Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, lines 9-10 “a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose” should be “a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and [[the]] another side coupled to the connection hose”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “1854” in figure 14 has been used to designate both the first link rotary shaft support member and the lower cover. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a flow path switching module” and “configured to selectively connect the dust collecting flow path to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path” in claim 1, lines 12-14, claim 16, lines 11-13 and corresponding to the structural element 183 which selectively connects the dust collecting part 170, which is disposed in the housing 110, to the first cleaner flow path 181 or the second cleaner flow path 182 and includes the casing 1831, the connection hose 1832, the first link 1833, the second link 1834, a switching motor 1835, and the driving cam 1836 as described in paragraphs 0150/0168 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
“a first link rotary shaft support member” and “having an end configured to support a rotary shaft of the first link” in claim 6, lines 2-3 and corresponding to the structural element 1854 which is formed in a C-shape opened at one side thereof and supports the rotary shaft 1851 of the first link as described in paragraphs 0291/0295 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
“a first link connection portion support member” and “having an end configured to support a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose” in claim 7, lines 2-3 and corresponding to the structural element 1855 which is formed in an arc shape and supports the connection portion 1833b of the first link as described in paragraphs 0298/0300 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
“a support member” and “having an end configured to support one side of the flow path switching module” in claim 20, lines 2-3 and corresponding to the structural elements 1854 which is formed in a C-shape opened at one side thereof and supports the rotary shaft 1851 of the first link as described in paragraphs 0291/0295 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “the partition wall covers some of the gear teeth of the gear portion” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “some” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be wherein the partition wall covers a portion of the gear teeth of the gear portion.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a connection hose coupled to the casing and configured to communicate with the flow path" in lines 3-4. It is unclear which the flow path is referring to since in claim 18 depends on claim 16 and in lines 4, 6, and 8, claim 16 recites “a first cleaner flow path”, “a second cleaner flow path”, and “a dust collecting flow path”, thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation of “flow path” to be referring any of the “a first cleaner flow path”, “a second cleaner flow path”, or “a dust collecting flow path”.
Claims 19-20 depends on claim 18 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 recites the limitation “wherein the flow path switching module is separably coupled to the housing” in lines 1-2. However, claim 17 depends on claim 16 and in lines 13-14 of claim 16, it recites “the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing” Thus, claim 17 does not further structurally limit or introduce any additional structural limitations that is not already recited in claim 16. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO2021215842).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses: a cleaner station (Figures 1A- 2B and 7-16b element 1 and see also paragraphs 0079/0134) comprising:
a housing (see figure 1a annotated below Detail A) configured to define an external shape (see figure 1a annotated below showing the housing (Detail A) having an external shape) and having a space therein (see figure 2a showing a cross-sectional view (see paragraph 0047) of the cleaner station showing a space having internal components within), at least any one of a first cleaner (element 500 and see also paragraph 0080) and a second cleaner (element 600 and see also paragraph 0080) being coupled to the housing (see figure 1a annotated below);
a first cleaner flow path (element 111) disposed in the housing (see figures 2a-2b) and connected to a dust bin (element 511) of the first cleaner (see paragraph 0157);
a second cleaner flow path (element 211) disposed in the housing (see figures 2a-2b) and connected to a dust bin (element 610) of the second cleaner (see paragraph 0158);
a dust collecting flow path (element 311) having an inlet (see figure 9 annotated below Detail B) selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path (see figure 9 annotated below showing the inlet (Detail B) selectively connected via elements 400 (see paragraph 0134-0135) to any one of the first cleaner flow path (element 111) and the second cleaner flow path (element 211)), and an outlet (see figure 16a annotated below Detail C) connected to a dust collecting part (element 300 and see also paragraph 0086); and
a flow path switching module (element 400 and see also paragraph 0134-0135) disposed between the dust collecting flow path, the first cleaner flow path, and the second cleaner flow path (see figures 9 and 12) and configured to selectively connect the dust collecting flow path to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see figures 8-11 and see also paragraphs 0134-0135).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to provided wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that making flow path switching module separable from the housing would necessarily allow the user to interchange damaged components including the flow path switching module from the housing of the cleaner station without having to replace the entire cleaner station, thus reducing cost (See MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C)).
