DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021024611 A1 (see attached translation for the following citation) by TAKAHASHI YUUTA et al. (hereinafter YUUTA) in view of JP 2008193721 A by DOUGLAS G. SMITH et al. (hereinafter SMITH) and in further view of "An overview of reconfigurable antennas: Design, simulation, and optimization," in IEEE 10th Annual Wireless and Microwave Technology Conference, Clearwater, FL, USA, 2009, pp. 1-5, by DEIGO LANGONI et al. (hereinafter LANGONI).
Regarding claim 1, YUUTA teaches: (Currently amended) A radio wave control system (wireless communication system 10 ¶ 0025, fig. 1) comprising:
a reflective plate (phase control reflector 300 ¶ 0033, fig. 2-3 & 7-9) configured to modulate (changes the phase of the radio signal ¶ 0033), when the first local signal (H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (H2PT, fig. 9) are reflected by or transmitted (see fig. 9) through periodically disposed antenna elements (controlling the radio signals transmitted from multiple antenna elements ¶ 0022; phase control reflector 300A/phase control reflector 300B ¶ 0088, fig. 9), the first local signal (H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (H2PT, fig. 9), and beam-form (see fig. 9) the first modulated signal (H1RP, fig. 9) and the second modulated signal (H2RP, fig. 9) in respectively different directions (see fig. 9);
at least one memory (memory 1002 ¶ 0143, fig. 10) storing instructions (can store a program (program code), software module, etc. ¶ 0143).
YUUTA further teaches a phase control reflector 300A is assigned to the UE 200A, and a phase control reflector 300B is assigned to the UE 200B (¶ 0087, fig. 9).
The above-mentioned UE 200 (including UE 200A, 200B) and phase control reflector 300 (including phase control reflector 300A, 300B) may function as a computer that performs processing of the wireless communication method of the present disclosure (¶ 0137).
A subframe may further be composed of one or more slots in the time domain (¶ 0172).
A slot may consist of one or more symbols in the time domain (such as Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (hereinafter OFDM) symbols, Single carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access (hereinafter SC-FDMA) symbols, etc.) (¶ 0174).
YUUTA does not explicitly teach a high power amplifier configured to generate broadband local signals including a first local signal having a first frequency and a second local signal having a second frequency; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: control directions in which the first modulated signal and the second modulated signal are beam-formed by electrically controlling the antenna elements and controlling phases of the first local signal and the second local signal incident on the reflective plate.
However, SMITH teaches when the mode controller 103 is set to narrowband modulation, the high frequency power amplifier 115 amplifies the narrowband modulated signal. If the dual modes operate in different frequency bands, the RF power amplifier 115 either has enough bandwidth to operate in both bands or can be adjusted during operation to operate in the band associated with the mode, and the mode controller 103 controls its operation accordingly. When the mode controller 103 is set to spread spectrum modulation, the high frequency power amplifier 115 amplifies the spread spectrum signal. Similarly, when the mode controller 103 is set to narrowband modulation, the variable band pulse filter 117 has a bandwidth tailored to a narrow bandwidth and corresponding frequency to transmit the
narrowband modulated signal. When the mode controller 103 is set to wideband, the variable band pulse filter 117 has a bandwidth that is tuned to the wideband and corresponding frequency to transmit the wideband signal (¶ 0029, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SMITH to include the power amplifier with the communication system of the art of YUUTA with the benefit of using multiple communication modes over multiple frequency bands (SMITH, ¶ 0001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA and SMITH to obtain the invention:
a high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1) configured to generate broadband local signals (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1) including a first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) having a first frequency and a second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) having a second frequency (SMITH: the RF power amplifier 115 either has enough bandwidth to operate in both bands ¶ 0029, fig. 1).
YUUTA and SMITH do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: control directions in which the first modulated signal and the second modulated signal are beam-formed by electrically controlling the antenna elements and controlling phases of the first local signal and the second local signal incident on the reflective plate.
