DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed on 09-10-2024 and 01-09-2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryznar et al. (U.S. 2017/0255186).
With regard to claim 1, Ryznar teaches a quality control system for guiding an operator in a working environment though a workflow comprising a series of workflow steps (Fig. 1; [abstract] a guide system and method of projecting visual indicators onto a physical object to guide actions of an individual; [0014] a workstation process guided by a visual indicator), the system comprising:
a projector configured to display images on to the working environment ([abstract] a guide system and method of projecting visual indicators onto a physical object to guide actions of an individual comprises providing a guide system having a guide system controller and a projector; [0025] FIGS. 1A-1L illustrate exemplary images that may be projected by the light sources of the assembly guide system of FIG. 1);
a processor ([0059] an order request may be transmitted to a work station from a central processing location, such as a computer system or the like); and
a memory storing instructions ([0061] Assembly guide system 10 also includes a display device 36 that is able to receive display signals 78 (FIG. 2) along link 80 (FIG. 1) from control module 20 and to relay information to the operator 12) which when executed by the processor cause the processor to:
generate a user interface for display on the working environment using the projector to enable a user to position at least one highlight area within a work area on the working environment ([0097] With reference to FIG. 6, an operational guide system 400 may also be constructed to include one or more three dimensional spatial motion sensors 423 for monitoring activities of an operators body, hand, etc. and/or other surfaces related to robots, workstation hardware such as fixtures, part bins, etc. to confirm that desired operational steps are properly accomplished…; [0098] the sensor 423 of guide system may be used for process analysis purposes, remote user interface and/or programming purposes, as well as for confirmation of proper completion of guided operations); and
store the work area ([0056] the assembly guide system 10 may cause an indicating light 46 to be projected at a storage location 70) including the at least one highlight area positioned in the work area by the user against a workflow step of the workflow ([0086] a guide system may include fewer or more projectors and/or enable a single projector to project onto multiple physical objects; [0092] to program a new assembly step; [claim 1] guide system controller being operable to control said directional light device to project a visual indicator onto a physical object associated with the particular guided operation).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive input from the user ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal; [0040] a first input signal 42 is communicated or transmitted to the control module 20 and, based on the detected or identified work piece 14 that the operator 12 is or will be working on) via the user interface to position at least one highlight area in the work area ([0097] With reference to FIG. 6, an operational guide system 400 may also be constructed to include one or more three dimensional spatial motion sensors 423 for monitoring activities of an operators body, hand, etc. and/or other surfaces related to robots, workstation hardware such as fixtures, part bins, etc. to confirm that desired operational steps are properly accomplished…; [0098] the sensor 423 of guide system may be used for process analysis purposes, remote user interface and/or programming purposes, as well as for confirmation of proper completion of guided operations).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the quality control system stores a workflow table for the workflow (Fig. 3A, table 286 and table 288; [0075] Referring now to FIG. 3A in connection with the operation of guide system 200, controller 220 is illustrated to include a VDF address table or listing 286), and wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: store the work area against a workflow step of the workflow by storing the work area in a row of the workflow table associated with the workflow step (Fig. 3A, a unique identifier 287; [0075] Referring now to FIG. 3A in connection with the operation of guide system 200, controller 220 is illustrated to include a VDF address table or listing 286, as well as numerous positional identifiers 288 contained in an address table or matrix or positional listing 289. Controller 220 includes numerous pre-programmed VDFs that are each assigned a unique identifier 287).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: store the work area against a workflow step of the workflow by storing a work area identifier for the work area in a row of the workflow table associated with the workflow step (Fig. 3A, a unique identifier 287; [0075] Referring now to FIG. 3A in connection with the operation of guide system 200, controller 220 is illustrated to include a VDF address table or listing 286, as well as numerous positional identifiers 288 contained in an address table or matrix or positional listing 289. Controller 220 includes numerous pre-programmed VDFs that are each assigned a unique identifier 287).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches the system comprising a user input device configured to permit the user to interact with the user interface ([0018] A monitor may be interfaced with the guide system controller such that images taken by the camera are viewable on the monitor; [0038] The illustrated guide system 10 includes a controller or a control module 20, two directional light devices 22, 24, a sensor apparatus 26, and a confirmation module or device or element 28, shown as a foot pedal 30. Guide system 10 includes a component location 32, which is illustrated as a parts bin 34, a display device 36, and a tool 38 and tool holder 40).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: generate the user interface for display on the working environment using the projector ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal and the projector projects a visual indicator corresponding to the selected addressed display feature onto a physical object) to enable a user to position at least text box within a work area on the working environment (Fig. 3A, textual VDF “Select 1”…; [0050] sequential numbers may be projected where each number indicates a step in the assembly action being performed by the operator at the work station, or part numbers or textual information may be projected to provide written guidance to the operator).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the workflow guides the operative through building an article (Fig. 1; [abstract] A guide system and method of projecting visual indicators onto a physical object to guide actions of an individual; [0038] an operational guide system or guide system 10 in connection with the providing of visual indicators to an operator 12 performing one or more assembly actions on a work piece 14 at a work station 16 of an assembly line 18).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: store the work area against a workflow step in response to receiving input from the user via the user interface to save the work area ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal; [0040] a first input signal 42 is communicated or transmitted to the control module 20 and, based on the detected or identified work piece 14 that the operator 12 is or will be working on).
