DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 09/10/2024 and 08/04/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 09/10/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 09/10/2024. Claims 1-4 and 6 are now pending in the present application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
For example, claim 1 recites, “sending a Registration Accept message in a case where first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) in a Registration Request message over first access and second S-NSSAI of Allowed NSSAI over second access are not associated with a common Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG) value…” The claimed language is vague and indefinite since the relation between the first S-NSSAI, second S-NSSAI and uncommon NSSRG value are not clear. (Claims 3, 4 and 6 have similar unclear limitations).
Claim(s) 2 is/are also rejected by the virtue of it/their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ISHII, US 20250071669 A1 (hereinafter Ishii).
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses a method of a communication apparatus, the method comprising:
communicating with a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 28, par. 0378, “FIG. 28 shows an example message sequence in a case that UE2 performs the registration procedure while camping on Cell 1 of FIG. 27. Act 28-0 comprises wireless terminal 30(26)-2 establishing an RRC connection with Cell 1 using the procedure shown in FIG. 3”); and
sending a Registration Accept message in a case where first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) in a Registration Request message over first access and second S-NSSAI of Allowed NSSAI over second access are not associated with a common Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG) value (FIG. 28, par. 0378, “Act 28-1 comprises wireless terminal 30(26)-2 sending a Registration Request message to the AMF 26(26) via Cell 1, the Registration Request message comprising a Requested NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N). Act 28-2 comprises the AMF 26(26) responding with a Registration Accept message comprising an Allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N). In one implementation, the Registration Accept message may comprise the network slice band association information indicating F2 being associated with S-NSSAI (N). In another implementation, the Registration Accept message may not include a band association with S-NSSAI (N), indicating that the allowed network slice(s) is available on the currently camped radio band by default.”; par. 520, “a Group Index may be explicitly (separately) configured. [0525] Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG)-based grouping. An NSSRG is a list of S-NSSAIs that can be simultaneously provided to the wireless terminal in an Allowed NSSAI. Two S-NSSAIs sharing at least one NSSRG can be simultaneously included in the Allowed NSSAI. Otherwise, these S-NSSAIs cannot be included simultaneously in the Allowed NSSAI. When the serving PLMN management entity (e.g., AMF) provides the Configured NSSAI to the wireless terminal, the management entity also provides the wireless terminal with NSSRG information comprising one or more NSSRGs. The wireless terminal may only include in the Requested NSSAI S-NSSAIs that share a common NSSRG as per the received NSSRG information”; FIG. 64, par. 0574-0575, “As act 64-7 the AMF may then generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI and the Rejected NSSAI. The Registration Accept message may possibly further comprise the aforementioned Configured NSSAI, NSSRG information and/or the mapping configuration. As act 64-8 the AMF may then generate another NGAP message comprising the generated Registration Accept message, the Allowed NSSAI, the RFSP index associated with the Allowed NSSAI, the Target NSSAI and the RFSP index associated with the Target NSSAI, and send it to the access node… Upon receiving the NGAP message of act 64-8, as act 64-9 the access node may forward the Registration Accept message to the wireless terminal”),
wherein the Registration Accept message includes Configured NSSAI (par. 0530, “The AMF may also generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI, the Configured NSSAI and/or the NSSRG information”).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Ishii discloses wherein the communication apparatus is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Figures 28, 29A-B, 30, 32-34, 57, 64 and 65 for AMF 26).
