DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/9/2026 and 3/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote et al. (US Patent No. 6,098,117) [hereinafter “Foote”] in view of Acharya et al. (US PGPUB No. 2022/0043653) [hereinafter “Acharya”].
As per claim 1, Foote teaches a device comprising: a power manager configured to control power provided to a plurality of power domains on the device, wherein each power domain has a respective client device (Col. 8, lines 15-20, module bank includes a network module which provides power to the individual I/O modules), wherein each respective client device has a respective access control (AC) component that is configured to control which other components on the device can communicate with the respective client device (Col. 19 lines 33-59, semaphore mechanism controls whether other components, i.e. network modules, can communicate and access I/O module registers); and a save-restore engine (SRE) configured to save, in an isolated local memory, configuration data for an AC component located in a power domain affected by the power manager initiating a power collapse operation (Abstract, communication module monitors for power-loss events and saves state and configuration data of module bank including I/O modules), and wherein the SRE is configured to restore, from the isolated local memory, the configuration data of the AC component when the power manager restores the power to the power domain of the AC component (Abstract and, restoring the state of the module bank to the captured state prior to the power-loss event) see also (Col. 36 lines 9-22, snapshot and restoration features capture the state of each I/O module and restoring).
Foote does not explicitly teach one or more subsystems of a device and a save-restore engine (SRE) configured to save, in an isolated local memory in a first power domain, configuration data for an AC component located in a second different power domain affected by the power manager initiating a power collapse operation. Acharya teaches one or more subsystems of a device ([0024], GPU and subsystems residing on a device see [0002] and [0008]) and a save-restore engine (SRE) configured to save, in an isolated local memory in a first power domain ([0024]-[0025], power controller storing “save-restore” state information of a subsystem when collapsing the subsystem power domain), configuration data for a component located in a second different power domain affected by the power manager initiating a power collapse operation ([0024], each subsystem is considered a collapsable power domain or an always-on domain see [0008]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote with teachings of Acharya, one or more subsystems of a device and a save-restore engine (SRE) configured to save, in an isolated local memory in a first power domain, configuration data for an AC component located in a second different power domain affected by the power manager initiating a power collapse operation, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and can be relied upon in subsequent operations.
As per claim 3, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1, wherein saving the configuration data for the AC component in the isolated local memory comprises: receiving, by the SRE, a save request from the power manager and an identification of the AC component (Col. 36, lines 9-30, receiving a snapshot command which captures each I/O module identified via an address and a Module ID); determining, by the SRE, that the identification is defined in an access control table that defines the AC component (Col. 36, lines 21 & 36-40, Module ID and Hot Swap ID stored in Module Information Structure used to control access to saving and restoring the I/O module see also Col. 36 lines 40-50); reading, by the SRE, the configuration data for the AC component from the AC component (Col. 36, lines 37-40, an image module is created and stored in the snap shot image see Col. 36 lines 15-20); and writing, by the SRE, the configuration data for the AC component in the isolated local memory (Col. 36, lines 15-20, storing the snapshot image including the image modules stored in local Flash memory see Col. 36 lines 15-16).
As per claim 6, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1, wherein during saving the configuration data for the AC component in the isolated local memory, the SRE is configured to send a signal to the AC component, wherein the signal causes the AC component to enter a state in which the AC component is accessible only by the SRE (Col. 19 lines 33-59, requesting the semaphore of an I/O module puts it into a state which it is only read/writing with the requestor, i.e. network/communication module see also Col. 20 lines 20-25).
As per claim 10, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1, wherein during restoring the configuration data for the AC component in the isolated local memory, the SRE is configured to send a signal to the AC component, wherein the signal causes the AC component to enter a state in which the AC component is accessible only by the SRE (Col. 19 lines 33-59, requesting the semaphore of an I/O module puts it into a state which it is only read/writing with the requestor, i.e. network/communication module see also Col. 20 lines 20-25).
As per claim 22, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in view of Jeon et al. (US PGPUB No. 2023/0069122) [hereinafter “Jeon”].
As per claim 2, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1.
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach wherein the SRE comprises a local table that includes, for the AC component: a first field that indicates if the AC component is successfully saved in the isolated local memory; and a second field that indicates a start address in the isolated local memory to perform the save operation and the restore operation. Jeon teaches wherein the SRE comprises a local table that includes, for the AC component: a first field that indicates if the AC component is successfully saved in the isolated local memory ([0022], status bit in P2L table indicating whether data has been successfully moved from source to destination address); and a second field that indicates a start address in the isolated local memory to perform the save operation and the restore operation ([0022], source and destination address indicates the start of any save and restore operations).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Jeon, wherein the SRE comprises a local table that includes, for the AC component: a first field that indicates if the AC component is successfully saved in the isolated local memory; and a second field that indicates a start address in the isolated local memory to perform the save operation and the restore operation, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and can be relied upon in subsequent operations.
