Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "sensor" (claim 35) and the "biasing means" (claim 34) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-27, 32-35, 38, 40, 41, 42 & 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulze (DE 10 2014 017 255) (previously cited on Applicants 12/10/2025 IDS).
With respect to claims 23, 27, 38, 40, 41, 42 & 43, Schulze discloses a pair of transport apparatuses 18, 18 (FIG. 2), each comprising-
a lifting mechanism 50, 52, 54 configured for moving a lifting plate 28 between a lowered position and an elevated position in operational use; and
a steering mechanism comprising a pair of two-wheel assemblies 26/26, 26/26 at a mutual distance along a length of a chassis 24, wherein one wheel assembly 26/26 is operatively connected to a drive motor 40, 44, 46 for allowing steering of a transport apparatus; and
a control unit for controlling a drive motor and a lifting mechanism,
wherein a transport apparatus is configured to be movable into and through a cavity 14c (FIG. 2) in a load when a lifting plate is in a lowered position, and
wherein a lifting plate is movable relative to a chassis, wherein a lifting mechanism is connected to a lifting plate and to a chassis, and
wherein a lifting plate 28 covers a top side of a chassis 24 and encloses a portion of a chassis.
With respect to claim 24, Schulze discloses that both front and rear attached wheel assemblies 26/26, 26/26 are operatively connected to a drive motor and are pivotably connected to a chassis so as to pivot about vertical pivot axis 36.
With respect to claim 25, Schulze discloses that two wheel assemblies 26/26, 26/26 are operatively connected to a drive motor 44, 44 and are pivotably connected to a chassis for enhancing steering of a transport apparatus.
With respect to claim 26, Schulze discloses that two wheel assemblies 26/26, 26/26 are pivotable over at least 90 degrees about respective vertical axes 36, 36 to obtain movability and rotatability in a two-dimensional plane supporting the transport apparatus.
With respect to claim 32, Schulze discloses that a length of a chassis 24 is longer than a width of a chassis.
With respect to claim 33, Schulze discloses that a chassis comprises two lifting mechanisms 50/52/54, 50/52/54 connected to a lifting plate 28.
With respect to claim 34, Schulze discloses a tension spring 82, e.g. biasing means, extending between a portion of a chassis 24 and a lifting plate 28.
With respect to claim 35, Schulze discloses a sensor 71, 72.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, 37 & 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze in view of Bakker (US 2020/0172139).
With respect to claims 36 & 39, Schulze discloses that a pair of transport apparatus' are coordinated to simultaneously move a single palleted load as shown in FIGS. 1, 2 & 5. Schulze does not disclose explicitly disclose wireless communication with other transport apparatuses. Bakker discloses multiple transport apparatus' 100_1, 100_2, 100_3, 100_4 that are controlled by a "wireless communication module 130" to simultaneously move a single article as shown in FIG. 2. Bakker teaches that wireless communication between individual transport apparatuses working together to move a single article was needed to allow transport apparatuses to be more flexible in volume and shape of an article that is transported. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Schulze to include wireless communication with other transport apparatuses, as taught by Bakker, to improve flexibility in the volume and shape of articles moved simultaneously by multiple transport apparatuses.
With respect to claim 37, Schulze does not disclose external control. Bakker disclose external control comprising 3G positioning, WiFi network position or an IP address positioning as well as a global positioning system module as part of a positioning device 130. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Schulze to include an external control system, as taught by Baker, to improve flexibility in the volume and shape of articles moved simultaneously by multiple transport apparatuses.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652