DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yonemoto et al. (US 2022/0373729).
As to claims 1 and 9, Yonemoto discloses, A display system ("optical system") configured to display an image to a user (see Abstract; Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0002], [0013], [0097]), comprising:
- a display element ("image display device 1001") having a display surface configured to emit light representing an image to a front side through a polarizing member ("linear polarizer 1002") (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0013], [0014], [0097], [0117]);
- a reflecting portion ("reflective polarizer 1006") arranged on the front side of the display element (1001), the reflecting portion (1006) including a reflection-type polarizing member ("reflective type polarizer") and being configured to reflect the light emitted from the display element (1001) (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0097], [0098], [0102]);
- a first lens portion arranged on an optical path between the display element (1001) and the reflecting portion (1006) (see Figures 1A-1B, 2; Paragraphs [0098], [0429]);
- a half mirror (1004) arranged between the display element (1001) and the first lens portion, the half mirror (1004) being configured to transmit the light emitted from the display element (1001) and to reflect the light reflected by the reflecting portion (1006) toward the reflecting portion (1006) (see Figures 1A-1B, 2; Paragraphs [0097], [0098]);
- a first λ/4 member ("first quarter wavelength plate 1003") arranged on an optical path between the display element (1001) and the half mirror (1004) (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0097], [0098], [0100], [0101], [0125], [0140]); and
- a second λ/4 member ("second quarter wavelength plate 1005") arranged on an optical path between the half mirror (1004) and the reflecting portion (1006) (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0097], [0098], [0100], [0101], [0125], [0142]),
- wherein the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member are arranged so that an angle formed by a slow axis of the first λ/4 member and a slow axis of the second λ/4 member is 7° or less or from 83° to 97° (see Figures 1A-1B, 2; Paragraphs [0132], [0136], [0138], [0157], [0163], [0164]).
As to claim 2, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Yonemoto further discloses wherein an in-plane retardation (a) of the first λ/4 member and an in-plane retardation (b) of the second λ/4 member satisfy the following formula (I): (a)-(b))/(a)+(b)/2)≤0.02 (see Figures 1A-1B, 2; Paragraphs [0022], [0089], [0094], [0129], [0179]).
As to claim 4, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Yonemoto further discloses wherein a thickness of each of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member is 100 µm or less (see Figures 1A-1B, 4; Paragraphs [0297], [0302]).
As to claim 5, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Yonemoto further discloses wherein a thickness variation of each of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member is 1 µm or less (see Figures 1A-1B, 4; Paragraphs [0297], [0302]).
As to claim 7, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Yonemoto further discloses wherein a polarization direction of the light, which has been emitted through the polarizing member, and a reflection axis of the reflection-type polarizing member are substantially perpendicular to each other, wherein an angle formed by an absorption axis of the polarizing member in the display element and the slow axis of the first λ/4 member is from 40° to 50°, and wherein the angle formed by the slow axis of the first λ/4 member and the slow axis of the second λ/4 member is 7° or less (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0308], [0310], [0311], [0314]).
As to claim 8, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Yonemoto further discloses wherein a polarization direction of the light, which has been emitted through the polarizing member, and a reflection axis of the reflection-type polarizing member are substantially parallel to each other, wherein an angle formed by an absorption axis of the polarizing member in the display element and the slow axis of the first λ/4 member is from 40° to 50°, and wherein the angle formed by the slow axis of the first λ/4 member and the slow axis of the second λ/4 member is from 83° to 97° (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0314], [0321], [0323]).
As to claims 10-11, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1. Yonemoto further discloses a display body and method of producing a display body (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0002], [0013], [0097], [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonemoto et al. (US 2022/0373729).
As to claim 3, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1, but does not disclose wherein an ISC value of each of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member is 50 or less. Note that the “ISC value” is an indicator of smoothness or unevenness of a surface according to paragraph [0022] of applicant’s specification. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yonemoto wherein an ISC value of each of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member is 50 or less in order to minimize the unevenness of the surfaces of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member.
As to claim 6, Yonemoto, discloses all of the elements of the claimed invention discussed above regarding claim 1, but does not disclose wherein an ISC value per unit thickness of each of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member is 1 or less. Note that the “ISC value” is an indicator of smoothness or unevenness of a surface according to paragraph [0022] of applicant’s specification. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yonemoto wherein an ISC value per unit thickness of each of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member is 1 or less in order to minimize the unevenness of the surfaces of the first λ/4 member and the second λ/4 member.
Conclusion
/DAVID Y CHUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871