As per claim 7, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1, wherein restoring the configuration data for the AC component from the isolated local memory comprises: receiving, by the SRE, a restore request from the power manager and an identification of the AC component (Col. 36, lines 24-52, network manager receives a notification of a power-up event which triggers the snapshot restoration of the I/O modules with the stored snapshot images – Examiner Note: this notification acts as a request); reading, by the SRE, the configuration data for the AC component from the isolated local memory (Col. 36 lines 14-16, snapshot image is stored in non-volatile memory in module bank accessible by the network module); and writing the configuration data to the AC component (Col. 36 lines 45-48, downloading snapshot state data into the module).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach determining, by the SRE, that the identification is defined in an access control table that defines the AC component. Jeon teaches determining, by the SRE, that the identification is defined in an access control table that defines the AC component ([0022], P2L table indicating status, address, and other relevant data regarding the state of the memory device to be restored).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Jeon, wherein saving the configuration data for the AC component comprises: sending, by the SRE, determining, by the SRE, that the identification is defined in an access control table that defines the AC component, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory.
As per claim 8, the combination of Foote and Jeon teaches the device of claim 7, wherein restoring the configuration data for the AC component from the isolated local memory comprises: in response to determining that the identification is defined in the access control table, determining, by the SRE, that the AC component is previously saved in the isolated local memory (Foote; Col 36 lines 39-41, network module determines whether image of a particular module is stored in the main snapshot image); in response, obtaining, by the SRE from the access control table, a start address of the AC component (Jeon; [0022], source and destination address indicates the start of any save and restore operations); and obtaining, by the SRE, a start address of the configuration data for the AC component stored in the isolated local memory (Jeon; [0022], addresses used to for save/restore operation after a power failure event).
Claims 4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in further view of Lasser et al. (US PGPUB No. 2008/0177936) [hereinafter “Lasser”].
As per claim 4, the combination of Foote, Acharya and Jeon teaches the device of claim 3, wherein saving the configuration data for the AC component in the isolated local memory comprises: in response to determining that the identification is defined in the access control table (Col. 36 lines 20-23, looking up module ID and Hot Swap ID by the network module).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach obtaining, by the SRE from the access control table, a start address of the AC component. Jeon teaches obtaining, by the SRE from the access control table, a start address of the AC component ([0022], source and destination address indicates the start of any save and restore operations).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Jeon, obtaining, by the SRE from the access control table, a start address of the AC component, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and can be relied upon in subsequent operations.
The combination of Foote, Acharya and Jeon does not explicitly teach determining whether memory space for a component is allocated in the isolated local memory; and in response to determining that the memory space the component is not allocated, allocating the memory space for the AC component using an unmapped address location in the isolated local memory. Lasser teaches determining whether memory space for a component is allocated in the isolated local memory ([0101, management can determine which blocks are free or taken in a flash memory); and in response to determining that the memory space the component is not allocated, allocating the memory space for the AC component using an unmapped address location in the isolated local memory ([0103], block space is allocated in the flash memory for objects using “free” blocks see [0102]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote, Acharya and Jeon with teachings of Lasser, determining whether memory space for a component is allocated in the isolated local memory; and in response to determining that the memory space the component is not allocated, allocating the memory space for the AC component using an unmapped address location in the isolated local memory, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory. This memory management of Lasser could be implemented in the save and restore system of Foote to assist in managing the images and various metadata such as module ID’s and address space.
As per claim 21, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in view of Kanno (US PGPUB No. 2018/0267827).
As per claim 5, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 3.
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach wherein saving the configuration data for the AC component comprises: sending, by the SRE, a save completion response to the power manager. Kanno teaches wherein saving the configuration data for the AC component comprises: sending, by the SRE, a save completion response to the power manager ([0043], replies indicating the completion of the storing of the user data sent to PLP manager see [0040]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Kanno, wherein saving the configuration data for the AC component comprises: sending, by the SRE, a save completion response to the power manager, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote, Acharya and Jeon in further view of Zhang et al. (US PGPUB No. 2013/0205063) [hereinafter “Zhang”].
As per claim 9, the combination of Foote, Acharya and Jeon teaches the device of claim 7.
The combination of Foote, Acharya and Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein restoring the configuration data for the AC component comprises: sending, by the SRE, a restore completion response to the power manager. Zhang teaches restoring the configuration data for the AC component comprises: sending, by the SRE, a restore completion response to the power manager ([0037], verifying a restore operation of hardware device with firmware or BIOS image).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote, Acharya and Jeon with teachings of Zhang, restoring the configuration data for the AC component comprises: sending, by the SRE, a restore completion response to the power manager, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in further view of Kaga et al. (US PGPUB No. 2013/0159255) [hereinafter “Kaga”] in further view of Wang et al. (US PGPUB No. 2017/0147308) [hereinafter “Wang”].
