In view of the panel decision from the pre-appeal brief review dated May 15, 2026, claims 1-15 are currently under review.
Examiner Comments
Please note that claims 12-13 merely mention detection and do not specify how the detection is accomplished which may be touch input.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0113135 A1) hereinafter referred to as Sakai.
With respect to Claim 1, Sakai discloses an electronic device (fig. 21, item 100; ¶306), comprising: an image sensor (fig. 21, item 122; ¶308); and a controller (fig. 19, item 150; ¶251) to: detect a first user gesture (fig. 5, first user gesture is made within region MA1 and is a predetermined action; ¶101; ¶265-266) within a first audiovisual signal (fig. 1; ¶42, imaged image of user comprising the user and area within vicinity of user: first audiovisual signal) received via the image sensor, the first audiovisual signal is an audiovisual signal (fig. 1, video feed of user) within a first application (¶114, “the information processing devices 100 making up the communication system 1000 can perform various types of communication, such as communication relating to calls by audio, communication relating to execution of applications such as game software, business software, and so forth” - first application: videoconferencing); in response to a determination that the first user gesture (¶101, predetermined action = first user gesture) indicates a first region (fig. 1, item MA1 = first region and within vicinity of user; ¶101) of the first audiovisual signal, generate a second audiovisual signal (fig. 5, imaged image of user comprising the user and area within vicinity of user and superimposed notification object: second audiovisual signal) having an interactive region (fig. 5, item MA1 = interactive region), the interactive region having coordinates equivalent to coordinates of the first region of the first audiovisual signal (fig. 1, item MA1 = fig. 2, item MA1); and cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the second audiovisual signal in place of the first audiovisual signal (fig. 5 is fig. 1 but with the notification object), the second audiovisual signal to include the first audiovisual signal and shared content of a second application disposed within the interactive region (figs. 5 and 10; ¶101-102; ¶157-158, a second application is an application to end a video call/end user task such that each user must perform the bye-bye action (the bye-bye action generates a notification object/shining stars), the shared content being the shining stars).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Sakai discloses wherein the controller is to: detect a second user gesture within the second audiovisual signal; and in response to a determination that the second user gesture indicates the interactive region, adjust the shared content based on the second user gesture (¶48, “in the event of having detected an action where the user reciprocally moves a hand vertically in the action region as the predetermined action, the information processing device 100 performs processing correlated to the meaning of the detected action, such as raising the volume of the audio output from a device to be controlled” – the shared content is adjusted by changing the volume of the shared content; ¶101; ¶105, “the information processing device 100 may superimpose various objects, such as an indicator displaying time in stages from detecting the predetermined action by the user till starting the processing corresponding to the predetermined action, or the like, on the image displayed on the display screen. Also, the information processing device 100 may display the object such as an icon or indicator outside of the display region where the image indicating the content on the display screen, rather than superimposing the object on the image displayed on the display screen”).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 2 is incorporated, Sakai teaches wherein the second audiovisual signal includes multiple interactive regions (fig. 2, items MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4 are multiple interactive regions and each audiovisual signal where a new gesture causes a newer audiovisual signal in places of the older one, i.e second in place of first, third in place of second and so on), and wherein the controller is to: in response to a determination that the second user gesture indicates a second interactive region of the multiple interactive regions (fig. 2, predetermined action of waving bye-bye is performed in area MA2), dispose a second shared content of a third application within the second interactive region (figs. 5 and 10; ¶101-102; ¶157-158; a third application is an application to end a video call/end user task such that each user must perform the bye-bye action, the user performs the action in area MA2 (the bye-bye action generates a notification object/shining stars), the shared content being the shining stars).
Claims 6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lum (Pub. No.: US 2023/0036861 A1).
