Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. BE2022/5232, filed on 30 March 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially larger” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially larger” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examining purposes, “substantially larger” is read as “.
Claim 19, lines 7-8 recites “wherein an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter inlet duct forms a minimum opening with a certain minimum equivalent internal diameter and” is read as “wherein an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter inlet duct forms a minimum opening with a
Claim 19, lines 9-10 recites “wherein an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter intermediate duct part forms a maximum opening with a certain maximum equivalent internal diameter” is read as “wherein an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter intermediate duct part forms a maximum opening with a
Claim 20, lines 4-9 recites “partly compressed fluid which is present in the compressor element is influenced and this in such a way that a reflection pressure pulsation wave coming from the adapter in a backward or upstream direction, influences or compensates at least partly the forward or downstream pressure pulsation wave, so that the pressure of the compressed fluid upstream of the adapter has an overall less pulsating character and/or shows a phase shift compared to a compressor device which has no such adapter of acoustic impedance.” It is unclear how to quantify “influenced” and “an overall less pulsating character”. It is unclear what action and result is “influences”. Moreover, the term “overall” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “overall” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examining purposes, “wherein the compression of fluid in the compressor element results in a forward or downstream pressure pulsation wave in the compressed fluid and that the adapter modifies the acoustic impedance in such a way that the compressed or partly compressed fluid which is present in the compressor element is influenced and this in such a way that a reflection pressure pulsation wave coming from the adapter in a backward or upstream direction, influences or compensates at least partly the forward or downstream pressure pulsation wave, so that the pressure of the compressed fluid upstream of the adapter has an overall less pulsating character and/or shows a phase shift compared to a compressor device which has no such adapter of acoustic impedance” is read as “wherein the compression of fluid in the compressor element results in a forward or downstream pressure pulsation wave in the compressed fluid and that the adapter modifies the acoustic impedance changes the forward or downstream pressure pulsation wave, so that the pressure of the compressed fluid upstream of the adapter has reduced pulsating character and/or shows a phase shift compared to a compressor device which has no such adapter of acoustic impedance.”
Claim 23, lines 1-2 recites “an internal cross-sectional area forms an opening” but does refer to what has this opening. Since line 4 recites “between this internal cross-sectional area of the adapter intermediate duct part”, for examining purposes “an internal cross-sectional area forms an opening” is read as “an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter intermediate duct part forms an opening”.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the ratio defined by the distance” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examining purposes, “the ratio defined by the distance” is read as “a ratio defined by a distance”.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "and the far end of the adapter inlet duct" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examining purposes, “and the far end of the adapter inlet duct” is read as “and a far end of the adapter inlet duct”. Examiner notes Specifications Paras. 58-59 comprises an equation of this relationship, and suggests incorporating the equation for clarity.
Claim 30, line 2 recites the phrases "such as" and “or the like”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examining purposes, “wherein a damping material for attenuating gas pulsations, such as an acoustic foam, steel wool or the like” is read as “wherein a damping material for attenuating gas pulsations
Claim 31, lines 10-14 recites “the adapter intermediate duct part comprises multiple expansion chambers which are positioned symmetrically with respect to or around the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct with respect to a plane which is perpendicular to a direction in which the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct or to a direction in which the adapter intermediate duct part or an intermediate spacer duct extend(s).” It is unclear how aforementioned list is separated. For examining purposes, the aforementioned is read as:
“-the adapter intermediate duct part comprises multiple expansion chambers which are positioned symmetrically with respect to or around the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct ;
-the adapter intermediate duct part comprises multiple expansion chambers which are positioned symmetrically with respect to a plane ; and/or
-the adapter intermediate duct part comprises multiple expansion chambers which are positioned symmetrically with respect to a direction in which the adapter intermediate duct part or an intermediate spacer duct extend(s).”
Claims 21-22, 24-29, and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) for their dependence upon claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20, 26-28, 30-31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2).
