DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites “a bus system” in line 3 of the claim. It is not clear if the applicant is referring to the bus system introduced in claim 20 or a different bus system. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the vehicle" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 22, the claim recites “a bus system” in line 3 of the claim. It is not clear if the applicant is referring to the bus system introduced in claim 20 or a different bus system. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20 and 24-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nilsson (US 7,837,278 B2).
Regarding claim 18, Nilsson discloses an electric brake system (10), comprising:
a brake actuator (30, 30’) including first coils configured such that an electrical impact of the first coils generate a first braking force, and second coils configured such that an electrical impact of the second coils generate a second braking force (note figs. 2A-2C; also note the first actuation mechanism is supplied power by first power supply network 14 and the second actuation mechanism is supplied power by second power supply network 14' for redundancy, wherein the first actuation mechanism is operable, independently of the second actuation mechanism, to cause brake component 26 to be applied and to be released, in response to the first actuation control signal, and that the second actuation mechanism is operable, independently of the first actuation mechanism, to cause brake component 26 to be applied and to be released, in response to the second actuation control signal);
the electrical impact of the first coils and the electrical impact of the second coils are controllable via a first electronic control unit (18, 40) and a second electronic control unit (18’, 40’).
Re-claim 19, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit have different scopes of functions in a normal operating mode (note that first and second actuation mechanisms may be different from one another and thus provide different function in col. 9, lines 9-10).
Re-claim 20, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit each have a connection (25, 46, 46’) for a bus system (note that bus system is recited as intended of use and thus considered not to be positively claimed; also note that Nilsson discloses a safety philosophy is based on data from at least three independent sources, wherein, if a failure occurs, data is available from at least two and the failure can be detected and a decision can be made from still correct data).
Re-claim 24, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit are connected to each other via a connecting line (22).
Re-claim 25, Nilsson discloses the first control unit includes control logic for monitoring the second control unit and/or the second control unit includes control logic for monitoring the first control unit (note first and second central control units 18, 18' are in communication with each other via a communications link 22 such that central control units 18, 18' can monitor the status of each other and identify potential failures in col. 7, lines 58-61).
Re-claim 26, Nilsson discloses brake signals are supplied to the control units, and wherein at least one control unit has a control logic configured to carry out a plausibility check of the brake signals supplied to the control units (note ach of first and second local control units 40, 40' receives sensor information from first and second sensors 44, 44' sufficient enough to monitor the safety critical status of each brake unit 24, wherein, the actuator control module 50, 50' is at least responsible for controlling the actuation mechanism using the information from sensors 44, 44' connected to local control units 40, 40' and the demand for braking received from a decision software module).
Re-claim 27, Nilsson discloses the first control unit is supplied with an actuating or position signal from an actuating travel or position sensor of the brake actuator, and wherein a force signal from a force sensor of the brake actuator is fed to the second control unit (note each of the plurality of brake units further includes a first sensor in communication with the first local control unit, the first sensor sensing at least one wheel parameter and supplying a signal indicative of the at least one wheel parameter to the first local control unit, and a second sensor in communication with the second local control unit, the second sensor sensing at least one wheel parameter and supplying a signal indicative of the at least one wheel parameter to the second local control unit. In certain of these embodiments, the at least one wheel parameter comprises at least one of position of a brake component, brake force, brake torque, pad wear, wheel speed, bearing temperature, torque and tire pressure in col. 4, lines 14-26).
Re-claim 28, Nilsson discloses the first coils and the second coils of the brake actuator are supplied with electric power from different power sources (note the power sources 12, 12’).
Re-claim 29, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit control a first amplification device and a second amplification device which generate the electrical impact signal for the first coils and the second coils of the brake actuator from a control signal of the control unit (note the brake unit 24 also includes a first actuation mechanism acting upon the self enforcing mechanism 28, in response to a first actuation control signal, to cause actuation of the brake component 26, and a second actuation mechanism acting upon the self enforcing mechanism 28, in response to a second actuation control signal, to cause actuation of the brake component 2 in col. 8, lines 56-62).
Re-claim 30, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit are integrated in an axle control module (note fig. 8).
Re-claim 31, Nilsson discloses the first and second amplification devices are integrated in the axle control module (note fig. 8).
Re-claim 32, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit are integrated in an axle control module (note fig. 8).
Re-claim 33, Nilsson discloses the axle control module is connected to two wheel brake units of an axle, the first control unit comprises control logic for independently controlling the electrical impacts of first coils of the brake actuators of the two wheel brake units, and wherein the second control unit has control logic for independently controlling the electrical impacts of second coils of the brake actuators of the two wheel brake units (note he first actuation mechanism is operable, independently of the second actuation mechanism, to cause brake component 26 to be applied and to be released, in response to the first actuation control signal, and that the second actuation mechanism is operable, independently of the first actuation mechanism, to cause brake component 26 to be applied and to be released, in response to the second actuation control signal).
Re-claim 34, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit are integrated in a wheel brake unit (note figs. 4, 7 and 8).
Re-claim 35, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and the second control unit control a first amplification device and a second amplification device which generate the electric impact signal for the first coils and the second coils, and wherein the first and second amplification devices are also integrated into the wheel brake unit (note the brake unit 24 also includes a first actuation mechanism acting upon the self enforcing mechanism 28, in response to a first actuation control signal, to cause actuation of the brake component 26, and a second actuation mechanism acting upon the self enforcing mechanism 28, in response to a second actuation control signal, to cause actuation of the brake component 2 in col. 8, lines 56-62).
Re-claim 36, Nilsson discloses an axle control module is connected to two wheel brake units of an axle, and wherein the axle control module has a first power source connected to the first amplification devices of the two wheel brake units and a second power source connected to the second amplification devices of the two wheel brake units (note the brake unit 24 also includes a first actuation mechanism acting upon the self enforcing mechanism 28, in response to a first actuation control signal, to cause actuation of the brake component 26, and a second actuation mechanism acting upon the self enforcing mechanism 28, in response to a second actuation control signal, to cause actuation of the brake component 2 in col. 8, lines 56-62).
Re-claim 37, Nilsson discloses the two control units are each connected to a brake holding device (26) of the brake actuators.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 7,837,278 B2) in view of Fujita (CN 114026004 A).
Regarding claims 21-23, Nilsson discloses the first control unit and/or the second control unit are/is connected to a central control unit (80) of the vehicle via a connection but fails to disclose a bus system connected to the connection as recited in the claim. However, Fujita discloses an electric brake control system comprising a pedal sensor (9) connected to an ECU 24 that receives a signal from the pedal sensor, and performs an operation to provide calculated braking force for each wheel via a CAN13 as the vehicle data bus. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the current invention was made to modify the brake system of Nilsson to include a pedal sensor and a date bus as taught by Fujita will provide additional braking status in order to improve the braking operation.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616