With regard to claim 10, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: generate a new work area for the user to position highlight areas on ([0092] camera 313 may be used by a technician or engineer during programming of guide system 300, such as to program a new assembly step whereby the camera 313 would allow the programmer to view) in response to receiving input from the user via the user interface to generate a new work area ([0092] to program a new assembly step whereby the camera 313 would allow the programmer to view, for example, the work station and any associated part bins and properly direct the projection of an indicating light by directional light device 322).
With regard to claim 11, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: store of the work area against the workflow step by generating an image of the work area which includes the highlight area(s) in their respective position(s) ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal and the projector projects a visual indicator corresponding to the selected addressed display feature onto a physical object; [0094] Images 209 projection onto a back surface or rear surface 73 of projection surface 71 are viewable by an operator stationed at work station 16 when the operator views the front surface 75 of projection surface 71 such that the operator may see and read display images 209, such as words, pictures, or videos, for guiding activities at work station).
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed cause the processor to:
load the workflow comprising a series of workflow steps ([0002] a system for guiding an individual in the performance of operational steps), at least one workflow step having a work area associated with the workflow step ([0039] The system 10 is further operable via display device 36 to provide and relay information to operator 12 such as, for example, a listing of steps needing completion, work instructions, images of a work piece, videos, and/or warnings regarding a missed or improperly performed assembly step); and
cause the projector to display on the working environment the work area associated with the respective workflow step ([abstract] a guide system and method of projecting visual indicators onto a physical object to guide actions of an individual comprises providing a guide system having a guide system controller and a projector; [0025] FIGS. 1A-1L illustrate exemplary images that may be projected by the light sources of the assembly guide system of FIG. 1) in turn in response to input from the operator indicating a workflow step has been completed ([0040] Upon completion of a particular operation step, the operator 12 actuates the foot pedal 30 to transmit a confirmation signal 56 (FIG. 2) to the control module 20 verifying that the operation step has been completed).
With regard to claim 14, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches the system comprising a user input device configured to permit the user to interact with the user interface ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal; [0040] a first input signal 42 is communicated or transmitted to the control module 20 and, based on the detected or identified work piece 14 that the operator 12 is or will be working on).
With regard to claim 15, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: store the work area against a workflow step in response to receiving input from the user via the user interface to save the work area ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal; [0040] a first input signal 42 is communicated or transmitted to the control module 20 and, based on the detected or identified work piece 14 that the operator 12 is or will be working on).
With regard to claim 16, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: generate a new work area for the user to position highlight areas on ([0092] camera 313 may be used by a technician or engineer during programming of guide system 300, such as to program a new assembly step whereby the camera 313 would allow the programmer to view) in response to receiving input from the user via the user interface to generate a new work area ([0092] to program a new assembly step whereby the camera 313 would allow the programmer to view, for example, the work station and any associated part bins and properly direct the projection of an indicating light by directional light device 322).
With regard to claim 17, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: store of the work area against the workflow step by generating an image of the work area which includes the highlight area(s) in their respective position(s) ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal and the projector projects a visual indicator corresponding to the selected addressed display feature onto a physical object; [0094] Images 209 projection onto a back surface or rear surface 73 of projection surface 71 are viewable by an operator stationed at work station 16 when the operator views the front surface 75 of projection surface 71 such that the operator may see and read display images 209, such as words, pictures, or videos, for guiding activities at work station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryznar et al. (U.S. 2017/0255186) in view of Fujimoto et al. (U.S. 2023/0010202).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Ryznar teaches wherein the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive input ([abstract] An input signal is provided to the guide system controller whereby an addressed display feature is selected based on the input signal; [0040] a first input signal 42 is communicated or transmitted to the control module 20 and, based on the detected or identified work piece 14 that the operator 12 is or will be working on) from the user via the user interface to at least one highlight area ([0097] With reference to FIG. 6, an operational guide system 400 may also be constructed to include one or more three dimensional spatial motion sensors 423 for monitoring activities of an operators body, hand, etc. and/or other surfaces related to robots, workstation hardware such as fixtures, part bins, etc. to confirm that desired operational steps are properly accomplished…; [0098] the sensor 423 of guide system may be used for process analysis purposes, remote user interface and/or programming purposes, as well as for confirmation of proper completion of guided operations). However, Ryznar teaches does not specifically teach:
- to resize at least one area
Fujimoto teaches automatically parsing handwritten information in genealogical records, and more specifically to handwriting recognition techniques using one or more machine learning models [0002]. Fujimoto also teaches executing an application that launches a graphical user interface (GUI) for a user of the client device such as a user interface [0052], a handwriting recognition workflow [0098] and resizing at least one area ([0145] focusing on the corner areas further provides the advantage of improving processing speeds, as only a small proportion of images need to be processed by the keypoint detection engine 710 to generate a suitable transformation. Further, this avoids the problem of having to resize entire images to deal with memory constraints of the keypoint detection engine 710. Further, this avoids losing information during aggressive resizing operations). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the input from the user interface of the visual indicators as taught by Ryznar, with the resizing method of launching a graphical user interface as taught by Fujimoto, to have achieved an efficient system for guiding an individual in the performance of operational steps, and in particular a system that provides visual indicators to the individual.
With regard to claim 13, the system claim corresponds to the system claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Conclusion
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171