with the attack detection rule used to detect the attack events”, and “linking the detected attack events based on one or more criteria” and “identifying one or more paths of attack techniques through the sequence in dependence on the linked attack events and without these one or more paths of attack techniques being known in advance” that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerates abstract ideas. Other than reciting a generic “a processor and memory” (Claim 13), nothing in the claims preclude the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, other than the “a processor” language, the claims encompass a user visually and manually define sequences of attack tactics and techniques, associate detection rules with techniques, detect attack events based on rules, corelate and link detected event based on criteria, and identify attack paths through the sequence. The mere nominal recitation of a generic computer component (a processor) to automate the mental steps and are nothing more than abstract ideas(See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(III)).
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Claim 1 do not recite any additional elements/or steps that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. However, claims 13, and 14 recites additional element “memory” to store computer program instructions and “one or more computer processors” to execute the computer program instructions. The computer memory and the computer processor are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions to store and to process data respectively). These generic computer functions are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B:
The additional elements “memory” to store computer program instructions and “a processor” to execute the computer program instructions are no more than generic, off-the-shelf computer components, and the Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs, and Versata court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection/receipt of data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory are well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(IV)). As such, claims 1, 13, and 14 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-12, and 15-18:
Step 1:
Claims 2-12 are drawn to “a method” and 15-18 drawn to a “a system”, therefore each of these claims falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Steps 2A-2B:
Dependent claims 2-12 and 15-18 are also ineligible for the same reasons given with respect to claims 1 and 14. Claims 2-12 and 15-18 recite further abstract ideas of adding additional analysis such as frequency analysis, timestamps, trend analysis, likelihood prediction, risk identification (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Claims 2-12 and 15-18 fail to recite any additional elements/steps that might integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As such, claims 2-12 and 15-18 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertz (US 20250133110 A1) in view of Hassanzadeh (US 20190141058 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hertz teaches a computer implemented security method for detecting attacks on a system or network, the method comprising:
defining a sequence of attack tactics, each attack tactic representing a generalization of a set of attack techniques (Hertz, the attack-vector scenario comprising a sequence of cyber tactics, each of the cyber tactics (i.e., a sequence of attack tactics) being associated with one or more respective cyber techniques (i.e., a set of attack techniques) which are possible manifestations of the corresponding cyber tactic in the context of the attack-vector scenario, each cyber technique is associated with a corresponding event type of a plurality of event types that can occur on one or more entities of an organizational network, wherein occurrence of an actual event of the respective event type indicates implementation of the respective cyber technique, [0016] An attack-vector scenario 110 (i.e. attack path) is a sequence of steps taken by an adversary to attack an organizational network. The attack-vector scenario 110 is associated with a sequence of cyber tactics (e.g., cyber tactic A 120-a, cyber tactic B 120-b, . . . , cyber tactic N 120-n). Each cyber tactic embodies a logical step within the respective attack-vector scenario. Each cyber tactic represents the “why” behind the adversary's cyber-attack action. Each cyber tactic describes what the adversary is trying to accomplish in that step, [0051] Each cyber technique represents “how” an adversary achieves a tactical goal of the corresponding cyber tactic by performing a cyber-attack action. ..a persistence attack-vector scenario 110 and its two associated cyber tactics: discovery cyber tactic and persistence cyber tactic. The discovery cyber tactic can be associated with one or more cyber techniques. For example, with a file and directory discovery cyber technique, where adversaries enumerate files and directories within systems of the attacked organizational network or may search within specific locations of the attacked organizational network share for certain information within a file system. Adversaries may use the information gathered by the file and directory discovery cyber technique during follow-on cyber tactics, [0052]);
