Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/09/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Image correction unit in claims 1-13
Authentication processing unit in claims 1 and 13
Display unit in claims 11-12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwata et al. (US20150020181, hereinafter “Iwata”)
[Claim 1] Iwata teaches A biometric authentication system ([0002] “biometric authentication,”) comprising: a storage device that stores biometric features, ([0020] “extracting the palm print shape and the vein shape in the palm respectively for template from said one reflection image to perform processing to generate the template data, and. wherein template data storage unit is configured for storing said template data.” and [0058] “The template data storage unit 24 may be made up of e.g., a computer memory.”)
an imaging device for capturing biometrics, ([0047] “The authentication image acquisition unit 12 may be made up of an appropriate device such as digital camera and image scanner.”)
an image correction unit that converts the image quality of the image captured by the imaging device, ([0110] “R signal, G signal and B signal in RGB color space are transformed into R' signal, G' signal and B' signal in RGB color system by multiplying the chroma (value of S) in the range of H=0 to 60 degrees on HSV space by 0.1, and shifting the hue (H)+115 degrees as a whole.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed converts the image quality in light of instant specifications [0084]) and
an authentication processing unit that performs biometric authentication using the image output by the image correction unit, ([0081] “color space transformable for RGB color space (e.g., YCbCr, YIQ, Luv, Lab, XYZ) may be used instead of RGB color space to extract the features of the data in the template image or in the authentication image.”)
wherein the image correction unit generates an image before color correction of one or more images in which biometrics is captured, ([0047] “The authentication image acquisition unit 12 is configured to acquire at least one reflection image (i.e. image data) to form by the light which is emitted from the authentication light source 11, and is reflected on the palm of the human body.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed generates an image before color correction because it is the initial captured image before color correction is implemented)
transforms the pre-color correction image ([0110] “R signal, G signal and B signal in RGB color space are transformed into R' signal, G' signal and B' signal in RGB color system”) by a plurality of values within a predetermined search range for color information ([0110] “…by multiplying the chroma (value of S) in the range of H=0 to 60 degrees on HSV space by 0.1,”) to generate a plurality of color information transformed images, ([0110] “… and shifting the hue (H)+115 degrees as a whole.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed color information transformed images in light of instant specifications [0084])
selects a color information conversion image that best represents the biometric feature ([0079] “the second template data can be generated as a gray scale image in which the vein pattern is emphasized.” And [0027] “reflection image for template as the template data,”) for each biometric feature from the plurality of color information conversion images,
([0072] “find out the data information in which the shape of veins appears intensively, and remove the data information in which vein information does not appear easily.”) and
searches the optimal color information ([0078] “the optimal coefficient value as an experimental value is GPvein=(0.6*R'+0.6*M'-0.2*G').” and [0079] “The calculation of said GPvein is performed for each pixel.”) for each biometric feature ([0079] “If the calculation for each pixel results in 255 or more, the value of GPvein is set to 255. In this way, the second template data can be generated as a gray scale image in which the vein pattern is emphasized.”) based on the color information ([0076] “R signal and G signal in RGB color space are transformed into R' signal and G' signal which are generated by attenuating chroma (value of 5) by 30% in negative direction on HSV space.”) to obtain the selected color information conversion image. ([0077] “G Pvein: Gray-scale data obtained from R' signal, G' signal and M' signal values”)
[Claim 13] The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 1 and is likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata et al. (US20150020181, hereinafter “Iwata”) and in view of Pranskevichus et al (US20230267583, hereinafter “Pranskevichus”)
[Claim 2] Iwata teaches The biometric authentication system according to claim 1, wherein
Iwata does not explicitly teach the image correction unit generates the pre-color- corrected image by Generative Adversarial Network from a plurality of images captured by the imaging device.
Pranskevichus teaches the image correction unit generates the pre-color- corrected image ([0006] “a neural net removes artifacts and upscales images end-to-end, and auxiliary networks like HDR improve colors, white balance, etc.” is understood to be the same as the claimed generates the pre-color corrected image in light of instant specifications [0054] ) by Generative Adversarial Network from a plurality of images captured by the imaging device. ([0006] “Generative adversarial networks can be used to generate new details and restore features of an image.”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwata to have generate an image that is white balanced as taught by Pranskevichus to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been because (Pranskevichus et al [0005] “improvement to image enhancement techniques (reduced cost, higher speed, higher quality end results, etc.) would be considered advantageous.”)
[Claim 3] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 2,
Iwata teaches wherein the image correction unit searches the optimal color information ([0078] “the optimal coefficient value as an experimental value is GPvein=(0.6*R'+0.6*M'-0.2*G').” and [0079] “The calculation of said GPvein is performed for each pixel.”) for each biometric feature ([0079] “If the calculation for each pixel results in 255 or more, the value of GPvein is set to 255. In this way, the second template data can be generated as a gray scale image in which the vein pattern is emphasized.”) by narrowing the search range based on the color information ([0076] “R signal and G signal in RGB color space are transformed into R' signal and G' signal which are generated by attenuating chroma (value of 5) by 30% in negative direction on HSV space.”)to obtain the selected color information conversion image. ([0077] “G Pvein: Gray-scale data obtained from R' signal, G' signal and M' signal values”)
[Claim 4] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 3,
Iwata teaches wherein the image correction unit calculates matching score ([0103] “using the degree of similarity.”) of the biometric feature ([0104] “the feature of the vein pattern and the feature of the shape of the palm print in the palm of the person to be authenticated are extracted from a single original image data photographed”) by matching the same finger and another finger in the color information conversion image, ([0107] “the matching unit performs the first authentication by comparing the first authentication data with the first template data.”) and searches the color information of the color information conversion image in which the matching score of the same finger and the matching score of another finger are most separated for as the optimal value. ([0114] “If the calculation for each pixel results in zero or less, the value of GPvein is set to 0, and if the calculation result for each pixel becomes 255 or more, the value of GPvein is set to 255. Thus, the second template data can be generated as a gray scale image where the vein pattern is emphasized.”)