With respect to Claim 6, Lum discloses an electronic device (fig. 1, items 102 or 104; fig. 2 is a computing device that implements item 104 - phone; ¶46; ¶68, “The user interface output may be displayed on a component of a client or device, such as client 102 or phones 104 shown in FIG. 1”), comprising: an image sensor (fig. 2, item 210; ¶52, “The peripherals 210 includes one or more sensors, detectors, or other devices configured for monitoring the computing device 200 or the environment around the computing device 200”; fig. 6A-6B, in order for a video of the host to be captured an image sensor must exist on the electronic device itself or as a peripheral sensor); and a controller (fig. 2, item 202; ¶48) to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (figs. 6A and 6B: interactive audiovisual signal = host feed and participant video feeds; ¶68), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an interactive region (figs. 6A and 6B, interactive region = area surrounding the host) that includes shared content of a first application (figs. 6A and 6B, shared content of a first application = host displaying participant video feed/item 604B, first application = participant video feed of video conferencing application) and a non-interactive region (figs. 6A and 6B, non-interactive region = area occupied by the host) that includes an original audiovisual signal (figs. 6A and 6B, original audiovisual signal = host video feed) of a second application (second application = host video feed of video conferencing application; the original audiovisual signal received via the image sensor; cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the interactive audiovisual signal via the second application (figs. 6A to 6B); detect, via the image sensor, a first user gesture within coordinates of the interactive region (fig. 6B; ¶69); and in response to the first user gesture, adjust the shared content within the interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 6B, item 604B is adjusted by being moved to a different location; ¶69).
With respect to Claim 11, Lum discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium (fig. 2, item 204; ¶50; ¶140-141) storing machine readable instructions, which, when executed by a controller (fig. 2, item 202; ¶48) of an electronic device (fig. 1, items 102 or 104; fig. 2 is a computing device that implements item 104 - phone; ¶46; ¶68, “The user interface output may be displayed on a component of a client or device, such as client 102 or phones 104 shown in FIG. 1”), causes the controller to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (figs. 6A and 6B: interactive audiovisual signal = video conferencing feed including host feed and participant video feeds; ¶68) having multiple interactive regions (figs. 6A and 6B, interactive region = area surrounding the host; ¶69), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an original audiovisual signal (figs. 6A and 6B, original audiovisual signal = host video feed) of a first application (figs. 6A and 6B, first application = video conferencing application of host), the original audiovisual signal received via an image sensor (fig. 2, item 210; ¶52, “The peripherals 210 includes one or more sensors, detectors, or other devices configured for monitoring the computing device 200 or the environment around the computing device 200”; fig. 6A-6B, in order for a video of the host to be captured an image sensor must exist on the electronic device itself or as a peripheral sensor) of the electronic device; cause, via a display device of the electronic device, display of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶69, “The conference system is configured to detect that the participant video feed 604B is in an area of the display that contains a foreground object, i.e., the extended arm of the host in this example. Based on the detection that the participant video feed 604B is in an area of the display that contains a foreground object, the conference system is configured to automatically reposition the participant video feed 604B to a background area of the display that does not include the foreground object”; interactive audiovisual signal = host feed and participant video feeds); detect, via the image sensor, a first user gesture (fig. 6B, ¶69, “when the host extends his arm” – the host extending their left arm) within a first interactive region of the multiple interactive regions (fig. 6B, interactive regions surround the host, the first interactive region is the top right region, the first user gesture indicating to include shared content of a second application within a second interactive region of the multiple interactive regions of the interactive audiovisual signal (figs. 6A and 6B, shared content of a second application = host displaying participant video feed/item 604B, second application = participant video feed of video conferencing application, second interactive region: lower right region; ¶69); and cause transmission, via a network interface (fig. 2, item 214; ¶47; ¶54) of the electronic device, of the interactive audiovisual signal in place of the original audiovisual signal of the first application, the interactive audiovisual signal including the shared content within the second interactive region (¶70, the video feeds are updated).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Lum teaches wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to generate the interactive audiovisual signal in response to detection of selection of a command of the first application (¶71, “the host may select a show-and-tell mode via a touch input on a user interface of a host device”), the command to enable sharing content via the first application (¶73, “the conference system is configured to monitor the secondary host video feed 702B based on the selection of the show-and-tell mode. The conference system may detect one or more objects in the display area of the secondary host video feed 702B, for example, hands 706A and 706B, and a knife 706C”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lum.