associating one or more attack detection rules with each of the attack techniques (Hertz, Each cyber technique is associated with one or more event types that can occur on one or more entities of the attacked organizational network. Each entity can be an asset of the attacked organization, [0054] Identifying cyber techniques that actually occurred on the attacked organizational network can be achieved by matching the event types of the actual events with the event types associated with the cyber techniques…common property/validation analysis can be based on machine learning, rule set analysis, knowledge base, [0056] …a rule-set is used to analyze the relevant actual events and their properties to find that there is a casual connection, for example the date and time of both actual events are within a predefined time window, so there is an indication of occurrence of the persistence attack-vector scenario 110 within the attacked organizational network. [0057]);
detecting attack events based on the attack detection rules (Hertz, information about actual events that occurred on the one or more entities of the organizational network, wherein each of the actual events is associated with a respective actual event type; identifying based on the information, the cyber techniques that occurred on the organizational network by matching the actual event types with the event types associated with the cyber techniques, giving rise to implemented cyber techniques, [0025] each cyber technique is associated with a corresponding event type of a plurality of event types that can occur on one or more entities of an organizational network, wherein occurrence of an actual event of the respective event type indicates implementation of the respective cyber technique, and (b) information about actual events that occurred on the one or more entities of the organizational network, wherein each of the actual events is associated with a respective actual event type, [0069] Example events can include: creation of a file on an endpoint of the organizational network, creation of a process—for example creation of a log process with full command line permissions for the current and parent process, execution of a command—for example execution of a “dir” command utilizing a command line of an endpoint, replacement of a file—for example replacement of a “msfte.dll” DLL file within an endpoint, deletion of a file, termination of a process, change of a name of a file on a device, change of a name of a process, loading of a driver, loading of a DLL, accessing a disk, opening of a network connection, changes to values of a registry, or any other event occurring on an asset of the organizational network, [0070] the cyber security system 200 can be an Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) system monitoring endpoints connected through the organizational network, a Security Information and Events Management (SIEM) system, or any other cyber security system, [0074]) [Examiner interprets that system obtaining information about actual events from assets (EDR/SEIM) such as command executions, file replacement, process creations etc., as limitation above];
correlating the detected attack events with the attack tactics based on the attack technique associated with the attack detection rule used to detect the attack events (Hertz, identifying based on the information, the cyber techniques that occurred on the organizational network by matching the actual event types with the event types associated with the cyber techniques, giving rise to implemented cyber techniques, [0025] A given cyber tactic has occurred within the attacked organizational network when one or more of the cyber techniques associated with the given cyber tactic become implemented cyber techniques. When each of the cyber tactics forming the attack-vector scenario 110, is associated with at least one of the implemented cyber techniques the attack-vector scenario 110 has occurred within the attacked organizational network, [0056]) [Examiner interprets that correlating events to techniques by matching event types that which function as rule to technique association and then treating tactics as occurring when one or more techniques for that tactic are implemented as limitation above];
linking the detected attack events based on one or more criteria (Hertz, The common properties between each of the pairs create a relation chain between the implemented cyber techniques, this chain is in the context of the adversary who is trying to perpetrate the attack-vector scenario 110 within the attacked organizational network…The common property can be found in one or more dimensions of the implemented cyber techniques. For example: time dimension—the implemented cyber techniques occurred within a predefined time window, location dimension—the implemented cyber techniques occurred within one or more entities of the attacked organizational network having a connection between them, cyber tool dimension—the cyber tools used for executing the implemented cyber techniques are the same, and any other dimension of the implemented cyber techniques and their properties, [0056] a rule-set is used to analyze the relevant actual events and their properties to find that there is a casual connection, for example the date and time of both actual events are within a predefined time window, so there is an indication of occurrence of the persistence attack-vector scenario 110 within the attacked organizational network, [0057]) [Examiner interpret that system linking implemented techniques/events across successive tactics using “common properties” such as time window, location, tool similarity etc., to create a relation chain as limitation above]; and