As per claim 11, the combination of Foote and Acharya teach a device of claim 1 wherein the AC component is a third party AC component (Abstract, I/O modules can be manufactured by different companies see Col. 1 lines 20-32).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach a save restore tracker that tracks when the save operation or the restore operation starts and ends. Kaga teaches a save restore tracker that tracks when the save operation or the restore operation starts and ends ([0074]-[0075], recording start and end time of backup/restore operations and storing in history information table).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with the teachings of Kaga, a save restore tracker that tracks when the save operation or the restore operation starts and ends, to log all relevant metadata which can be used to filter and fine tune operations in the future.
The combination of Foote, Acharya and Kaga does not explicitly teach using a widget to implement a function (Examiner Note: using a widget to encapsulate a function is well known in the art and would be readily combined with start/end time recording taught by Kaga). Wang teaches using a widget to implement a function (Abstract, customizing widgets linked to an external data source).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote, Acharya and Kaga with the teachings of Wang, using a widget to implement a functionality, to use a user-friendly method to track all relevant metadata which can be used to filter and fine tune operations in the future.
As per claim 12, the combination of Foote, Acharya, Kaga and Wang teaches the device of claim 11, wherein the widget is configured to send a signal to the third party AC component, wherein the signal causes the third party AC component to enter a state in which the third party AC component is accessible only by the SRE and the widget until the SRE completes saving or restoring the third party AC component (Col. 5 lines 22-23, semaphore mechanism: granting access to a current process and a first process, both executing on a network module, wherein the access to the register space of an I/O module) combined with “a widget with a save tracker”, i.e. Kaga modified with Wang see claim 11 rejection).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in view of Hutcheson JR. et al. (US PGPUB No. 2021/0165575) [hereinafter “Hutcheson”].
As per claim 13, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1, including an SRE saving the configuration data for the AC component in the isolated local memory (Col. 36 lines 15-20, saving snapshot image into non-volatile memory including I/O module images see also Col. 36 lines 40-41).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach obtaining the size of a data that needs to be saved in a memory; writing the size of the data in the isolated local memory; and sequentially reading a portion of the data and writing the portion to the isolated local memory until reaching the size of the configuration data. Hutcheson teaches obtaining the size of a data that needs to be saved in a memory; writing the size of the data in the isolated local memory ([0085], incremental tracking information used to calculate and store size of COW file for backup); and sequentially reading a portion of the data and writing the portion to the isolated local memory until reaching the size of the configuration data ([0047], copying data block by block in a predetermined sequence until finished).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Hutcheson, obtaining the size of a data that needs to be saved in a memory; writing the size of the data in the isolated local memory; and sequentially reading a portion of the data from the AC component and writing the portion to the isolated local memory until reaching the size of the configuration data, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory. The allocation and file size tracking taught in Hutcheson would be combined with the save/restore module management taught in Foote.
As per claim 14, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1, including an SRE restoring the configuration data for the AC component from the isolated local memory (Col. 36 lines 24-30, restoring snapshot image from non-volatile memory including I/O module images see also Col. 36 lines 15-20).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach obtaining the size of a data that needs to be saved in a memory; writing the size of the data in the isolated local memory; and sequentially reading a portion of the data and writing the portion to the isolated local memory until reaching the size of the configuration data. Hutcheson teaches obtaining the size of a data that needs to be saved in a memory; writing the size of the data in the isolated local memory ([0085], incremental tracking information used to calculate and store size of COW file for backup); and sequentially reading a portion of the data and writing the portion to the isolated local memory until reaching the size of the configuration data ([0047], copying data block by block in a predetermined sequence until finished).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Hutcheson, obtaining the size of a data that needs to be saved in a memory; writing the size of the data in the isolated local memory; and sequentially reading a portion of the data from the AC component and writing the portion to the isolated local memory until reaching the size of the configuration data, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory. The allocation and file size tracking taught in Hutcheson would be combined with the save/restore module management taught in Foote.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in view of Zhang et al. (US Patent No. 8,775,377) [hereinafter “Zhang ‘377”].
