DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, 17-20 and 22-23 are presented for examination. This office action is response to the submission on 9/10/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/3/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 9/10/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 14, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10: There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the master valve” introduced in line 2. Additionally the term “master valve” is introduced in line 4. For the purposes of examination, examiner interprets claim 10 as follows:
“The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the valves and/or [the] a master valve are electronically actuatable and are communicatively connected to the user electronic device, the valves and/or the master valve being controllable via the user electronic device.”
Claim 14: There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the predetermined level” in line 5. For the purposes of examination, examiner interprets this term to be introduced in this line.
Claim 22: There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the predetermined level” in line 15. For the purposes of examination, examiner interprets this term to be introduced in this line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al. (US20180245801A1) in view of Huang (CN109405049A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Enev et al. (US20170131174A1).
Claim 1:
Schindler teaches “A smart heating system configured to detect leaks, the smart heating system comprising: a boiler for heating water;” (Schindler teaches a boiler 34 in Schindler [0026] "FIG. 1 is diagram of an example hydronic heating system 30 to which the present approach and system may be applied. There may be other hydronic systems having various configurations to which that the present approach may be applied. A pump 31 may be situated on a return line 32, as shown, or situated alternatively on a supply line or pipe 33. Return line or pipe 32 may be connected to an input of a boiler 34." and in Schindler Fig. 1),
“a plurality of radiators;” (Schindler teaches a plurality of radiators in Schindler [0026] "In example system 30, there may be valves 41, 43, 45 and 47 that may be connected to inputs of radiators 42, 44, 46 and 48, respectively. The outputs of the radiators may be connected to return pipe 32." and in Schindler Fig. 1),
“a water circulation system for transporting water heated by the boiler to the radiators and returning water from the radiators to the boiler, each radiator having an inlet and an outlet connected to the water circulation system;” (Schindler teaches a hydronic heating system including a supply line 33 that distributes heated water to the radiators and a return line 32 in Schindler [0026] "FIG. 1 is diagram of an example hydronic heating system 30 to which the present approach and system may be applied. There may be other hydronic systems having various configurations to which that the present approach may be applied. A pump 31 may be situated on a return line 32, as shown, or situated alternatively on a supply line or pipe 33. Return line or pipe 32 may be connected to an input of a boiler 34. A heat exchanger, heater or other fluid heating mechanism may be used in lieu of the boiler. Supply pipe 33 may be connected to an output of boiler 34. A pressure gauge 35 may be attached to supply pipe 33. Also, an expansion tank 36 may be connected to supply pipe 33. Pipe 33 may go to one or valves, each of which may be connected to a radiator or an underfloor heating or radiative mechanism. In example system 30, there may be valves 41, 43, 45 and 47 that may be connected to inputs of radiators 42, 44, 46 and 48, respectively. The outputs of the radiators may be connected to return pipe 32." and in Schindler Fig. 1), and
“a valve at or adjacent to the inlet and/or outlet of each radiator;” (Schindler teaches valves connected to inputs of radiators in Schindler [0026] " Pipe 33 may go to one or valves, each of which may be connected to a radiator or an underfloor heating or radiative mechanism. In example system 30, there may be valves 41, 43, 45 and 47 that may be connected to inputs of radiators 42, 44, 46 and 48, respectively.").
Schindler does not appear to explicitly teach “an electronic pressure gauge at each radiator configured to measure a water pressure in the radiator and/or water circulation system adjacent to the radiator to generate a pressure reading,” However, Huang does teach this claim limitation (Huang teaches multiple radiators 101 which have pressure sensors 108 at the inlet and outlet of each radiator in Huang [0020] "Please refer to Figures 1-4 for an anti-freeze intelligent HVAC system, which includes multiple radiators 101 heated by PVC HVAC main pipes 100. Each radiator 101 is a serpentine metal body, and is fixedly mounted on the surface of a fixing plate 102. Support plates 103 are fixedly connected to both sides of the fixing plate 102, and multiple through holes 104 are formed on the surface of the fixing plate 102. The front end of the support plate 103 is flush with the front end of the fixing plate 102. A hollow movable plate 105 is embedded between the two support plates 103. Multiple protruding cylinders 106, which can be inserted into the through holes 104, are connected to the surface of the movable plate 105. Each convex cylinder 106 has multiple air outlets 107 on its side. The rear end of the moving plate 105 is driven to move back and forth by an electric telescopic rod 108. When the convex cylinder 106 extends outward through the through hole 104, it can be inserted into the gap of the serpentine radiator 101. Each radiator 101 has a pressure sensor 108 installed in its inlet pipe and outlet pipe, and a temperature sensor 109 installed in its outlet pipe. A blower 110 is installed on the side of the support plate 103. The blower outlet pipe 111 is connected to the electric heater 112, and the electric heater outlet pipe 113 is connected to the inside of the moving plate 105." and in Huang Fig. 1).
Schindler and Huang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler and Huang before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang because adding the Anti-freezing type intelligent heating and ventilation system of Huang would allow for preventing a radiator from freezing as described in Huang [0004] “Many radiators are installed near windows. Once the radiator becomes clogged due to scale buildup or other blockages and stops flowing, the temperature inside the radiator will drop rapidly in winter, even below 0°C, causing the fluid inside to freeze. Thawing at this point is very troublesome and can easily lead to the radiator cracking. This invention aims to provide a heating and ventilation system with antifreeze function, and also improves the PVC main pipe for heating.”
Neither Schindler or Huang appear to explicitly teach “an electronic pressure gauge or “and a user electronic device having a user display, the user electronic device being communicatively connected with the electronic pressure gauges so as to be configured to receive the pressure readings and identifiers, and the user electronic device being configured to display pressure readings and identifiers and/or a derivative thereof.” However, Enev does teach these claim limitations.
