DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (see claims 1-15), fails to show (see claim1) A method for controlling a multi-phase traction inverter, the method comprising: determining whether the condition that an electrical frequency of the output signal of the traction inverter is below a predefined limit is met;
if the condition is met: ascertaining that phase of the traction inverter which carries the highest current load among all the phases of the traction inverter; ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%; reducing the duty cycle offset of this phase by changing the duty cycle of this phase by a duty cycle change; and
adapting the duty cycles of the other phases of the traction inverter by also changing their duty cycles by the duty cycle change must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The limitations of dependent claims (see claims 2-15, necessary structural and control details as mentioned below for proper understanding of the invention) must be shown. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the details (multi-phase traction inverter for each phase, a half bridge with a high-side transistor and low-side transistor connected in series, DC power supply, electric machine, measuring phase current, temperature sensors measuring temperatures of the transistors, temperatures calculated or predicted by thermal model, control signals controlling the transistors, 50%, 70%, 10% duty cycles, modulation scheme or type SVPWM, target duty cycle, shifting the times at which switching edges occurs, winding systems, ON duration. Switching period, Bnc bridge, electrical frequency of the output signal of the inverter, speed limit, a device for changing the duty cycle, control unit, microprocessor, ASIC, vehicle drive, wheels (see spec., para’s [0004] thru [0037]) as described in the specification.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Appropriate correction is required.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Specification fail to show and reference the structural and control details (multi-phase traction inverter for each phase, a half bridge with a high-side transistor and low-side transistor connected in series, DC power supply, electric machine, measuring phase current, temperature sensors measuring temperatures of the transistors, temperatures calculated or predicted by thermal model, control signals controlling the transistors, 50%, 70%, 10% duty cycles, modulation scheme or type SVPWM, target duty cycle, shifting the times at which switching edges occurs, winding systems, ON duration. Switching period, Bnc bridge, electrical frequency of the output signal of the inverter, speed limit, a device for changing the duty cycle, control unit, microprocessor, ASIC, vehicle drive, wheels (see spec., para’s [0004] thru [0037]) as described in the specification for proper understanding of the limitations of claims 1-15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-15, the limitations are not clear as they fail to show (see claim 1) A method for controlling a multi-phase traction inverter, the method comprising: determining whether the condition that an electrical frequency of the output signal of the traction inverter is below a predefined limit is met;
if the condition is met: ascertaining that phase of the traction inverter which carries the highest current load among all the phases of the traction inverter; ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%; reducing the duty cycle offset of this phase by changing the duty cycle of this phase by a duty cycle change; and
adapting the duty cycles of the other phases of the traction inverter by also changing their duty cycles by the duty cycle change must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The limitations of dependent claims (see claims 2-15, necessary structural and control details (multi-phase traction inverter for each phase, a half bridge with a high-side transistor and low-side transistor connected in series, DC power supply, electric machine, measuring phase current, temperature sensors measuring temperatures of the transistors, temperatures calculated or predicted by thermal model, control signals controlling the transistors, 50%, 70%, 10% duty cycles, modulation scheme or type SVPWM, target duty cycle (see claims 2-3), shifting the times at which switching edges occurs, winding systems, ON duration, temperature limit (claim 7)Switching period, Bnc bridge not clear (see claims 4, 12-13), electrical frequency of the output signal of the inverter, speed limit, a device for changing the duty cycle, control unit, microprocessor, ASIC, vehicle drive, wheels (see spec., para’s [0004] thru [0037]) as described in the specification not shown and referenced in drawings and specification for proper understanding of the invention corresponding to the limitations of claims 1-15.
As to claim 2, the phrase, “The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the duty cycle offset of the phase with the highest current load is reduced with respect to a duty cycle of 50% by reducing, for a target duty cycle of this phase of greater than 50%, the duty cycle of this phase by a reducing duty cycle change to a reduced actual duty cycle of 50% or more, and by increasing, for a target duty cycle of this phase of less than 50%, the duty cycle of this phase by an increasing duty cycle change to an increased actual duty cycle of 50% or less” is not clear as what these limitations means as applicant’s failed to show structural and control details including with respect to said reducing and increasing duty cycle related to said target duty cycle. The reduced actual duty cycle of 50% or more CREATES AMBIGUITY AND UNCLARITY and increased actual duty cycle of 50% or less CREATES AMBIGUITY AND UNCLARITY and target duty cycles not shown and referenced in applicant’s figure for proper understanding of the invention.