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Sakai does not mention wherein the second user gesture indicates that a location of the shared content within the interactive region is to be adjusted, the shared content is to be removed from the interactive region, or a dimension of the shared content is to be adjusted.
Lum teaches an electronic device (fig. 1, items 102 or 104; fig. 2 is a computing device that implements item 104 - phone; ¶46; ¶68, “The user interface output may be displayed on a component of a client or device, such as client 102 or phones 104 shown in FIG. 1”), comprising: a sensor (fig. 2, item 210; ¶52, “The peripherals 210 includes one or more sensors, detectors, or other devices configured for monitoring the computing device 200 or the environment around the computing device 200”); and a controller (fig. 2, item 202; ¶48) to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (figs. 6A and 6B: interactive audiovisual signal = host feed and participant video feeds; ¶68), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an interactive region (figs. 6A and 6B, interactive region = area surrounding the host) that includes shared content of a first application (figs. 6A and 6B, shared content of a first application = host displaying participant video feed/item 604B, first application = video conferencing application of participant) and a non-interactive region (figs. 6A and 6B, non-interactive region = area occupied by the host) that includes an original audiovisual signal (figs. 6A and 6B, original audiovisual signal = host video feed) of a second application (second application = video conferencing application of host); cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the interactive audiovisual signal via the second application (figs. 6A and 6B displays the second application- video conferencing application of host that displays participants video feed); detect, a first user gesture within coordinates of the interactive region (fig. 6B; ¶69); and in response to the first user gesture, adjust the shared content within the interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 6B, item 604B is adjusted by being moved to a different location; ¶69); wherein the second user gesture indicates that a location of the shared content within the interactive region is to be adjusted or a dimension of the shared content is to be adjusted (¶68, “For example, the participant video feeds 604A and 604B may be dynamically resized and positioned based on the foreground detected in the display area of the host video feed 602, such that the participant video feeds 604A and 604B are positioned in an area of the display identified as the background so as not to block the view of the host”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Sakai, such that the predetermined actions of Sakai and the corresponding processing results in wherein the second user gesture indicates that a location of the shared content within the interactive region is to be adjusted or a dimension of the shared content is to be adjusted, as taught by Lum so as to not block the host (¶68).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cheung et al. (Patent No.: US 10,701,316 B1) hereinafter referred to as Cheung.
With respect to Claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated, Sakai does not mention wherein the second user gesture indicates a direction to scroll the shared content.
Cheung teaches an electronic device (fig. 1, item 12 comprises 18A and 20A; column 5, lines 62-64) comprising: an image sensor (fig. 1, item 20A); and a controller (fig. 2, item 28; column 8, lines, 43-53, “Each of processors 28 may comprise one or more of a multi-core processor, a controller, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), processing circuitry (e.g., fixed function circuitry, programmable circuitry, or any combination of fixed function circuitry and programmable circuitry) or equivalent discrete logic circuitry or integrated logic circuitry”) to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal, the interactive audiovisual signal to include an interactive region (column 4, lines 28-37, “the systems of this disclosure may detect a gesture with respect to a rendered virtual element or user interface (UI) element. For example, in response to detecting the performance of a gesture at a physical location corresponding to a virtual location touching the rendered UI element, within a boundary of the UI element, grasping (e.g. surrounding) the UI element, miming near the UI element, within a threshold distance of the UI element, etc., the systems of this disclosure may trigger various actions with respect to the video conferencing session” captured video feed = interactive audiovisual signal, gesture at a physical location or within a boundary of the UI element AND/OR adjustment of shared content = interactive region) that includes shared content of a first application (column 7, lines 47-54, “video conferencing system 12 renders and displays UI element 22 in video feedthrough 26 to simulate an “assistant” element or “drone” or “floating button” that accompanies (e.g., by hovering over the left shoulder of) or is otherwise visually locked to the visual representation of participant 30A, whether stationary or in motion, within video feedthrough 26. Video conferencing system 12 may be configured to perform gesture detection. According to aspects of this disclosure, video conferencing system 12 may detect certain predefined gestures performed by