DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on September 10, 2024. Claims 1-10 are pending and presented for examination.
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits the USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without a written authorization in place, the USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at: https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP § 502.03.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Examiner's note: It is recommended to amend the abstract to briefly describe the claimed invention according to the above guidelines. The abstract filed on September 10, 2024 exceeds 150 words in length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a data transmission bus” in lines 3 and 12 of the claim. It is unclear whether the cited “a data transmission bus” refers to a single claim element or two different data transmission buses. Appropriate corrections and/or clarifications are required where applicable.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Assmann et al “Assmann”, US-PGPub. No. 20230070899 in view Vandersteegen, US-PGPub. No. 20160261426.
As per claim 1, Assmann teaches a device (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0101]; battery management controller (BMC)) comprising:
a communication apparatus for sending and/or receiving data via a data transmission bus (Fig. 7 – transmit and receive lines (TX & TX), Paragraph(s) [0121]; the central control unit ZS and the battery module 1 can exchange data and information via the transmit and receive lines (TX and RX) of the cable harness 20). Assmann further teaches the controller has an interface. An interface is a connecting unit which makes it possible to communicate information to the controller which can then be processed in the controller (Paragraph(s) [0026]));
a device-side connection apparatus to connect the device to the data transmission bus (Paragraph(s) [0034]; a connector device for connecting a cable harness to the battery management controller interface);
wherein the device-side connection apparatus includes electrical contacts configured to be connected in pairs to corresponding bus-side electrical contacts of a bus-side connection apparatus on the data transmission bus (Paragraph(s) [0114]; four pairs of battery modules interconnected in series are also interconnected in parallel such that the capacities of all the pairs of battery modules are added to one another);
wherein the electrical contacts comprise a data contact to transmit a data signal, a first supply contact to transmit a first supply potential, a second supply contact to transmit a second supply potential different from said first supply potential, and a third contact (Paragraph(s) [0046]; the first potential can, for example, be connected to ground (GND), whilst the second potential is 5 volts. If the potentials GND, 5V, 5V, GND, GND are, for example, then present at a connector with 5 addressing pins, these potentials are transmitted to the battery management controller interface where they are interpreted by the battery management controller as “01100”. Assmann further teaches the address contacts of the battery management controller interface can normally also be connected to a first potential and have a second potential applied to them by contact with the addressing pin (Paragraph(s) [0037]); and
a voltmeter to measure a potential present at the third contact with respect to the first supply potential and/or the second supply potential (Paragraph(s) [0015-0016]; a battery module comprises at least one battery cell and a cell measuring device “voltmeter” for measuring the state of the battery cell(s). In addition, Assman teaches the controller can read or measure the assignment of the address contacts of the interface in order to allocate an address);
wherein the communication apparatus assigns an address to the device for sending and/or receiving the data via the data transmission bus said address selected from multiple different addresses on the basis of the potential measured at the third contact (Abstract, Paragraph(s) [0021], [0029], [0102]; the unassigned address contact is interpreted by the microcontroller μC as “1”, and the address contacts 12 which are connected to ground are interpreted as “0”. The battery management controller thus allocates the address “1000” to the battery module).
Assmann fails to explicitly teach but Vandersteegen teaches wherein assigning an address to the device for sending and/or receiving the data via the data transmission bus said address selected from multiple different predefined addresses (Paragraph(s) [0007], [0067]; providing good and efficient unique address allocation for an integrated circuit node on a communication bus. Vandersteegen further teaches a detecting circuit for detecting a state of the at least one static address selection terminal and a communication circuit for receiving and/or transmitting data over a data bus (Paragraph(s) [0015]). In addition, Vandersteegen teaches terminal connectors of the node can be efficiently used, where four pins can be used to configure 34=81 different addresses “multiple different predefined addresses” (Paragraph(s) [0053], [0061])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicants' invention to combine the teachings of Assmann and Vandersteegen in order to provide an efficient address allocation for an integrated circuit node on a communication bus (Vandersteegen – Paragraph [0007]).