Regarding claim 3, Ishii discloses a method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
sending a Registration Request message over first access (FIG. 28, par. 0378, “Act 28-1 comprises wireless terminal 30(26)-2 sending a Registration Request message to the AMF 26(26) via Cell 10”),
wherein the Registration Request message includes Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) (par. 0378, “the Registration Request message comprising a Requested NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N)”); and
receiving a Registration Accept message in a case where first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of the Requested NSSAI in the Registration Request message and second S-NSSAI of Allowed NSSAI over second access are not associated with a common Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG) value (FIG. 28, par. 0378, “Act 28-2 comprises the AMF 26(26) responding with a Registration Accept message comprising an Allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N). In one implementation, the Registration Accept message may comprise the network slice band association information indicating F2 being associated with S-NSSAI (N). In another implementation, the Registration Accept message may not include a band association with S-NSSAI (N), indicating that the allowed network slice(s) is available on the currently camped radio band by default.”; par. 520, “a Group Index may be explicitly (separately) configured. [0525] Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG)-based grouping. An NSSRG is a list of S-NSSAIs that can be simultaneously provided to the wireless terminal in an Allowed NSSAI. Two S-NSSAIs sharing at least one NSSRG can be simultaneously included in the Allowed NSSAI. Otherwise, these S-NSSAIs cannot be included simultaneously in the Allowed NSSAI. When the serving PLMN management entity (e.g., AMF) provides the Configured NSSAI to the wireless terminal, the management entity also provides the wireless terminal with NSSRG information comprising one or more NSSRGs. The wireless terminal may only include in the Requested NSSAI S-NSSAIs that share a common NSSRG as per the received NSSRG information”; FIG. 64, par. 0574-0575, “As act 64-7 the AMF may then generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI and the Rejected NSSAI. The Registration Accept message may possibly further comprise the aforementioned Configured NSSAI, NSSRG information and/or the mapping configuration. As act 64-8 the AMF may then generate another NGAP message comprising the generated Registration Accept message, the Allowed NSSAI, the RFSP index associated with the Allowed NSSAI, the Target NSSAI and the RFSP index associated with the Target NSSAI, and send it to the access node… Upon receiving the NGAP message of act 64-8, as act 64-9 the access node may forward the Registration Accept message to the wireless terminal”)),
wherein the Registration Accept message includes Configured NSSAI (par. 0530, “The AMF may also generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI, the Configured NSSAI and/or the NSSRG information”).
Regarding claim 4, Ishii discloses a communication apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to (FIG. 8A, par. 0245, “communication apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to:”):
send a Registration Accept message in a case where first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) in a Registration Request message over first access and second S-NSSAI of Allowed NSSAI over second access are not associated with a common Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG) value (FIG. 28, par. 0378, “Act 28-1 comprises wireless terminal 30(26)-2 sending a Registration Request message to the AMF 26(26) via Cell 1, the Registration Request message comprising a Requested NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N). Act 28-2 comprises the AMF 26(26) responding with a Registration Accept message comprising an Allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N). In one implementation, the Registration Accept message may comprise the network slice band association information indicating F2 being associated with S-NSSAI (N). In another implementation, the Registration Accept message may not include a band association with S-NSSAI (N), indicating that the allowed network slice(s) is available on the currently camped radio band by default.”; par. 520, “a Group Index may be explicitly (separately) configured. [0525] Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG)-based grouping. An NSSRG is a list of S-NSSAIs that can be simultaneously provided to the wireless terminal in an Allowed NSSAI. Two S-NSSAIs sharing at least one NSSRG can be simultaneously included in the Allowed NSSAI. Otherwise, these S-NSSAIs cannot be included simultaneously in the Allowed NSSAI. When the serving PLMN management entity (e.g., AMF) provides the Configured NSSAI to the wireless terminal, the management entity also provides the wireless terminal with NSSRG information comprising one or more NSSRGs. The wireless terminal may only include in the Requested NSSAI S-NSSAIs that share a common NSSRG as per the received NSSRG information”; FIG. 64, par. 0574-0575, “As act 64-7 the AMF may then generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI and the Rejected NSSAI. The Registration Accept message may possibly further comprise the aforementioned Configured NSSAI, NSSRG information and/or the mapping configuration. As act 64-8 the AMF may then generate another NGAP message comprising the generated Registration Accept message, the Allowed NSSAI, the RFSP index associated with the Allowed NSSAI, the Target NSSAI and the RFSP index associated with the Target NSSAI, and send it to the access node… Upon receiving the NGAP message of act 64-8, as act 64-9 the access node may forward the Registration Accept message to the wireless terminal”),
wherein the Registration Accept message includes Configured NSSAI (par. 0530, “The AMF may also generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI, the Configured NSSAI and/or the NSSRG information”).
