DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment dated 8/24/2026.
2. Claims 1-10 and 14-19 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 11-13 are cancelled.
4. Claims 16-19 are newly added.
5. Claims 1, 14 and 15 are independent claims.
Applicant’s Response
6. In Applicant’s response dated 8/24/2026, applicant has amended the following:
a) Claims 1, 14 and 15
Based on Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the following rejections previously set forth in Office Action dated 6/23/2026 are withdrawn:
a) 35 U.S.C. 101 Rejection to claim 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claims 1, 14 and 15 :
Claim 1, 14 and 15 recite: “redirecting the to-be-processed event to the parent window for processing ”. (emphasis added)
At best, Par. 123; teaches Therefore, the to-be-processed event is handed over to the host process corresponding to the parent window for processing. It is unclear, how “handed over” equates to “redirecting”.
Therefore, there is no mention of the newly amended limitation in the original Specification. Thus, the limitations include subject matter that was not described in the original Specification.
If the examiner has overlooked the portion of the original Specification that describes this feature of the present invention, then Applicant should point it out (by page number and line number) in the response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rose; Greg, 20100205559 A1.
Independent Claim 1:
Rose teaches An embedded window display method, comprising: when detecting a preset operation instruction, starting an embedded window in a currently displayed parent window based on the preset operation instruction; (e.g., selecting a compartment within the grid (i.e., embedded window) of the main window (i.e., currently parent window) to highlight the location to display an application icon par. 34; When a mouse pointer 34 moves over any of the squares 30, a visual indicator such as a distinct color, surrounds the square, indicating selection of the square. In FIG. 3, the selected square 32 is surrounded by a yellow color. The compartments or squares 30 are to be populated with icons 55 or other visual indicators that are associated with a desired function to be executed by the user, as described below.)
displaying an embedded window application corresponding to the preset operation instruction in the embedded window, (e.g., displaying an added application icon (i.e., embedded window application) within compartment of main window par. 49; In some embodiments, the Mouser application 100 allows executable software programs to be loaded into the main window in other ways besides the drag-and-drop technique.) wherein the embedded window and the parent window are at a same layer or adjacent layers, and an application displayed in the embedded window is associated with the parent window; (e.g., at a same layer or adjacent layers, customizing a grid of application icons (i.e., application display in the embedded window) associated with the main window (i.e., parent window) par. 34; In some embodiments, the main window 50 may be customized as to both the number of squares 30 and the arrangement of the squares. Thus, the main window 50 may be a 3.times.3 grid pattern (nine squares), a 5.times.3 grid pattern (fifteen squares), a 6.times.6 grid pattern (36 squares), and so on)
performing, when receiving an operation instruction of the embedded window application, an interaction operation based on the operation instruction of the embedded window application. (e.g., performing quick launches and keystroke macros, based on selection of application icons within grid of main window par. 22; The application enables facile launch of executable programs, commonly used keystrokes, launches within a launch, and other operations. Users are able to customize the quick-launch application to suit personal preferences. Par. 25; The user populates the main window 50 with icons associated with and representing functions, such as commonly used programs, web page addresses, frequently used keystroke sequences, embedded keystroke operations, and so on, converting the main window (empty) to a master window 60. Par. 31; When the user selects an icon 55 by clicking thereon with a pointing device, the Mouser application 100 causes the underlying script 45 to be launched. The script may be simple, such as the address to an executable program or web page. Or, the script 45 may launch a series of keystrokes, in the case of macros. Or, the script 45 may perform a combination of keystroke sequences and address access, in the case of combinational operations, such as where a web page or executable program is accessed and certain keystroke operations are to be performed within the web page or program.)