Regarding claim 2, Kim modified discloses: wherein the flow path switching module comprises a flange (see figure 8-9 and 11 annotated below Detail A) protruding in a radial direction of a direction in which air flows (see figures 8 and 11 annotated below showing portions of the flange (Detail A) protruding in a radial direction of a direction in which air flows (flow arrows)), and wherein at least any one of the first cleaner flow path, the second cleaner flow path, and the dust collecting flow path comprises a flange groove into which at least a part of the flange is inserted (see figure 11 annotated below showing the first cleaner flow path comprising a flange groove (Detail B) and see figure 8 annotated below showing the second cleaner flow path comprising a flange groove (Detail C)).
Regarding claim 15, Kim modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module is separably coupled to the housing, and the flow path switching module is separated when the flow path switching module is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path (Giving that the prior art discloses all the flow path switching module (element 400) being separably coupled to the housing (see rejection of claim 1 above on pages 11-12) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior is capable of having the flow path switching module separated when the flow path switching module is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path, as recited.).
Claims 3-4, 9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO2021215842) in view of Hiller (US Pub. No. 2021/0087002).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1 and further suggests utilizing an opening/closing area (element 360) having a cover (see figure 15b) for the dust collecting part (element 300 and see also paragraph 0187). However, Kim appears to be silent wherein the cleaner station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module.
Hiller is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-2B and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a housing (element 20) configured to define an external shape (see figure 1 showing the housing (element 20) having an external shape) and having a space (see figure 1 annotated figure below Detail A) therein, a first flow path (element 24), a second flow path (element 26), a third flow path (element 22), and a flow path switching module (elements 30/32/34/36a/42) to selectively connect the third flow path to the first flow path or second flow path (see figure 2b and see also paragraph 0029). Hiller further teaches wherein the station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover (element 40) disposed at one side of the flow path switching module (see figure 1) and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module (see paragraph 0030 and see also figure 2a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Hiller in order to provide a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover in the form of a door operably coupled to housing would necessarily allow the user to access the inner components of the station such that it can be more easily cleaned, or even removed from the housing as disclosed by Hiller (see paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 4, Kim modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 3, wherein the flow path switching module cover has one side rotatably coupled to the housing (see prior art of Hiller paragraph 0014 where the prior art discloses that the door (flow path switching module cover) is “hinged” to the housing and see also figure 1 showing the one side (right-side) of the flow path switching module cover (element 40) rotatably coupled to the housing (element 20).
Regarding claim 9, Kim modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 3, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises: a rotary shaft disposed on a coupling portion coupled to the housing; a lower cover protruding upward from the rotary shaft and including an inclined surface; and an upper cover extending upward from an upper end of the lower cover and including a vertical plane perpendicular to a ground surface, the upper cover having one side separably fixed to the housing.
Hiller is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-2B and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a housing (element 20) configured to define an external shape (see figure 1 showing the housing (element 20) having an external shape) and having a space (see figure 1 annotated figure below Detail A) therein, a first flow path (element 24), a second flow path (element 26), a third flow path (element 22), a flow path switching module (elements 30/32/34/36a/42) to selectively connect the third flow path to the first flow path or second flow path (see figure 2b and see also paragraph 0029), and a flow path switching module cover (element 40).