However, LANGONI teaches a reconfigurable antenna design that reconfigures multiple parameters will most likely use switching technology, whether it is used to alter the physical structure of the radiating surface, feeding line, or in the case of antenna arrays, switches to control the number of radiating elements that are on or off at any given reconfigurable state (p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of LANGONI to include the plurality of reconfigurable radiating elements with the communication system of the combined art of YUUTA and SMITH with the benefit of providing improved wireless performance through dynamic adaptation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI to obtain the invention:
and at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to: control (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) directions in which the first modulated signal (YUUTA: H1RP, fig. 9) and the second modulated signal (YUUTA: H2RP, fig. 9) are beam-formed (see YUUTA fig. 9) by electrically controlling the antenna elements (LANGONI: reconfigures multiple parameters/alter the physical structure, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) and controlling phases (YUUTA: controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) incident on the reflective plate (see YUUTA fig. 9).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUUTA in view of SMITH in view of LANGONI and in further view of US 20130063224 by TETSUO SAJI et al. (hereinafter SAJI).
Regarding claim 2, YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (Currently amended) the radio wave control system according to claim 1,
the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9), the broadband local signals (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1), the high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1), the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9), the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to control (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10).
YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, further comprising: at least one first filter that transmits the first local signal out of the broadband local signals output from the high power amplifier; and at least one second filter that transmits the second local signal out of the broadband local signal output from the high power amplifier, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control the phase of the first local signal that has been transmitted through the first filter, and control the phase of the second local signal that has been transmitted through the second filter.
However, SAJI teaches the first circuit includes a first filter that transmits the first signal set and reflects the second signal set, and a second filter that transmits the second signal set and reflects the first signal set (¶ 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SAJI to include the plurality of filters with the communication system of the combined art of YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI with the benefit of obtaining a plurality of filtered signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SMITH, LANGONI and SAJI to obtain the invention:
further comprising: at least one first filter (SAJI: first filter ¶ 0005) that transmits the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) out of the broadband local signals (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1) output from the high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1); and
at least one second filter (SAJI: second filter ¶ 0005) that transmits the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) out of the broadband local signal (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1) output from the high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1), wherein
the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to control the phase (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) that has been transmitted (SAJI: transmits ¶ 0005) through the first filter (SAJI: first filter ¶ 0005), and
control the phase (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) of the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) that has been transmitted (SAJI: transmits ¶ 0005) through the second filter (SAJI: second filter ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 5, YUUTA, SMITH, LANGONI and SAJI make obvious (Currently amended) the radio wave control system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to
allocate each of the antenna elements (LANGONI: reconfigures multiple parameters/alter the physical structure, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) disposed on the reflective plate (YUUTA: phase control reflector 300 ¶ 0033, fig. 2-3 & 7-9) configured to a first group or a second group (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.),
control the phase (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) by using the antenna element (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) allocated (LANGONI: reconfigures multiple parameters/alter the physical structure, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) to the first group (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.), and
control the phase (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) of the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) by using the antenna element (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) allocated (LANGONI: reconfigures multiple parameters/alter the physical structure, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) to the second group (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUUTA in view of SMITH in view of LANGONI and in further view of JP 2021040247 A (see attached translation for the following citation) by OSHIRO SHOKICHI et al. (hereinafter SHOKICHI).
Regarding claim 3, YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (Currently amended) the radio wave control system according to claim 1, the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to control (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10).
YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control an amplitude of the first local signal or the second local signal by using an information signal such that the first local signal and the second local signal are modulated.
However, SHOKICHI teaches the modulation circuit 11A constituting the control circuit outputs an antenna switching control signal for controlling the switching of the antenna 16 to the antenna switch 15. Furthermore, the modulation circuit 11A generates an I signal, which is the in-phase component of the carrier wave, and a Q signal, which is the quadrature component, based on the input packet. The I signal is output to the DAC 21 and the Q signal is output to the DAC 24. The modulation circuit 11A performs IQ complex amplitude control of the I signal and Q signal in synchronization with the switching of the antenna 16 (¶ 0028, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SHOKICHI to include the control circuit with the communication system of the combined art of YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI with the benefit of controlling the output power of the power amplifier when it outputs a switching control signal to the antenna switch (SHOKICHI, ¶ 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SMITH, LANGONI and SHOKICHI to obtain the invention:
wherein the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to control (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) an amplitude (SHOKICHI: amplitude control ¶ 0028, fig. 5) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) or the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) by using an information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) such that the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) are modulated (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, YUUTA, SMITH, LANGONI and SHOKICHI make obvious (Currently amended) the radio wave control system according to claim 3, wherein the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to
modulate (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5) the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) by using a first information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) related to a first communication service provider (YUUTA: 200A ¶ 0087 & 0137, FIG. 9-10), and
modulate (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5) the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) by using a second information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) related to a second communication service provider (YUUTA: 200B ¶ 0087 & 0137, FIG. 9-10).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUUTA in view of SMITH in view of LANGONI and in further view of US 20050156743 by JAMES R. GALLIVAN et al. (hereinafter GALLIVAN).