Enev teaches “an electronic pressure gauge (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can transmit pressure data using a wireless transceiver in Enev [0073-0074] "In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network. In some cases, radio components 511 (e.g., wireless transceiver) can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504. Radio components 511 can transmit the pressure data to the cloud computing system 504, which can also analyze the pressure data."; Enev teaches the leak detection device can include a pressure sensor in Enev [0075] "In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include one or more sensors 520, such as pressure sensor 226 and/or flow sensor 228, as described above in greater detail."; Enev teaches analyzing data from multiple leak detection devices i.e. the devices have an identifier in Enev [0087] "In many embodiments, leak detection device 224 and cloud computing system 504 can analyze the pressure data obtained by pressure sensor 226 to detect an occurrence of leaks and/or types of leaks that have occurred. For example, the pressure data output from pressure sensor 226 can be analyzed by the processor of leak detection device 224 in order to detect leaks, and the pressure data and can be streamed to cloud computing system 504. A cloud computing fabric in the cloud computing system 504 can ingest data sent from multiple deployed leak detection devices, and can analyze the data to perform one or more leak detection techniques."), and
“and a user electronic device having a user display, the user electronic device being communicatively connected with the electronic pressure gauges so as to be configured to receive the pressure readings and identifiers, and the user electronic device being configured to display pressure readings and identifiers and/or a derivative thereof.” (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can communicate with a cloud computing system and a user device in Enev [0073-0074] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1). In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network."; Enev teaches a graphical interface which may include a mobile interface which displays real time displays of pressure readings in Enev [0084] "In many embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can provide scalable analytics and storage as well as elements for notifying users of leaks through graphical interface 506, which may include a mobile or web interface, or another suitable interface. In many embodiments, for example, graphical interface 506 can include a dashboard component 545, which can provide a multi report-cycle view 546, such as reports of events and/or leaks over a time period, aggregated statistics 547, and/or real-time displays 548, such as current status of water system 200 (e.g., whether there are any current leaks detected, pressure readings, fixtures used, etc.).").
Schindler, Huang, and Enev are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler, Huang, and Enev before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler modified to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang to include the user display capable of displaying pressure information from the pressure gauges of Enev because adding the Water leak detection using pressure sensing of Enev would allow for a user to enable or disable fixtures in the system as described in Enev [0031] “The leak detection device and/or the cloud computing system can provide information to a graphical interface of a user device. The graphical interface can include a web interface or a mobile device interface. The graphical interface provides notification and interaction functions for a user of the user device. For example, the graphical interface can communicate or present leak information for the user, and can allow the user to provide input to enable and disable various fixtures in the pressurized system, or to enable or disable various settings (e.g., types of notifications such as reporting alerts, frequency of notifications, types of leaks to report, or any other suitable setting).”
Claim 2:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, wherein each electronic pressure gauge comprises a wireless transmitter configured to transmit the pressure reading and identifier.” (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can communicate with a cloud computing system and a user device using a wireless transceiver in Enev [0073-0074] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1). In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network."; Enev teaches analyzing data from multiple leak detection devices i.e. the devices have an identifier in Enev [0087] "In many embodiments, leak detection device 224 and cloud computing system 504 can analyze the pressure data obtained by pressure sensor 226 to detect an occurrence of leaks and/or types of leaks that have occurred. For example, the pressure data output from pressure sensor 226 can be analyzed by the processor of leak detection device 224 in order to detect leaks, and the pressure data and can be streamed to cloud computing system 504. A cloud computing fabric in the cloud computing system 504 can ingest data sent from multiple deployed leak detection devices, and can analyze the data to perform one or more leak detection techniques.").
Claim 3:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an electronic hub, each electronic pressure gauge being communicatively connected with the electronic hub so as to provide the pressure reading and the identifier to the electronic hub,” (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can communicate with a cloud computing system i.e. an electronic hub using a wireless transceiver in Enev [0073-0074] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1). In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network."; Enev teaches analyzing data from multiple leak detection devices i.e. the devices have an identifier in Enev [0087] "In many embodiments, leak detection device 224 and cloud computing system 504 can analyze the pressure data obtained by pressure sensor 226 to detect an occurrence of leaks and/or types of leaks that have occurred. For example, the pressure data output from pressure sensor 226 can be analyzed by the processor of leak detection device 224 in order to detect leaks, and the pressure data and can be streamed to cloud computing system 504. A cloud computing fabric in the cloud computing system 504 can ingest data sent from multiple deployed leak detection devices, and can analyze the data to perform one or more leak detection techniques."), and
“the user electronic device being communicatively connected with the electronic hub so as to be configured to receive the pressure readings and identifiers therefrom,” (Enev teaches the cloud computing system may provide information to a graphical interface of a user device in Enev [0031] "The leak detection device and/or the cloud computing system can provide information to a graphical interface of a user device. The graphical interface can include a web interface or a mobile device interface. The graphical interface provides notification and interaction functions for a user of the user device. For example, the graphical interface can communicate or present leak information for the user, and can allow the user to provide input to enable and disable various fixtures in the pressurized system, or to enable or disable various settings (e.g., types of notifications such as reporting alerts, frequency of notifications, types of leaks to report, or any other suitable setting)."; Enev teaches a graphical interface which may include a mobile interface which displays real time displays of pressure readings in Enev [0084] "In many embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can provide scalable analytics and storage as well as elements for notifying users of leaks through graphical interface 506, which may include a mobile or web interface, or another suitable interface. In many embodiments, for example, graphical interface 506 can include a dashboard component 545, which can provide a multi report-cycle view 546, such as reports of events and/or leaks over a time period, aggregated statistics 547, and/or real-time displays 548, such as current status of water system 200 (e.g., whether there are any current leaks detected, pressure readings, fixtures used, etc.).").