Hiller further teaches wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises: a rotary shaft disposed on a coupling portion coupled to the housing (see paragraph 0014 where the prior art discloses that the door (flow path switching module cover) is “hinged” to the housing, which is well known in the art to have a rotary shaft in order to open/close, and see also figure 1 annotated below showing where the rotary shaft would necessarily be disposed on a coupling portion (Detail A) coupled to the housing); a lower cover (see also figure annotated below Detail B) protruding upward from the rotary shaft (see also figure annotated below) and including an inclined surface (see also figure annotated below Detail C); and an upper cover (see also figure annotated below Detail D) extending upward from an upper end (see also figure annotated below Detail E) of the lower cover (see also figure annotated below) and including a vertical plane (see also figure annotated below Detail F) perpendicular to a ground surface (see also figure annotated below showing the vertical plane (Detail F) passing up-down would necessarily be perpendicular to a ground surface (surface going left-right)), the upper cover having one side separably fixed to the housing (see figure 1 annotated below showing one side (left portion) of the upper cover (Detail D) being separably fixed to the housing (element 20)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Hiller in order to provide wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises: a rotary shaft disposed on a coupling portion coupled to the housing; a lower cover protruding upward from the rotary shaft and including an inclined surface; and an upper cover extending upward from an upper end of the lower cover and including a vertical plane perpendicular to a ground surface, the upper cover having one side separably fixed to the housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover in the form of a door with the claimed features operably coupled to housing would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended while also allowing the user to access the inner components of the station such that it can be more easily cleaned, or even removed from the housing as disclosed by Hiller (see paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses: a cleaner station (Figures 1A- 2B and 7-16b element 1 and see also paragraphs 0079/0134) comprising:
a housing (see figure 1a annotated below Detail A) configured to define an external shape (see figure 1a annotated below showing the housing (Detail A) having an external shape) and having a space therein (see figure 2a showing a cross-sectional view (see paragraph 0047) of the cleaner station showing a space having internal components within), at least any one of a first cleaner (element 500 and see also paragraph 0080) and a second cleaner (element 600 and see also paragraph 0080) being coupled to the housing (see figure 1a annotated below);
a first cleaner flow path (element 111) disposed in the housing (see figures 2a-2b) and connected to a dust bin (element 511) of the first cleaner (see paragraph 0157);
a second cleaner flow path (element 211) disposed in the housing (see figures 2a-2b) and connected to a dust bin (element 610) of the second cleaner (see paragraph 0158);
a dust collecting flow path (element 311) having an inlet (see figure 9 annotated below Detail B) selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path (see figure 9 annotated below showing the inlet (Detail B) selectively connected via elements 400 (see paragraph 0134-0135) to any one of the first cleaner flow path (element 111) and the second cleaner flow path (element 211)), and an outlet (see figure 16a annotated below Detail C) connected to a dust collecting part (element 300 and see also paragraph 0086);
a flow path switching module (element 400 and see also paragraph 0134-0135) disposed between the dust collecting flow path, the first cleaner flow path, and the second cleaner flow path (see figures 9 and 12) and configured to selectively connect the dust collecting flow path to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see figures 8-11 and see also paragraphs 0134-0135).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing and a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module, coupled to the housing, and configured to block at least a part of the flow path switching module.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to provided wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that making flow path switching module separable from the housing would necessarily allow the user to interchange damaged components including the flow path switching module from the housing of the cleaner station without having to replace the entire cleaner station, thus reducing cost (See MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C)).
However, Kim modified appears to be silent wherein the cleaner station comprises a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module, coupled to the housing, and configured to block at least a part of the flow path switching module.
Hiller is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-2B and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a housing (element 20) configured to define an external shape (see figure 1 showing the housing (element 20) having an external shape) and having a space (see figure 1 annotated figure below Detail A) therein, a first flow path (element 24), a second flow path (element 26), a third flow path (element 22), and a flow path switching module (elements 30/32/34/36a/42) to selectively connect the third flow path to the first flow path or second flow path (see figure 2b and see also paragraph 0029). Hiller further teaches wherein the station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover (element 40) disposed at one side of the flow path switching module (see figure 1), coupled to the housing (see figure 1), and configured to block at least a part of the flow path switching module (see paragraph 0030 and see also figure 2a)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Hiller in order to provide a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module, coupled to the housing, and configured to block at least a part of the flow path switching module. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover in the form of a door operably coupled to housing would necessarily allow the user to access the inner components of the station such that it can be more easily cleaned, or even removed from the housing as disclosed by Hiller (see paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 17, Kim modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 16, wherein the flow path switching module is separably coupled to the housing (see rejection of claim 16 above on page 23).
Claims 1 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933).
Regarding claim 1, Hackert discloses: a cleaner station (Figure 1 element 10 and see also paragraph 0037) comprising:
a housing (elements 40/50) configured to define an external shape (outer surface shape of elements 40/50) and having a space (see figure 1 the housing (elements 40/50) having an inner space wherein multiple internal components reside) therein, at least any one of a first cleaner (element 30) and a second cleaner (element 20) being coupled to the housing (see figure 1);
a first cleaner flow path (element 50F) disposed in the housing (see figure 1) and connected to a dust bin (element 30C) of the first cleaner when the first cleaner is coupled to the housing (see figure 1);
a second cleaner flow path (element 40F) disposed in the housing (see figure 1) and connected to a dust bin (element 20C) of the second cleaner when the second cleaner is coupled to the housing (see figure 1);
a dust collecting flow path (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) having an inlet (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path (via element 10E and see also paragraph 0108), and an outlet (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) connected to a dust collecting part (element 50G); and
a flow path switching module (element 10E) disposed between the dust collecting flow path, the first cleaner flow path, and the second cleaner flow path (see figure 1 annotated below) and configured to selectively connect the dust collecting flow path to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0108-0109).
