Status of claims
Currently claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an operation manipulation unit in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bertilsson (U.S. 3,938,740).
With respect to claim 1, Bertilsson discloses an electrostatic spraying device (title), comprising
a spray unit (figure 1) that sprays a liquid (abstract), wherein the spray unit includes comprises:
a nozzle (17/18) for spraying the liquid (abstract);
a flow path (figures 1 and 2, brining paint from 35 to 37 to the spray gun) for distributing the liquid to a spray hole (25) provided at a nozzle tip portion (tip of 17); and
a shut-off pin (32) configured to advance and retract in the flow path and configured to seal the spray hole (as shown in figure 2) where 33 of 32 abuts that off 26, and wherein the shut-off pin has a tip portion (33) that is unexposed from the spray hole in a state where the spray hole is sealed (as the end of 33 is within that of 25/26, such that it is not exposed past 25).
With respect to claim 3, Bertilsson discloses the nozzle tip portion (that having 25/26) has a part having an inner diameter smaller than an outer diameter of the shut-off pin (as shown in figure 3, where 34 and 33 show a diameter larger than that of 25), and
the shut-off pin is configured to seal the spray hole by being locked to an inner surface of the nozzle tip portion (as shown in figure 3).
With respect to claim 5, Bertilsson discloses a tip surface of the shut-off pin has a flat or obtuse angle shape (figure 3 discloses a flat tip).
With respect to claim 6, Bertilsson discloses an electrode (58) disposed along an outer periphery of the shut-off pin in the nozzle (see figure 3), wherein the electrode is fixed in the nozzle (3 being fixed to that of 17/18, see figure 4).
With respect to claim 7, Bertilsson discloses the spray unit has a through hole (the through hole within 13, see figure 2 that 32 goes through) through which the shut-off pin is insertable on a rear side in a liquid spraying direction with respect to the nozzle (as shown in figures 1 and 2, as 32 extends through the housing and out the back).
With respect to claim 8, Bertilsson discloses an operation manipulation unit (46) for controlling spray operation of the liquid (as it controls the movement of the pin 32, see figure 1, as well as operation of the air valve 48),
wherein the shut-off pin moves in conjunction with the operation manipulation unit at a rear with respect to the through hole (as shown in figure 1, where it moves the pin against spring 47).
With respect to claim 9, Bertilsson discloses a cross-sectional surface along an axis of the nozzle, an angle (the angle of 33, being that as its slopped to a centerline of 33, see below annotated figure) formed by a straight line passing through both ends of an inner surface of the nozzle tip portion and a straight line extending along the axis of the nozzle is 1 to 40 degrees (see below annotated figure, as the shown angle is between 1 and 40 degrees).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinne (U.S. 2013/0240641).
With respect to claim 1, Kinne discloses an electrostatic spraying device (title), comprising
a spray unit (figure 8) that sprays a liquid (abstract), wherein the spray unit includes comprises:
a nozzle (figure 8, having 52/32/30/28) for spraying the liquid (abstract);
a flow path (figure 8, bring fluid from 16 to the spray gun 10 and to the nozzle) for distributing the liquid to a spray hole (after 220 in figure 6, shown in figure 8 as the spray outlet) provided at a nozzle tip portion (see figure 8); and
a shut-off pin (204) configured to advance and retract in the flow path and configured to seal the spray hole (as shown in figure 6, sealing 220, 220 being the inlet bore of the spray hole, see figure 8, the spray hole being taken as the hole from 220 to outside of the spray gun), and wherein the shut-off pin has a tip portion (210) that is unexposed from the spray hole in a state where the spray hole is sealed (being well within the spray gun).
With respect to claims 2 and 10, Kinne discloses a cartridge (16) having a liquid containing portion that contains the liquid and the spray unit (being the inner wall that contains the liquid to be sprayed); and an electrostatic spraying main body into and from which the liquid containing portion of the cartridge is insertable and removable (as sown in figure 8, as the spraying main body of 10 receives 1 within 36 and it is both insertable and removable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertilsson.
With respect to claim 4, Bertilsson discloses the nozzle and the shut-off pin are constituted of an insulating material (abstract discloses the body being made of an insulating plastic material and column 2 rows 50-55 discloses the rod (pin) is made of an insulating plastic material. Bertilsson fails to specifically disclose the rod (pin) and nozzle body being made from an insulating resin.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an insulating resin for the shut-off pin and body of Bertilsson, since also it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07. As Bertilsson discloses using the insulating resin for one insulating plastic material it would have been obvious to use it as the pin (rod) as well. Bertilsson discloses the use of an insulating material, and utilizing a known resin material with insulating properties would have been obvious (as many resin materials are known to be plastics which would have been utilized in Bertilsson).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752