determining whether a foreground focus window is the embedded window; and canceling a foreground processing tag associated with a to-be-processed event. and redirecting the to-be-processed event to the parent window for processing, when it is determined that the foreground focus window is the embedded window. (e.g., Examiner notes that this limitation is a contingent limitation (i.e., when it is determined) that does not necessarily need to be performed. Therefore, a launched window as a foreground focus window that is not an embedded window as taught by Rose teaches or suggests determining whether a foreground focus window is the embedded window. See MPEP 2111.04 II. par. 22; The application enables facile launch of executable programs, commonly used keystrokes, launches within a launch, and other operations. Users are able to customize the quick-launch application to suit personal preferences.)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Rose teaches wherein the starting an embedded window in a currently displayed parent window based on the preset operation instruction comprises: drawing a parent window based on the preset operation instruction; and starting the embedded window in the drawn parent window. (e.g., displaying a main window with customizable grid par. 25; . A user launches the Mouser application 100 by clicking on the mouse icon 40. A main window 50, or popup window, appears on the computer desktop. The main window 50 is unpopulated and may be adjusted in shape and size, as described further below. Par. 34; In some embodiments, the main window 50 may be customized as to both the number of squares 30 and the arrangement of the squares. )
Claim 3 depends on claim 2:
Rose teaches wherein the drawing a parent window based on the preset operation instruction comprises: obtaining a window size of a to-be-drawn parent window (e.g., adjusting size of main window par. 25; The main window 50 is unpopulated and may be adjusted in shape and size, as described further below.)
and placeholder information of an embedded window in the to-be-drawn parent window; (e.g., drag and drop icon into grid of main window par. 47; The user simply clicks on the desktop icon and, while holding down the mouse button, drags the icon 55 to one of the empty squares 30 and drops the icon into the square by releasing the mouse button until the icon is visible within the main window 120. The Microsoft.RTM. Office Access.RTM. icon 55 is being dragged over to the main window 120 as shown. Once the icon 55 is present, the Mouser application 100 automatically generates an associated script 45 that includes the address to the Microsoft Access executable program stored on the hard drive or other non-volatile medium of the processor-based system. Subsequently, Microsoft Access is launched by simply clicking on the Access icon in the main window 120.)
and performing window drawing and layer composition based on the window size of the to-be-drawn parent window and the placeholder information of the embedded window, to obtain the drawn parent window. (e.g., displaying main window with icons within grid as shown in Figure 10 par. 47; In some embodiments, the Mouser application 100 enables the main window 50 to be populated with these program icons 55 using a feature known as "drag and drop.")
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Rose teaches wherein the displaying an embedded window application corresponding to the preset operation instruction in the embedded window comprises: during drawing of the embedded window, obtaining a window size of an application corresponding to the preset operation instruction and configured window dimensions of the embedded window; (e.g., minimizing or maximizing or resizing or relocating main window to adjust display position of grids within main window par. 25; The main window 50 is unpopulated and may be adjusted in shape and size, as described further below. par. 33; Standard in Windows.RTM. applications, the minimize button 24 allows the user to minimize the main window 50, such that a Mouser 100 icon will appear in the system tray.)
determining a display area of the application corresponding to the preset operation instruction based on the window size and the configured window dimensions of the embedded window; and displaying the application corresponding to the preset operation instruction based on the display area. (e.g., populating icon into the grid to determine display area of application based on the dimensions of the grid par. 25; The user populates the main window 50 with icons associated with and representing functions, such as commonly used programs, web page addresses, frequently used keystroke sequences, embedded keystroke operations, and so on, converting the main window (empty) to a master window 60. Par. 34; The compartments 30 may assume another shape besides being square-shaped, such as in the embodiments of FIGS. 7 and 8, below. In some embodiments, the main window 50 may be customized as to both the number of squares 30 and the arrangement of the squares.)
Claim 7 depends on claim 1:
Rose teaches wherein after the displaying an embedded window application corresponding to the preset operation instruction in the embedded window, the method further comprises: obtaining a preset synchronization event; and adjusting a display position of the embedded window based on the preset synchronization event. (e.g., minimizing or resizing main window to adjust display position of grids of main window par. 25; The main window 50 is unpopulated and may be adjusted in shape and size, as described further below. par. 33; Standard in Windows.RTM. applications, the minimize button 24 allows the user to minimize the main window 50, such that a Mouser 100 icon will appear in the system tray.)
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
Rose teaches wherein the performing, when receiving an operation instruction of the embedded window application, an interaction operation based on the operation instruction of the embedded window application comprises: performing interface switching based on the operation instruction of the embedded window application when receiving the operation instruction of the embedded window application. (e.g., switching focus on launched application window par. 47; More precisely, once the user clicks on the Microsoft Access icon in the main window 120, the associated script 45 is run automatically, causing Microsoft Access to be launched.)