Regarding claim 6, Ishii discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to (FIG. 8A, par. 0240, “FIG. 8A shows that wireless terminal 30 comprises terminal processor circuitry 50 and terminal transceiver circuitry 52. The terminal processor circuitry 50 may be realized or comprise one or more processors and at least one memory. The memory includes computer program code, wherein the memory and the computer program code are configured to, working with the at least one processor, cause the decoding device to perform at least at least the operations…”):
send a Registration Request message over first access (FIG. 28, par. 0378, “Act 28-1 comprises wireless terminal 30(26)-2 sending a Registration Request message to the AMF 26(26) via Cell 10”),
wherein the Registration Request message includes Requested Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) (par. 0378, “the Registration Request message comprising a Requested NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N)”); and
receive a Registration Accept message in a case where first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) of the Requested NSSAI in the Registration Request message and second S-NSSAI of Allowed NSSAI over second access are not associated with a common Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG) value (FIG. 28, par. 0378, “Act 28-2 comprises the AMF 26(26) responding with a Registration Accept message comprising an Allowed NSSAI including S-NSSAI (N). In one implementation, the Registration Accept message may comprise the network slice band association information indicating F2 being associated with S-NSSAI (N). In another implementation, the Registration Accept message may not include a band association with S-NSSAI (N), indicating that the allowed network slice(s) is available on the currently camped radio band by default.”; par. 520, “a Group Index may be explicitly (separately) configured. [0525] Network Slice Simultaneous Registration Group (NSSRG)-based grouping. An NSSRG is a list of S-NSSAIs that can be simultaneously provided to the wireless terminal in an Allowed NSSAI. Two S-NSSAIs sharing at least one NSSRG can be simultaneously included in the Allowed NSSAI. Otherwise, these S-NSSAIs cannot be included simultaneously in the Allowed NSSAI. When the serving PLMN management entity (e.g., AMF) provides the Configured NSSAI to the wireless terminal, the management entity also provides the wireless terminal with NSSRG information comprising one or more NSSRGs. The wireless terminal may only include in the Requested NSSAI S-NSSAIs that share a common NSSRG as per the received NSSRG information”; FIG. 64, par. 0574-0575, “As act 64-7 the AMF may then generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI and the Rejected NSSAI. The Registration Accept message may possibly further comprise the aforementioned Configured NSSAI, NSSRG information and/or the mapping configuration. As act 64-8 the AMF may then generate another NGAP message comprising the generated Registration Accept message, the Allowed NSSAI, the RFSP index associated with the Allowed NSSAI, the Target NSSAI and the RFSP index associated with the Target NSSAI, and send it to the access node… Upon receiving the NGAP message of act 64-8, as act 64-9 the access node may forward the Registration Accept message to the wireless terminal”)),
wherein the Registration Accept message includes Configured NSSAI (par. 0530, “The AMF may also generate a Registration Accept message comprising the Allowed NSSAI, the Configured NSSAI and/or the NSSRG information”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
TIWARI et al. -US 20250039820 A1- disclose METHOD FOR USER EQUIPMENT (UE), UE, METHOD FOR ACCESS AND MOBILITY MANAGEMENT FUNCTION (AMF) AND AMF.
ISHII -US 20240389011 A1- discloses GROUPING OF NETWORK SLICES FOR SYSTEM INFORMATION
CASATI -US 20240314715 A1- discloses METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR COMMUNICATION NETWORK COMPRISING NETWORK SLICES.
Talebi Fard et al. -US 20240298253 A1- disclose Network Slice For Access Of Wireless Device To A Network
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642