As per claim 2, Assmann teaches wherein the communication apparatus selects the address from at least four different predefined addresses (Paragraph(s) [0102]; the battery management controller interface BMCS has four address contacts 12).
As per claim 3, Assmann teaches wherein the communication apparatus identifies a fault if the measured potential corresponds to the first supply potential or the second supply potential as a fault (Paragraph(s) [0053], [0116]).
As per claim 4, Assmann teaches wherein the communication apparatus selects the address using an assignment table defining mutually non-overlapping sub-ranges within the potential range between the first supply potential and the second supply potential and addresses respectively assigned to these sub-ranges (Paragraph(s) [0057], [0061-0062]).
As per claim 5, Assmann teaches wherein the device-side connection apparatus includes an electrical plug connector configured to be connected in pairs to corresponding bus-side electrical plug connectors of the bus-side connection apparatus (Paragraph(s) [0034], [0105]).
As per claim 6, Assmann teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a first resistor via which the third contact is connected to the first supply contact and/or a second resistor via which the third contact is connected to the second supply contact (Paragraph(s) [0027]; as shown on Fig. 1, the various lines on the BMC system include at least one resistor “R”).
As per claim 7, Assmann teaches data transmission system (Paragraph(s) [0042], [0117]; controlled area network (CAN)) comprising:
a data transmission bus with at least one data line for transmitting a data signal, a first supply line for transmitting a first supply potential, and a second supply line for transmitting a second supply potential different from said first supply potential (Paragraph(s) [0046], [0089]; the first potential can, for example, be connected to ground (GND), whilst the second potential is 5 volts. If the potentials GND, 5V, 5V, GND, GND are, for example, then present at a connector with 5 addressing pins, these potentials are transmitted to the battery management controller interface where they are interpreted by the battery management controller as “01100”. Assmann further teaches the address contacts of the battery management controller interface can normally also be connected to a first potential and have a second potential applied to them by contact with the addressing pin (Paragraph(s) [0037]);
a device (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0101]; battery management controller (BMC)) connected to the data transmission bus, the device comprising: a communication apparatus for sending and/or receiving data via a data transmission bus (Fig. 7 – transmit and receive lines (TX & TX), Paragraph(s) [0121]; the central control unit ZS and the battery module 1 can exchange data and information via the transmit and receive lines (TX and RX) of the cable harness 20). Assmann further teaches the controller has an interface. An interface is a connecting unit which makes it possible to communicate information to the controller which can then be processed in the controller (Paragraph(s) [0026])), and a device-side connection apparatus to connect the device to the data transmission bus (Paragraph(s) [0034]; a connector device for connecting a cable harness to the battery management controller interface);
wherein the device-side connection apparatus includes electrical contacts configured to be connected in pairs to corresponding bus-side electrical contacts of a bus-side connection apparatus on the data transmission bus (Paragraph(s) [0034]; a connector device for connecting a cable harness to the battery management controller interface);
wherein the electrical contacts comprise a data contact to transmit a data signal, a first supply contact to transmit a first supply potential, a second supply contact to transmit a second supply potential different from said first supply potential, and a third contact (Paragraph(s) [0046]; the first potential can, for example, be connected to ground (GND), whilst the second potential is 5 volts. If the potentials GND, 5V, 5V, GND, GND are, for example, then present at a connector with 5 addressing pins, these potentials are transmitted to the battery management controller interface where they are interpreted by the battery management controller as “01100”. Assmann further teaches the address contacts of the battery management controller interface can normally also be connected to a first potential and have a second potential applied to them by contact with the addressing pin (Paragraph(s) [0037]);
wherein the device further includes a voltmeter to measure a potential present at the third contact with respect to the first supply potential and/or the second supply potential (Paragraph(s) [0015-0016]; a battery module comprises at least one battery cell and a cell measuring device “voltmeter” for measuring the state of the battery cell(s). In addition, Assman teaches the controller can read or measure the assignment of the address contacts of the interface in order to allocate an address);
