DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earp et al (US 2008/0221010 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, Earp teaches a fabric conditioning composition (i.e. concentrate: same amounts of instant components) composition; [abstract, 2-5], comprising; ester-linked fabric conditioning compound such as di-alkenyl esters of triethanol ammonium methyl sulphate and N-N-di (tallowoyloxy ethyl) N,N-dimethyl-
Ammonium chloride in the amounts of 5-30 wt.% or 7-25 wt.%; [66, 76], nonionic surfactant of primary C8-C22 linear alcohol alkoxylate (EO = 10-25) in the amounts of 0.5-10 wt.%; [79], wherein the instantly claimed ratio of quaternary ammonium compound to nonionic surfactant (3/1 to 1/1) shares a major overlapping range with that of Earp thus rendering the claim(s) obvious. Note that, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention (before the effective filing date of the invention) to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See [MPEP § 2144.05]. Furthermore, Earp’s composition comprises free perfume in the amounts such as 0.95 wt%; [101: table 5].
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earp et al (US 2008/0221010 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Burgess et al. (US 2022/0195337 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Earp teaches rheology modifying agents such as guar and xanthan gums (80) but does not teach their amount. However, the analogous art of Burgess teaches a laundry treatment and conditioning (i.e. quaternary ammonium softeners: 29) with rheology modifiers such has xanthan and guar gums in the amounts of 1-3 wt.%; [81, 83]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the viscosity of the composition at the instantly claimed range with the motivation of facilitating its ease of use via its flowability and dissolution in the washing media, as taught by Burgess above. Furthermore (instant claim 6), Earp does not teach encapsulated perfumes and only teaches free perfume for its composition; [101: table 5]. However, Burgess teaches encapsulated perfume(s) for its composition in the amounts of 1-8 wt.%; [53-54]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add encapsulated perfume to Earp’s composition, in claimed amounts, with the motivation of enhancing fabric clothing’s aroma for a longer time thus more preferred condition of laundered fabrics.
Claims 4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Earp et al (US 2008/0221010 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Buron et al. (US 6,432,911 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Earp does not, expressly, teach the instantly claimed range of 300 to 500 mPa.s, rather it teaches a viscosity of 203; [98: table 4]. However, the analogous art of Buron teaches a fabric conditioning composition comprising similar quaternary ammonium fatty acid esters compound and other active agents wherein the viscosity is between 200 and 500 mPa.s.; [C.8: Lines 37-41]. Considering the fact that Earp discusses the states of higher viscosities for its composition (104), therefor at the time before the effective filing date of invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adjust, by increasing, the viscosity of Earp’s composition (in view of the amounts of rheology modifier(s) above) with the motivation of making the intended fabric conditioner with designed properties as taught by both Earp and Buron above.
Regarding claims 7-9, Earp does not, expressly, teach the steps of claimed method of preparing its concentrated fabric conditioning composition. However, the analogous art of Buron teaches mixing the conditioning composition with water (diluting); [C.8: L.65], at a dilution ratio of 1:9 (one part composition to 9 parts water); [C.8: 65]. Furthermore, Buron teaches addition of conditioning composition to the rinse stage of the laundry process; [C.8: L.58-60].
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/08/21
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767