Claim 4:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 2, further comprising an electronic hub, each electronic pressure gauge being communicatively connected with the electronic hub so as to provide the pressure reading and the identifier to the electronic hub,” (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can communicate with a cloud computing system i.e. an electronic hub using a wireless transceiver in Enev [0073-0074] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1). In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network."; Enev teaches analyzing data from multiple leak detection devices i.e. the devices have an identifier in Enev [0087] "In many embodiments, leak detection device 224 and cloud computing system 504 can analyze the pressure data obtained by pressure sensor 226 to detect an occurrence of leaks and/or types of leaks that have occurred. For example, the pressure data output from pressure sensor 226 can be analyzed by the processor of leak detection device 224 in order to detect leaks, and the pressure data and can be streamed to cloud computing system 504. A cloud computing fabric in the cloud computing system 504 can ingest data sent from multiple deployed leak detection devices, and can analyze the data to perform one or more leak detection techniques."),
“the user electronic device being communicatively connected with the electronic hub so as to be configured to receive the pressure readings and identifiers therefrom,” (Enev teaches the cloud computing system may provide information to a graphical interface of a user device in Enev [0031] "The leak detection device and/or the cloud computing system can provide information to a graphical interface of a user device. The graphical interface can include a web interface or a mobile device interface. The graphical interface provides notification and interaction functions for a user of the user device. For example, the graphical interface can communicate or present leak information for the user, and can allow the user to provide input to enable and disable various fixtures in the pressurized system, or to enable or disable various settings (e.g., types of notifications such as reporting alerts, frequency of notifications, types of leaks to report, or any other suitable setting)."; Enev teaches a graphical interface which may include a mobile interface which displays real time displays of pressure readings in Enev [0084] "In many embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can provide scalable analytics and storage as well as elements for notifying users of leaks through graphical interface 506, which may include a mobile or web interface, or another suitable interface. In many embodiments, for example, graphical interface 506 can include a dashboard component 545, which can provide a multi report-cycle view 546, such as reports of events and/or leaks over a time period, aggregated statistics 547, and/or real-time displays 548, such as current status of water system 200 (e.g., whether there are any current leaks detected, pressure readings, fixtures used, etc.)."), and
“and wherein the electronic hub includes a wireless receiver configured to receive the pressure readings and identifiers from the electronic pressure gauges.” (Enev teaches a streaming gateway 526 to receive pressure measurement data in Enev [0123] "In a number of embodiments, method 1300 additionally can include a block 1302 of communicating the pressure measurement data to one or more processing units. In some embodiments, the one or more processing units can be part of leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) and/or cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5). In some embodiments, when the pressure measurement data is communicated from leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) to cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5), the pressure measurement data can be streamed, such as through radio components 511 (FIG. 5) and/or streaming gateway 526 (FIG. 5).").
Claim 5:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the user electronic device includes a wireless receiver configured to receive the pressure readings and identifiers from the electronic pressure gauges or the electronic hub.” (Enev teaches an access device 108 which may be a cellular telephone which has a network transceiver radio in Enev [0038] "A user can communicate with network devices 102, 104, and 106 using an access device 108. Access device 108 can include any human-to-machine interface with network connection capability that allows access to a network. For example, in some embodiments, access device 108 can include a stand-alone interface (e.g., a cellular telephone, a smartphone, a home computer, a laptop computer, a tablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a computing device, a wearable device such as a smart watch, a wall panel, a keypad, or the like), an interface that is built into an appliance or other device (e.g., a television, a refrigerator, a security system, a game console, a browser, or the like), a speech or gesture interface (e.g., a Kinect™ sensor, a Wiimote™, or the like), an IoT device interface (e.g., an Internet enabled device such as a wall switch, a control interface, or other suitable interface), or the like. In some embodiments, access device 108 can include a cellular or other broadband network transceiver radio or interface, and can be configured to communicate with a cellular or other broadband network using the cellular or broadband network transceiver radio."; Enev teaches the user device may be the device 108 in Enev [0073] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1).").
Claim 6:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a master electronic pressure gauge which is at the water circulation system and which is not at the radiators,” (Schindler teaches a pressure gauge 35 which is adjacent to the boiler i.e. it is a master pressure gauge in Schindler [0026] "FIG. 1 is diagram of an example hydronic heating system 30 to which the present approach and system may be applied. There may be other hydronic systems having various configurations to which that the present approach may be applied. A pump 31 may be situated on a return line 32, as shown, or situated alternatively on a supply line or pipe 33. Return line or pipe 32 may be connected to an input of a boiler 34. A heat exchanger, heater or other fluid heating mechanism may be used in lieu of the boiler. Supply pipe 33 may be connected to an output of boiler 34. A pressure gauge 35 may be attached to supply pipe 33."),
“the master electronic pressure gauge being communicatively connected with the user electronic device so as to provide a master pressure reading to the user electronic device,” (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can transmit pressure data using a wireless transceiver to a user device in Enev [0074] "In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network. In some cases, radio components 511 (e.g., wireless transceiver) can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504. Radio components 511 can transmit the pressure data to the cloud computing system 504, which can also analyze the pressure data."; Enev teaches the leak detection device can include a pressure sensor in Enev [0075] "In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include one or more sensors 520, such as pressure sensor 226 and/or flow sensor 228, as described above in greater detail."), and
“the user electronic device being configured to display the master pressure reading and/or a derivative thereof.” (Enev teaches the cloud computing system may provide information to a graphical interface of a user device in Enev [0031] "The leak detection device and/or the cloud computing system can provide information to a graphical interface of a user device. The graphical interface can include a web interface or a mobile device interface. The graphical interface provides notification and interaction functions for a user of the user device. For example, the graphical interface can communicate or present leak information for the user, and can allow the user to provide input to enable and disable various fixtures in the pressurized system, or to enable or disable various settings (e.g., types of notifications such as reporting alerts, frequency of notifications, types of leaks to report, or any other suitable setting)."; Enev teaches a graphical interface which may include a mobile interface which displays real time displays of pressure readings in Enev [0084] "In many embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can provide scalable analytics and storage as well as elements for notifying users of leaks through graphical interface 506, which may include a mobile or web interface, or another suitable interface. In many embodiments, for example, graphical interface 506 can include a dashboard component 545, which can provide a multi report-cycle view 546, such as reports of events and/or leaks over a time period, aggregated statistics 547, and/or real-time displays 548, such as current status of water system 200 (e.g., whether there are any current leaks detected, pressure readings, fixtures used, etc.).").