identifying one or more paths of attack techniques through the sequence in dependence on the linked attack events and without these one or more paths of attack techniques being known in advance (Hertz, When each of the cyber tactics forming the attack-vector scenario 110, is associated with at least one of the implemented cyber techniques the attack-vector scenario 110 has occurred within the attacked organizational network, … The common properties between each of the pairs create a relation chain between the implemented cyber techniques, this chain is in the context of the adversary who is trying to perpetrate the attack-vector scenario 110 within the attacked organizational network, [0056] After obtaining the attack-vector scenarios 110 and the information, the cyber security system 200 can be further configured to identify, based on the information, the cyber techniques that occurred on the organizational network by matching the actual event types with the event types associated with the cyber techniques, giving rise to implemented cyber techniques.. each of the cyber tactics forming the attack vector scenario, is associated with at least one of the implemented cyber techniques, and (b) each pair of implemented cyber techniques associated with a pair of subsequent cyber tactics is associated with a respective common property, [0076]) [Examiner interprets that system identifying multiple tactics in a scenario have occurred and using common property chaining across successive tactics (i.e., a relation chain) as limitation above];
Although Herz teaches mapping event types to cyber techniques whose occurrence indicates implementation of the technique, and it describes using rule sets /ML/expert knowledge to analyze and validate connections, [0056,0057], but
Herz does not explicitly teach:
associating one or more attack detection rules with each of the attack techniques; detecting attack events based on the attack detection rules; identifying one or more paths of attack techniques
However, Hassanzadeh teaches:
associating one or more attack detection rules with each of the attack techniques (Hassanzadeh, rule-based filtering performed by each of the rule-based filters 310 and 312 can remove irrelevant events/alerts (e.g., events/alerts that are not determined to be associated with a potential attack) based on a target's profile and/or characteristics of the events/alerts. Rule-based filtering, for example, may apply to defined rules that discard particular events/alerts (e.g., false positives) based on how frequently events/alerts with certain characteristics occur, and their relative rate of change with regard to occurrence, [0036]) [Examiner interprets that system using rule-based filters function as attack detection rules to detect attack events corresponding to techniques/kill chain steps].
detecting attack events based on the attack detection rules (Hassanzadeh, alerts may be triggered in response to an event or a sequence of events, [0025] an appropriate rule-based filter may reference profile data from an appropriate network data source for a target that corresponds to the event/alert (e.g., based on device address), and can determine whether the received event/alert indicates a potential attack, [0036]) [Examiner interprets that system using rule-based filters function as attack detection rules to detect attack events corresponding to techniques/kill chain steps].
identifying one or more paths of attack techniques (Hassanzadeh, one or more attack paths can be determined, each representing a potential path an adversary can take to get into different targets in the network, [0028] The attack path database 520 can include multiple known attack paths or attack trees, where each attack path represents the potential paths an adversary can take to get into different targets (e.g., assets in the IT network domain 102 and/or assets in the OT network domain 104) in the IIOT network, [0050] an attack path 610 can be identified where the attack path 610 includes one alert for each step in the defined IT CKC/ICS CKC, such that the attack path begins with a first step in the CKC (e.g., reconnaissance 608a) and ends with a final step in the ICS CKC (e.g., execute 6081). For example, alert 602a is a first “reconnaissance” step in the CKC depicted in the correlation graph 600, and alert 602b is a final “execute” step in the ICS CKC following attack path 610, [0066]) [Examiner interprets that system identifying, storing and traversing attack paths that spans multiple stages as limitation above].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Hertz to include a concept of associating one or more attack detection rules with each of the attack techniques; detecting attack events based on the attack detection rules; identifying one or more paths of attack techniques as taught by Hunt for the purpose of filtering, aggregating, and correlating data from event/alert logs from each domain (e.g., IT and OT domains), and classifying each alert with a respective step in an IT cyber kill chain (IT CKC) and/or an industrial control system cyber kill chain (ICS CKC), detecting complex attack patterns, reporting the attack patterns (e.g., visualization data) to a security analyst, and implementing appropriate courses of action. [Hassanzadeh: 0011].