Regarding Claim 19, Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2) discloses a compressor device (Col. 6, Lines 1-20; Fig. 1) comprising:
a compressor element for compressing a fluid, comprising a fluid duct for guiding the fluid through the compressor element from a fluid duct inlet to a fluid duct outlet (Compressor 11 compresses air, from fluid duct inlet A to fluid duct outlet 27 ; Col. 8, Lines 19-30; Examiner Annotated Kikuchi Fig. 1),
wherein an adapter of acoustic impedance is provided at the fluid duct outlet comprising an adapter inlet duct and an adapter outlet duct which are interconnected by means of an adapter intermediate duct part which encloses at least one expansion chamber (Adapter 10 at fluid duct outlet 27 comprising adapter inlet duct 15 and adapter outlet duct 16 interconnected by adapter intermediate duct part 14 enclosing chambers 24-25,34; Col. 6; Fig. 2),
wherein an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter inlet duct forms a minimum opening with a (Diameter of area S1/51 of inlet 15; Col. 6, Lines 45-50; Fig. 2) and
wherein an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter intermediate duct part forms a maximum opening with a (Diameter of cylindrical region of area S3 forms maximum; Col. 8, Lines 1-20; Fig. 2) and
wherein the maximum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter intermediate duct part is (S3 of 14 is larger than S1/51 of 15; Col. 8, Lines 1-20; Fig. 2).
Examiner Annotated Kikuchi Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 20, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19, wherein the compression of fluid in the compressor element results in a forward or downstream pressure pulsation wave in the compressed fluid (Forward or downstream are treated as synonyms. Compressor’s discharge/downstream side pressure pulsation frequency at rated operation is 900 Hz; Col. 21, Lines 40-47) and that the adapter modifies the acoustic impedance coming from the adapter in a backward or upstream direction (Backward or upstream direction are treated as synonyms), changes the forward or downstream pressure pulsation wave, so that the pressure of the compressed fluid upstream of the adapter has (Attenuated/less pulsating character follows from acoustic impedance changes due to cross-sectional area/reflection changes between A and 16; Col. 6, Lines 45-56; Col. 8, Lines 19-62; Col. 9, Lines 15-40; Fig. 2; Examiner Annotated Kikuchi Fig. 1 ).
Regarding Claim 26, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19, wherein the adapter intermediate duct part encloses more than one expansion chamber (Adapter intermediate duct part 14 enclosing chambers 24-25; Col. 6; Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 27, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19, wherein the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct extend partly into the adapter intermediate duct part (Adapter outlet duct 16 extends into 14; Col. 7, Lines 1-8; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 28, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 27, wherein the part of the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct which extend(s) into the adapter intermediate duct part is perforated (31 part of adapter outlet duct 16 extends into 14 and is perforated; Col. 7, Lines 9-25; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 30, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19, wherein a damping material for attenuating gas pulsations(Damping material 37 in expansion chamber 25 of adapter intermediate duct part Col. 9, Lines 65-67; Col. 10, Lines 1-10;Col. 20, Lines 55-65; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 31, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19, wherein the adapter intermediate duct part (14; Fig. 2) has one or more of the following characteristics:
- the adapter intermediate duct part is executed as a quarter wavelength resonator (In 14 of Fig. 21: Distances L11 and L12 are quarter wavelength λ0/4 resonators; Col. 19, Lines 1-30);
- the adapter intermediate duct part is executed as a Helmholtz resonator;
- the adapter intermediate duct part comprises an expansion chamber with a mainly spherical shape, hemispherical shape, conical shape, cubical shape, prismatic shape, cylindrical shape, rectangular shape or box shape or which has an S-shaped cross-section (Expansion chambers 54c-d are cylindrical shape or rectangular; Col. 20, Lines 15-55; Fig. 26-27);
- the adapter intermediate duct part comprises a pair of expansion chambers which are spaced from one another by means of an intermediate spacer duct (Fig. 12: 14 comprises expansion chambers 24-25 spaced by intermediate spacer duct 35; Col. 14, Lines 15-35); and/or,
-the adapter intermediate duct part comprises multiple expansion chambers which are positioned symmetrically with respect to or around the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct (In Fig. 19-20: Chambers 34a-b positioned symmetrically about 31 of inlet 15; Col. 17, Lines 24-62);
-the adapter intermediate duct part comprises multiple expansion chambers which are positioned symmetrically with respect to a plane (In Fig. 19-20: Chambers 34a-b positioned symmetrically with respect to plane formed by 51a perpendicular to direction P/51b in which inlet 15 extends; Col. 17, Lines 24-62); and/or
-the adapter intermediate duct part comprises multiple expansion chambers which are positioned symmetrically with respect to a direction in which the adapter intermediate duct part or an intermediate spacer duct extend(s) (Fig. 12: 14 comprises expansion chambers 24-25 positioned symmetrical with respect to direction P in which 14 and intermediate spacer duct 35 extends; Col. 14, Lines 15-35).