Claim 8:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a master valve which is at the water circulation system and which is not at the radiators, configured to close and open the water circulation system.” (Enev teaches the leak detection device may cause water supply to be shut off by sending a signal to a shutoff valve i.e. a master valve in Enev [0108] "In some examples, leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) or cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5) can cause the water supply to be shut off, such as by sending a wireless signal to a network-connected shutoff valve that causes the shutoff valve to turn off the water supply. In some examples, leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) or cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5) can send a notification to a user device of a user (e.g., through graphical interface 506 (FIG. 5) of a mobile application or a web interface, for example). The user can temporarily turn off the water supply from the utility at a main inlet valve, and can send a notification (e.g., using any suitable messaging or email service, or a push notification triggered) from the user device (e.g., graphical interface 506 (FIG. 5) of a mobile application or a web interface) to leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) or cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5) alerting leak detection system 500.").
Claim 10:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the valves and/or the master valve are electronically actuatable and are communicatively connected to the user electronic device, the valves and/or master valve being controllable via the user electronic device.” (Enev teaches a network connected shutoff valve that turns off the water supply i.e. a master valve by sending a signal from the cloud computing system and that the user can temporarily turn off the water supply through the graphical interface 506 in Enev 0108] "In some examples, leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) or cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5) can cause the water supply to be shut off, such as by sending a wireless signal to a network-connected shutoff valve that causes the shutoff valve to turn off the water supply. In some examples, leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) or cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5) can send a notification to a user device of a user (e.g., through graphical interface 506 (FIG. 5) of a mobile application or a web interface, for example). The user can temporarily turn off the water supply from the utility at a main inlet valve, and can send a notification (e.g., using any suitable messaging or email service, or a push notification triggered) from the user device (e.g., graphical interface 506 (FIG. 5) of a mobile application or a web interface) to leak detection device 224 (FIGS. 2, 5-6) or cloud computing system 504 (FIG. 5) alerting leak detection system 500.").
Claim 12:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, wherein each radiator has an electronic pressure gauge upstream of the radiator and downstream of the radiator.” (Huang teaches multiple radiators 101 which have pressure sensors 108 at the inlet and outlet of each radiator in Huang [0020] "Please refer to Figures 1-4 for an anti-freeze intelligent HVAC system, which includes multiple radiators 101 heated by PVC HVAC main pipes 100. Each radiator 101 is a serpentine metal body, and is fixedly mounted on the surface of a fixing plate 102. Support plates 103 are fixedly connected to both sides of the fixing plate 102, and multiple through holes 104 are formed on the surface of the fixing plate 102. The front end of the support plate 103 is flush with the front end of the fixing plate 102. A hollow movable plate 105 is embedded between the two support plates 103. Multiple protruding cylinders 106, which can be inserted into the through holes 104, are connected to the surface of the movable plate 105. Each convex cylinder 106 has multiple air outlets 107 on its side. The rear end of the moving plate 105 is driven to move back and forth by an electric telescopic rod 108. When the convex cylinder 106 extends outward through the through hole 104, it can be inserted into the gap of the serpentine radiator 101. Each radiator 101 has a pressure sensor 108 installed in its inlet pipe and outlet pipe, and a temperature sensor 109 installed in its outlet pipe. A blower 110 is installed on the side of the support plate 103. The blower outlet pipe 111 is connected to the electric heater 112, and the electric heater outlet pipe 113 is connected to the inside of the moving plate 105." and in Huang Fig. 1).
Claim 13:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 12, wherein an upstream electronic pressure gauge is at the inlet of the radiator and a downstream electronic pressure gauge is at the outlet of the radiator.” (Huang teaches multiple radiators 101 which have pressure sensors 108 at the inlet and outlet of each radiator in Huang [0020] "Please refer to Figures 1-4 for an anti-freeze intelligent HVAC system, which includes multiple radiators 101 heated by PVC HVAC main pipes 100. Each radiator 101 is a serpentine metal body, and is fixedly mounted on the surface of a fixing plate 102. Support plates 103 are fixedly connected to both sides of the fixing plate 102, and multiple through holes 104 are formed on the surface of the fixing plate 102. The front end of the support plate 103 is flush with the front end of the fixing plate 102. A hollow movable plate 105 is embedded between the two support plates 103. Multiple protruding cylinders 106, which can be inserted into the through holes 104, are connected to the surface of the movable plate 105. Each convex cylinder 106 has multiple air outlets 107 on its side. The rear end of the moving plate 105 is driven to move back and forth by an electric telescopic rod 108. When the convex cylinder 106 extends outward through the through hole 104, it can be inserted into the gap of the serpentine radiator 101. Each radiator 101 has a pressure sensor 108 installed in its inlet pipe and outlet pipe, and a temperature sensor 109 installed in its outlet pipe. A blower 110 is installed on the side of the support plate 103. The blower outlet pipe 111 is connected to the electric heater 112, and the electric heater outlet pipe 113 is connected to the inside of the moving plate 105." and in Huang Fig. 1).