participant 30A with respect to UI element 22” – UI element corresponding to a first application = shared content of a first application); and a non-interactive region that includes an original audiovisual signal of a second application (fig. 1, video feed of item 26 that is area surrounding item 22 that is not a UI element, namely display content of participant), the original audiovisual signal received via the image sensor (fig. 1, video feed of item 30A; column 5, line 65 to column 6, line 5, “That is, participants 30A and 30B may communicate with one another in a video conferencing session over communications channel 16 using displays 18 and image capture systems 20. Image capture systems 20A and 20B capture still and/or moving pictures of participants 30A and 30B respectively”); cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the interactive audiovisual signal via the second application (column 6, lines 48-52, “Video feedthrough 26 is displayed to participant 30A to provide an indication of how the image data captured by image capture system 20A appears to other users in the video conferencing session, such as to participant 30B via display 18B”); detect, via the image sensor, a first user gesture within coordinates of the interactive region (column 8, lines 5-33); and in response to the first user gesture, adjust the shared content within the interactive audiovisual signal (column 8, lines 24-33, “scrolling or otherwise advancing (e.g., via page replacement or virtual page turning) of a document being shared or collaboratively viewed over the video conferencing session”); wherein the second user gesture indicates a direction to scroll the shared content (column 8, lines 24-33).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Sakai, to control the business applications that are being communicated/shared resulting in wherein the second user gesture indicates a direction to scroll the shared content, as taught by Cheung so as to improve collaboration among participants.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lum as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Sakai.
With respect to Claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated, Lum does not explicitly mention wherein the interactive region is surrounded by the non-interactive region.
Sakai teaches an electronic device (fig. 21, item 100; ¶306), comprising: an image sensor (fig. 21, item 122; ¶308); and a controller (fig. 19, item 150; ¶251) to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 2), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an interactive region (fig. 2, item MA1; ¶64) and a non-interactive region (fig. 2, area surrounding the interactive regions MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4) that includes an original audiovisual signal (fig. 2, original audiovisual signal = video feed of host), the original audiovisual signal received via the image sensor (¶308); cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶64-66); detect, via the image sensor, a first user gesture (fig. 5, first user gesture is made within region MA1 and is a predetermined action; ¶101; ¶265-266) within coordinates of the interactive region (¶65); wherein the interactive region is surrounded by the non-interactive region (fig. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Lum, wherein the interactive region is surrounded by the non-interactive region, as taught by Sakai so as to reduce the probability of erroneously detecting a predetermined action (¶65).
With respect to Claim 8, claim 6 is incorporated, Lum does not mention wherein an anchor point of the interactive region is disposed within a threshold number of pixels of a central axis of the non-interactive region.
Sakai teaches an electronic device (fig. 21, item 100; ¶306), comprising: an image sensor (fig. 21, item 122; ¶308); and a controller (fig. 19, item 150; ¶251) to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 2), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an interactive region (fig. 2, item MA1; ¶64) and a non-interactive region (fig. 2, area surrounding the interactive regions MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4) that includes an original audiovisual signal (fig. 2, original audiovisual signal = video feed of host), the original audiovisual signal received via the image sensor (¶308); cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶64-66); detect, via the image sensor, a first user gesture (fig. 5, first user gesture is made within region MA1 and is a predetermined action; ¶101; ¶265-266) within coordinates of the interactive region (¶65); wherein an anchor point of the interactive region is disposed within a threshold number of pixels of a central axis of the non-interactive region (fig. 2, each of items MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4 are disposed symmetrically to a centerline/central axis of the user; ¶63-64).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Lum, wherein an anchor point of the interactive region is disposed within a threshold number of pixels of a central axis of the non-interactive region, as taught by Sakai so as to reduce the probability of erroneously detecting a predetermined action (¶65).
With respect to Claim 9, claim 8 is incorporated, Lum does not explicitly mention wherein the interactive audiovisual signal includes a second interactive region, the second interactive region disposed on a side opposite the central axis of the non-interactive region to the interactive region.
