DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 11 line 4, the word “slot” should read –receptacle--, since the word appears to refer to the receptacle claimed in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (WO2020006023A1) in view of Weaver et al. (2012/0329309).
With regard to claim 1, Schneider teaches, as shown in figures 1-7 and taught in paragraph 54: “An insulation displacement connector 10 for making an electrical connection to a wire 16 having an inner metal conductor (taught in paragraph 54) covered with an outer insulation layer (taught in paragraph 54), the insulation displacement connector 10 comprising: an insulation displacement terminal 150 having a base 26 joined to a pair of spaced-apart legs 32 that define a receptacle 46a configured to receive the wire 16, the legs 32 having free end portions 44 and interior edges (portions of 32 facing each other in figure 5) that help define the receptacle 46a, and wherein at least one of the interior edges has a cutter 62 for disrupting the insulation layer of the wire 16 to permit the conductor to directly contact the at least one interior edge having the cutter 62; and a sleeve 14 extending around a portion of the insulation displacement terminal 150”.
Schneider does not specifically teach the sleeve “applying inward forces against the legs to bias the legs toward each other”. However, Schneider teaches, as taught in paragraph 70 and shown in figures 1-7 legs 100 being biased toward each other. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the legs of the insulation displacement legs 32 in order to hold the terminal in the sleeve and the wire in electrical contact with the terminal (Schneider, paragraph 70).
Schneider does not teach: “and wherein the sleeve does not extend around the free end portions of the legs”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Weaver teaches, as shown in figures 2A-4A: “and wherein the sleeve 410 does not extend around the free end portions (top ends of the legs of 254 in figure 3A) of the legs (shown below)”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Weaver with the invention of Schneider in order to allow the cutting terminal to be held in place while the wire is pressed into and held by the cutting terminal (Weaver, paragraph 17).
With regard to claim 5, Schneider as modified by Weaver teaches: “The insulation displacement connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Schneider also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the base 26 forms a closed end of the receptacle 46a; and wherein the sleeve 14 has a closed peripheral portion that extends around the base 26 and upper portions of the legs 32”.
With regard to claim 11, Schneider as modified by Weaver teaches: “The insulation displacement connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Schneider also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein the interior edges of the legs 32 each have a holding portion 52 that extends inwardly farther than the rest of the interior edge such that the holding portions 52 define the narrowest portion of the slot 46a”.
With regard to claim 12, Schneider as modified by Weaver teaches: “The insulation displacement connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Schneider also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “wherein a plurality of press-fit fasteners 34 is joined to an edge of the base 26, the press-fit fasteners 34 extending in a direction opposite to the direction in the which the legs 32 extend”.
With regard to claim 16, Schneider as modified by Weaver teaches: “The insulation displacement connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither that embodiment of Schneider nor Weaver teach: “wherein the insulation displacement terminal further comprises a blade extending from an edge of the base in a direction opposite to the direction in the which the legs extend”.
However, Schneider teaches, as shown in figures 35-36: “wherein the insulation displacement terminal 360 further comprises a blade (portion of 420 exposed from 440 in figure 36) extending from an edge of the base 420 in a direction opposite to the direction in the which the legs 424 extend”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine this embodiment with the invention of Schneider as modified by Weaver in order to form an IDT with a lower profile (Schneider, paragraph 116).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (WO2020006023A1) in view of Weaver et al. (2012/0329309) and Szelag et al. (2020/0274259).
With regard to claim 13, Schneider as modified by Weaver teaches: “The insulation displacement connector of claim 1”, as shown above.
Neither Schneider nor Weaver teach: “wherein the insulation displacement terminal further comprises a mount connected to the base, the mount having a planar bottom surface adapted for surface mounting to a metal pad”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Szelag teaches, as shown in figures 1-5: “wherein the insulation displacement terminal 1 further comprises a mount 22 connected to the base (bottom portion of 23 in figure 1), the mount 22 having a planar bottom surface adapted for surface mounting to a metal pad 115”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Szelag with the invention of Schneider as modified by Weaver in order to surface mount the terminal to a circuit board (Szelag, paragraph 65).
With regard to claim 14, Schneider as modified by Weaver and Szelag teaches: “The insulation displacement connector of claim 13”, as shown above.
Szelag also teaches, as shown in figures 1-5: “wherein the base is integrally joined to an elongated center post 35, which extends in a direction opposite to the direction in the which the legs 15 extend”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Szelag with the invention of Schneider as modified by Weaver and Szelag in order to surface mount the terminal to a circuit board (Szelag, paragraph 65).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-10, 15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831