DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 4 positively recites “a tibial bone” in line 2. This is improper, as a human organism may not be directly claimed. For examination purposes, the office will interpret the claim to read, “a cutting position configured to be located at a proximal end of a tibial bone”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bono (US 6302883 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Bono teaches a surgical instrument (see Fig. 28a), comprising:
a screw (16) comprising:
a cylindrical main body (66) comprising a first male screw (67) on an outer circumferential surface (see Fig. 5) of the main body and a second female screw (78) on an inner circumferential surface of the main body (76), wherein the first male screw (67) and the second female screw (78) are disposed coaxially and overlap each other in an axial direction of the main body (see labelled diagram of Fig. 5 below);
an operation inputter (62) provided at one end portion of the main body (66) and configured to rotate the main body (see Col. 3, ll. 52-56), wherein a diameter of the operation inputter (62) is larger than a diameter of the main body (see Fig. 5);
a mover (56, 30) comprising a position indicator (56, 30) that indicates a target position (note that teeth 56 are 1mm each; thereby offering target intervals of movement for each given tooth, see Col. 3, ll. 52-67) and a first female screw (18) screwed with the first male screw (67); and
a fixer (19) comprising a second male screw (104) screwed with the second female screw (78), wherein rotation of the mover (45) in a rotation direction of the first male screw (67) is restricted (see Col. 4, ll. 28-38, noting that 45 is not configured to rotate with the first male screw), and the first male screw and the second male screw are in a reverse-thread screw relationship (see Col. 4, ll. 4-13).
Regarding claim 2, Bono teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the mover (56, 30) is movably disposed on an outer surface of the fixer (19, note that this is true when the device is in a closed configuration, see Col. 4, ll. 28-38).
Regarding claim 3, Bono teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the position indicator (56, 30) is a guide (56, 30) that indicates a cutting position of a bone (see Col. 4, ll. 14-27) as the target position (see Col. 4, ll. 14-27, noting that the order of steps may be rearranged such that the plate is placed prior to insertion of the bone in order to measure cutting position such that the apertures 94 are in alignment with ideal plate positioning).
Regarding claim 4, Bono teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 3, wherein the cutting position of the bone is a cutting position configured to be located at a proximal end of a tibial bone (note that this is a functional limitation, satisfied by the devices ability to cut any bone tissue, see Col. 1, ll. 6-10).
Regarding claim 5, Bono teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 3, wherein the guide (56) comprises at least one slit (30).
Regarding claim 6, Bono teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 3, wherein the fixer (19) is fixable to a separate instrument (other screw 16) fixed to the bone (note that a multitude of fasteners and corresponding fixers may be used, thereby enabling fixer 19 to be attached to a separate instrument 16, see Col. 1, ll. 6-10).
Regarding claim 7, Bono teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein a screw thread of the first male screw (67) is provided to make the mover (56) move away from the main body (66) when the main body (66) is rotated clockwise as viewed from a side opposite to a side where the fixer is screwed (see Col. 4, ll. 28-38).
Claims 1, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackson et al. (US 20140214084 A1) (hereon referred to as Jackson).
Regarding claim 1, Jackson teaches a surgical instrument (see Fig. 51), comprising:
a screw (1001) comprising:
a cylindrical main body (1019) comprising a first male screw (1019) on an outer circumferential surface (see Fig. 51) of the main body (1019) and a second female screw (1210) on an inner circumferential surface of the main body (see Para. [0179]), wherein the first male screw (1019) and the second female screw (1210) are disposed coaxially and overlap each other in an axial direction of the main body (see labelled diagram of Fig. 51 below);
an operation inputter (1066) provided at one end portion of the main body (1019) and configured to rotate the main body (see Para. [0170]), wherein a diameter of the operation inputter (1066) is larger than a diameter of the main body (see Fig. 50; also note that the corresponding threads of the operation inputter are configured to engage in rotation with the main body);
a mover (1014) comprising a position indicator (1188) that indicates a target position (note that each wing is configured for movement only until contacting surface 1078, therefore indicating a target position for the screw) and a first female screw (1202) screwed with the first male screw (1019); and
a fixer (1020) comprising a second male screw (1232) screwed with the second female screw (1210), wherein rotation of the mover (1014) in a rotation direction of the first male screw (1019) is restricted (see Para. [0175], noting the device is configured to lock the mover when in the fully mated configuration), and the first male screw and the second male screw are in a reverse-thread screw relationship (see Para. [0136], noting the reverse thread embodiment, also noting that embodiments may be combined, see Para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 8, Jackson teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein an amount of advancement as a result of rotating the second male screw (1232) once is smaller than an amount of advancement as a result of rotating the first male screw (1019) once (see Para. [0168], noting that 1019 is a multi-start screw, meaning it will have a greater lead compared to 1232, a regularly threaded screw; also see Para. [0154]).
Regarding claim 10, Jackson teaches the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the first male screw is a multi-start screw (see Para. [0168]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773