Sakai teaches an electronic device (fig. 21, item 100; ¶306), comprising: an image sensor (fig. 21, item 122; ¶308); and a controller (fig. 19, item 150; ¶251) to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 2), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an interactive region (fig. 2, items MA1; ¶64) and a non-interactive region (fig. 2, area surrounding the interactive regions MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4) that includes an original audiovisual signal (fig. 2, original audiovisual signal = video feed of host), the original audiovisual signal received via the image sensor (¶308); cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶64-66); detect, via the image sensor, a first user gesture (fig. 5, first user gesture is made within region MA1 and is a predetermined action; ¶101; ¶265-266) within coordinates of the interactive region (¶65); wherein an anchor point of the interactive region is disposed within a threshold number of pixels of a central axis of the non-interactive region (fig. 2, each of items MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4 are disposed symmetrically to a centerline/central axis of the user; ¶63-64); wherein the interactive audiovisual signal includes a second interactive region (fig. 2, item MA2), the second interactive region disposed on a side opposite the central axis of the non-interactive region to the interactive region (fig. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Lum, wherein the interactive audiovisual signal includes a second interactive region, the second interactive region disposed on a side opposite the central axis of the non-interactive region to the interactive region, as taught by Sakai so as to reduce the probability of erroneously detecting a predetermined action (¶65).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 6 is incorporated, Lum does not teach wherein the controller is to: detect, via the image sensor, a second user gesture within coordinates of the second interactive region; and in response to the second user gesture, dispose a second shared content within the second interactive region, the second shared content a content of a third application.
Sakai teaches an electronic device (fig. 21, item 100; ¶306), comprising: an image sensor (fig. 21, item 122; ¶308); and a controller (fig. 19, item 150; ¶251) to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 2), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an interactive region (fig. 2, item MA1; ¶64) and a non-interactive region (fig. 2, area surrounding the interactive regions MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4) that includes an original audiovisual signal (fig. 2, original audiovisual signal = video feed of host), the original audiovisual signal received via the image sensor (¶308); cause display, transmission, or a combination thereof, of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶64-66); detect, via the image sensor, a first user gesture (fig. 5, first user gesture is made within region MA1 and is a predetermined action; ¶101; ¶265-266) within coordinates of the interactive region (¶65); wherein the controller is to: detect, via the image sensor, a second user gesture within coordinates of the second interactive region (fig. 2, item MA2: second interactive region; ¶64, “the information processing device 100 may set an action region MA to one of nearby the left side of the face region FA or the nearby the right side of the face region FA”); and in response to the second user gesture, dispose a second shared content within the second interactive region, the second shared content a content of a third application (figs. 5 and 10; ¶101-102; ¶157-158, a third application is an application with another user to end a video call/end user task such that each user must perform the bye-bye action (the bye-bye action generates a notification object/shining stars), the shared content being the shining stars).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Lum, wherein the controller is to: detect, via the image sensor, a second user gesture within coordinates of the second interactive region; and in response to the second user gesture, dispose a second shared content within the second interactive region, the second shared content a content of a third application, as taught by Sakai so as to reduce the probability of erroneously detecting a predetermined action (¶65).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lum as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Govindraj (Pub. No.: US 2016/0231888 A1).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated, Lum does not mention wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to: cause, via the display device, display of a graphical user interface (GUI) of a third application in response to detection of selection of the command of the first application, the GUI to include a first area to enable selection of content to share and a second area to display the interactive audiovisual signal; cause, via the display device, display of shared content of the second application within the first interactive region in response to detection of selection, via the first area, of the shared content; and in response to detection, via the image sensor, of the user gesture within the first interactive region, adjust a location of the shared content from the first interactive region to the second interactive region.