As to claim 3, the phrase, “The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the duty cycles of the other phases are adapted by reducing the respective duty cycles of these phases by the reducing duty cycle change if the target duty cycle of the phase with the highest current load is reduced by this duty cycle change, and by increasing the respective duty cycles of the other phases by the increasing duty cycle change if the target duty cycle of the phase with the highest current load is increased by this duty cycle change” is not clear as what these limitations means as applicant’s failed to show structural and control details including with respect to said reducing and increasing duty cycles related to said target duty cycle. Target duty cycle of the phase is not shown and referenced.
As to claims 4, 12 and 13, the phrase, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the traction inverter that is controlled is a three-phase or six-phase inverter in the form of a BnC bridge, wherein n is twice the number of half bridges of the inverter” is not clear as to BnC bridge as a traction inverter with half bridges not shown for proper understanding of the invention. Controlling details not shown controlling the traction inverter.
As to claims 7 and 11, the phrase, “The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the limit depends on the temperature of the inverter and a first limit for a first temperature is greater than a second limit for a second temperature which is higher than the first temperature” is not clear as these details are not shown. Which limit is referring to? Is it the frequency or speed limit?.
As to claims 14 and 15, the phrase, “The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the determination of whether the condition is met comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter as three-phase current; or measuring a mechanical speed of an electric machine connected to the inverter as a variable which reflects the electrical speed or from which this is derived, and comparing the speed with the predefined limit” is not clear as these details are not shown in applicants figure.
Dependent claims 2-15 are rejected as they depend from rejected independent claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to (see claim 1) A method for controlling a multi-phase traction inverter, the method comprising: determining whether the condition that an electrical frequency of the output signal of the traction inverter is below a predefined limit is met;
if the condition is met: ascertaining that phase of the traction inverter which carries the highest current load among all the phases of the traction inverter; ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%; reducing the duty cycle offset of this phase by changing the duty cycle of this phase by a duty cycle change; and
adapting the duty cycles of the other phases of the traction inverter by also changing their duty cycles by the duty cycle change without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) mathematical calculations such as ascertaining duty cycle offset, ascertaining a 50% duty cycle, changing values and mental processes such as determining the highest phase current. These are abstract ideas and moreover applicants failed to show a method of controlling a traction inverter as stated in claims 1-15 and failed to show and reference necessary structural (e.g. traction inverter tied to electric machine) and necessary control details for proper understanding of the invention and also traction inverter is not tied to an electrical machine in claim 1. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because applicants failed to show a method of controlling a traction inverter as stated in claims 1-15 and failed to show and reference necessary structural and control details for proper understanding of the invention (i.e. applicants failed to provide drawings to shown necessary details needed to reduce thermal load of switching elements mention in spec., page1, para. [0002]) and also traction inverter is not tied to an electrical machine in claim 1. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because applicant’s failed to show a method of controlling a traction inverter as stated in claims 1-15 and also traction inverter is not tied to an electrical machine in claim 1 and also failed to provide drawings and applicant’s figure do not show and reference necessary structural and control details (see objection to drawings and specification) for proper understanding of the invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2010/0185350 A1 and Okamura hereinafter) in view of Loken et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2016/0373047 A1 and Loken hereinafter).
As to claim 1, A method for controlling a multi-phase traction inverter, the method comprising: determining whether the condition that an electrical frequency of the output signal of the traction inverter is below a predefined limit is met;
if the condition is met: ascertaining that phase of the traction inverter which carries the highest current load among all the phases of the traction inverter; ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%; reducing the duty cycle offset of this phase by changing the duty cycle of this phase by a duty cycle change; and
adapting the duty cycles of the other phases of the traction inverter by also changing their duty cycles by the duty cycle change.
