DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I, claims 1-11, drawn to a solid cleansing composition, and the species of
a) a bar as in claim 10, and
b) silica structurant and thymol essential oil,
in the reply filed on 7/16/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is an existing technical relationship between a composition and its method of use, and further that Applicant has presented a reasonable number of species. This is not found persuasive because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a solid cleansing composition comprising: 2 to 15 wt% ammonium salt selected from ammonium chloride, ammonium benzoate, ammonium citrate, ammonium carbonate, ammonium acetate, ammonium sulphate, isopropyl ammonium chloride and mixtures thereof; and from 2 to 25 wt% of one or more carboxylic acids having a pKa in the range from 2.5 to 4.5, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Barne et al. (US 2019/0350829; cited in IDS), as described supra.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12 and 13 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 11 is withdrawn as not being directed to the elected species.
Claims 1-10 are under consideration to the extent that the composition comprises the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/10/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the carboxylic acid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 1 "one or more carboxylic acids" encompasses multiple carboxylic acids. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the carboxylic acids must meet the claim limitation.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the carboxylic acid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 1 "one or more carboxylic acids" encompasses multiple carboxylic acids. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the carboxylic acids must meet the claim limitation.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the carboxylic acid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 1 "one or more carboxylic acids" encompasses multiple carboxylic acids. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the carboxylic acids must meet the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barne et al. (US 2019/0350829; cited in IDS).
Barne et al. teach an antimicrobial composition and more particularly to an antimicrobial composition at the pH of skin (e.g. abstract).
Beerse et al. teach a solid cleansing composition in the form of a bar (e.g. claim 5) comprising:
a. from 5-40 wt% of an ammonium salt, including ammonium chloride, ammonium benzoate, ammonium citrate, ammonium carbonate, ammonium acetate, ammonium sulphate, isopropyl ammonium chloride and mixtures thereof (e.g. Claims 1 and 2); and
b. from 0.1 to 20 wt% of one or more carboxylic acids having a pKa in the range from 4.5-6.5, wherein the carboxylic acid is a cyclic aliphatic carboxylic acid, an aromatic carboxylic acid or mixtures thereof. (e.g. Claim 1);
wherein the pH of the composition is in the range of 4.5-6.5 (e.g. claim 4).
Regarding Claims 1-3, and 10, the concentrations of ammonium salt and carboxylic acids, the concentration ranges overlap with the claimed ranges. Regarding the pKa of the carboxylic acid, the ranges of 2.5-4.5 and 4.5-6.5 overlap at 4.5. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Barne et al. exemplify 2 wt% benzoic acid which has a pKa of 4.2 (e.g. Example P in [0114]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Barne et al. teach the inclusion of 0.1-20 wt% of an anionic surfactant, including alkyl sulfate or alkyl ether sulfate (e.g. paragraphs 0032-0034; Claims 8 and 9). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barne et al. (US 2019/0350829; cited in IDS), as applied to claims 1-7 and 10, and further in view of Modak et al. (WO 2013/066403).
Regarding Claims 1-7 and 10, the teachings of Barne et al. are described supra. Barne et al. further teach the inclusion of essential oils and silica (e.g. paragraphs 0065, 0068, and 0073).
Barne et al. do not teach that the essential oil is the elected species of thymol. This is made up for by the teachings of Modak et al.
Modak et al. teach personal care products comprising antimicrobially effective low concentrations of benzyl alcohol, one or more essential oils and one or more botanical extract (e.g. abstract). Modak et al. teach that the essential oil is thymol and that the composition also comprises benzoic acid (e.g. Claim 3). Modak et al. teach that the composition can be solid in the form of a bar (e.g. page 18, line 8).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select thymol as in Modak et al. as the essential oil of Barne et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as both of Barne and Modak disclose solid cleansing compositions in the form of a bar comprising essential oils and carboxylic acids. As Barne et al. do not provide examples of essential oils, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seek out an appropriate choice, and would have predicted success in selecting Modak et al.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619