Claim 18:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radiators are connected to the water circulation system in parallel.” (Schindler teaches the radiators being in parallel in Schindler Fig. 1).
Claim 19:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the user electronic device is a smart telephone.” (Enev teaches an access device 108 which may be a cellular telephone which has a network transceiver radio in Enev [0038] "A user can communicate with network devices 102, 104, and 106 using an access device 108. Access device 108 can include any human-to-machine interface with network connection capability that allows access to a network. For example, in some embodiments, access device 108 can include a stand-alone interface (e.g., a cellular telephone, a smartphone, a home computer, a laptop computer, a tablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a computing device, a wearable device such as a smart watch, a wall panel, a keypad, or the like), an interface that is built into an appliance or other device (e.g., a television, a refrigerator, a security system, a game console, a browser, or the like), a speech or gesture interface (e.g., a Kinect™ sensor, a Wiimote™, or the like), an IoT device interface (e.g., an Internet enabled device such as a wall switch, a control interface, or other suitable interface), or the like. In some embodiments, access device 108 can include a cellular or other broadband network transceiver radio or interface, and can be configured to communicate with a cellular or other broadband network using the cellular or broadband network transceiver radio."; Enev teaches the user device may be the device 108 in Enev [0073] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1).").
Claims 7, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al. (US20180245801A1) in view of Huang (CN109405049A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Enev et al. (US20170131174A1), further in view of Winterholler et al. (US20200158595A1).
Claim 7:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 6,” as described above. Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev additionally teaches “electronic pressure gauges… communicatively connected with the user electronic device so as to provide a plurality of water-circulation-system pressure readings to the user electronic device, the user electronic device being configured to display the plurality of water-circulation-system pressure readings and/or a derivative thereof.” (Enev teaches the cloud computing system may provide information to a graphical interface of a user device in Enev [0031] "The leak detection device and/or the cloud computing system can provide information to a graphical interface of a user device. The graphical interface can include a web interface or a mobile device interface. The graphical interface provides notification and interaction functions for a user of the user device. For example, the graphical interface can communicate or present leak information for the user, and can allow the user to provide input to enable and disable various fixtures in the pressurized system, or to enable or disable various settings (e.g., types of notifications such as reporting alerts, frequency of notifications, types of leaks to report, or any other suitable setting)."; Enev teaches a graphical interface which may include a mobile interface which displays real time displays of pressure readings in Enev [0084] "In many embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can provide scalable analytics and storage as well as elements for notifying users of leaks through graphical interface 506, which may include a mobile or web interface, or another suitable interface. In many embodiments, for example, graphical interface 506 can include a dashboard component 545, which can provide a multi report-cycle view 546, such as reports of events and/or leaks over a time period, aggregated statistics 547, and/or real-time displays 548, such as current status of water system 200 (e.g., whether there are any current leaks detected, pressure readings, fixtures used, etc.).").
None of Schindler, Huang, or Enev appear to explicitly teach “wherein there are a plurality of electronic pressure gauges which are at the water circulation system and which are not at the radiators,” however, Winterholler does teach this claim limitation (Winterholler teaches multiple pressure sensors distributed through a circulation system in Winterholler [0029] "Three circulation lines 10, 12 and 14 are connected to the supply line 6 and the drain 8, each having an inlet valve 16, 18 and 20, an outlet valve 22, 24 and 26 and a pressure sensor 28, 30 and 32. The inlet valves 16, 18 and 20 and the outlet valves 22, 24 and 26 are electrically controllable." And in Winterholler Fig. 1; Winterholler teaches determining a leak location based on the amount of pressure change at the sensor in Winterholler [0041] "To detect a leakage in the circulation line 10, the pressure change (dP/dt) is then compared with a limit value and if the amount of pressure change (dP/dt) exceeds the limit value, a leakage is detected and the location of the leakage is located between the two valves 16 and 22.").
Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Winterholler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Winterholler before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler modified to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang further modified to include the user display capable of displaying pressure information from the pressure gauges of Enev to include the pressure sensors through a water distribution system of Winterholler because adding the Arrangement and Method for Detecting Leaks in a Water Pipe System of Winterholler would allow for determination of location of a leak as described in Winterholler [0041] "To detect a leakage in the circulation line 10, the pressure change (dP/dt) is then compared with a limit value and if the amount of pressure change (dP/dt) exceeds the limit value, a leakage is detected and the location of the leakage is located between the two valves 16 and 22.").
Claim 9:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev, further in view of Winterholler teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 8, wherein there are a plurality of valves which are at the water circulation system and which are not at the radiators, configured to isolate portions of the water circulation system.” (Winterholler teaches actuating valves to shut off a section i.e. isolate portions of the system in Winterholler [0038] "During the operating mode, a test mode is activated when the time slot is reached, at the beginning of which a section is shut off by means of two valves. For example, the circulation line 10 is tested and the valves 16 and 22 are closed by means of control means 34. For this purpose, the control means 34 transmit the corresponding control signals via the radio connection to the valves 16 and 22.").