(As to claim 1, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a multi-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]), the method (fig.11, see para’s [0109] thru [0118]) comprising:
determining whether the condition that an electrical frequency [carrier/switching frequency), see Step S10, fig.11, para’s [0091]) of the output signal [UL, VL, WL] of the traction inverter 10 (figs.1-2, 7, par’s [0084] thru [0088], [0096]) is below a predefined threshold is met (YES, fig.11, para. [0110]);
if the condition is met (YES, fig.11):
ascertaining that phase of the traction inverter 10 which carries the highest current load among all the phases of the traction inverter 10 (see steps S30, S40, S50 YES, para. [0111]));
ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle [on duty X set smaller than 0.5] (see S60, fig.11, & para. [0112], and relative figs.8, 12, para’s [0102]);
reducing the duty cycle offset of this phase by changing the duty cycle of this phase by a duty cycle change (on duty X is changed from 0.5 to 0.33, see para. [0105], fig.12); and
adapting the duty cycles of the other phases of the traction inverter 10 by also changing their duty cycles by the duty cycle change (PWM center value [transistor Q on duty X (figs.5, 6-7, 8, 12) is set smaller than 0.5 for all phases Iu, Iv, Iw, see fig.12, para. [0114], fig.16, para. [0138]-[0140], fig.18, para. [0147]).
Okamura discloses determining a duty cycle offset [transistor ON duty X (see S60, fig.11, & para. [0112], and relative figs.8, 12, para’s [0102]), but do not
mention ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%;
Loken teaches a method of controlling an inverter 188 (see figs.1A-1B, 2, 3-14B, paras. [0026]), wherein determining and adjusting duty cycle (see figs.3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and figs.5-6, para’s [0083] thru [0095]) of 50% duty cycle (see para’s [0138], [0139]-[0141] & figs.13A-14B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50% of Loken in the system of Okamura because an improved method and inverter with thermal management for controlling an electric machine (see Loken, para. [0003], [0026]).
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the traction inverter that is controlled is a three-phase or six-phase inverter in the form of a BnC bridge, wherein n is twice the number of half bridges of the inverter.
(As to claim 4, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]) in the form of a bridge with 3 half bridges (see fig.1).
As to claim 5, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determination of whether the condition is met comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter as three-phase current; or measuring a mechanical speed of an electric machine connected to the inverter as a variable which reflects the electrical speed or from which this is derived, and comparing the speed with the predefined limit.
(As to claim 5, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]), wherein the determination of whether the condition is met (see step S20, fig.14, para’s [0123]-[0124]) comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed (carrier frequency, see S20, figs.2, 11, 14) of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter 10 which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter 10 as three-phase current Iu, Iv, Iw (figs.7, 12); or measuring a mechanical speed [rotation number MRN] (via rotation angle sensor 26, see figs.1-2, para. [0083]) of an electric machine [MG] connected to the inverter 10 as a variable [rotation number MRN] which this is derived from rotation angle ϴ, and comparing the speed [rotation number MRN] with the predefined threshold (see S24, fig.14, para. [0125]).
As to claim 6, (Original) The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the limit is not greater than 100 Hz, 40 Hz, 10 Hz or 2 Hz.
(As to claim 6, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10, wherein Okamura discloses frequency limit (see figs.3-4, para. [0088]-[0089]), but do not mention wherein the limit is not greater than 100 Hz, 40 Hz, 10 Hz or 2 Hz.
Loken teaches a method of controlling an inverter 188 (see figs.1A-1B, 2, 3-14B, paras. [0026]), wherein the frequency threshold is less than approx.. 2Hz (see para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the limit is not greater than 100 Hz, 40 Hz, 10 Hz or 2 Hz of Loken in the system of Okamura because an improved method and inverter with thermal management for controlling an electric machine (see Loken, para. [0003], [0026]).
As to claim 7, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the limit depends on the temperature of the inverter and a first limit for a first temperature is greater than a second limit for a second temperature which is higher than the first temperature.
(As to claim 7, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10, wherein
the limit [prescribed value] depends on the temperature T11-T16 of the inverter 10 (see figs. 20, 21-22, see fig.22, Step S80-S90). When the maximum temperature exceeds the limit [prescribed value] (Yes, S90), it is a second [higher temperature] and when the maximum temperature does not exceed the limit [prescribed value] (No, S90, fig.22) it is a first [reduced temperature], wherein the second [higher temperature] is higher than the first [reduced temperature]. First Limit [prescribed value] not exceed (No, S90) and second limit [prescribed value] exceeded (Yes, S90) as limit [prescribed value] is set for each transistor temperature T11-T16 (see fig.20)).