Regarding claim 6, YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (Currently amended) the radio wave control system according to claim 1.
YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein a traveling wave tube is used as the high power amplifier.
However, GALLIVAN teaches power amplifier 318 may comprise a high-power amplifier such as a traveling wave tube (hereinafter TWT) (¶ 0040, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of GALLIVAN to include the traveling wave tube with the power amplifier of the combined art of YUUTA, SMITH and LANGONI with the benefit of generating a high-power millimeter-wave frequency signal for antenna system (GALLIVAN, ¶ 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SMITH, LANGONI and GALLIVAN to obtain the invention:
GALLIVAN teaches wherein a traveling wave tube is used as the high power amplifier (power amplifier 318 may comprise a high-power amplifier such as a TWT).
Claim(s) 7-9, 10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUUTA in view of SHOKICHI in view of SMITH and in further view of LANGONI.
Regarding claim 7, YUUTA teaches: (Currently amended) A control apparatus (wireless communication system 10 ¶ 0025, fig. 1) comprising:
at least one memory (memory 1002 ¶ 0143, fig. 10) storing instructions (can store a program (program code), software module, etc. ¶ 0143); and
at least one processor (processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) configured to execute the instructions (programs ¶ 0140) to:
control (the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10).
YUUTA further teaches a first local signal (H1PT, fig. 9), a second local signal (H2PT, fig. 9), a reflective plate (phase control reflector 300 ¶ 0033, fig. 2-3 & 7-9), antenna elements (controlling the radio signals transmitted from multiple antenna elements ¶ 0022; phase control reflector 300A/phase control reflector 300B ¶ 0088, fig. 9), a first modulated signal (H1RP, fig. 9), a second modulated signal (H2RP, fig. 9), and controlling phases (controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129).
YUUTA further teaches a phase control reflector 300A is assigned to the UE 200A, and a phase control reflector 300B is assigned to the UE 200B (¶ 0087, fig. 9).
The above-mentioned UE 200 (including UE 200A, 200B) and phase control reflector 300 (including phase control reflector 300A, 300B) may function as a computer that performs processing of the wireless communication method of the present disclosure (¶ 0137).
A subframe may further be composed of one or more slots in the time domain (¶ 0172).
A slot may consist of one or more symbols in the time domain (such as Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (hereinafter OFDM) symbols, Single carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access (hereinafter SC-FDMA) symbols, etc.) (¶ 0174).
YUUTA does not explicitly teach at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: generate an information signal; and control, when a first local signal and a second local signal out of broadband local signals transmitted from a high power amplifier to a reflective plate configured are reflected by or transmitted through antenna elements periodically disposed on the reflective plate, directions in which a first modulated signal and a second modulated signal are beam-formed by electrically controlling the antenna elements on the basis of the information signal and controlling phases of the first local signal and the second local signal incident on the reflective plate.
However, SHOKICHI teaches the modulation circuit 11A constituting the control circuit outputs an antenna switching control signal for controlling the switching of the antenna 16 to the antenna switch 15. Furthermore, the modulation circuit 11A generates an I signal, which is the in-phase component of the carrier wave, and a Q signal, which is the quadrature component, based on the input packet. The I signal is output to the DAC 21 and the Q signal is output to the DAC 24. The modulation circuit 11A performs IQ complex amplitude control of the I signal and Q signal in synchronization with the switching of the antenna 16 (¶ 0028, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SHOKICHI to include the control circuit with the communication system of the art of YUUTA with the benefit of controlling the output power of the power amplifier when it outputs a switching control signal to the antenna switch (SHOKICHI, ¶ 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA and SHOKICHI to obtain the invention:
at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to: generate an information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5); and control (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10).
YUUTA and SHOKICHI do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, when a first local signal and a second local signal out of broadband local signals transmitted from a high power amplifier to a reflective plate configured are reflected by or transmitted through antenna elements periodically disposed on the reflective plate.
