CTNF 18/845,521 CTNF 78669 DETAILED ACTION Priority 02-26 AIA 1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a) — (d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Oath/Declaration Oath/Declaration 2. Oath and declaration is missing. Information Disclosure Statement 3. The prior art documents submitted by application in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 9/30/2025 and 2/2/2026 and 3/6/2026 and 4/27/2026 and 8/4/2025 and 9/10/2024 have all been considered and made of record ( note the attached copy of form PTO – 1449). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 4. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (2021/0239970 A1) in view of Gollier et al (2018/0101020 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2 ) a lens unit (104 and 105) to be used in a display system (101) configured to display an image to a user, the lens unit comprising: a reflection-type polarizing member configured to reflect light, which has been emitted toward a front side from a display surface of a display element configured to display the image, and has passed through a polarizing member and a first A/4 member ;a first lens portion arranged on an optical path between the display element and the reflection-type polarizing member; a half mirror arranged between the display element and the first lens portion, the half mirror being configured to transmit the light emitted from the display element and to reflect the light reflected by the reflection-type polarizing member toward the reflection-type polarizing member ;a second lens portion arranged on the front side of the reflection-type polarizing member; a second A/4 member arranged on an optical path between the half mirror and the reflection-type polarizing member (paragraph 0016-0021) . Kondo discloses all of the claimed limitations except a protective member and a second protective member each arranged on the optical path between the half mirror and the reflection-type polarizing member, the first protective member and the second protective member are arranged to face each other through a space, and wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a maximum value for a 5* specular reflectance spectrum in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm of 1.2% or less. Gollier et al discloses a protective member and a second protective member each arranged on the optical path between the half mirror and the reflection-type polarizing member, the first protective member and the second protective member are arranged to face each other through a space, and wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a maximum value for a 5* specular reflectance spectrum in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm of 1.2% or less. (paragraph 0038-0041). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching of Gollier a protective member and a second protective member each arranged on the optical path between the half mirror and the reflection-type polarizing member, the first protective member and the second protective member are arranged to face each other through a space, and wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a maximum value for a 5* specular reflectance spectrum in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm of 1.2% or less in to the Kondo a lens unit various reflection and transmission can achieve as taught by Gollier (paragraph 0006). PNG media_image1.png 487 514 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, combination of Kondo in view of Gollier et al discloses ,wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a 5 0 specular reflectance at a wavelength of 450 nm of 0.3 % or less. Regarding claim 3, combination of Kondo in view of Gollier et al discloses wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a 5 0 specular reflectance at a wavelength of 600 nm of 0.3%or less. Regarding claim 4, combination of Kondo in view of Gollier et al discloses wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a surface smoothness of 0.5 arcmin or less. Regarding claim 5, combination of Kondo in view of Gollier et al discloses wherein the second A/4 member satisfies Re (450) <Re (550). Regarding claim 6, combination of Kondo in view of Gollier et al discloses wherein the lens unit comprises: a first laminate portion including the second A/4 member and the first protective member; and a second laminate portion including the reflection-type polarizing member and the second protective member. Regarding claim 7, combination of Kondo in view of Gollier et al discloses wherein the second laminate portion includes an absorption-type polarizing member arranged between the reflection-type polarizing member and the second lens portion. Regarding claim 9, combination of Kondo in view of Gollier et al discloses wherein the third A/4 member satisfies Re (450) <Re (550). Regarding claim 10, Kondo discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2 ) laminate film to be used in a display method (101) , the display method comprising the steps of: passing light representing an image, with lens unit (104 and 105) to be used in a display system (101) configured to display an image to a user, a polarizing member and a first A/4 member, through a half mirror and a first lens portion; passing the light, which has passed through the half mirror and the first lens portion, through a second A/4 member; reflecting the light, which has passed through the second A/4 member, toward the half mirror with a reflection-type polarizing member; enabling the light, which has been reflected by the reflection-type polarizing member and the half mirror, to penetrate through the reflection-type polarizing member with the second A/4 member; and passing the light, which has penetrated through the reflection-type polarizing member, through a second lens portion (paragraph 0016-0021) . Kondo discloses all of the claimed limitations except a protective member and a second protective member each arranged on the optical path between the half mirror and the reflection-type polarizing member, the first protective member and the second protective member are arranged to face each other through a space, and wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a maximum value for a 5* specular reflectance spectrum in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm of 1.2% or less. Gollier et al discloses a protective member and a second protective member each arranged on the optical path between the half mirror and the reflection-type polarizing member, the first protective member and the second protective member are arranged to face each other through a space, and wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a maximum value for a 5* specular reflectance spectrum in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm of 1.2% or less. (paragraph 0038-0041). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching of Gollier a protective member and a second protective member each arranged on the optical path between the half mirror and the reflection-type polarizing member, the first protective member and the second protective member are arranged to face each other through a space, and wherein the first protective member and the second protective member each have a maximum value for a 5* specular reflectance spectrum in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm of 1.2% or less in to the Kondo a lens unit various reflection and transmission can achieve as taught by Gollier (paragraph 0006). Conclusion 5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMED A HASAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2331. The examiner can normally be reached M-TH 6 AM -4 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bumsuk Won can be reached at 571-272-2713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5/21/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/845,521 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/845,521 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/845,521 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/845,521 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/845,521 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/845,521 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872