wherein the communication apparatus assigns an address to the device for sending and/or receiving the data via the data transmission bus, said address selected from multiple different addresses on the basic of the potential measured at the third contact (Abstract, Paragraph(s) [0021], [0029], [0102]; the unassigned address contact is interpreted by the microcontroller μC as “1”, and the address contacts 12 which are connected to ground are interpreted as “0”. The battery management controller thus allocates the address “1000” to the battery module);
a respective bus-side connection apparatus on the data transmission bus (Paragraph(s) [0034]; a connector device for connecting a cable harness to the battery management controller interface), having bus-side electrical contacts that are connected in pairs to the corresponding electrical contacts of the device-side connection apparatus of the respective device and comprise at least one bus-side data contact for transmitting the data signal (Paragraph(s) [0114]; four pairs of battery modules interconnected in series are also interconnected in parallel such that the capacities of all the pairs of battery modules are added to one another), a bus-side first supply contact for transmitting the first supply potential, a bus-side second supply contact for transmitting the second supply potential, and a bus-side additional contact (Paragraph(s) [0046]; the first potential can, for example, be connected to ground (GND), whilst the second potential is 5 volts. If the potentials GND, 5V, 5V, GND, GND are, for example, then present at a connector with 5 addressing pins, these potentials are transmitted to the battery management controller interface where they are interpreted by the battery management controller as “01100”. Assmann further teaches the address contacts of the battery management controller interface can normally also be connected to a first potential and have a second potential applied to them by contact with the addressing pin (Paragraph(s) [0037]); and
for each of the at least one bus-side connection apparatus on the data transmission bus:
a third resistor, via which the bus-side additional contact of the bus-side connection apparatus in question is connected to the bus-side first supply contact of the bus-side connection apparatus in question, and/or a fourth resistor via which the bus-side additional contact of the bus-side connection apparatus in question is connected to the bus-side second supply contact of the bus-side connection apparatus in question (Paragraph(s) [0027], [0046]; as shown on Fig. 1, the various lines on the BMC system include at least one resistor “R” connected to the ground (GND) “first supply contact” and another resistor “R” on the voltage line (5V) “second supply contact”;
wherein, in the case of multiple bus-side connection apparatuses provided on the data transmission bus, the respective resistor arrangements, formed from a respective third resistor and/or a respective fourth resistor, all differ from one another (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0027], [0043], [0101-0102]).
Assmann fails to explicitly teach but Vandersteegen teaches wherein assigning an address to the device for sending and/or receiving the data via the data transmission bus said address selected from multiple different predefined addresses (Paragraph(s) [0007], [0067]; providing good and efficient unique address allocation for an integrated circuit node on a communication bus. Vandersteegen further teaches a detecting circuit for detecting a state of the at least one static address selection terminal and a communication circuit for receiving and/or transmitting data over a data bus (Paragraph(s) [0015]). In addition, Vandersteegen teaches terminal connectors of the node can be efficiently used, where four pins can be used to configure 34=81 different addresses “multiple different predefined addresses” (Paragraph(s) [0053], [0061])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicants' invention to combine the teachings of Assmann and Vandersteegen in order to provide an efficient address allocation for an integrated circuit node on a communication bus (Vandersteegen – Paragraph [0007]).
As per claim 8, Assmann teaches wherein the bus-side connection apparatus has one or more bus-side electrical plug connectors to connect the respective device to the data transmission bus, configured to be connected in pairs to corresponding electrical plug connectors of the device-side connection apparatus of the respective device (Paragraph(s) [0034], [0114]).
As per claim 9, Assmann teaches wherein the resistor arrangement formed from the third resistor and/or the fourth resistor is formed at least partially in the bus-side connection apparatus in question (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0027], [0102]).
As per claim 10, Assmann teaches the data transmission system as claimed in claim 7, furthermore comprising:
a control device connected to the data transmission bus, the control device having a communication apparatus to send and/or receive data via the data transmission bus (Paragraph(s) [0089], [0105]);
wherein the resistor arrangement formed from the third resistor and/or the fourth resistor for each bus-side connection apparatus provided on the data transmission bus, is formed at least partially in the control device and is connected to the bus-side connection apparatus in question via an additional line (Fig. 1, Paragraph(s) [0012], [0105-0106]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
/MOHAMED A. WASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454