However, SMITH teaches when the mode controller 103 is set to narrowband modulation, the high frequency power amplifier 115 amplifies the narrowband modulated signal. If the dual modes operate in different frequency bands, the RF power amplifier 115 either has enough bandwidth to operate in both bands or can be adjusted during operation to operate in the band associated with the mode, and the mode controller 103 controls its operation accordingly. When the mode controller 103 is set to spread spectrum modulation, the high frequency power amplifier 115 amplifies the spread spectrum signal. Similarly, when the mode controller 103 is set to narrowband modulation, the variable band pulse filter 117 has a bandwidth tailored to a narrow bandwidth and corresponding frequency to transmit the
narrowband modulated signal. When the mode controller 103 is set to wideband, the variable band pulse filter 117 has a bandwidth that is tuned to the wideband and corresponding frequency to transmit the wideband signal (¶ 0029, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SMITH to include the power amplifier with the communication system of the combined art of YUUTA and SHOKICHI with the benefit of using multiple communication modes over multiple frequency bands (SMITH, ¶ 0001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SHOKICHI and SMITH to obtain the invention:
when a first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and a second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) out of broadband local signals (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1) transmitted from a high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1) to a reflective plate (YUUTA: phase control reflector 300 ¶ 0033, fig. 2-3 & 7-9) configured are reflected by or transmitted (see YUUTA fig. 9) through antenna elements (YUUTA: controlling the radio signals transmitted from multiple antenna elements ¶ 0022; phase control reflector 300A/phase control reflector 300B ¶ 0088, fig. 9) periodically disposed on the reflective plate (see YUUTA fig. 9).
YUUTA, SHOKICHI and SMITH do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, directions in which a first modulated signal and a second modulated signal are beam-formed by electrically controlling the antenna elements on the basis of the information signal and controlling phases of the first local signal and the second local signal incident on the reflective plate.
However, LANGONI teaches a reconfigurable antenna design that reconfigures multiple parameters will most likely use switching technology, whether it is used to alter the physical structure of the radiating surface, feeding line, or in the case of antenna arrays, switches to control the number of radiating elements that are on or off at any given reconfigurable state (p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of LANGONI to include the plurality of reconfigurable radiating elements with the communication system of the combined art of YUUTA, SHOKICHI and SMITH with the benefit of providing improved wireless performance through dynamic adaptation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI to obtain the invention:
directions in which a first modulated signal (YUUTA: H1RP, fig. 9) and a second modulated signal (YUUTA: H2RP, fig. 9) are beam-formed (see YUUTA fig. 9) by electrically controlling the antenna elements (LANGONI: reconfigures multiple parameters/alter the physical structure, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) on the basis of the information signal and controlling phases (YUUTA: controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) incident on the reflective plate (see YUUTA fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (Currently amended) the control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to control (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) an amplitude (SHOKICHI: amplitude control ¶ 0028, fig. 5) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) or the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) by using an information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) such that the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) are modulated (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (Currently amended) the control apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the at least one processor (YUUTA: processor 1001 ¶ 0140, fig. 10) is further configured to execute the instructions (YUUTA: programs ¶ 0140) to
modulate (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5) the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) by using a first information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) related to a first communication service provider (YUUTA: 200A ¶ 0087 & 0137, FIG. 9-10), and
modulate (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5) the second local signal by using a second information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) related to a second communication service provider (YUUTA: 200B ¶ 0087 & 0137, FIG. 9-10).
Regarding claim 10, YUUTA teaches: (Original) A radio wave control method (wireless communication method ¶ 0137) comprising:
controlling (the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10), a first local signal (H1PT, fig. 9) and a second local signal (H2PT, fig. 9), a reflective plate (phase control reflector 300 ¶ 0033, fig. 2-3 & 7-9), antenna elements (controlling the radio signals transmitted from multiple antenna elements ¶ 0022; phase control reflector 300A/phase control reflector 300B ¶ 0088, fig. 9), a first modulated signal (H1RP, fig. 9) and a second modulated signal (H2RP, fig. 9) and controlling phases (controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129).
YUUTA further teaches a phase control reflector 300A is assigned to the UE 200A, and a phase control reflector 300B is assigned to the UE 200B (¶ 0087, fig. 9).
The above-mentioned UE 200 (including UE 200A, 200B) and phase control reflector 300 (including phase control reflector 300A, 300B) may function as a computer that performs processing of the wireless communication method of the present disclosure (¶ 0137).
A subframe may further be composed of one or more slots in the time domain (¶ 0172).
A slot may consist of one or more symbols in the time domain (such as Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (hereinafter OFDM) symbols, Single carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access (hereinafter SC-FDMA) symbols, etc.) (¶ 0174).