Govindraj teaches an electronic device (fig. 15, item 400; ¶157); the electronic device configured to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 12B, item GUI; ¶147, video call = interactive audiovisual signal) having multiple interactive regions (fig. 12B, items 140, 145 = multiple interactive regions), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an original audiovisual signal of a first application (fig. 12B, video call application = first application, item 120S = original audiovisual signal as captured by a camera), the original audiovisual signal received via an image sensor (fig. 15, item 410; ¶157; the selected contact may be the user of fig. 12B) of the electronic device; cause, via a display device of the electronic device, display of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶31, “the plurality of options on the dashboard include one or both of a voice or video call initiation option with the selected contact”); detect user input within a first interactive region of the multiple interactive regions (¶85, “When a user selects a file sharing option from the dashboard 130, depending on the selection, either a window (indicated as 140 in subsequent drawings) will be displayed by the GUI in the main display area 170 so the user can create a file for sharing with the selected contact 120”; ¶148, “The user of the communication interface 100 of FIG. 12B is able, whilst on a video call to selected contact 120, to create or view or edit files in windows 140 and 145”; fig. 12B, item 140 = first interactive region), the user input indicating to include shared content of a second application within a second interactive region of the multiple interactive regions of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶146, “Window 140 and secondary window 145 are transparent, moveable and resizable independently of other objects displayed on the GUI” ¶148 – the user creates item 140 of fig. 12B and moves it by resizing into the second interactive region); and cause transmission, via a network interface of the electronic device (fig. 3; ¶98), of the interactive audiovisual signal in place of the original audiovisual signal of the first application, the interactive audiovisual signal including the shared content within the second interactive region (¶149, “Each window may then be moved and resized independently. When the user shares a file in a multi-user video call, such as the scenario of FIG. 12C, the file is shared automatically with each of the users taking part”); wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to: cause, via the display device, display of a graphical user interface (GUI) of a third application in response to detection of selection of the command of the first application (fig. 1; ¶85, “When a user selects a file sharing option from the dashboard 130, depending on the selection, either a window (indicated as 140 in subsequent drawings) will be displayed by the GUI in the main display area 170 so the user can create a file for sharing with the selected contact 120” – the user creates window 145 in fig. 12B; ¶148, “The user can also use a web browser or view an online video displayed by either of windows 140 or 145 at the same time as being engaged with the selected user 120 through the video call” – item 145 is an online video = third application), the GUI to include a first area to enable selection of content to share (figs. 1, 12A, and 12B, item 130 = first area; ¶85, “a user selects a file sharing option from the dashboard 130 , depending on the selection, either a window (indicated as 140 in subsequent drawings) will be displayed by the GUI in the main display area 170 so the user can create a file for sharing with the selected contact 120”) and a second area to display the interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 1, 12A, and 12B, item 170: = second area; ¶85); cause, via the display device, display of shared content of the second application within the first interactive region in response to detection of selection, via the first area, of the shared content (¶85); and in response to detection of the user input within the first interactive region, adjust a location of the shared content from the first interactive region to the second interactive region (¶146, adjusting a location is either by moving from the first interactive region to the second interactive region or by resizing into the second interactive region).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the non-transitory machine-readable medium of Lum, such that receiving user input/second user input corresponds to detecting, via the image sensor, a user gesture/second user gesture, resulting in wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to: cause, via the display device, display of a graphical user interface (GUI) of a third application in response to detection of selection of the command of the first application, the GUI to include a first area to enable selection of content to share and a second area to display the interactive audiovisual signal cause, via the display device, display of shared content of the second application within the first interactive region in response to detection of selection, via the first area, of the shared content; and in response to detection, via the image sensor, of the user gesture within the first interactive region, adjust a location of the shared content from the first interactive region to the second interactive region, as taught by Govindraj, so as to provide a communication interface which provides a fluid, interactive, dynamic way for a user to communicate, share and work on files with a chosen recipient or recipients whether or not in a voice or video call (¶5).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 11 is incorporated, Lum does not mention wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to adjust a visibility of the first interactive region prior to transmission of the interactive audiovisual signal.