However, Hackert does not explicitly disclose wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to provided wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that making flow path switching module separable from the housing would necessarily allow the user to interchange damaged components including the flow path switching module from the housing of the cleaner station without having to replace the entire cleaner station, thus reducing cost (See MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C)).
Regarding claim 15, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 1, wherein the flow path switching module is separably coupled to the housing, and the flow path switching module is separated when the flow path switching module is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path (Giving that the prior art discloses all the flow path switching module (element 10E) being separably coupled to the housing (see rejection of claim 1 above on pages 26-27) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior is capable of having the flow path switching module separated when the flow path switching module is connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path, as recited.).
Claims 3-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933) in view of Hiller (US Pub. No. 2021/0087002).
Regarding claim 3, Hackert discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the cleaner station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module.
Hiller is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-2B and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a housing (element 20) configured to define an external shape (see figure 1 showing the housing (element 20) having an external shape) and having a space (see figure 1 annotated figure below Detail A) therein, a first flow path (element 24), a second flow path (element 26), a third flow path (element 22), and a flow path switching module (elements 30/32/34/36a/42) to selectively connect the third flow path to the first flow path or second flow path (see figure 2b and see also paragraph 0029). Hiller further teaches wherein the station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover (element 40) disposed at one side of the flow path switching module (see figure 1) and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module (see paragraph 0030 and see also figure 2a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Hiller in order to provide a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover in the form of a door operably coupled to housing would necessarily allow the user to access the inner components of the station such that it can be more easily cleaned, or even removed from the housing as disclosed by Hiller (see paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 4, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 3, wherein the flow path switching module cover has one side rotatably coupled to the housing (see prior art of Hiller paragraph 0014 where the prior art discloses that the door (flow path switching module cover) is “hinged” to the housing and see also figure 1 showing the one side (right-side) of the flow path switching module cover (element 40) rotatably coupled to the housing (element 20).
Regarding claim 9, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 3, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises: a rotary shaft disposed on a coupling portion coupled to the housing; a lower cover protruding upward from the rotary shaft and including an inclined surface; and an upper cover extending upward from an upper end of the lower cover and including a vertical plane perpendicular to a ground surface, the upper cover having one side separably fixed to the housing.
Hiller is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-2B and see also paragraph 0028) comprising a housing (element 20) configured to define an external shape (see figure 1 showing the housing (element 20) having an external shape) and having a space (see figure 1 annotated figure below Detail A) therein, a first flow path (element 24), a second flow path (element 26), a third flow path (element 22), a flow path switching module (elements 30/32/34/36a/42) to selectively connect the third flow path to the first flow path or second flow path (see figure 2b and see also paragraph 0029), and a flow path switching module cover (element 40).
Hiller further teaches wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises: a rotary shaft disposed on a coupling portion coupled to the housing (see paragraph 0014 where the prior art discloses that the door (flow path switching module cover) is “hinged” to the housing, which is well known in the art to have a rotary shaft in order to open/close, and see also figure 1 annotated below showing where the rotary shaft would necessarily be disposed on a coupling portion (Detail A) coupled to the housing); a lower cover (see also figure annotated below Detail B) protruding upward from the rotary shaft (see also figure annotated below) and including an inclined surface (see also figure annotated below Detail C); and an upper cover (see also figure annotated below Detail D) extending upward from an upper end (see also figure annotated below Detail E) of the lower cover (see also figure annotated below) and including a vertical plane (see also figure annotated below Detail F) perpendicular to a ground surface (see also figure annotated below showing the vertical plane (Detail F) passing up-down would necessarily be perpendicular to a ground surface (surface going left-right)), the upper cover having one side separably fixed to the housing (see figure 1 annotated below showing one side (left portion) of the upper cover (Detail D) being separably fixed to the housing (element 20)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Hiller in order to provide wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises: a rotary shaft disposed on a coupling portion coupled to the housing; a lower cover protruding upward from the rotary shaft and including an inclined surface; and an upper cover extending upward from an upper end of the lower cover and including a vertical plane perpendicular to a ground surface, the upper cover having one side separably fixed to the housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover in the form of a door with the claimed features operably coupled to housing would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended while also allowing the user to access the inner components of the station such that it can be more easily cleaned, or even removed from the housing as disclosed by Hiller (see paragraph 0014).