[Claim 5] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 3, wherein the image correction unit searches the color information that maximizes the evaluated value of the contrast of the
biometric information ([0114] “GPvein is performed for each pixel. … the second template data can be generated as a gray scale image where the vein pattern is emphasized.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed maximizes the evaluated value of the contrast in light of instant specifications [0089] ) in the color information conversion image as the optimal value. ([0078] “the optimal coefficient value as an experimental value is GPvein”)
[Claim 6] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 3,
Iwata does not explicitly teach wherein the image correction unit converts the color information by converting the color temperature.
Pranskevichus teaches wherein the image correction unit converts the color information by converting the color temperature. ([0006] “a neural net removes artifacts and upscales images end-to-end, and auxiliary networks like HDR improve colors, white balance, etc.” is understood to be the same as the claimed by converting the color temperature in light of instant specifications [0046])
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwata to have converts the color information by converting the color temperature as taught by Pranskevichus to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been because (Pranskevichus et al [0005] “improvement to image enhancement techniques (reduced cost, higher speed, higher quality end results, etc.) would be considered advantageous.”)
[Claim 7] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 3,
Iwata teaches wherein the image correction unit converts the color information by converting the hue. ([0077] “GPvein: Gray-scale data obtained from R' signal, G' signal and M' signal values”)
[Claim 8] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 3,
Iwata teaches wherein the image correction unit corrects luminance gradient caused by non-biometric features in the image. (“therefore the light source environment would vary remarkably at the times for acquisition of the two images. According to the processing in the second modification, template data or the authentication data which are robust in the light source environment can be obtained. ”is understood to be the same as the claimed corrects luminance gradient in light of instant specifications [0099])
[Claim 9] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 3,
Iwata teaches wherein the image correction unit estimates the average intensity ([0088] “binarization of the template data (TD) can be performed with a popular technique, such as moving average in each pixel or each block,”)of multiple wavelength bands in the image before color correction. ([0110] “R signal, G signal and B signal in RGB color space are transformed into R' signal, G' signal and B' signal in RGB color system” this is after the average performed in Iwata [0088])
[Claim 10] Iwata and Pranskevichus teach The biometric authentication system according to claim 3, wherein
Iwata teaches The image correction unit changes the hue for the image of the average intensity of multiple wavelength bands in the image ([0110] “R signal, G signal and B signal in RGB color space are transformed into R' signal, G' signal and B' signal in RGB color system” this is after the average performed in Iwata [0088]) before color correction, ([0111] “In consequence of the above-described processing, the data of R' signal, G' signal, B' signal and M' signal spaces, which are different from the data of the original RGB space and CMYK space, can be obtained.”)
calculates the degree of difference ([0064] “Next, individual authentication is performed by comparing template data with for authentication data using the degree of similarity between them.” ) The degree of difference is defined in the specifications to be calculated using “Normalized Cross Correlation (NCC) and Zero Mean Normalized Cross Correlation (ZNCC)” in light of instant specifications [0134]. As per https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross-correlation “cross correlation” is a measure of similarity and not a measure of difference which is why the examiner cites from Iwata the relevant citation for degree of similarity) between the image in the first wavelength band and the image in the second wavelength band, and the degree of difference between the image in the first wavelength band and the image in the third wavelength band, ([0110] “[0110] R signal, G signal and B signal in RGB color space are transformed into R' signal, G' signal and B' signal in RGB color system by multiplying the chroma (value of S) in the range of H=0 to 60 degrees on HSV space by 0.1, and shifting the hue (H)+115 degrees as a whole.”) calculates the sum of the two acquired degrees of difference, ([0113] “GPvein=(0.5*R'+0.1*G'-0.05*B'-0.1*M')” is understood to be the same as the claimed sum of the two degrees of difference, in Iwata it is the sum of 0.5*R’ + 0.1*G’ ) and
selects the hue that maximizes the sum of the degree of differences as the optimal value. ([0113] “For example, the coefficient value optimal as an experimental value is; GPvein=(0.5*R'+0.1*G'-0.05*B'-0.1*M')”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Iwata et al US20150020181 discloses utilizing ambient light as a light source but does not render obvious the claimed combination as a whole
Pranskevichus et al US20230267583 discloses utilizing a generative adversarial network to improve white balance but does not render obvious the claimed combination as a whole
Wong et al US20120293472 discloses determining the direction of ambient light incident on an ambient light sensor but does not render obvious the claimed combination as a whole
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Khoury et al et al US20180226079 teaches biometric authentication and color correction on the images
Miura et al WO2017082100 teaches biometric authentication device where the image of the palm is taken and the orientation of the image is corrected.
/OWAIS I MEMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2663