As per claim 15, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1 including the saving and restoring of configuration data for the AC component (Col. 36 lines 9-22, snapshot and restoration features capture the state of each I/O module and restoring).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach save, in the isolated local memory, a first digital fingerprint of data to be saved, obtain a second digital fingerprint, and determine whether the configuration data stored in the isolated local memory is tampered based at least on comparing the first digital fingerprint and the second digital fingerprint. Zhang ‘377 teaches save, in the isolated local memory, a first digital fingerprint of data to be saved (Col. 6, lines 60-64, storing fingerprint of file/file segment for later comparison), obtain a second digital fingerprint, and determine whether the configuration data stored in the isolated local memory is tampered based at least on comparing the first digital fingerprint and the second digital fingerprint (Col. 6, lines 60-64, file fingerprints are logged and used for comparison to ensure integrity of the file/file segment see Col. 6 lines 50-51).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Zhang ‘377, save, in the isolated local memory, a first digital fingerprint of data to be saved, obtain a second digital fingerprint, and determine whether the configuration data stored in the isolated local memory is tampered based at least on comparing the first digital fingerprint and the second digital fingerprint, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory. The digital fingerprint of files taught in Zhang would be combined with the save/restore module management taught in Foote by directly calculating the fingerprints of the configuration data snapshots.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in view of Chang et al. (US PGPUB No. 2022/0091743) [hereinafter “Chang”].
As per claim 16, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches the device of claim 1 including wherein the SRE is configured to save the configuration data for the AC component in a non-volatile memory (Col. 36 lines 15-20, saving snapshot image into non-volatile memory including I/O module images see also Col. 36 lines 40-41).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach the isolated local memory comprising a DRAM and protecting the stored data against tampering using a cryptographic method. Chang teaches the isolated local memory comprising a DRAM (Abstract and [0134], storage memory for snapshots can be many types of memory including DRAM) and protecting the stored data against tampering using a cryptographic method ([0147] and [0153], encrypting data including snapshot data see Abstract).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Chang, the isolated local memory comprising a DRAM and protecting the stored data against tampering using a cryptographic method. Song teaches the isolated local memory also comprising a DRAM and protecting the stored data against tampering using a cryptographic method, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foote and Acharya in view of Jeon in further view of Kanno.
As per claim 17, the combination of Foote and Acharya teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by a save-restore engine (SRE), a save request from a power manager and an identification of an access control (AC) component (Col. 36, lines 9-30, receiving a snapshot command which captures each I/O module identified via an address and a Module ID); reading, by the SRE, configuration data for the AC component from the AC component (Col. 36, lines 37-40, an image module is created and stored in the snap shot image see Col. 36 lines 15-20); writing, by the SRE, the configuration data for the AC component in isolated local memory; and sending, by the SRE, a save completion response to the power manager (Col. 36, lines 15-20, storing the snapshot image including the image modules stored in local Flash memory see Col. 36 lines 15-16).
The combination of Foote and Acharya does not explicitly teach obtaining, by the SRE from an AC table, a start address of the AC component. Jeon teaches obtaining, by the SRE from an AC table, a start address of the AC component ([0022], source and destination address indicates the start of any save and restore operations).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote and Acharya with teachings of Jeon, obtaining, by the SRE from an AC table, a start address of the AC component, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and can be relied upon in subsequent operations.
The combination of Foote, Acharya and Jeon does not explicitly teach sending, by the SRE, a save completion response to the power manager. Kanno teaches sending, by the SRE, a save completion response to the power manager ([0043], replies indicating the completion of the storing of the user data sent to PLP manager see [0040]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Foote, Acharya and Jeon with teachings of Kanno, sending, by the SRE, a save completion response to the power manager, to ensure that saves and restores are properly executed and do not overwrite valid components in memory.
As per claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguements
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claims 1-17 and 20-22 have been fully considered and in light of the latest amendments, a new prior art reference, Acharya, has been introduced and cited to for Applicant’s consideration.
To expedite prosecution, Examiner is open to conducting an after-final interview to discuss claim amendments to overcome the current rejection and/or place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kakkireni et al. (US PGPUB No. 2025/0103092), Chen et al. (WO-2022055490-A1), Putti et al. (WO-2022271154-A1), IEEE ("IEEE Standard for Design and Verification of Low-Power, Energy-Aware Electronic Systems," in IEEE Std 1801-2015 (Revision of IEEE Std 1801-2013) , vol., no., pp.1-1068, 25 March 2016, doi: 10.1109/IEEESTD.2016.7445797), Lim et al. ("User-aware power management for mobile devices," 2013 IEEE 2nd Global Conference on Consumer Electronics (GCCE), Tokyo, Japan, 2013, pp. 151-152, doi: 10.1109/GCCE.2013.6664780) and Kim et al. ("O-Sleep: Smartphones' Output-Oriented Power Saving Mode," 2012 IEEE 15th International Conference on Computational Science and Engineering, Paphos, Cyprus, 2012, pp. 334-340, doi: 10.1109/ICCSE.2012.53) all disclose various aspects of the claimed invention including save/restore of configuration data of devices before a power loss event.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER C SHAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493 April 3, 2026