Regarding claim 2, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein the set of attack techniques represented by an attack tactic have a common or similar purpose (Hertz, Each cyber tactic represents the “why” behind the adversary's cyber-attack action. Each cyber tactic describes what the adversary is trying to accomplish in that step. In general, the cyber tactic represents the tactical objective and the reason behind the cyber-attack action of the adversary. The cyber tactic is the adversary's tactical goal: the reason for performing that certain cyber-attack action as part of the attack vector scenario 110, [0051] Each cyber technique represents “how” an adversary achieves a tactical goal of the corresponding cyber tactic by performing a cyber-attack action. Each cyber technique is a possible manifestation of the corresponding cyber tactic in the context of the attack-vector scenario 110, [0052]);
Regarding claim 3, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, comprising automatically generating a multi-stage attack detection and/or mitigation strategy for inclusion in an attack detection tool based on the identified path(s) of attack techniques (Hertz, The prediction made by cyber security system 200 can be based on the parts of the sequence of cyber tactics of the attack-vector scenario 110 that have already been identified …The prediction can be based on: machine learning, one or more rule sets, experts' knowledgebase or any other method to identify common properties between two or more cyber techniques…. using a rule set for the prediction, the identification of the occurrence of a given cyber tactic within the organizational network can be used by cyber security system 200 to predict that the next step cyber tactic is a subsequent cyber tactic, subsequent to the given cyber tactic within the sequence of cyber tactics of the attack-vector scenario 110, [0077] cyber security system 200 can predict one or more cyber techniques associated with the next step cyber tactic that will be used by the adversary and in some cases, even the properties of the actual events associated with the predicted next step of the adversary. The prevention action can optionally rely on these predictions. Some non-limiting examples of a prevention action can include one or more of: (a) report the next step cyber tactic to the user of the cyber security system, (b) simulate the next step cyber tactic, (c) implement one or more honeypots within one or more entities of the organizational network wherein events associated with the next step cyber tactic can occur, or (d) any other action of actions that can be done to prevent the next step cyber tactic, [0079]) [Examiner interprets that predicting next tactic and performing prevention actions such as report/simulate/honeypots as automated detection/mitigation response for multistage scenario];
Although Hertz teaches proactive workflow (i.e., predict + prevent) to detect/mitigate attacks, Herz does not explicitly teach:
automatically generating a multi-stage attack detection and/or mitigation strategy for inclusion in an attack detection tool based on the identified path(s) of attack techniques
However, Hassanzadeh teaches:
automatically generating a multi-stage attack detection and/or mitigation strategy for inclusion in an attack detection tool based on the identified path(s) of attack techniques (Hassanzadeh, output may be provided by the event correlation system 150 to another system (e.g., a security information and event management (SIEM) system) and/or to a system operator as reporting/visualization data (e.g., in the form of an attack graph or attack tree). Based on the system output, for example, appropriate courses of action may be employed to counter ongoing and/or future attacks, [0027] A multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 (e.g., similar to the multi-step, multi-domain attack detector 218 described with reference to FIG. 2) includes components, modules, and/or engine, for example, a correlation graph modeling engine 704, a pattern recognition and extraction engine 706, an adversary prediction engine 708, and a risk management engine 710…. the multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 (e.g., multi-step, multi-domain attack detector 218) receives classified alerts from alert correlator 502 (e.g., correlator 216), and generates risk management 710 and/or courses of action 722 (e.g., response generator 220) to provide back to the IIOT network, [0068] Adversary prediction engine 708 may determine one or more likely outcomes for the alert 702 and recommend one or more courses of action 722 for the IT/OT network under attack. The multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 may then implement one or more courses of action 722 to block the subsequent step in anticipation of the attack. Examples of counter-attack strategies include blocking, patching and updating, access control updates, white listing, physical security…, [0069]) [Examiner interprets that system generating multistage responses based on identified attack paths and implementing course of actions (i.e., mitigation strategies) based path analysis and prediction as limitation above] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 3, wherein the attack detection strategy is generated in dependence on a frequency of occurrence of the identified path(s) of attack