Claim 20:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev, further in view of Winterholler teaches “A method of identifying a location of a leak in a heating system, the method comprising the steps of: a) providing a smart heating system as claimed in claim 1;” (As described above in claim 1 rejection),
“b) the electronic pressure gauges at the radiators” (Huang teaches multiple radiators 101 which have pressure sensors 108 at the inlet and outlet of each radiator in Huang [0020] "Please refer to Figures 1-4 for an anti-freeze intelligent HVAC system, which includes multiple radiators 101 heated by PVC HVAC main pipes 100. Each radiator 101 is a serpentine metal body, and is fixedly mounted on the surface of a fixing plate 102. Support plates 103 are fixedly connected to both sides of the fixing plate 102, and multiple through holes 104 are formed on the surface of the fixing plate 102. The front end of the support plate 103 is flush with the front end of the fixing plate 102. A hollow movable plate 105 is embedded between the two support plates 103. Multiple protruding cylinders 106, which can be inserted into the through holes 104, are connected to the surface of the movable plate 105. Each convex cylinder 106 has multiple air outlets 107 on its side. The rear end of the moving plate 105 is driven to move back and forth by an electric telescopic rod 108. When the convex cylinder 106 extends outward through the through hole 104, it can be inserted into the gap of the serpentine radiator 101. Each radiator 101 has a pressure sensor 108 installed in its inlet pipe and outlet pipe, and a temperature sensor 109 installed in its outlet pipe. A blower 110 is installed on the side of the support plate 103. The blower outlet pipe 111 is connected to the electric heater 112, and the electric heater outlet pipe 113 is connected to the inside of the moving plate 105." and in Huang Fig. 1),
“b) the electronic pressure gauges (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can communicate with a cloud computing system and a user device in Enev [0073-0074] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1). In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network."; Enev teaches analyzing data from multiple leak detection devices i.e. the devices have an identifier in Enev [0087] "In many embodiments, leak detection device 224 and cloud computing system 504 can analyze the pressure data obtained by pressure sensor 226 to detect an occurrence of leaks and/or types of leaks that have occurred. For example, the pressure data output from pressure sensor 226 can be analyzed by the processor of leak detection device 224 in order to detect leaks, and the pressure data and can be streamed to cloud computing system 504. A cloud computing fabric in the cloud computing system 504 can ingest data sent from multiple deployed leak detection devices, and can analyze the data to perform one or more leak detection techniques."), and
“c) determining a discrepancy in the pressure readings and identifying the location of the leak based on the identifier associated with the or each pressure reading having the discrepancy.” (Winterholler teaches multiple pressure sensors in Winterholler [0029] "Three circulation lines 10, 12 and 14 are connected to the supply line 6 and the drain 8, each having an inlet valve 16, 18 and 20, an outlet valve 22, 24 and 26 and a pressure sensor 28, 30 and 32. The inlet valves 16, 18 and 20 and the outlet valves 22, 24 and 26 are electrically controllable."; Winterholler teaches determining a leak location based on the amount of pressure change at the sensor in Winterholler [0041] "To detect a leakage in the circulation line 10, the pressure change (dP/dt) is then compared with a limit value and if the amount of pressure change (dP/dt) exceeds the limit value, a leakage is detected and the location of the leakage is located between the two valves 16 and 22.").
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al. (US20180245801A1) in view of Huang (CN109405049A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Enev et al. (US20170131174A1), further in view of Mess et al. (US20200264068A1).
Claim 11:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1,” as described above.
None of Schindler, Huang, or Enev appear to explicitly teach “wherein the electronic pressure gauge and the valve at a given radiator are contained within one housing.” however, Mess does teach this claim limitation (Mess teaches a leak detection device comprising a housing 122 which encloses a valve 106 and a pressure sensor 102 in Mess [0035] "FIGS. 1A-1C show multiple diagrams depicting an example leak detection device 100 according to example embodiments of the current disclosure. The leak detection device 100 can include a pressure sensor 102, an ultrasonic flow sensor 104 and a shut-off valve 106. The pressure sensor 102, the ultrasonic flow sensor 104 and the shut-off valve 106 can be placed or fixed in connection with a plumbing tailpiece 108. In general, the pressure sensor 102, the ultrasonic flow sensor 104 or the shut-off valve 106 can be secured to (or arranged in connection with) a hollow structure, such as the plumbing tailpiece 108, a pipe, a fitting or the like. The shut-off valve 106 can include an electric motor 110, a shaft 112 and a valve ball 114 mechanically coupled to the shaft 112. The leak detection device 100 can include electric circuitry 116 and a power override box 118 electrically coupled to the electric circuitry 116. The leak detection device 100 can include a temperature and/or humidity sensor 120. The leak detection device 100 can include a housing 122 that encloses the electric motor 110, the valve shaft 112, the electric circuitry 116, the power override box 118, the temperature and/or humidity sensor 120 and a portion of the plumbing tailpiece 108.", Mess [0035] "The housing 122 can enclose various components of the leak detection device 100. For instance, the housing 122 can enclose the pressure sensor and components thereof, the flow sensor and components thereof, the shut-off valve and components thereof, the electric circuitry 116, the temperature and/or humidity sensor 120 and a substantial portion of the plumbing tailpiece 108. The pipe connectors 128 and 130 can be located outside the housing 122 to allow coupling with pipes of the fluid distribution system." and in Mess Fig. 1A).
Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Mess are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Mess before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler modified to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang further modified to include the user display capable of displaying pressure information from the pressure gauges of Enev to include the electronic valve and pressure sensor in a housing of Mess because adding the Systems and methods for fluid leak detection of Mess would allow for a housing containing the pressure sensor and shut-off valve, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as simplifying installation of the sensor and valve as described in Mess [0035] "The housing 122 can enclose various components of the leak detection device 100. For instance, the housing 122 can enclose the pressure sensor and components thereof, the flow sensor and components thereof, the shut-off valve and components thereof, the electric circuitry 116, the temperature and/or humidity sensor 120 and a substantial portion of the plumbing tailpiece 108. The pipe connectors 128 and 130 can be located outside the housing 122 to allow coupling with pipes of the fluid distribution system. The housing 122 can include the switch 124 (e.g., a membrane switch) to allow manual activation or deactivation of the leak detection device 100 or the corresponding shut-off valve 106. In some implementation, the leak detection device (or system) 100 can include a plurality of devices.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al. (US20180245801A1) in view of Huang (CN109405049A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Enev et al. (US20170131174A1), further in view of Cooper (US7574896B1).