As to claim 8, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the duty cycles are changed and adapted while maintaining the PWM modulation type.
(As to claim 8, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30), wherein the ON duty cycles X (figs.8, 12, para. [0102]-[0105]) are changed and adapted (see steps S60, S70, fig.11/14 or steps S110, S120, fig. 22), while controlling the PWM modulation is maintained via [PWM signal producing unit 68] (see fig.2, para’s [0112]-[0113] & [0117]).
Okamura do not mention PWM modulation type.
Loken teaches a method of controlling an inverter 188 using PWM signal generating unit 112 (see figs.1A-1B, 2, 3-14B, paras. [0026]), wherein Loken teaches adjusting duty cycles (figs.3-14B) while controlling the PWM modulation type [SVPWM] (see para. [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the PWM modulation type of Loken in the system of Okamura because an improved method and inverter with thermal management for controlling an electric machine (see Loken, para. [0003], [0026]).
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended) A traction inverter having a control unit which is designed to control the traction inverter according to the method as claimed in claim 1.
(As to claim 9, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]), wherein a control unit 20 (20A/20B) (figs.1-2/20-21) which is designed to control the traction inverter 10).
As to claim 10, (Original) The traction inverter as claimed in claim 9, wherein said traction inverter is in the form of a high-voltage power inverter of an electric vehicle drive or is in the form of a power inverter of an electric vehicle drive and has a nominal voltage of less than 60 V.
(As to claim 10, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW of an electric vehicle drive 100/100A, see figs.1-20, see para’s [0001]-[0002], [[0069], [0075]-[0076]).
As to claim 11, (New) The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the limit depends on the temperature of the inverter and a first limit for a first temperature is greater than a second limit for a second temperature which is higher than the first temperature.
(As to claim 11, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10, wherein
the limit [prescribed value] depends on the temperature T11-T16 of the inverter 10 (see figs. 20, 21-22, see fig.22, Step S80-S90). When the maximum temperature exceeds the limit [prescribed value] (Yes, S90), it is a second [higher temperature] and when the maximum temperature does not exceed the limit [prescribed value] (No, S90, fig.22) it is a first [reduced temperature], wherein the second [higher temperature] is higher than the first [reduced temperature]. First Limit [prescribed value] not exceed (No, S90) and second limit [prescribed value] exceeded (Yes, S90) as limit [prescribed value] is set for each transistor temperature T11-T16 (see fig.20)).
As to claim 12, (New) The method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the traction inverter that is controlled is a three-phase or six-phase inverter in the form of a BnC bridge, wherein n is twice the number of half bridges of the inverter.
(As to claim 12, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]) in the form of a bridge with 3 half bridges (see fig.1).
As to claim 13, (New) The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the traction inverter that is controlled is a three-phase or six-phase inverter in the form of a BnC bridge, wherein n is twice the number of half bridges of the inverter.
(As to claim 13, Okamura teaches these limitations as explained in detail in claim 12).
As to claim 14 (New), the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the determination of whether the condition is met comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter as three-phase current; or measuring a mechanical speed of an electric machine connected to the inverter as a variable which reflects the electrical speed or from which this is derived, and comparing the speed with the predefined limit.
(As to claim 14, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]), wherein the determination of whether the condition is met (see step S20, fig.14, para’s [0123]-[0124]) comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed (carrier frequency, see S20, figs.2, 11, 14) of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter 10 which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter 10 as three-phase current Iu, Iv, Iw (figs.7, 12); or measuring a mechanical speed [rotation number MRN] (via rotation angle sensor 26, see figs.1-2, para. [0083]) of an electric machine [MG] connected to the inverter 10 as a variable [rotation number MRN] which this is derived from rotation angle ϴ, and comparing the speed [rotation number MRN] with the predefined threshold (see S24, fig.14, para. [0125]).
As to claim 15 (New), the method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the determination of whether the condition is met comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter as three-phase current; or measuring a mechanical speed of an electric machine connected to the inverter as a variable which reflects the electrical speed or from which this is derived, and comparing the speed with the predefined limit.
(As to claim 15, Okamura teaches these limitations as explained in detail in claim 14).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 6 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Okamura et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2010/0185350 A1).