techniques (Hassanzadeh, Rule-based filtering, for example, may apply to defined rules that discard particular events/alerts (e.g., false positives) based on how frequently events/alerts with certain characteristics occur, and their relative rate of change with regard to occurrence, [0036] the system 400 and its various components (e.g., components 410 and 412) can perform functions for processing and aggregating event/alert data received from various different sources. By aggregating event/alert data, for example, data redundancy can be decreased, and the aggregated event/alert data may be further processed to identify trends and correlations in the data, [0039] The correlation graph analytics database 712 can include patterns of previously seen/detected/identified complex ICS threats, for example, Stuxnet, Night Dragon, Crash Override, and the like. A particular alert 702 received by the multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 would then trigger a prediction one or more subsequent (e.g., consequence) steps that an adversary will take in the IT CKC/ICS CKC process, [0069]) [Examiner interprets that system tracking repeated alerts, aggregating alerts into patterns, identifying trends and reoccurrences, using historical pattern to influence response as limitation above] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, comprising identifying a frequency for each identified path of attack techniques through the sequence (Hassanzadeh, Rule-based filtering, for example, may apply to defined rules that discard particular events/alerts (e.g., false positives) based on how frequently events/alerts with certain characteristics occur, and their relative rate of change with regard to occurrence, [0036] the system 400 and its various components (e.g., components 410 and 412) can perform functions for processing and aggregating event/alert data received from various different sources. By aggregating event/alert data, for example, data redundancy can be decreased, and the aggregated event/alert data may be further processed to identify trends and correlations in the data, [0039] The correlation graph analytics database 712 can include patterns of previously seen/detected/identified complex ICS threats, for example, Stuxnet, Night Dragon, CrashOverride, and the like. A particular alert 702 received by the multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 would then trigger a prediction one or more subsequent (e.g., consequence) steps that an adversary will take in the IT CKC/ICS CKC process, [0069]) [Examiner interprets that system tracking repeated alerts, aggregating alerts into patterns, identifying trends and reoccurrences, using historical pattern to influence response as limitation above] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, comprising identifying a frequency with which attack events associated with a particular one of the techniques are detected (Hassanzadeh, Rule-based filtering, for example, may apply to defined rules that discard particular events/alerts (e.g., false positives) based on how frequently events/alerts with certain characteristics occur, and their relative rate of change with regard to occurrence, [0036] the system 400 and its various components (e.g., components 410 and 412) can perform functions for processing and aggregating event/alert data received from various different sources. By aggregating event/alert data, for example, data redundancy can be decreased, and the aggregated event/alert data may be further processed to identify trends and correlations in the data, [0039] The correlation graph analytics database 712 can include patterns of previously seen/detected/identified complex ICS threats, for example, Stuxnet, Night Dragon, CrashOverride, and the like. A particular alert 702 received by the multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 would then trigger a prediction one or more subsequent (e.g., consequence) steps that an adversary will take in the IT CKC/ICS CKC process, [0069]) [Examiner interprets that system tracking repeated alerts, aggregating alerts into patterns, identifying trends and reoccurrences, using historical pattern to influence response as limitation above] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according claim 1, wherein the detected attack events are time stamped, and wherein the linking of the detected attack events comprises forming a time ordered chain of linked attack events (Hertz, a rule-set is used to analyze the relevant actual events and their properties to find that there is a casual connection, for example the date and time of both actual events are within a predefined time window, so there is an indication of occurrence of the persistence attack-vector scenario 110 within the attacked organizational network, [0057] Event properties can also include source process, IP addresses, port numbers, hostnames, date and time of the actual event and port names for the network connection event, [0072])
Although Hertz teaches time window correlation, Hertz does not explicitly teach:
the detected attack events are time stamped, and wherein the linking of the detected attack events comprises forming a time ordered chain of linked attack events
However, Hassanzadeh teaches:
