DETAILED ACTION
Claims 66-84 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-65 are canceled.
Claims 66-84 are new.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/09/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the range length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 66 and 68-84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by VIVO, NPL Publication “Further discussion on multi beam enhancement”, R1-2106571.
As per claim 66, Vivo discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) [page 7, section 2.2, page 15, section 3.2, a method performed by a user equipment (method for UE to implement)], the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, receiving, from a network node via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling (the PDCCH carrying beam indication DCI and the associated channels)], a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI- states [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI- states (the TCI state of PDCCH needs to be updated frequently)], where M > 1 [page 1, section 2.1, page 3, section 2.1, where M > 1 (support M>1)]; and
applying the M TCI-states to:
one or more transmission occasions of a physical channel or one or more parts of a transmission occasion of a physical channel according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states to the one or more transmission occasions or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion, wherein the one or more transmission occasions of the physical channel or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion of the physical channel are scheduled by a scheduling PDCCH or a scheduling higher layer signaling that is different from the PDCCH or the higher layer signaling; or one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets [page 6, section 2.2, page 7, section 2.2, page 23, section 6, one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets (RS resource set associated with each CSI triggering state, higher layer signaling of qcl-info which contains a list of references to TCI-State's; RS resource the MAC CE-based TCI state update can be considered)].
As per claim 68, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66,
wherein the physical channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or an RS resource of the one or more RS resources is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource [page 1, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.3, wherein the physical channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or an RS resource of the one or more RS resources is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (each channel/RS and the default beam is already supported for PDSCH, PUCCH, PUSCH)].
As per claim 69, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 68,
wherein the M TCI-states are applied to N repetitions of the PUCCH resource according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states to the N repetitions, where N > M [page 1, section 2.1, page 4, section 2.1.3, page 6, section 2.2, wherein the M TCI-states are applied to N repetitions of the PUCCH resource according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states to the N repetitions, where N > M (M/N>1 TCI states; CSI-RS with repetition on)].
As per claim 70, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, comprising
receiving or performing an association of one or more uplink (UL) channels, one or more downlink (DL) channels, one or more RS resources, or one or more RS resource sets with values of one or more indices or one or more parameters, wherein at least one of an UL channel, a DL channel, an RS resource or an RS resource set is associated with a value of an index or a parameter [page 1, section 2.1, page 4, section 2.1.3, page 23, section 6, receiving or performing an association of one or more uplink (UL) channels, one or more downlink (DL) channels, one or more RS resources, or one or more RS resource sets with values of one or more indices or one or more parameters, wherein at least one of an UL channel, a DL channel, an RS resource or an RS resource set is associated with a value of an index or a parameter (RS resource index; group index can be added in multiple channel/RS configuration, or the group configuration including multiple channel/RS; different DL/UL channels/RSs)].
As per claim 71, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, wherein the physical channel, or the one or more RS resources or resource sets to which the M TCI-states are applied, and the scheduling PDCCH or the scheduling higher layer signaling are:
associated with a same value of an index, or associated with different indices, wherein there is a mapping between a value of an index of the scheduling PDCCH or the scheduling higher layer signaling and a value of an index of the physical channel or the one or more RS resources or resource sets to which the M TCI-states are applied [page 7, section 2.3, page 23, section 6, associated with a same value of an index (configure the same setting of (P0, alpha, closed loop index) per TCI state across channels)].
As per claim 72, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, comprising:
receiving a first TCI-state indication from a first PDCCH, a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message, or a first higher layer signaling, and receiving a scheduling or an indication, via one or more second PDCCHs or one or more second higher layer signalings [fig. 4, page 6, section 2.2, page 7, section 2.2, receiving a first TCI-state indication from a first PDCCH, a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message, or a first higher layer signaling, and receiving a scheduling or an indication, via one or more second PDCCHs or one or more second higher layer signalings (TCI state update signaling/configuration mechanism(s) are used, MAC-CE-based beam indication for any RS with separate TCI state from UE-dedicated PDSCH and PDCCH)], of at least one of the following:
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasion, a PUCCH transmission occasion, or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission occasion; or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or resource sets; and applying TCI-states from the first TCI-state indication from the first PDCCH, the MAC-CE message, or the first higher layer signaling to one or more physical channel transmissions or RS resources or resource sets scheduled by the one or more second PDCCHs or the one or more second higher layer signalings [page 15, section 3.2, page 17, section 3.3, page 19, section 4, a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS), a sounding reference signal (SRS), or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource or resource sets (the SSB/CSI-RS from neighboring cells can be measured)].