Regarding Claim 33, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19, wherein the compressor element is a tooth compressor (Screw compressor 11 comprises tooth of a screw; therefore, it is a tooth compressor; Col. 21, Lines 5-35; Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2).
Regarding Claim 21, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19. Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the length of the adapter inlet duct between the compressor element and the adapter intermediate duct part (Length 13 of inlet 15 between intermediate 14; Fig. 1) is smaller than four times the minimum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter inlet duct (Diameter of area S1/51 of inlet 15; Fig. 2). However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of optimizing noise reduction at target frequencies based on path length (Col. 22, Lines 15-25), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2) in view of Watanabe et al. (US 10,337,748 B2).
Regarding Claim 22, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19. Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the maximum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter intermediate duct part (Diameter of cylindrical region of area S3; Fig. 2) is larger than twice the minimum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter inlet duct (Diameter of area S1/51 of inlet 15; Fig. 2). However, Watanabe et al. (US 10,337,748 B2) teaches wherein the maximum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter intermediate duct part is larger than twice the minimum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter inlet duct (Watanabe: Maximum equivalent internal diameter D of adapter intermediate duct part 8 is 5.7 times larger than minimum equivalent internal diameter D2 of adapter inlet duct 12; Col. 4, Lines 44-55; Fig. 4). Watanabe et al. and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Watanabe et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the maximum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter intermediate duct part is larger than twice the minimum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter inlet duct for the purpose of enhancing muffling effect of an existing compressor assembly (Watanabe: Col. 5; Lines 40-61; Col. 6, Lines 33-50).
Regarding Claim 23, Kikuchi et al. as modified by Watanabe et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 22, wherein an internal cross-sectional area of the adapter intermediate duct part forms an opening with an equivalent internal diameter which is at least twice the minimum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter inlet duct (Watanabe: Maximum equivalent internal diameter D of adapter intermediate duct part 8 is 5.7 times larger than minimum equivalent internal diameter D2 of adapter inlet duct 12; Col. 4, Lines 44-55; Fig. 4) and that a ratio defined by a distance between this internal cross-sectional area of the adapter intermediate duct part and a far end of the adapter inlet duct divided by the double of the minimum equivalent internal diameter of the adapter inlet duct is less than 1 (Watanabe Fig. 4: Far end of adapter inlet duct 11 with diameter D2 occurs at internal cross-sectional area of adapter intermediate duct part 8 with diameter D; therefore its distance is 0 is less than 1).
Claim(s) 24, 29, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2) in view of Pauwels (US 5,810,566).
Regarding Claim 24, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19. Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part increases monotonically from the adapter inlet duct towards a maximum internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part. However, Pauwels (US 5,810,566) teaches wherein the internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part increases monotonically from the adapter inlet duct towards a maximum internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part (Pauwels: 3 gradually increases/monotonically from adapter inlet duct 5 towards maximum internal cross-sectional area 12; Col. 3, Lines 50-67). Pauwels and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Pauwels would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part increases monotonically from the adapter inlet duct towards a maximum internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part for the purpose of preventing standing waves from generating between the outlet of the compressor and the adapter inlet duct (Pauwels: Col. 2, Lines 40-60).
Regarding Claim 29, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 27, wherein the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct extend(s) through the adapter duct part for interconnecting the adapter inlet duct and the adapter outlet duct by means of an internal duct part and that the internal duct part is at least partly perforated (Internal duct 31 part of adapter outlet duct 16 extends partially into 14 and is perforated; Col. 7, Lines 9-25; Fig. 2).
Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct extend(s) entirely through. However, Pauwels (US 5,810,566) teaches wherein the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct extend(s) entirely through the adapter duct part for interconnecting the adapter inlet duct and the adapter outlet duct by means of an internal duct part and that the internal duct part is at least partly perforated (Pauwels: Inlet 5 and/or 7 extends entirely through 3 for interconnecting 5 and 7 via internal duct part 10, with 10 being perforated via wire mesh; Col. 4, Lines 1-20; Fig. 1). Pauwels and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Pauwels would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the adapter inlet duct and/or the adapter outlet duct extend(s) entirely through the adapter duct part for interconnecting the adapter inlet duct and the adapter outlet duct by means of an internal duct part and that the internal duct part is at least partly perforated for the purpose of preventing maintaining a constant passage throughout the adapter of acoustic impedance (Pauwels: Col. 4, Lines 1-20).
Regarding Claim 35, Kikuchi et al. discloses a compressor assembly for compressing a fluid, comprising a housing, a fluid duct for guiding the fluid through a compressor device from a fluid duct inlet to a fluid duct outlet, one or more compressor stages in the fluid duct, at least one of the compressor stages formed by a compressor device according to claim 19 (Assembly with housing as dashed rectangle of Fig. 1; Col. 6, Lines 1-20; Compressor 11 compresses air, from fluid duct inlet A to fluid duct outlet 27 ; Col. 8, Lines 19-30; Examiner Annotated Kikuchi Fig. 1), wherein downstream in the fluid stream of each compressor stage a cooler for cooling compressed fluid is provided in the fluid duct. Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein downstream in the fluid stream of each compressor stage a cooler for cooling compressed fluid is provided in the fluid duct.
However, Pauwels (US 5,810,566) teaches wherein downstream in the fluid stream of each compressor stage a cooler for cooling compressed fluid is provided in the fluid duct (Pauwels: Downstream of compressor 5a connects to inlet 7 of aftercooler, which is part of compressor 5a; Col. 3, Lines 50-65; Fig. 1). Pauwels and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Pauwels would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein downstream in the fluid stream of each compressor stage a cooler for cooling compressed fluid is provided in the fluid duct for the purpose of removing heat after the compression stage.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2) in view of Tomell et al. (US 6,558,137 B2).
Regarding Claim 34, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19. Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the compressor element is of a type with one or more of the following nominal operational conditions: - it has a nominal flow rate which is in the range between 40 and 140 1/s; and/or, - it has a rotor with a nominal rotor speed range between 3000 and 9000 rpm.
However, Tomell et al. (US 6,558,137 B2) teaches wherein the compressor element is of a type with one or more of the following nominal operational conditions:
- it has a nominal flow rate which is in the range between 40 and 140 1/s (Tomell: Compressors 20 driven by electrical power of 60 1/s Hertz with a single cylinder/piston have a pumping frequency of 60 1/s and two cylinders/pistons with pumping frequency of 120 1/s; Col. 18, Lines 35-67; Fig. 1. Both 60 and 120 1/s are within stated range); and/or,
- it has a rotor with a nominal rotor speed range between 3000 and 9000 rpm (Tomell: Compressors 20 driven by speed of motor 28 at 3450-3500 rpm produced by rotor 34; Col. 18, Lines 35-50; Fig. 1).
Tomell et al. and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Tomell et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the compressor element is of a type with one or more of the following nominal operational conditions: - it has a nominal flow rate which is in the range between 40 and 140 1/s; and/or, - it has a rotor with a nominal rotor speed range between 3000 and 9000 rpm for the purpose of being directly correlated to the frequency of the motor predicted from a commonly used electrical power and number of cylinders/pistons (Tomell: Col. 18, Lines 45-67).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2) in view of Huff et al. (US 8,256,569 B1).
Regarding Claim 25, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19. Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part decreases monotonically from a maximum internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part towards the adapter outlet duct. However, Huff et al. (US 8,256,569 B1) teaches wherein the internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part decreases monotonically from a maximum internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part towards the adapter outlet duct (Huff: 24 is frusto-conical therefore converges/decreases monotonically from maximum D1 at inlet 12 to D2 of outlet 14; Col. 4, Lines 5-35). Huff et al. and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Huff et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part decreases monotonically from a maximum internal cross-sectional area or opening of the adapter intermediate duct part towards the adapter outlet duct for the purpose of reducing the lowest frequency system resonance that occurs when using a resonator muffler (Huff: Col. 3, Lines 40-45).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2) in view of Chichester et al. (US 5,248,168).