the detected attack events are time stamped, and wherein the linking of the detected attack events comprises forming a time ordered chain of linked attack events (Hassanzadeh, the aggregation system 402 can receive alert data 420 corresponding to potential attacks on an information technology network (e.g., the information technology network domain 102, shown in FIG. 1) and alert data 422 corresponding to potential attacks on an operational technology network (e.g., the operational technology network domain 104, shown in FIG. 1)…. each of the similar alerts may include similar data, yet may have slightly different timestamps (e.g., due to network traffic speeds). If the fuser 410 determines that multiple alerts are related (e.g., the alerts were generated in response to the same packet or event based on having similar data and having timestamps within a threshold similarity value), [0040] A prerequisite alert for a particular classified alert is an alert that is (i) classified as a preceding step in the CKC process and (ii) precedes the particular classified alert in a known attack path. For example, a prerequisite alert for a particular alert classified as a “command and control” alert would be an alert classified as a “act” alert, according to one CKC process (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 6). A consequence alert for the particular classified alert is an alert that is (i) classified as a subsequent step in the CKC and (ii) follows the particular classified alert in a known attack path, [0060] one or more dependencies for the classified alert may be determined by a time-based threshold. For example, the alert dependency engine 512 may determine a dependency between two or more classified alerts 554 if the alerts have timestamps within a suitable time threshold value (e.g., one minute, five minutes, ten minutes, or another suitable value). The time threshold value, for example, may be a configurable tuning parameter, [0062]) [Examiner interprets that system having dependencies time-based (i.e., ordered chain) and directional (i.e., prerequisite -> consequence) as limitation above] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, comprising identifying, from the linked detected attack events, one or more attack techniques having a higher likelihood of progression to a subsequent attack tactic in the sequence than other attack techniques (Hertz, predicting, by the processing circuitry, based on: (a) the attack-vector scenario, (b) the implemented cyber techniques, and (c) the previously identified implemented cyber techniques, a next step cyber tactic of the cyber tactics; and performing, by the processing circuitry, a prevention action to prevent the next step cyber tactic, [0029] The prediction made by cyber security system 200 can be based on the parts of the sequence of cyber tactics of the attack-vector scenario 110 that have already been identified …The prediction can be based on: machine learning, one or more rule sets, experts' knowledgebase or any other method to identify common properties between two or more cyber techniques…. using a rule set for the prediction, the identification of the occurrence of a given cyber tactic within the organizational network can be used by cyber security system 200 to predict that the next step cyber tactic is a subsequent cyber tactic, subsequent to the given cyber tactic within the sequence of cyber tactics of the attack-vector scenario 110, [0077] cyber security system 200 can predict one or more cyber techniques associated with the next step cyber tactic that will be used by the adversary and in some cases, even the properties of the actual events associated with the predicted next step of the adversary, [0079]) [Examiner interprets that predicting next tactic as identifying techniques that are likely to occur next within that subsequent tactic where prediction can include predicted properties and event predict techniques].
Regarding claim 9, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 8, comprising employing one or more mitigating measures for the attack techniques identified as having a higher likelihood of progression to a subsequent attack tactic in the sequence than other attack techniques (Hertz, the prevention action is one or more of: (a) report the next step cyber tactic to the user of the cyber security system, (b) simulate the next step cyber tactic, or (c) implement one or more honeypots within one or more entities of the organizational network wherein events associated with the next step cyber tactic can occur, [0030] cyber security system 200 can predict one or more cyber techniques associated with the next step cyber tactic that will be used by the adversary and in some cases, even the properties of the actual events associated with the predicted next step of the adversary. The prevention action can optionally rely on these predictions. Some non-limiting examples of a prevention action can include one or more of: (a) report the next step cyber tactic to the user of the cyber security system, (b) simulate the next step cyber tactic, (c) implement one or more honeypots within one or more entities of the organizational network wherein events associated with the next step cyber tactic can occur, or (d) any other action of actions that can be done to prevent the next step cyber tactic, [0079]) [Examiner interprets that system having prevention actions such as report, simulate, implement honeypots as mitigation/ preventative measures aligned with likely next stage activity].