YUUTA does not explicitly teach generating an information signal; and controlling, when a first local signal and a second local signal out of broadband local signals transmitted from a high power amplifier to a reflective plate are reflected by or transmitted through antenna elements periodically disposed on the reflective plate, directions in which a first modulated signal and a second modulated signal are beamformed by electrically controlling the antenna elements on the basis of the information signal and controlling phases of the first local signal and the second local signal incident on the reflective plate.
However, SHOKICHI teaches the modulation circuit 11A constituting the control circuit outputs an antenna switching control signal for controlling the switching of the antenna 16 to the antenna switch 15. Furthermore, the modulation circuit 11A generates an I signal, which is the in-phase component of the carrier wave, and a Q signal, which is the quadrature component, based on the input packet. The I signal is output to the DAC 21 and the Q signal is output to the DAC 24. The modulation circuit 11A performs IQ complex amplitude control of the I signal and Q signal in synchronization with the switching of the antenna 16 (¶ 0028, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SHOKICHI to include the control circuit with the communication method of the art of YUUTA with the benefit of controlling the output power of the power amplifier when it outputs a switching control signal to the antenna switch (SHOKICHI, ¶ 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA and SHOKICHI to obtain the invention:
SHOKICHI teaches generating an information signal (control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5).
YUUTA and SHOKICHI do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, and controlling, when a first local signal and a second local signal out of broadband local signals transmitted from a high power amplifier to a reflective plate are reflected by or transmitted through antenna elements periodically disposed on the reflective plate, directions in which a first modulated signal and a second modulated signal are beamformed by electrically controlling the antenna elements on the basis of the information signal and controlling phases of the first local signal and the second local signal incident on the reflective plate.
However, SMITH teaches when the mode controller 103 is set to narrowband modulation, the high frequency power amplifier 115 amplifies the narrowband modulated signal. If the dual modes operate in different frequency bands, the RF power amplifier 115 either has enough bandwidth to operate in both bands or can be adjusted during operation to operate in the band associated with the mode, and the mode controller 103 controls its operation accordingly. When the mode controller 103 is set to spread spectrum modulation, the high frequency power amplifier 115 amplifies the spread spectrum signal. Similarly, when the mode controller 103 is set to narrowband modulation, the variable band pulse filter 117 has a bandwidth tailored to a narrow bandwidth and corresponding frequency to transmit the
narrowband modulated signal. When the mode controller 103 is set to wideband, the variable band pulse filter 117 has a bandwidth that is tuned to the wideband and corresponding frequency to transmit the wideband signal (¶ 0029, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SMITH to include the power amplifier with the communication method of the combined art of YUUTA and SHOKICHI with the benefit of using multiple communication modes over multiple frequency bands (SMITH, ¶ 0001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SHOKICHI and SMITH to obtain the invention:
and controlling (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10), when a first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and a second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) out of broadband local signals (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1) transmitted from a high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1) to a reflective plate (YUUTA: phase control reflector 300 ¶ 0033, fig. 2-3 & 7-9) are reflected by or transmitted (see YUUTA fig. 9) through antenna elements (YUUTA: controlling the radio signals transmitted from multiple antenna elements ¶ 0022; phase control reflector 300A/phase control reflector 300B ¶ 0088, fig. 9) periodically disposed on the reflective plate (see YUUTA fig. 9).
YUUTA, SHOKICHI and SMITH do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, directions in which a first modulated signal and a second modulated signal are beamformed by electrically controlling the antenna elements on the basis of the information signal and controlling phases of the first local signal and the second local signal incident on the reflective plate.
However, LANGONI teaches a reconfigurable antenna design that reconfigures multiple parameters will most likely use switching technology, whether it is used to alter the physical structure of the radiating surface, feeding line, or in the case of antenna arrays, switches to control the number of radiating elements that are on or off at any given reconfigurable state (p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of LANGONI to include the plurality of reconfigurable radiating elements with the communication method of the combined art of YUUTA, SHOKICHI and SMITH with the benefit of providing improved wireless performance through dynamic adaptation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI to obtain the invention:
directions in which a first modulated signal (YUUTA: H1RP, fig. 9) and a second modulated signal (YUUTA: H2RP, fig. 9) are beamformed (see YUUTA fig. 9) by electrically controlling the antenna elements (LANGONI: reconfigures multiple parameters/alter the physical structure, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) on the basis of the information signal and controlling phases (YUUTA: controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) incident on the reflective plate (see YUUTA fig. 9).