As per claim 73, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, wherein:
a first TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a part of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission associated with a first set of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports associated with a first code-division-multiplexing (CDM) group, and a second TCI- state of the M TCI-states is applied to a part of a PDSCH transmission associated with a second set of DMRS ports associated with a second CDM group; or a first TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a first set of time or frequency domain resources and a second TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a second PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a second set of time or frequency domain resources that are distinct from the first set of time or frequency resources; or a first TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a first transmission occasion of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator value or a first SRS resource set, and a second TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a second transmission occasion of a PUSCH associated with a second SRS resource indicator value or a second SRS resource set; or a first TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a first transmission occasion of a PUCCH resource associated with a first set of time or frequency domain resources, and a second TCI- state of the M TCI-states is applied to a second transmission occasion of the same PUCCH resource associated with a second set of time or frequency domain resources that are distinct from the first set of time or frequency resources [page 6, section 2.2, page 8, section 2.3, page 12, section 2.5, page 16, section 3.2, a first TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a first transmission occasion of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator value or a first SRS resource set, and a second TCI-state of the M TCI-states is applied to a second transmission occasion of a PUSCH associated with a second SRS resource indicator value or a second SRS resource set (different joint/separate TCI states are applied to UE-dedicated; when the PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH or the triggered aperiodic CSI-RS are of different numerologies)].
As per claim 74, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, comprising receiving a higher layer signaling indicating at least one of the following:
two or more physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission occasions, that are separated in time or frequency and are associated with two or more TCI-states of the M TCI- states, wherein the two or more TCI-states of the M TCI-states are obtained from a PDCCH or a higher layer signaling that is different from signaling that schedules the two or more PDSCH transmission occasions; one or more PDSCH transmission occasions, wherein each PDSCH transmission occasion is associated with two or more TCI-states of the M TCI-states, wherein the two or more TCI-states of the M TCI-states are obtained from signaling that is different from signaling that schedules the one or more PDSCH transmission occasions; and two or more PUSCH transmission occasions that are separated in time or frequency that are associated with two or more TCI-states of the M TCI-states, wherein the two or more TCI- states of the M TCI-states are obtained from signaling that is different from signaling that schedules the two or more PUSCH transmission occasions [page 4, section 2.1.4, page 7, section 2.3, page 8, section 2.3, two or more PUSCH transmission occasions that are separated in time or frequency that are associated with two or more TCI-states of the M TCI-states, wherein the two or more TCI- states of the M TCI-states are obtained from signaling that is different from signaling that schedules the two or more PUSCH transmission occasions (separate TCI state, two TCI states; different setting lists can be configured for PUCCH and PUSCH, the TCI state ID is associated with different settings from two lists)].
As per claim 75, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66,
wherein applying the M TCI-states comprises applying a first TCI-state of the M TCI-states to at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource in a first SRS resource set and a second TCI-state of the M TCI-states to at least one SRS resource in a second SRS resource set [page 6, section 2.2, page 18, section 4, page 23, section 6, wherein applying the M TCI-states comprises applying a first TCI-state of the M TCI-states to at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource in a first SRS resource set and a second TCI-state of the M TCI-states to at least one SRS resource in a second SRS resource set (SRS resource sets, all PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmissions, will limit the number of activated TCI states)].
As per claim 76, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, wherein an indication of Q > 1 TCI-states via a physical layer or a higher layer signaling indicates one of the following in one transmission occasion or an instance of the physical layer or the higher layer signaling:
Q downlink TCI-states, Q uplink TCI-states, QD> 1 downlink TCI-states and QU> 1 uplink TCI-states,QD QD Qand QU < Q, or QU= Q and QD < Q; or Q TCI-states that jointly provide downlink and uplink settings [page 3, section 2.1, page 4, section 2.1.4, page 5, section 2.2, page 26, section 7, Q downlink TCI-states, Q uplink TCI-states, QD> 1 downlink TCI-states and QU> 1 uplink TCI-states,QD QD Qand QU < Q, or QU= Q and QD < Q; or Q TCI-states that jointly provide downlink and uplink settings (joint TCI, or both joint TCI and separate DL/UL TCI (including that, if separate DL/UL TCI is supported, the DL TCI and UL TCI associated with a same cell))].