Claims 3, 5-8, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933) in view of Lee (US Pub. No. 2010/0251504).
Regarding claim 3, Hackert discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the cleaner station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112) and a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the cleaner station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover (element 201b) disposed at one side of the flow path switching module (see figure 2) and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module (see figure 3 and see also paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Lee in order to provide a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover covering the flow path switching module would necessarily allow the path selecting unit (i.e. flow path switching module) to be easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 5, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 3, and further discloses utilizing a different means of the flow path switching module in the form of “a shut-off flap or a (butterfly) valve” (see paragraph 0108) being operably connected to the dust collector of the housing and first/second flow paths (see figure 1). However, Hackert appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, and an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, wherein at least a part of the flow path switching module cover is tightly attached to the first link.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112) and a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switching module comprises:
a casing (element 201a) having a first cleaner flow path connection portion (element 210) connected to the first cleaner flow path (see figure 3), a second cleaner flow path connection portion (element 220) connected to the second cleaner flow path (see figure 3), and a dust collecting flow path connection portion (element 230) connected to the dust collecting flow path (see paragraph 0063);
a connection hose (element 270) having an inlet (element 271 and see also figures 4-5 annotated below Detail B) configured to move along an inner peripheral surface (see figures 4-5 annotated below Detail C) of the casing, and an outlet (element 272) coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0053), the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion (see figure 5 annotated below showing the connection hose (element 270) being fluidly coupled (see arrow) to the first cleaner flow path (element 210) which would necessarily have the connection hose be coupled to the first cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 2 element 212) in order for a flow to pass); and
a first link (elements 250/260/280) having one side rotatably coupled to the casing (see figures 4-5 showing portions (elements 250/260) being rotatably coupled to the casing via element 203 and see also paragraph 0064), and the other side coupled to the connection hose (see figure 2 showing a top end of element 250 being coupled to a bottom side of the connection hose (element 270)),
wherein at least a part of the flow path switching module cover is tightly attached to the first link (Giving that the flow path switching module cover (element 201b) covers the open side of the casing (see paragraph 0046 and see also figure 3) that houses the first link (element250/260/280) and there is no additional structure provided or structural difference, thus the prior is capable of having the flow path switching module cover be tightly attached to the first link).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the flow path switching module that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Hackert with the flow path switching module that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Lee in order to provide wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, and an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion, the connection hose being selectively coupled to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, wherein at least a part of the flow path switching module cover is tightly attached to the first link, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known flow path switch with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector. Additionally, it would also provide added feature of having the path selecting unit isolates different paths from each other, decrease of fluid pressure during path diversion may be reduced and the path selecting unit is easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraphs 0103/0105) (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
Regarding claim 6, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 5, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a first link rotary shaft support member protruding toward the first link and having an end configured to support a rotary shaft of the first link.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112), a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063), wherein the flow path switching module comprises a first link (elements 250/260/280), and a flow path switching module cover (element 201b). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a first link rotary shaft support member (element 202) protruding toward the first link (see figure 2) and having an end configured to support a rotary shaft (element 282) of the first link (see figure 2 showing the an end portion of element 202 (first link rotary shaft support member) inserted through element 281 of a portion (element 280) of the first link (elements 250/260/280), and see also figure 5 showing element 202 (first link rotary shaft support member) supporting element 280 (portion of the first link) that comprises the rotary shaft (element 282), thus the first link rotary shaft support member end is operably supporting the rotary shaft of the first link).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Lee in order to provide wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a first link rotary shaft support member protruding toward the first link and having an end configured to support a rotary shaft of the first link. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover comprising the claimed structural features would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended while also allowing the path selecting unit (i.e. flow path switching module) to be easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 7, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 5, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a first link connection portion support member protruding toward the first link and having an end configured to support a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112), a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063), wherein the flow path switching module comprises a first link (elements 250/260/280), and a flow path switching module cover (element 201b). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a first link connection portion support member (element 203) protruding toward the first link (see figure 2) and having an end configured to support a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose (see figures 4-5 showing the an end portion of element 203 (first link connection portion support member) inserted through element 262 of a portion (element 260) of the first link (elements 250/260/280) which defines a portion of a connection portion between the first link (elements 250/260/280) and the connection hose (element 270), thus the end of the first link connection portion support member operably supports the connection portion between the first link and the connection hose).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Lee in order to wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a first link connection portion support member protruding toward the first link and having an end configured to support a connection portion between the first link and the connection hose. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover comprising the claimed structural features would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended while also allowing the path selecting unit (i.e. flow path switching module) to be easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 8, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 7, wherein the first link connection portion support member extends along a first trajectory defined as the connection portion between the first link and the connection hose moves (see figures 4-5 showing the end of the first link connection portion support member (element 203) extends along a first trajectory (left and right) defined as the connection portion between the first link and the connection hose moves).