Regarding Claim 32, Kikuchi et al. discloses the compressor device according to claim 19. Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the adapter inlet duct or the adapter outlet duct is provided with a flexible coupling or a flexible spacer ring. However, Chichester et al. (US 5,248,168) teaches wherein the adapter inlet duct or the adapter outlet duct is provided with a flexible coupling or a flexible spacer ring (Chichester: Described as flexible connector; Col. 1, Lines 45-50. Adapter duct 10 provided with flexible coupling 20 with spring clip 40 and elastomeric 25; Col. 2, Lines 46-65; Col. 4, Lines 28-46; Fig. 1-2). Chichester et al. and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Chichester et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the adapter inlet duct or the adapter outlet duct is provided with a flexible coupling or a flexible spacer ring for the purpose of vibration absorption and resistance to leakage between mated components (Chichester: Col. 1, Lines 45-61).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (US 10,174,655 B2) in view of Kimura et al. (US 10,920,778 B2).
Regarding Claim 36, Kikuchi et al. discloses a compressor assembly for compressing a fluid, comprising a housing, a fluid duct for guiding the fluid through a compressor device from a fluid duct inlet to a fluid duct outlet (Assembly with housing as dashed rectangle of Fig. 1; Col. 6, Lines 1-20; Compressor 11 compresses air, from fluid duct inlet A to fluid duct outlet 27 ; Col. 8, Lines 19-30; Examiner Annotated Kikuchi Fig. 1).
Kikuchi et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the compressor assembly comprises a low-pressure stage and a high-pressure stage in the fluid duct, wherein downstream of the low-pressure stage, an air-cooled intercooler is provided in the fluid duct and wherein downstream of the high-pressure stage an air-cooled aftercooler is provided in the fluid duct, wherein the low-pressure stage and/or the high-pressure stage comprises a compressor element and adapter of acoustic impedance according to claim 19, wherein downstream in the fluid stream of each compressor stage a cooler for cooling compressed fluid is provided in the fluid duct.
However, Kimura et al. (US 10,920,778 B2) teaches
wherein the compressor assembly comprises a low-pressure stage and a high-pressure stage in the fluid duct (Kimura: Compressor assembly 100 with low stage 51 and high stage 54, inherent from each subsequent stage further compressing pressure; Col. 3, Lines 4-10; Fig. 1),
wherein downstream of the low-pressure stage, an air-cooled intercooler is provided in the fluid duct (Kimura: Low stage 51 followed by intercooler 53; Col. 3, Lines 20-26; Fig. 1) and
wherein downstream of the high-pressure stage an air-cooled aftercooler is provided in the fluid duct (Kimura: High stage 54 followed by aftercooler 56; Col. 3, Lines 20-26; Fig. 1),
wherein the low-pressure stage and/or the high-pressure stage comprises a compressor element and adapter of acoustic impedance (Kimura: Low stage 51 and high stage 53 comprise a screw rotor/compressor element and adapter of acoustic impedance 52 and 55 ; Col. 3, Lines 4-20; Fig. 1) according to claim 19,
wherein downstream in the fluid stream of each compressor stage a cooler for cooling compressed fluid is provided in the fluid duct (Kimura: Downstream low stage 51 is cooler 54 and downstream high stage 53 is cooler 56 ; Col. 3, Lines 20-26; Fig. 1) .
Kimura et al. and Kikuchi et al. are in similar fields comprising silencers for compressors. Modifying Kikuchi et al. with teachings of Kimura et al. would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the compressor assembly comprises a low-pressure stage and a high-pressure stage in the fluid duct, wherein downstream of the low-pressure stage, an air-cooled intercooler is provided in the fluid duct and wherein downstream of the high-pressure stage an air-cooled aftercooler is provided in the fluid duct, wherein the low-pressure stage and/or the high-pressure stage comprises a compressor element and adapter of acoustic impedance according to claim 19, wherein downstream in the fluid stream of each compressor stage a cooler for cooling compressed fluid is provided in the fluid duct for the purpose improving compression efficiency by decreasing temperature of compressed air after each stage of compression while reducing noise (Kimura: Col. 1, Lines 35-47; Col. 3, Lines 20-26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-9951761-B2, US-2570241-A, US-5183974-A, US-5205719-A, US-12203463-B2
/JENNIFER B OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837