Claim 14:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1,” as described above.
None of Schindler, Huang, or Enev appear to explicitly teach “wherein each electronic pressure gauge of a radiator includes a visual indicator configured to emit a light when the pressure reading is below the predetermined level.” however, Cooper does teach this claim limitation (Cooper teaches a leak monitoring device that includes a leak fault lamp that indicates a leak if a pressure has dropped in Cooper [Column 14 line 65 - Column 15 line 18] "if flow is not indicated for longer than the surge time (TM-5) within the surge window time (TM-6), then the following occurs: if the low flow leak timer (TM-8) had expired when the pressure dropped, then the following occurs: the leak failure count (RG-1) is increased by one; if the leak failure count (RG-1) reaches its limit, then the following occurs: the valve 114′ (CV-1) is turned off (closed); the red leak fault lamp 134′ (PL-5) lights; the leak guard light 142′ (PL-4) is turned off; the Current State is set to leak fault; and the unit 100′ waits for Reset input;").
Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Cooper are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Cooper before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler modified to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang further modified to include the user display capable of displaying pressure information from the pressure gauges of Enev to include the leak fault lamp of Cooper because adding the Leak detection and control of Cooper would allow for protection of leakage while avoiding complexities as described in Cooper [Column 2 lines 21-36] "Significantly, by the invention, the art is advanced in kind. In more commonly and broadly encountered situations, residential, commercial and institutional water lines can be protected against leakage automatically and with great efficiency with embodiments of the invention. The invention avoids complexities and uncertainties of known devices, and is highly reliable. It can generally discriminate between controlled and uncontrolled pressure decay at very low flow rates, i.e., those below detection by a flow switch, the former represented, for example, by replenishment in a refrigerator's ice-maker, the latter, an unwanted leak. It is cost-efficient to manufacture, install, and operate. Also, the three-valve manifold allows easy service and by-pass in the event water is desired for delivery during a power failure.”
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al. (US20180245801A1) in view of Huang (CN109405049A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Enev et al. (US20170131174A1), further in view of Gustafsson (US20180335791A1).
Claim 14:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “The smart heating system as claimed in claim 1,” as described above.
None of Schindler, Huang, or Enev appear to explicitly teach “wherein the radiators are connected to the water circulation system in series.” however, Gustafsson does teach this claim limitation (Gustafsson teaches radiators may be connected in series in Gustafsson [0041] "With reference to FIG. 2b , the principles of a more elaborate adjustment, based on fixed valve coefficient control elements, is illustrated. Here, all balancing valves 14a-c are left completely open. Instead, each radiator is provided with an individually selected flow regulator 16 with a fixed valve coefficient (Cv-value). It is noted that each radiator in a branch typically will be subject to an individual pressure, and therefore have a flow regulator with an individual Cv-value so that the flow through each radiator of the same type will be essentially equal. The radiators in FIG. 2b are connected in parallel, and in this case the flow regulators are arranged immediately downstream each radiator, i.e. on the outlet of the radiator. If the radiators are connected in series, it may be sufficient with one flow regulator for each series of radiators. An example of a flow regulator 16 with fixed valve coefficient is illustrated in FIG. 3. In this particular example, the Cv-value is 0.06.").
Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Gustafsson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Gustafsson before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler modified to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang further modified to include the user display capable of displaying pressure information from the pressure gauges of Enev to include teaching of radiators connected in series of Gustafsson because adding the Method For Adjusting A Climate System of Gustafsson would allow for use of just one flow regulator for each series of radiators, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a cost savings as described in Gustafsson [0041] "With reference to FIG. 2b , the principles of a more elaborate adjustment, based on fixed valve coefficient control elements, is illustrated. Here, all balancing valves 14a-c are left completely open. Instead, each radiator is provided with an individually selected flow regulator 16 with a fixed valve coefficient (Cv-value). It is noted that each radiator in a branch typically will be subject to an individual pressure, and therefore have a flow regulator with an individual Cv-value so that the flow through each radiator of the same type will be essentially equal. The radiators in FIG. 2b are connected in parallel, and in this case the flow regulators are arranged immediately downstream each radiator, i.e. on the outlet of the radiator. If the radiators are connected in series, it may be sufficient with one flow regulator for each series of radiators. An example of a flow regulator 16 with fixed valve coefficient is illustrated in FIG. 3. In this particular example, the Cv-value is 0.06."
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al. (US20180245801A1) in view of Huang (CN109405049A) (citations to examiner provided translation), further in view of Enev et al. (US20170131174A1), further in view of Mess et al. (US20200264068A1).
Claim 22:
Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev teaches “A heating-system-leak-detecting device for a smart heating system as claimed in claim 1” as described above. Schindler in view of Huang, further in view of Enev additionally teaches “an electronic pressure gauge (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can transmit pressure data using a wireless transceiver in Enev [0073-0074] "In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network. In some cases, radio components 511 (e.g., wireless transceiver) can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504. Radio components 511 can transmit the pressure data to the cloud computing system 504, which can also analyze the pressure data."; Enev teaches the leak detection device can include a pressure sensor in Enev [0075] "In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include one or more sensors 520, such as pressure sensor 226 and/or flow sensor 228, as described above in greater detail."; Enev teaches analyzing data from multiple leak detection devices i.e. the devices have an identifier in Enev [0087] "In many embodiments, leak detection device 224 and cloud computing system 504 can analyze the pressure data obtained by pressure sensor 226 to detect an occurrence of leaks and/or types of leaks that have occurred. For example, the pressure data output from pressure sensor 226 can be analyzed by the processor of leak detection device 224 in order to detect leaks, and the pressure data and can be streamed to cloud computing system 504. A cloud computing fabric in the cloud computing system 504 can ingest data sent from multiple deployed leak detection devices, and can analyze the data to perform one or more leak detection techniques.").
