DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated over Yonemoto (US 20220373729 A1, of record) in view of Hokazono (KR 20080083070 A).
Regarding claim 1, 8, and 9, drawn to a display system and its corresponding operating methods, Yonemoto discloses a display system configured to display an image to a user (see Abstract; Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0002], [0013], [0097]), comprising:
a display element ("image display device 1001") having a display surface configured to emit light representing an image to a front side through a polarizing member ("linear polarizer 1002") (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0013], [0014], [0097], [0117]);
a reflection type polarizing member ("reflective polarizer 1006") arranged on the front side of the display element (1001), the reflection type polarizing member (1006) being configured to reflect the light emitted from the display element (1001) (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0097], [0098], [0102]);
a first lens portion arranged on an optical path between the display element (1001) and the reflection type polarizing member (1006) (see Figures 1A-1B, 2; Paragraphs [0098], [0429]);
a half mirror (1004) arranged between the display element (1001) and the first lens portion, the half mirror (1004) being configured to transmit the light emitted from the display element (1001) and to reflect the light reflected by the reflecting portion (1006) toward the reflection type polarizing member (1006) (see Figures 1A-1B, 2; Paragraphs [0097], [0098]);
a first lambda/4 member ("first quarter wavelength plate 1003") arranged on an optical path between the display element (1001) and the half mirror (1004) (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0097], [0098], [0100], [0101], [0125], [0140]); and
a second lambda/4 member ("second quarter wavelength plate 1005") arranged on an optical path between the half mirror (1004) and the reflection type polarizing member (1006) (see Figures 1A-1B; Paragraphs [0097], [0098], [0100], [0101], [0125], [0142]),
a protective member (¶440) arranged on the optical path between the display element and the half mirror (“A polarizer protective film may be disposed on the surface of the polarizer. The polarizer protective film may be disposed on only one side or both sides of the polarizer. The polarizer mentioned here includes all of the linear polarizer 1002, the linear polarizer 1007, the reflective polarizer 1006, and the reflection circular polarizer 1008.”),
wherein a space is formed between the protective member and the half mirror (e.g. Fig. 1A, there being interelement spaces).
Yonemoto does not explicitly show wherein protective member has a maximum value for a 5 degree specular reflectance spectrum in a wavelength range of from 420 nm to 680 nm of 1.2% or less.
Hokazono drawn to optical laminates explicitly shows the use of an antireflection film as a protective film (“When the antireflection film is used as one of the protective films of the polarizer …”) and identically discloses its performance as claimed (Claim 1, “The average value in the 450-650 nm wavelength range of the specular reflectance in a 5 degree incidence angle is 0.5% or less”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the protective film of Hokazono in the device of Yonemoto for the purpose of protection and improved optical performance, e.g. reducing stray light, improving brightness, etc.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the modified Yonemoto teaches the display system of claim 1, and having directly taught an antireflective protective member is considered to further discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity so as to anticipate it.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Yonemoto teaches the display system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the protective member has a surface smoothness of 0.5 arcmin or less (Hokazono, “The antireflective film of the present invention preferably contains an adhesive layer in contact with the lower surface of the low refractive layer, wherein the surface of the adhesive layer has a centerline average roughness (Ra) of 0.001 to 0.030 μm.” i.e. 0.5 arcmin or less).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Yonemoto teaches the display system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first lambda/4 member satisfies Re(450)<Re(550) (¶93-94).
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Yonemoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shinchi (US 20200115083 A1).
Regarding claim 6 and 7, the modified Yonemoto teaches the display system of claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein the display system comprises a laminate portion including the first X/4 member and the protective member.
Shinchi drawn to retardation layer laminates explicitly shows wherein the display system comprises a laminate portion including the first lambda/4 member, polarizing member, and the protective member (Fig. 2, protective layer 12, polarizer 11, and quarter wave retardation layers 71 and 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to have utilized the laminate of Shinchi to improve the display system of the modified Yonemoto for the purpose of suppressing cracks (Shinchi, “By using an adhesive for lamination of the retardation layer, the effect of suppressing cracks can be made more remarkable”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No 18/845,607.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other since the differences concerning lens portions arranged on the reflection type polarizing member are known from the prior art detailed above, e.g. Shinchi (¶430), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention on the same basis.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872