CTNF 18/845,424 CTNF 76653 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 09, 2024 is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 5 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 and 9, line 2, “a user input” should read as ----the user input ---- Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As per claims 1, 11-12 and 15, the term "and/or" renders the claim scope ambiguous. The usage of “and/or” can make it unclear whether the claim requires both alternatives, either alternative, or leaves the selection to the reader without clear boundaries. When “and/or” ties together entire limitations (not just simple nouns), it can leave the metes and bounds uncertain because different combinations may satisfy the claim to different extents. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 7 recites the limitation " the time" in line 2, “the date” in line 3 and “the status ” in lines 3-4 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-14 should have been rejected for the same reason for their dependency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “maintaining a database of locations an aerosol provision system has been lost and/or found; and in response to receiving an indication that the aerosol provision system is lost, using the database to predict a location of the aerosol provision system”. The limitation of maintaining a database of locations an aerosol provision system has been lost; and in response to receiving an indication that the aerosol provision system is lost, using the database to predict a location of the aerosol provision system, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor to perform receiving, analyzing, determining, evaluating, selecting, monitoring, tracking, and handling steps. The processor in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform receiving, analyzing, determining, evaluating, selecting, monitoring, tracking, and handling steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 11-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2025/0098785) . As per claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a computer implementing method comprising: maintaining a database of locations an aerosol provision system (10) has been lost (disconnected, paragraph 0263); and in response to receiving an indication that the aerosol provision system is lost (disconnected), using the database to predict a location of the aerosol provision system (paragraphs 0223-0225). As per claim 2, Kim et al. disclose the indication that the aerosol provision system is lost is received via a user input (730, figure 7, paragraph 0145 and 0151). As per claim 3, Kim et al. disclose the indication that the aerosol provision system is lost is received from the aerosol provision system (paragraphs 0223-0225). As per claim 11, Kim et al. disclose the database also comprises at least one of a time (paragraph 0263) and a date (paragraphs 024-0247) the aerosol provision system was lost found. As per claim 12, Kim et al. disclose the database also comprises a status of the aerosol provision system when it was lost (paragraph 0216). As per claims 14-15, refer to claim 1 above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAI T. NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-2961. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri: 9am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at 571-272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 June 1, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/845,424 Page 2 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/845,424 Page 3 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/845,424 Page 4 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/845,424 Page 5 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/845,424 Page 6 Art Unit: 2685