As to claim 1, A method for controlling a multi-phase traction inverter, the method comprising: determining whether the condition that an electrical frequency of the output signal of the traction inverter is below a predefined limit is met;
if the condition is met: ascertaining that phase of the traction inverter which carries the highest current load among all the phases of the traction inverter; ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%; reducing the duty cycle offset of this phase by changing the duty cycle of this phase by a duty cycle change; and
adapting the duty cycles of the other phases of the traction inverter by also changing their duty cycles by the duty cycle change.
(As to claim 1, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a multi-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]), the method (fig.11, see para’s [0109] thru [0118]) comprising:
determining whether the condition that an electrical frequency [carrier/switching frequency), see Step S10, fig.11, para’s [0091]) of the output signal [UL, VL, WL] of the traction inverter 10 (figs.1-2, 7, par’s [0084] thru [0088], [0096]) is below a predefined threshold is met (YES, fig.11, para. [0110]);
if the condition is met (YES, fig.11):
ascertaining that phase of the traction inverter 10 which carries the highest current load among all the phases of the traction inverter 10 (see steps S30, S40, S50 YES, para. [0111]));
ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle [on duty X set smaller than 0.5] (see S60, fig.11, & para. [0112], and relative figs.8, 12, para’s [0102]);
reducing the duty cycle offset of this phase by changing the duty cycle of this phase by a duty cycle change (on duty X is changed from 0.5 to 0.33, see para. [0105], fig.12); and
adapting the duty cycles of the other phases of the traction inverter 10 by also changing their duty cycles by the duty cycle change (PWM center value [transistor Q on duty X (figs.5, 6-7, 8, 12) is set smaller than 0.5 for all phases Iu, Iv, Iw, see fig.12, para. [0114], fig.16, para. [0138]-[0140], fig.18, para. [0147]).
Okamura discloses determining a duty cycle offset [transistor ON duty X (see S60, fig.11, & para. [0112], and relative figs.8, 12, para’s [0102]), but do not
mention ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention ascertaining a duty cycle offset of this phase with respect to a duty cycle of 50%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the traction inverter that is controlled is a three-phase or six-phase inverter in the form of a BnC bridge, wherein n is twice the number of half bridges of the inverter.
(As to claim 4, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]) in the form of a bridge with 3 half bridges (see fig.1).
As to claim 5, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determination of whether the condition is met comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter as three-phase current; or measuring a mechanical speed of an electric machine connected to the inverter as a variable which reflects the electrical speed or from which this is derived, and comparing the speed with the predefined limit.
(As to claim 5, Okamura teaches (figs.1-32, para’s [0035] thru [0066]) a method (figs.11, 14, 17, 2225, 28, 30) for controlling a three-phase traction inverter 10 (to drive a motor MG to drive wheels DW, see figs.1-19, para’s [0069], [0075]-[0076]), wherein the determination of whether the condition is met (see step S20, fig.14, para’s [0123]-[0124]) comprises: ascertaining the electrical speed (carrier frequency, see S20, figs.2, 11, 14) of the multi-phase output signal of the traction inverter 10 which is emitted by the phases of the traction inverter 10 as three-phase current Iu, Iv, Iw (figs.7, 12); or measuring a mechanical speed [rotation number MRN] (via rotation angle sensor 26, see figs.1-2, para. [0083]) of an electric machine [MG] connected to the inverter 10 as a variable [rotation number MRN] which this is derived from rotation angle ϴ, and comparing the speed [rotation number MRN] with the predefined threshold (see S24, fig.14, para. [0125]).
As to claim 6, (Original) The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the limit is not greater than 100 Hz, 40 Hz, 10 Hz or 2 Hz.
(As to claim 6, Okamura discloses frequency limit (see figs.3-4, para. [0088]-[0089]), but do not mention wherein the limit is not greater than 100 Hz, 40 Hz, 10 Hz or 2 Hz
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the limit is not greater than 100 Hz, 40 Hz, 10 Hz or 2 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2 and 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2 and 3 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action for claims 1-15.
However, formal requirements outstanding (see objection to drawings and specification and 35 U.S.C.101 rejection of claims 1-15 and 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 1-15 needs to be corrected and clarified) in response to this office action. Limitations of Claims 2 and 3 are not clear and needs to be corrected and clarified by showing relative control method and structural figures showing and referencing target and actual duty cycles mentioned in claims 2 and 3.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837