Claim 11, (Canceled)
Regarding claim 13, YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (New) the radio wave control method according to claim 10, wherein an amplitude (SHOKICHI: amplitude control ¶ 0028, fig. 5) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) or the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) is controlled (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) by using an information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) such that the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) and the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) are modulated (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (New) the radio wave control system according to claim 13, wherein the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) is modulated (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5) by using a first information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) related to a first communication service provider (YUUTA: 200A ¶ 0087 & 0137, FIG. 9-10), and the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) is modulated (SHOKICHI: The modulation circuit 11A performs complex amplitude control of the signals ¶ 0028, fig. 5) by using a second information signal (SHOKICHI: control signal ¶ 0028, fig. 5) related to a second communication service provider (YUUTA: 200B ¶ 0087 & 0137, FIG. 9-10).
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUUTA in view of SHOKICHI in view of SMITH in view of LANGONI and in further view of SAJI.
Regarding claim 12, YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (New) the radio wave control method according to claim 10, further comprising:
controlling the phase (YUUTA: controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) that has been transmitted through first filter, the first filter transmitting the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) out of the broadband local signals output from the high power amplifier and
controlling the phase (YUUTA: controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129) of the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) that has been transmitted through second filter, the second filter transmitting the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) out of the broadband local signal output from the high power amplifier.
YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, controlling the phase of the first local signal that has been transmitted through first filter, the first filter transmitting the first local signal out of the broadband local signals output from the high power amplifier and controlling the phase of the second local signal that has been transmitted through second filter, the second filter transmitting the second local signal out of the broadband local signal output from the high power amplifier.
However, SAJI teaches the first circuit includes a first filter that transmits the first signal set and reflects the second signal set, and a second filter that transmits the second signal set and reflects the first signal set (¶ 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SAJI to include the plurality of filters with the communication method of the combined art of YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI with the benefit of obtaining a plurality of filtered signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH, LANGONI and SAJI to obtain the invention:
controlling the phase (YUUTA: controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) that has been transmitted through first filter (SAJI: first filter ¶ 0005), the first filter (SAJI: first filter ¶ 0005) transmitting the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) out of the broadband local signals (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1) output from the high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1) and
controlling the phase (YUUTA: controlling the phase of the radio signal reflected ¶ 0129) of the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) that has been transmitted through second filter (SAJI: second filter ¶ 0005), the second filter (SAJI: second filter ¶ 0005) transmitting the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) out of the broadband local signal (SMITH: spread spectrum signal ¶ 0029, fig. 1) output from the high power amplifier (SMITH: high frequency power amplifier 115 ¶ 0029, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH, LANGONI and SAJI make obvious (New) the radio wave control system according to claim 12, further comprising:
allocating each of the antenna elements (LANGONI: reconfigures multiple parameters/alter the physical structure, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) disposed on the reflective plate (YUUTA: phase control reflector 300 ¶ 0033, fig. 2-3 & 7-9) to a first group or a second group (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.),
controlling the phase (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) of the first local signal (YUUTA: H1PT, fig. 9) by using the antenna element (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) allocated to the first group (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.), and
controlling the phase (YUUTA: the phase control reflector 300 may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001 ¶ 0137, fig. 9-10) of the second local signal (YUUTA: H2PT, fig. 9) by using the antenna element (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.) allocated to the second group (LANGONI: the number of radiating elements, p. 3, col. 1, 2nd para.).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUUTA in view of SHOKICHI in view of SMITH in view of LANGONI and in further view of GALLIVAN.
Regarding claim 16, YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI make obvious (New) the radio wave control system according to claim 10.
YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein a traveling wave tube is used as the high power amplifier.
However, GALLIVAN teaches power amplifier 318 may comprise a high-power amplifier such as a traveling wave tube (hereinafter TWT) (¶ 0040, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of GALLIVAN to include the traveling wave tube with the power amplifier of the combined art of YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH and LANGONI with the benefit of generating a high-power millimeter-wave frequency signal for antenna system (GALLIVAN, ¶ 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YUUTA, SHOKICHI, SMITH, LANGONI and GALLIVAN to obtain the invention:
GALLIVAN teaches wherein a traveling wave tube is used as the high power amplifier (power amplifier 318 may comprise a high-power amplifier such as a TWT).
Conclusion
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/REGIS J BETSCH/ SPE, Art Unit 2844