Regarding claim 16, Hackert discloses: a cleaner station (Figure 1 element 10 and see also paragraph 0037) comprising:
a housing (elements 40/50) configured to define an external shape (outer surface shape of elements 40/50) and having a space (see figure 1 the housing (elements 40/50) having an inner space wherein multiple internal components reside) therein, at least any one of a first cleaner (element 30) and a second cleaner (element 20) being coupled to the housing (see figure 1);
a first cleaner flow path (element 50F) disposed in the housing (see figure 1) and connected to a dust bin (element 30C) of the first cleaner (see figure 1);
a second cleaner flow path disposed in the housing (see figure 1) and connected to a dust bin (element 20C) of the second cleaner (see figure 1);
a dust collecting flow path (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) having an inlet (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) selectively connected to any one of the first cleaner flow path and the second cleaner flow path (via element 10E and see also paragraph 0108), and an outlet (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) connected to a dust collecting part (element 50G);
a flow path switching module (element 10E) disposed between the dust collecting flow path, the first cleaner flow path, and the second cleaner flow path (see figure 1 annotated below) and configured to selectively connect the dust collecting flow path to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0108-0109).
However, Hackert does not explicitly disclose wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing and a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module, coupled to the housing, and configured to block at least a part of the flow path switching module.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to provided wherein the flow path switching module being separably coupled to the housing, since separating parts that were once integral involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that making flow path switching module separable from the housing would necessarily allow the user to interchange damaged components including the flow path switching module from the housing of the cleaner station without having to replace the entire cleaner station, thus reducing cost (See MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C)).
However, Hackert modified appears to be silent comprising a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module, coupled to the housing, and configured to block at least a part of the flow path switching module.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112) and a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the cleaner station further comprising: a flow path switching module cover (element 201b) disposed at one side of the flow path switching module (see figure 2) and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module (see figure 3 and see also paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Lee in order to provide a flow path switching module cover disposed at one side of the flow path switching module and coupled to the housing to block at least a part of the flow path switching module. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover covering the flow path switching module would necessarily allow the path selecting unit (i.e. flow path switching module) to be easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 17, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 16, wherein the flow path switching module is separably coupled to the housing (see rejection of claim 16 above on page 42).
Regarding claim 18, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 16, and further discloses utilizing a different means of the flow path switching module in the form of “a shut-off flap or a (butterfly) valve” (see paragraph 0108) being operably connected to the dust collector of the housing and first/second flow paths (see figure 1). However, Hackert appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing separably coupled to the housing ;a connection hose coupled to the casing and configured to communicate with the flow path; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose and configured to move the connection hose.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112) and a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switching module comprises:
a casing (element 201a) separably coupled to the housing (see figures 2-3);
a connection hose (element 270) coupled to the casing (see figure 1) and configured to communicate with the flow path (see figure 5 annotated below showing the connection hose (element 270) being communicating (see arrow) to the first cleaner flow path (element 210) which would necessarily have the connection hose be coupled to the first cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 2 element 212) in order for a flow to pass); and
a first link (elements 250/260/280) having one side rotatably coupled to the casing (see figures 4-5 showing portions (elements 250/260) being rotatably coupled to the casing via element 203 and see also paragraph 0064), and the other side coupled to the connection hose (see figure 2 showing a top end of element 250 being coupled to a bottom side of the connection hose (element 270)) and configured to move the connection hose (see figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the flow path switching module that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Hackert with the flow path switching module that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Lee in order to provide wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing separably coupled to the housing ;a connection hose coupled to the casing and configured to communicate with the flow path; and a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose and configured to move the connection hose, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known flow path switch with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector. Additionally, it would also provide added feature of having the path selecting unit isolates different paths from each other, decrease of fluid pressure during path diversion may be reduced and the path selecting unit is easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraphs 0103/0105) (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
Regarding claim 20, Hackert discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 16 and 18, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a support member protruding toward the flow path switching module and having an end configured to support one side of the flow path switching module.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112), a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063), wherein the flow path switching module comprises a first link (elements 250/260/280), and a flow path switching module cover (element 201b). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a support member protruding (element 202) toward the flow path switching module (see figure 2) and having an end configured to support one side of the flow path switching module (see figure 2 showing the an end portion of element 202 (first link rotary shaft support member) inserted through element 281 of a portion (element 280) of the flow path switching module (elements 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280), thus supporting one side of the path switching module).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Lee in order to provide wherein the flow path switching module cover comprises a support member protruding toward the flow path switching module and having an end configured to support one side of the flow path switching module. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the flow path switching module cover comprising the claimed structural features would necessarily allow the device to continue to function as intended while also allowing the path selecting unit (i.e. flow path switching module) to be easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraph 0105).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933) in view of Lee (US Pub. No. 2010/0251504) and Loveless (US Patent No. 3,762,664).