Regarding claim 10, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, comprising adjusting the deployment of mitigation measures in dependence on trends or changes in the frequency of attack paths (Hassanzadeh, Rule-based filtering, for example, may apply to defined rules that discard particular events/alerts (e.g., false positives) based on how frequently events/alerts with certain characteristics occur, and their relative rate of change with regard to occurrence, [0036] the system 400 and its various components (e.g., components 410 and 412) can perform functions for processing and aggregating event/alert data received from various different sources. By aggregating event/alert data, for example, data redundancy can be decreased, and the aggregated event/alert data may be further processed to identify trends and correlations in the data, [0039] correlation graph analytics database 712 for a generated correlation graph 720 (e.g., similar to correlation graph 600 in FIG. 6) can be provided by the correlation graph modeling engine 704 to the pattern recognition and extraction module 706. The correlation graph analytics database 712 can include patterns of previously seen/detected/identified complex ICS threats, for example, Stuxnet, Night Dragon, CrashOverride, and the like. A particular alert 702 received by the multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 would then trigger a prediction one or more subsequent (e.g., consequence) steps that an adversary will take in the IT CKC/ICS CKC process.. Adversary prediction engine 708 may determine one or more likely outcomes for the alert 702 and recommend one or more courses of action 722 for the IT/OT network under attack. The multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 may then implement one or more courses of action 722 to block the subsequent step in anticipation of the attack. Examples of counter-attack strategies include blocking, patching and updating, access control updates, white listing, physical security, or a combination thereof, [0069] the risk management engine 710 may provide information to a user (e.g., a network administrator) to assist in installing new software or software patches within a system, based on identified risks provided by the pattern recognition and extraction engine 706, [0070]) [Examiner interprets that system using frequency and rate of change to drive rules/policy (i.e., filtering), identifying trends from aggregated alert data, deploying countermeasures based on predicted outcomes as limitation above] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, comprising identifying attack paths having a higher security risk to the system or network than other attack paths and employing mitigation measures in relation to the identified attack paths (Hassanzadeh, one or more attack paths can be determined, each representing a potential path an adversary can take to get into different targets in the network, and stored in an attack path database, [0028] an attack path 610 can be identified where the attack path 610 includes one alert for each step in the defined IT CKC/ICS CKC, such that the attack path begins with a first step in the CKC (e.g., reconnaissance 608a) and ends with a final step in the ICS CKC (e.g., execute 6081). For example, alert 602a is a first “reconnaissance” step in the CKC depicted in the correlation graph 600, and alert 602b is a final “execute” step in the ICS CKC following attack path 610, [0066] the system 400 and its various components (e.g., components 410 and 412) can perform functions for processing and aggregating event/alert data received from various different sources. By aggregating event/alert data, for example, data redundancy can be decreased, and the aggregated event/alert data may be further processed to identify trends and correlations in the data, [0039] A multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 (e.g., similar to the multi-step, multi-domain attack detector 218 described with reference to FIG. 2) includes components, modules, and/or engine, for example, a correlation graph modeling engine 704, a pattern recognition and extraction engine 706, an adversary prediction engine 708, and a risk management engine 710.. the multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 (e.g., multi-step, multi-domain attack detector 218) receives classified alerts from alert correlator 502 (e.g., correlator 216), and generates risk management 710 and/or courses of action 722 (e.g., response generator 220) to provide back to the IIOT network, [0068] correlation graph analytics database 712 for a generated correlation graph 720 (e.g., similar to correlation graph 600 in FIG. 6) can be provided by the correlation graph modeling engine 704 to the pattern recognition and extraction module 706. The correlation graph analytics database 712 can include patterns of previously seen/detected/identified complex ICS threats, for example, Stuxnet, Night Dragon, CrashOverride, and the like. A particular alert 702 received by the multi-step, multi-domain attack detection system 700 would