DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 43-50 and 54-57 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 17, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on April 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-41 and 51-53 are pending. Claim 27 is independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Specifically, “The present invention relates to” is language that can be implied.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed September 10, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Specifically, no copy of the NPL document was filed and has not been considered (see struck through annotation on the signed IDS filed herewith).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. Specifically, it is indefinite if “a process” in claim 32 is the same “process” as introduced in claim 27, from which claim 32 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-41 and 51-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller et al. (US 20060272909 A1), hereinafter Fuller.
Regarding claims 27 and 41, Fuller teaches a brake assembly (braking system) comprising a first component with a surface and a coating applied to the surface, where the coating comprises a second constituent including titanium dioxide (claims 1 and 5) issued in an automotive brake assembly ([0005]; i.e. a car), and the component may be steel or aluminum (metal; [0033]).
Regarding “obtainable by” and the following process, the examiner first notes that this product is merely optionally “obtainable” by this process, not required to be produced by this process, as presently recited. Further, even if required the process results in product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, however, the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). In this instance, the patentable distinction structurally of the process as claimed is that of a TiO2 coating on the substrate, addressed above.
Regarding claims 28-39 and 51-52, Fuller teaches each limitation of claim 27, as discussed above and further teaches a brake assembly (braking system) comprising a first component with a surface and a coating applied to the surface, where the coating comprises a second constituent including titanium dioxide (claims 1 and 5) issued in an automotive brake assembly ([0005]; i.e. a car), and the component may be steel or aluminum (metal; [0033]).
Regarding “obtainable by” in the independent claim from which these depend and the following process limitations of these dependent claims, the examiner first notes that this product is merely optionally “obtainable” by this process, not required to be produced by this process, as presently recited. Further, even if required the process results in product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, however, the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). In this instance, the patentable distinction structurally of the process as claimed is that of a TiO2 coating on the substrate, addressed above.
Regarding claim 40, Fuller teaches each limitation of claim 27, as discussed above and further teaches the coating has a preferred thickness of about 0.5 to about 3.0 mils ([0053]). Examiner notes that this is not a firm limit of 0.5 mils for the lower limit for two reasons, 1) Fuller teaches this a “preferred” lower limit and also further 2) qualifies it with “about”. Therefore, no specific difference in properties is expected below the lower limit of preferred about 0.5 mils.
Fuller does not specifically teach the thickness is 1-5 microns; however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to modify Fuller to this range, because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV A).
Regarding 53, Fuller teaches each limitation of claims 27 and 34, as discussed above and further teaches a brake assembly (braking system) comprising a first component with a surface and a coating applied to the surface, where the coating comprises a second constituent including titanium dioxide (claims 1 and 5) issued in an automotive brake assembly ([0005]; i.e. a car), and the component may be steel or aluminum (metal; [0033]).
Regarding “obtainable by” in the independent claim from which these depend and the following process limitation of claim 53, the examiner first notes that this product is merely optionally “obtainable” by this process, not required to be produced by this process, as presently recited. Further, even if required the process results in product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, however, the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). In this instance, the patentable distinction structurally of the process as claimed is that of a TiO2 coating on the substrate, addressed above.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A CHRISTY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784