DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed 9/10/2024.
Claims 1-23 have been cancelled. Claims 24-43 are new.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/10/2024 and 10/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 25, 27, 34, and 42 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25: “same material as a coil of an electrically drivable motor” should read -- same material as the coil of the electrically drivable motor--.
Claim 27: “litz wires” should read –Litz wires--.
Claim 34: “arranged to thermally communicate with at least one coil of an electrically drivable motor” should read -- arranged to thermally communicate with the at least one coil of said electrically drivable motor—.
Claim 42: “litz wires” should read –Litz wires--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24, 27-30, 32, 35, and 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pourrahimi et al. (US 8275429; IDS; 429’).
In claim 24, 429’ discloses (Fig. 1-3) a thermal energy transfer device (100) for transferring thermal energy from a coil (20) of an electrically drivable motor (Col. 6, ln. 52-60), the device (100) comprising: a plurality of thermally conductive members (13) arranged to thermally communicate with at least one coil (20) of an electrically drivable motor; and, a thermally conductive portion (22) connected to the plurality of thermally conductive members (13), wherein each of the plurality of thermally conductive members (13) is directly electrically insulated (Col. 5, ln. 9-18) from any other of the plurality of thermally conductive members (13).
In claim 27, 429’ discloses wherein the plurality of thermally conductive members (13) are Litz wires (Col. 3, ln. 5-8).
In claim 28, 429’ discloses wherein the plurality of thermally conductive members (13) are formed from high purity aluminum (Col. 5, ln. 32-51).
In claim 29, 429’ discloses a cryogen source (24) containing a cryogen (Col. 5, ln. 32-51), wherein the thermally conductive portion (13) is in thermal communication with the cryogen.
In claim 30, 429’ discloses wherein at least a portion of the plurality of thermally conductive members (13) is arranged into a cable (Col. 1, ln. 43-67).
In claim 32, 429’ discloses wherein each of the plurality of thermally conductive members (13) has an outer layer of electrically insulating material (Col. 3, ln. 5-25).
In claim 34, 429’ discloses (Fig. 1-3) a thermal energy transfer device (100) for transferring thermal energy from a coil (20) of an electrically drivable motor (Col. 6, ln. 52-60), the device (100) comprising: a plurality of thermally conductive members (13) arranged to thermally communicate with the at least one coil (20) of said electrically drivable motor (Col. 6, ln. 52-60); and, a thermally conductive portion (101; Col. 3, ln. 5-25) connected to the plurality of thermally conductive members (13), wherein a layer of insulating material (101) is arranged between at least a portion of any adjacent pair of the plurality of thermally conductive members (13).
In claim 35, 429’ discloses (Fig. 1-3) a cooling arrangement (100) for an electrical coil winding (20) of an electric motor (Col. 6, ln. 52-60), the cooling arrangement comprising: a plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13) arranged adjacent to at least a portion of the inner surfaces of the electrical coil winding (20), wherein each of said plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13) is electrically insulated (via 101) from both (a) other adjacent elongate thermal conductors (13) and (b) the electrical coil winding (20).
In claim 38, 429’ discloses at least one heat sink (22) connected to each of the plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13), wherein the heat sink (22) is connected at ends of thermal paths of each of the plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13).
In claim 39, 429’ discloses wherein the at least one heat sink (22) is axially located on at least one side of the electrical coil winding (20).
In claim 40, 429’ discloses wherein the plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13) are in the form of wires (Fig. 2(b)).
In claim 41, 429’ discloses wherein the plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13) are arranged into a cable (Col. 3, ln. 5-7).
In claim 42, 429’ discloses wherein the plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13) are in the form of Litz wires (Col. 3, ln. 5-7).
In claim 43, 429’ discloses wherein the plurality of elongate thermal conductors (13) are arranged in close alignment and contact to the inner surface of the electrical coil winding (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi et al. (US 8275429; IDS; 429’) in view of Randall et al. (EP 1257043).
In claim 25, 429’ teaches the device of claim 24, with the exception of wherein the plurality of thermally conductive members are formed from a same material as the coil of the electrically drivable motor.
However, Randall teaches wherein the plurality of thermally conductive members can be a metallic material so as it conducts heat ([0002, 0028]).
Therefore in view of Randall, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to help efficiently transmit heat from the coils (Randall; [0028]).
In claim 36, Randall teaches the arrangement of claim 35, with the exception of wherein the electrical coil winding and the plurality of elongate thermal conductors are formed of a same material.
However, Randall teaches wherein the plurality of thermally conductive members can be a metallic material so as it conducts heat ([0002, 0028]).
Therefore in view of Randall, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to help efficiently transmit heat from the coil windings (Randall; [0028]).
Claim(s) 26, 31, 33, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi et al. (US 8275429; IDS; 429’).
In claim 26, 429’ teaches the device of claim 24, with the exception of wherein the plurality of thermally conductive members are elongate and have a diameter of 0.1 mm.
However, 429’ teaches that the diameter of the thermally conductive members are part of the assembly of the coil having a diameter of 20cm.
Therefore in view of 429’, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a particular amount thermal management to the device for providing a certain magnetic field strength (Col.5, ln. 32-51), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In claim 31, 429’ teaches the device of claim 24, with the exception of that the plurality of thermally conductive members experiences an eddy current heating power of 0.1 Watts.
However, 429’ teaches that the plurality of thermally conductive members (13) can experience an eddy current heating power of tens of Watts (Col.5, ln. 32-51).
Therefore in view of 429’, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a particular amount thermal management to the device (Col.5, ln. 32-51), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In claim 33, 429’ teaches the device of claim 32, with the exception of wherein each of the plurality of thermally conductive members has an outer layer of epoxy resin.
However, 429’ further teaches epoxy resin can be utilized for thermal management (Col. 5, ln. 32-51).
Therefore in view of 429’, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a particular amount thermal management to the device.
In claim 37, 429’ teaches the device of claim 35, with the exception of wherein the plurality of thermally conductive members are elongate and have a diameter of 0.1 mm.
However, 429’ teaches that the diameter of the thermally conductive members are part of the assembly of the coil having a diameter of 20cm.
Therefore in view of 429’, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a particular amount thermal management to the device for providing a certain magnetic field strength (Col.5, ln. 32-51), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schulz et al. (US 2024/0097530) teaches an electric machine including a flow path for coolant fluid, a housing sealed off in relation to the flow path, a power supply unit, and at least one coil.
Takahashi et al. (US 2021/0384784) teaches a rotating electrical machine including a magnetic field-producing unit and an armature.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834