As per claim 77, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 70
wherein performing the association of the one or more UL channels, the one or more DL channels, one or more RS resources, or one or more RS resource sets comprises performing the association with a default value of an index or parameter [page 1, section 2.1, page 13, section 2.5, wherein performing the association of the one or more UL channels, the one or more DL channels, one or more RS resources, or one or more RS resource sets comprises performing the association with a default value of an index or parameter (each channel/RS and the default beam is already supported for PDSCH, PUCCH, PUSCH, CSI-RS and SRS, etc)].
As per claim 78, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 70, wherein the association of the one or more UL channels, the one or more DL channels, the one or more RS resources, or the one or more RS resource sets with the values of the one or more indices or the one or more parameters is performed in one of the following ways:
via a physical layer or a higher layer signaling from the network node; via a value of an index or a parameter associated with a PDCCH that schedules or indicates or triggers a transmission of at least one of the one or more UL channels, at least one of the one or more DL channels, at least one of the one or more RS resources, or at least one of the one or more RS resource sets; or via a value of an index or a parameter associated with another physical channel scheduled in a same carrier component (CC) as that of the physical channel, the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets [page 5, section 2.2, page 8, section 2.3, via a physical layer or a higher layer signaling from the network node (TCI state pool refers to a pool configured via higher-layer (RRC) signaling; gNB can configure the association between setting and the UL or (if applicable) joint TCI state by RRC)].
As per claim 79, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, wherein M >2;
wherein applying the M TCI-states comprises applying a first indicated TCI-state of the M TCI-states to the physical channel, the one or more RS resources, or the one of more RS resource sets that are associated with a pre-determined or an indicated first value of the index, and applying a second indicated TCI-state of the M TCI-states to the physical channel, the one or more RS resources, or the one or more RS resource sets that are associated with a pre-determined or an indicated second value of the index [page 6, section 2.2, page 18, section 4, page 23, section 6, wherein applying the M TCI-states comprises applying a first indicated TCI-state of the M TCI-states to the physical channel, the one or more RS resources, or the one of more RS resource sets that are associated with a pre-determined or an indicated first value of the index, and applying a second indicated TCI-state of the M TCI-states to the physical channel, the one or more RS resources, or the one or more RS resource sets that are associated with a pre-determined or an indicated second value of the index (SRS resource sets, all PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmissions, will limit the number of activated TCI states)].
As per claim 80, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66,
wherein one or more TCI-states of the M TCI-states are indicated or comprised in a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message or the higher layer signaling that is associated with a value of an index or a parameter [fig. 4, page 6, section 2.2, page 14, section 3.1, page 26, section 7, wherein one or more TCI-states of the M TCI-states are indicated or comprised in a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message or the higher layer signaling that is associated with a value of an index or a parameter (associated MAC-CE-based TCI state activation)].
As per claim 81, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66,
wherein the PDCCH providing the TCI-state indication or the scheduling PDCCH that schedules or indicates a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) resource, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource, or a PUCCH resource are associated with one or more UE-specific search space sets or one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) that are associated with at least one UE-specific search space set [page 3, section 2.1.1, page 5, section 2.2, page 7, section 2.2, page 13, section 2.5, wherein the PDCCH providing the TCI-state indication or the scheduling PDCCH that schedules or indicates a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) resource (TCI state list for CORESET is configured in PDCCH-config, but the TCI state list for PDSCH is configured in PDSCH-config)].