Claim 9 depends on claim 1:
Rose teaches wherein after the performing, when receiving an operation instruction of the embedded window application, an interaction operation based on the operation instruction of the embedded window application, the method further comprises: obtaining an exit instruction, and returning to a target interface based on the exit instruction. (e.g., closing out of a launched window par. 33; The close button 28 allows the user to exit the Mouser 100 application. par. 35; While the mouse cursor 34 is positioned over a square 30, a left mouse click on that square executes the function 35 (whether it be an executable application, a macro, or other operation) and closes the main window 50. par. 47; More precisely, once the user clicks on the Microsoft Access icon in the main window 120, the associated script 45 is run automatically, causing Microsoft Access to be launched.)
Claim 10 depends on claim 9:
Rose teaches wherein the obtaining an exit instruction, and returning to a target interface based on the exit instruction comprises: removing an embedded task stack based on the exit instruction, and returning to the target interface. (e.g., closing out of a launched window to remove the launched window in effort to display a remaining target window par. 33; The close button 28 allows the user to exit the Mouser 100 application. par. 35; While the mouse cursor 34 is positioned over a square 30, a left mouse click on that square executes the function 35 (whether it be an executable application, a macro, or other operation) and closes the main window 50. par. 47; More precisely, once the user clicks on the Microsoft Access icon in the main window 120, the associated script 45 is run automatically, causing Microsoft Access to be launched.)
Independent Claim 14:
Claim 14 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 14.
Independent Claim 15:
Claim 15 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 15.
Claims 16-19:
Claim 16-19 are substantially encompassed in claims 2,3,9 and 10,respectively; therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claims 2, 3, 9 and 10 to reject claims 16-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose as cited above, in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”), U.S. Published Application No. 20140164990 A1.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
Rose teaches wherein the starting an embedded window in a currently displayed parent window based on the preset operation instruction comprises: obtaining a target window, a window mode, window dimensions of the embedded window, a mark bit of the embedded window, and a touch mode of the embedded window; and drawing the embedded window based on the target window, the window mode, the window dimensions of the embedded window, the mark bit of the embedded window, the stack mode of the embedded window, and the touch mode of the embedded window, to obtain the embedded window. (e.g., displaying main window of Figure 10 with default settings while handling control to known Microsoft operating system)
Rose fails to expressly a stack mode of the embedded window.
However, Kim teaches a stack mode of the embedded window (e.g., managing windows in a stack par. 85; As the launcher application runs, the controller creates and manages a launcher application stack 301 in an activity stack.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the launched application windows as taught by Rose to include a controller for creating and managing stacks as taught by Kim to provide the benefit of improving the management and organization of multiple windows being launched.
Claim 5 depends on claim 4:
Rose/Kim teaches wherein after the drawing the embedded window based on the target window, the window mode, the window dimensions of the embedded window, the mark bit of the embedded window, the stack mode of the embedded window, and the touch mode of the embedded window, the method further comprises: when completing creation of the stack mode of the embedded window, handing over stack control to a host process corresponding to the parent window. (e.g., displaying main window of Rose’s Figure 10 with default settings while handling control to known Microsoft operating system) (e.g., managing windows in a stack Kim; par. 85; As the launcher application runs, the controller creates and manages a launcher application stack 301 in an activity stack.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant argues that Rose does not disclose, teach, or suggest this limitation, and the Office Action does not rely on Rose for it. Rose discloses no concept of a "foreground focus window," no input-event dispatch mechanism, and no mechanism for canceling a processing tag on an event and redirecting that event from one window to another based on a determination of which window currently holds focus.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Rose teaches launching application windows which are foreground focus windows when selected. Examiner notes that the newly added amendment is a contingent limitation that fails to require a “input-event dispatch mechanism” or a “mechanism for canceling a processing tag on an event and redirecting that event from one window to another based on a determination of which window currently holds focus”. Therefore, a launched window as a foreground focus window that is not an embedded window as taught by Rose teaches or suggests determining whether a foreground focus window is the embedded window.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the Examiner maintains prior rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HENRY ORR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172