Regarding claim 10, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, and further discloses utilizing a different means of the flow path switching module in the form of “a shut-off flap or a (butterfly) valve” (see paragraph 0108) being operably connected to the dust collector of the housing and first/second flow paths (see figure 1). However, Hackert appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose disposed in the casing and having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being coupled selectively to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion and having an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion; a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose; a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
Lee is also concerned in providing a cleaner having a flow path switch (Figures 1-5 and see also paragraph 0044) that may be adapted in a variety of different apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths (see paragraph 0101), the cleaner comprising a first cleaner flow path (element 121), a second flow path (element 130), a dust collecting flow path (element 112) and a flow path switching module (element 201a/201b/230/250/260/270/271/275/280) the selectively connect a third flow path (element 112) to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path (see paragraphs 0062/0063). Lee further teaches wherein the flow path switching module comprises:
a casing (element 201a) having a first cleaner flow path connection portion (element 210) connected to the first cleaner flow path (see figure 3), a second cleaner flow path connection portion (element 220) connected to the second cleaner flow path (see figure 3), and a dust collecting flow path connection portion (element 230) connected to the dust collecting flow path (see paragraph 0063);
a connection hose (element 270) disposed in the casing (see figures 1-2) and having an inlet (element 271 and see also figures 4-5 annotated below Detail B) configured to move along an inner peripheral surface (see figures 4-5 annotated below Detail C), the connection hose being coupled selectively to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion (see figure 5 annotated below showing the connection hose (element 270) being fluidly coupled (see arrow) to the first cleaner flow path (element 210) which would necessarily have the connection hose be coupled to the first cleaner flow path connection opening (see figure 2 element 212) in order for a flow to pass) and the second cleaner flow path connection portion and having an outlet (element 272) coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0053);
a first link (elements 250/260/280) having one side rotatably coupled to the casing (see figures 4-5 showing portions (elements 250/260) being rotatably coupled to the casing via element 203 and see also paragraph 0064), and the other side coupled to the connection hose (see figure 2 showing a top end of element 250 being coupled to a bottom side of the connection hose (element 270)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the flow path switching module that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Hackert with the flow path switching module that connects a path selectively to the first cleaner flow path or the second cleaner flow path of Lee in order to provide wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a casing having a first cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the first cleaner flow path, a second cleaner flow path connection portion connected to the second cleaner flow path, and a dust collecting flow path connection portion connected to the dust collecting flow path; a connection hose disposed in the casing and having an inlet configured to move along an inner peripheral surface of the casing, the connection hose being coupled selectively to any one of the first cleaner flow path connection portion and the second cleaner flow path connection portion and having an outlet coupled to the dust collecting flow path connection portion; a first link having one side rotatably coupled to the casing, and the other side coupled to the connection hose, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known flow path switch with the claimed structure would necessarily allow the cleaner station to continue to operate as intended in order to control the air flow by connecting selectively the first or second fluid path to the dust collector. Additionally, it would also provide added feature of having the path selecting unit isolates different paths from each other, decrease of fluid pressure during path diversion may be reduced and the path selecting unit is easy to maintain, since it is possible to repair the path selecting unit by separating the casing cover on one side as disclosed by Lee (see paragraphs 0103/0105) (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
However, Hackert modified appears to be silent wherein a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