As per claim 82, Vivo discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising a processor and a memory containing instructions executable by the processor whereby the UE is operative to:
receive, from a network node via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, receive, from a network node via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling (the PDCCH carrying beam indication DCI and the associated channels)], a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI-states [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI- states (the TCI state of PDCCH needs to be updated frequently)], where M > 1 [page 1, section 2.1, page 3, section 2.1, where M > 1 (support M>1)]; and
apply the M TCI-states to:
one or more transmission occasions of a physical channel or one or more parts of a transmission occasion of a physical channel according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states to the one or more transmission occasions or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion, wherein the one or more transmission occasions of the physical channel or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion of the physical channel are scheduled by a scheduling PDCCH or a scheduling higher layer signaling that is different from the PDCCH or the higher layer signaling; or one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets [page 6, section 2.2, page 7, section 2.2, page 23, section 6, one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets (RS resource set associated with each CSI triggering state, higher layer signaling of qcl-info which contains a list of references to TCI-State's; RS resource the MAC CE-based TCI state update can be considered)].
As per claim 83, Vivo discloses a method performed by a network node [page 7, section 2.2, page 15, section 3.2, a method performed by a network node (method to implement)], the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling (the PDCCH carrying beam indication DCI and the associated channels)], a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI-states [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI- states (the TCI state of PDCCH needs to be updated frequently)], where M > 1 [page 1, section 2.1, page 3, section 2.1, where M > 1 (support M>1)], for enabling the UE to apply the M TCI-states to:
one or more transmission occasions of a physical channel or one or more parts of a transmission occasion of a physical channel according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states to the one or more transmission occasions or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion, wherein the one or more transmission occasions of the physical channel or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion of the physical channel are scheduled by a scheduling PDCCH or a scheduling higher layer signaling that is different from the PDCCH or the higher layer signaling; or one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets [page 6, section 2.2, page 7, section 2.2, page 23, section 6, one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets (RS resource set associated with each CSI triggering state, higher layer signaling of qcl-info which contains a list of references to TCI-State's; RS resource the MAC CE-based TCI state update can be considered)].
As per claim 84, Vivo discloses a network node comprising a processor and a memory containing instructions executable by the processor whereby the network node is operative to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or a higher layer signaling (the PDCCH carrying beam indication DCI and the associated channels)], a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI- states [page 3, section 2.1, page 8, section 2.4, a transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state indication for M TCI- states (the TCI state of PDCCH needs to be updated frequently)], where M > 1 [page 1, section 2.1, page 3, section 2.1, where M > 1 (support M>1)], for enabling the UE to apply the M TCI-states to:
one or more transmission occasions of a physical channel or one or more parts of a transmission occasion of a physical channel according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states to the one or more transmission occasions or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion, wherein the one or more transmission occasions of the physical channel or the one or more parts of the transmission occasion of the physical channel are scheduled by a scheduling PDCCH or a scheduling higher layer signaling this is different from the PDCCH or the higher layer signaling; or one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets [page 6, section 2.2, page 7, section 2.2, page 23, section 6, one or more reference signal (RS) resources or one or more RS resource sets according to a predetermined or indicated mapping of the M TCI-states with the one or more RS resources or the one or more RS resource sets (RS resource set associated with each CSI triggering state, higher layer signaling of qcl-info which contains a list of references to TCI-State's; RS resource the MAC CE-based TCI state update can be considered)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivo, in view of Zhang et al., (hereinafter Zhang), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0038244.
As per claim 67, Vivo discloses the method according to claim 66, Vivo does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one part of one or more parts of the transmission occasion of the physical channel is associated with one or more different ports or frequency-domain resources or time domain resources from at least one other part of the transmission occasion of the physical channel.
However, Zhang teaches wherein at least one part of one or more parts of the transmission occasion of the physical channel is associated with one or more different ports or frequency-domain resources or time domain resources from at least one other part of the transmission occasion of the physical channel [paragraphs 0051, 0052, 0087, wherein at least one part of one or more parts of the transmission occasion of the physical channel is associated with one or more different ports or frequency-domain resources or time domain resources from at least one other part of the transmission occasion of the physical channel (the downlink control channel resource includes one of a control resource set (CORESET), a search space set, a time-domain occasion of the search space set, a frequency-domain resource set of the CORESET, a control channel demodulation reference signal port group, or a control channel resource)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Vivo by including transmission occasion of the physical channel is associated with one or more different ports or frequency-domain resources or time domain resources from at least one other part of the transmission occasion of the physical channel as taught by Zhang because it would provide the Vivo's method with the enhanced capability of improving the spectral efficiency [Zhang, paragraphs 0003, 0007].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rahman et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0337250 discloses including the configuration information including a set of TCI states.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469