Govindraj teaches an electronic device (fig. 15, item 400; ¶157); the electronic device configured to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 12B, item GUI; ¶147, video call = interactive audiovisual signal) having multiple interactive regions (fig. 12B, items 140, 145 = multiple interactive regions), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an original audiovisual signal of a first application (fig. 12B, video call application = first application, item 120S = original audiovisual signal as captured by a camera), the original audiovisual signal received via an image sensor (fig. 15, item 410; ¶157; the selected contact may be the user of fig. 12B) of the electronic device; cause, via a display device of the electronic device, display of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶31, “the plurality of options on the dashboard include one or both of a voice or video call initiation option with the selected contact”); detect user input within a first interactive region of the multiple interactive regions (¶85, “When a user selects a file sharing option from the dashboard 130, depending on the selection, either a window (indicated as 140 in subsequent drawings) will be displayed by the GUI in the main display area 170 so the user can create a file for sharing with the selected contact 120”; ¶148, “The user of the communication interface 100 of FIG. 12B is able, whilst on a video call to selected contact 120, to create or view or edit files in windows 140 and 145”; fig. 12B, item 140 = first interactive region), the user input indicating to include shared content of a second application within a second interactive region of the multiple interactive regions of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶146, “Window 140 and secondary window 145 are transparent, moveable and resizable independently of other objects displayed on the GUI” ¶148 – the user creates item 140 of fig. 12B and moves it by resizing into the second interactive region); and cause transmission, via a network interface of the electronic device (fig. 3; ¶98), of the interactive audiovisual signal in place of the original audiovisual signal of the first application, the interactive audiovisual signal including the shared content within the second interactive region (¶149, “Each window may then be moved and resized independently. When the user shares a file in a multi-user video call, such as the scenario of FIG. 12C, the file is shared automatically with each of the users taking part”); wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to adjust a visibility of the first interactive region prior to transmission of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶146).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the non-transitory machine-readable medium of Lum, such that receiving user input/second user input corresponds to detecting, via the image sensor, a user gesture/second user gesture, resulting in wherein the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to adjust a visibility of the first interactive region prior to transmission of the interactive audiovisual signal, as taught by Govindraj, so as to provide a communication interface which provides a fluid, interactive, dynamic way for a user to communicate, share and work on files with a chosen recipient or recipients whether or not in a voice or video call (¶5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lum as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sakai.
With respect to Claim 14, claim 11 is incorporated, Lum does not mention wherein the first interactive region has a first set of coordinates and the second interactive region has a second set of coordinates, the second set of coordinates having no overlap with the first set of coordinates.
Sakai teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium (claim 17; ¶248, “Note that with the information processing device 100, the processing unit 118 may serve as the control unit (not shown), for example. Also, ROM (not shown) stores programs which the control unit (not shown) uses, and data for processing such as computation parameters and so forth, for example. The RAM (not shown) temporarily stores data and programs executed by the control unit (not shown) for example”) storing machine readable instructions, which, when executed by a controller (fig. 19, item 150; ¶251) of an electronic device (fig. 21, item 100; ¶306), causes the controller to: generate an interactive audiovisual signal (fig. 2; ¶42, imaged image of user comprising the user and area within vicinity of user including items MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4: interactive audiovisual signal) having multiple interactive regions (fig. 2, items MA1, MA2, MA3, and MA4: multiple interactive regions; ¶64), the interactive audiovisual signal to include an original audiovisual signal (fig. 2, video feed of user = original audiovisual signal) of a first application (¶114, first application: videoconferencing), the original audiovisual signal received via an image sensor of the electronic device; cause, via a display device (fig. 21, item 124; ¶307-308) of the electronic device, display of the interactive audiovisual signal (¶310); detect, via the image sensor (fig. 21, item 122), a first user gesture within a first interactive region of the multiple interactive regions (fig. 2, item MA1: first interactive region; ¶66; ¶84; ¶101, predetermined action = first user gesture), wherein the first interactive region has a first set of coordinates (fig. 2, item MA1) and a second interactive region has a second set of coordinates (fig. 2, item MA2), the second set of coordinates having no overlap with the first set of coordinates (fig. 2; ¶72).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the non-transitory machine-readable medium of Lum, wherein the first interactive region has a first set of coordinates and the second interactive region has a second set of coordinates, the second set of coordinates having no overlap with the first set of coordinates, as taught by Sakai, so as to have clear distinguishable regions for performing actions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tian (Pub. No.: US 2013/0342636 A1) see fig. 3 and paragraphs 11-12.
/DONNA V Bocar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621