then trigger a prediction one or more subsequent (e.g., consequence) steps that an adversary will take in the IT CKC/ICS CKC process, [0069] the risk management engine 710 may provide information to a user (e.g., a network administrator) to assist in installing new software or software patches within a system, based on identified risks provided by the pattern recognition and extraction engine 706, [0070]) [Examiner interprets that identifying attack paths associated with identified risks (risk management engine), attack paths matching known high impact APT pattens stored in analytics DB, applying courses of action in response to predicted progression along path/graph (i.e., mitigation in relation to the path and its next step) as limitation above] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a method according to claim 1, comprising identifying techniques which link with a higher frequency to one or more techniques within a subsequent tactic in the sequence than other techniques, and/or identifying techniques which link with a higher frequency to one or more techniques within a preceding tactic in the sequence than other techniques (Hassanzadeh, Rule-based filtering, for example, may apply to defined rules that discard particular events/alerts (e.g., false positives) based on how frequently events/alerts with certain characteristics occur, and their relative rate of change with regard to occurrence, [0036] a dependency is established between a pair of classified alerts 554, where the dependency is a relationship (e.g., Alert A is a prerequisite alert to Alert B, or Alert A is a consequence of Alert B) between the pair of classified alerts 554, [0059] an alert aggregator 510 can group together multiple classified 554 alerts based on the classification of each alert with respect to a step in the IT CKC and/or ICS CKC. The grouping of the multiple classified alerts 554 can be based in part on a same classification assigned to each classified alert of the multiple alerts. In one example, a reconnaissance attack may generate thousands of alerts, which can then be classified individually as indicative of a “reconnaissance” step in the CKC. The alert aggregator 510 can then group the set of reconnaissance alerts into a meta-alert labeled “reconnaissance.”, [0056] A prerequisite alert for a particular classified alert is an alert that is (i) classified as a preceding step in the CKC process and (ii) precedes the particular classified alert in a known attack path. For example, a prerequisite alert for a particular alert classified as a “command and control” alert would be an alert classified as a “act” alert, according to one CKC process (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 6). A consequence alert for the particular classified alert is an alert that is (i) classified as a subsequent step in the CKC and (ii) follows the particular classified alert in a known attack path. For example, a consequence alert for a particular alert classified as an “exploit” alert would require a classification of “install/modify” according to one CKC process, [0060]) [Examiner interprets that system linking from preceding stage to a subsequent stage through the dependencies, aggregating large volumes of alert per step, identifying most frequent cross step dependencies (high frequency links) and linking them using prerequisites /consequence dependencies as limitation above, classified alerts/attack actions = techniques, CKC steps = tactics, frequency = repeated cross stage dependencies] same motivation applies as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a computer system including a processor and memory storing computer program code for performing the steps of the method of claim 1 (Hertz, at least one processor, computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code, [0036])
Regarding claim 14, Hertz and Hassanzadeh teaches a computer program element comprising computer program code to, when loaded into a computer system and executed thereon, cause the computer to perform the steps of a method as claimed in claim 1 (Hertz, the computer readable program code, executable by at least one processor of a computer to perform a method, [0036])
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Claims 15 and 17 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 8. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Claims 16 and 18 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 9. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190238583 A1: “relate to dynamically simulating security breach and attack scenarios to methodically test security infrastructure readiness”
US 11895150 B2: “receiving analytical attack graph data representative of an analytical attack graph, the analytical attack graph including: one or more rule nodes each representing a network configuration rule; and one or more impact nodes each representing an impact of one or more respective network configuration rules”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2436
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436