DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application filed on 09/10/2024
Application is a 371 of PCT/JP2023/006026 02/20/2023
Application claims a FP date of 03/11/2022
Claim 1 is independent
Claims 1-6 are pending
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2024 and 06/09/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4). Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “charge storage unit” and “control unit” in claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant disclosed prior art Akahori et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0146684).
Regarding Claim 1, Akahori discloses a photoelectric conversion circuit (Fig 1-light receiving uni4 3; pixel 321 in Fig 3) comprising:
a light receiving element that outputs charges corresponding to an amount of exposure to a predetermined wiring line (In Fig 3 and in ¶0064 - ¶0069, Akahori discloses that the pixel 321 includes a photo electric conversion device PD);
an output circuit (In ¶0068, Akahori discloses that the pixel 321 distributes the electric charge generated by performing electric conversion of incident light to the charge accumulating units CS (reading units RU) and outputs voltage signals to the processing circuit 325) that, when an instruction signal is input, outputs charges corresponding to a period during which the instruction signal is input to the predetermined wiring line (In ¶0058, Akahori discloses that the control circuit 322 controls operations of elements in accordance with an instruction from the timing control unit 41 of the processing unit 4);
a plurality of charge storage units (Fig 3; In each of the pixel signal reading units RU an electric charge accumulating unit CS is composed of the floating diffusion FD and the electric charge accumulating capacitor C); and
a transfer circuit that transfers the charges output to the predetermined wiring line to each of the plurality of charge storage units (As shown in Fig 3, Akahori discloses that the pixel 321 reading unit RU1 includes a reading gate transistor G1 and in ¶0073-¶0079 he also discloses that the scanning circuit causes the gate transistor g1 to be in an ON state and charge acquired through photoelectric conversion is accumulated in the charge accumulating unit CS1 through the reading gate transistor G1).
Regarding Claim 4, Akahori discloses further comprising a second switch that is provided between the light receiving element and the predetermined wiring line (Fig 3 – element signal reading unit RU2 that has configuration similar to RU1. Also see ¶0076-¶0077; Further in ¶0111 Akahori discloses that the vertical scanning circuit 323 sequentially causes the reading gate transistors G2 and G3 to be the on state during an accumulation period Ta at a timing at which the drain gate transistor GD is returned to the off state).
Regarding Claim 5, Akahori discloses further comprising a third switch that is connected in parallel to the light receiving element (Fig 3 – element signal reading unit RU3 that has configuration similar to RU1. Also see ¶0078-¶0079).
Regarding Claim 6, Akahori discloses a control unit (Timing control unit 41, control circuit 322) that controls the transfer circuit (the timing control unit controls the timing at which various control signals are output and the measurement control unit 43 selects the mode for measurement and the control circuit 322 performs overall control of the image sensor 32), wherein the transfer circuit (Fig 3 – pixel signal reading circuits RU1, RU2, RU3) includes a plurality of transistors that are connected to each of the plurality of charge storage units (Fig 3; ¶0058-¶0081), and the control unit controls each of the plurality of transistors (In ¶0060, Akahori further discloses that the signal processing circuit 325 performs processing of voltage output from each column in the pixel circuits).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant disclosed prior art Akahori et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0146684) in view of Applicant disclosed prior art Mahara (U. S. Patent Publication Number 2012/0193179 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Akahori fails to clearly disclose wherein the output circuit includes a current source, and a first switch that is provided between the current source and the predetermined wiring line and that is turned on based on the instruction signal and turned off based on a stop signal.
Instead in a similar endeavor, Mahara discloses wherein the output circuit includes a current source (Fig 5 – transistor 1100 is a current source), and a first switch (Fig 5 – switch 1101) that is provided between the current source (Fig 5 – transistor 1100 is a current source) and the predetermined wiring line (Fig 5 – the wiring line connected to the output of the light receiving element 1000) and that is turned on based on the instruction signal and turned off based on a stop signal (In ¶0058-¶0070, Mahara teaches that the switch unit 1101 is controlled to be on (closed) and off(open) according to a signal EN_PR. The other end is connected to a drain of transistor 110 – which is a current source).
Akahori and Mahara are combinable because both are related to light receiving units.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a current source as taught by Mahara in the imaging module disclosed by Akahori.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to have “a current corresponding to the power supply voltage Vdd and the reference voltage Vref as with such a configuration, a reverse bias is applied to the light receiving element 1000” as disclosed by Mahara in ¶0060.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Akahori and Mahara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reference Cited
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Katayama (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0255282 A1) discloses relates to a light receiving element, a distance measurement module, and an electronic device that enable signal degradation during charge transfer to be reduced. The light receiving element includes a pixel at least including: a first charge holding unit and a second charge holding unit each of which holds an electric charge generated by a photodiode; a first transfer transistor that transfers the electric charge to the first charge holding unit; and a second transfer transistor that transfers the electric charge to the second charge holding unit, in which the first and second transfer transistors each include a vertical transistor including a vertical gate electrode portion. The present technology can be applied to, for example, a light receiving element that performs distance measurement by an indirect ToF method, and the like.
Conclusion
/PADMA HALIYUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 July 30, 2026