Loveless is also concerned in providing a flow path switching module (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) used for apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths, a housing (element 62) wherein the flow path switch comprises a casing (element 8) having a first flow path connection opening (element 18) connected to a first flow path (element 6), a second flow path connection opening (element 19) connected to a second flow path (element 7), a connection hose (element 29) having an inlet (opening of element 32) being selectively coupled to the first flow path connection opening and the second flow path connection opening (see figures 10-12), and a first link (elements 51/52/59). Loveless further teaches wherein the flow path switching module comprises a switching motor (element 75 and see also col. 5, ll. 56 where the prior art discloses element 75 as “a motor”) disposed in the housing (see figure 5) and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose (see col. 6, ll. 14-29) and a driving cam (element 79) coupled to the switching motor (see col. 6, ll. 27-29 where the prior art discloses element 75 (switching motor) is coupled to element 79 (driving cam) via element 77) and configured to transmit the power to the first link (see figures 10-12 and see also col. 6, ll. 24-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Loveless to provide a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known driving means would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the connection hose to move in an automated/control manner in order to automatically couple the hose to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or second cleaner flow path connection opening during operations, thus increasing efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Hackert modified discloses: the cleaner station of claim 10, wherein the connection hose and the first link are coupled to the casing and constitute one assembly (see figure 1 of prior art Lee), and the assembly is integrally coupled to or separated from the housing (see figures 2-3 of prior art Lee).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US Pub. No. 2020/0329933) in view of Lee (US Pub. No. 2010/0251504) as applied to claims 16 and 18 above, and further in view of Loveless (US Patent No. 3,762,664).
Regarding claim 19, Hackert modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 16 and 18, but appears to be silent wherein the flow path switching module comprises: a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose; and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link.
Loveless is also concerned in providing a flow path switching module (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) used for apparatuses which require diverting of fluid flow paths, a housing (element 62) wherein the flow path switch comprises a casing (element 8) having a first flow path connection opening (element 18) connected to a first flow path (element 6), a second flow path connection opening (element 19) connected to a second flow path (element 7), a connection hose (element 29) having an inlet (opening of element 32) being selectively coupled to the first flow path connection opening and the second flow path connection opening (see figures 10-12), and a first link (elements 51/52/59). Loveless further teaches wherein the flow path switching module comprises a switching motor (element 75 and see also col. 5, ll. 56 where the prior art discloses element 75 as “a motor”) disposed in the housing (see figure 5) and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose (see col. 6, ll. 14-29) and a driving cam (element 79) coupled to the switching motor (see col. 6, ll. 27-29 where the prior art discloses element 75 (switching motor) is coupled to element 79 (driving cam) via element 77) and configured to transmit the power to the first link (see figures 10-12 and see also col. 6, ll. 24-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hackert to incorporate the teachings of Loveless to provide a switching motor disposed in the housing and configured to generate power for moving the connection hose and a driving cam coupled to the switching motor and configured to transmit the power to the first link. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known driving means would necessarily provide the predictable result of allowing the connection hose to move in an automated/control manner in order to automatically couple the hose to one of the first cleaner flow path connection opening or second cleaner flow path connection opening during operations, thus increasing efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 (claims 13-14 depends on claim 12) recites limitation related to the cleaner station, specifically wherein the first link comprises: a gear portion connected to the driving cam and having gear teeth; and a partition wall disposed on a rear surface of the gear portion and extending outward in a radial direction of the gear portion.
The prior art of Loveless discloses a flow path switch (Figures 1-12 and see also col. 3, ll. 41-18) comprising a switching motor (element 75 and see also col. 5, ll. 56 where the prior art discloses element 75 as “a motor”) disposed at one side of the casing (see figure 5 showing element 75 (switching motor) disposed at a side of the casing (element 8) and configured to generate power to move the connection hose (see col. 6, ll. 14-29); and a driving cam (element 79) coupled to the switching motor (see col. 6, ll. 27-29 where the prior art discloses element 75 (switching motor) is coupled to element 79 (driving cam) via element 77) and configured to transmit the power generated by the switching motor to a first link (elements 51/52/59). However, the prior art does not disclose wherein the first link comprises: a gear portion connected to the driving cam and having gear teeth; and a partition wall disposed on a rear surface of the gear portion and extending outward in a radial direction of the gear portion.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723