None of Schindler, Huang, or Enev appear to explicitly teach “the heating-system-leak-detecting device comprising: a housing; a valve in the housing; an electronic pressure gauge in the housing configured to measure a water pressure in the radiator and/or water circulation system adjacent to the radiator to generate a pressure reading,” or “a wireless transmitter in the housing configured to transmit the pressure reading and identifier;” however, Mess does teach these claim limitations.
Mess teaches “the heating-system-leak-detecting device comprising: a housing; a valve in the housing; an electronic pressure gauge in the housing configured to measure a water pressure in the radiator and/or water circulation system adjacent to the radiator to generate a pressure reading,” (Mess teaches a leak detection device comprising a housing 122 which encloses a valve 106 and a pressure sensor 102 in Mess [0035] "FIGS. 1A-1C show multiple diagrams depicting an example leak detection device 100 according to example embodiments of the current disclosure. The leak detection device 100 can include a pressure sensor 102, an ultrasonic flow sensor 104 and a shut-off valve 106. The pressure sensor 102, the ultrasonic flow sensor 104 and the shut-off valve 106 can be placed or fixed in connection with a plumbing tailpiece 108. In general, the pressure sensor 102, the ultrasonic flow sensor 104 or the shut-off valve 106 can be secured to (or arranged in connection with) a hollow structure, such as the plumbing tailpiece 108, a pipe, a fitting or the like. The shut-off valve 106 can include an electric motor 110, a shaft 112 and a valve ball 114 mechanically coupled to the shaft 112. The leak detection device 100 can include electric circuitry 116 and a power override box 118 electrically coupled to the electric circuitry 116. The leak detection device 100 can include a temperature and/or humidity sensor 120. The leak detection device 100 can include a housing 122 that encloses the electric motor 110, the valve shaft 112, the electric circuitry 116, the power override box 118, the temperature and/or humidity sensor 120 and a portion of the plumbing tailpiece 108.", Mess [0035] "The housing 122 can enclose various components of the leak detection device 100. For instance, the housing 122 can enclose the pressure sensor and components thereof, the flow sensor and components thereof, the shut-off valve and components thereof, the electric circuitry 116, the temperature and/or humidity sensor 120 and a substantial portion of the plumbing tailpiece 108. The pipe connectors 128 and 130 can be located outside the housing 122 to allow coupling with pipes of the fluid distribution system." and in Mess Fig. 1A), and
“a wireless transmitter in the housing configured to transmit the pressure reading;” (Mess teaches the leak detection device transmitting data and signals wirelessly in Mess [0036] "FIG. 2 shows a block diagram illustrating an environment for fluid leak detection and management 200. The environment 200 can include the leak detection device (or system) 100, one or more client devices 202 with a client application 204 executing thereon, one or more computing devices 206 or a combination thereof. The leak detection device 100 can be communicatively coupled to the client device(s) 202 and/or the computing device 206 via a communication network 208. The communication network 208 can include a wired network, a wireless network, a local area network, a wide area network, an optical network or a combination thereof. The leak detection device (or system) 100 can transmit or receive signals (or data) to, or from, the client device(s) 202 or the computing device(s) 206 via the respective radio interface (or other communication interface) and the communication network 208." and in Mess [0037] "The leak detection device (or system) 100 can communicate fluid flow rate measurements (e.g., fluid flow rate or cumulative fluid usage data), pressure measurements, temperature and/or humidity measurements or a combination thereof to the computing device(s) 206 or the client device 202.").
Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Mess are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler, Huang, Enev, and Mess before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler modified to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang further modified to include the user display capable of displaying pressure information from the pressure gauges of Enev to include the electronic valve and pressure sensor in a housing of Mess because adding the Systems and methods for fluid leak detection of Mess would allow for a housing containing the pressure sensor and shut-off valve, which a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize as simplifying installation of the sensor and valve as described in Mess [0035] "The housing 122 can enclose various components of the leak detection device 100. For instance, the housing 122 can enclose the pressure sensor and components thereof, the flow sensor and components thereof, the shut-off valve and components thereof, the electric circuitry 116, the temperature and/or humidity sensor 120 and a substantial portion of the plumbing tailpiece 108. The pipe connectors 128 and 130 can be located outside the housing 122 to allow coupling with pipes of the fluid distribution system. The housing 122 can include the switch 124 (e.g., a membrane switch) to allow manual activation or deactivation of the leak detection device 100 or the corresponding shut-off valve 106. In some implementation, the leak detection device (or system) 100 can include a plurality of devices.”
None of None of Schindler, Huang, Enev, or Mess appear to explicitly teach “and a visual indicator in the housing is configured to emit a light when the pressure reading is below the predetermined level.” however, Cooper does teach this claim limitation (Cooper teaches a leak monitoring device that includes a leak fault lamp that indicates a leak if a pressure has dropped in Cooper [Column 14 line 65 - Column 15 line 18] "if flow is not indicated for longer than the surge time (TM-5) within the surge window time (TM-6), then the following occurs: if the low flow leak timer (TM-8) had expired when the pressure dropped, then the following occurs: the leak failure count (RG-1) is increased by one; if the leak failure count (RG-1) reaches its limit, then the following occurs: the valve 114′ (CV-1) is turned off (closed); the red leak fault lamp 134′ (PL-5) lights; the leak guard light 142′ (PL-4) is turned off; the Current State is set to leak fault; and the unit 100′ waits for Reset input;").
Schindler, Huang, Enev, Mess, and Cooper are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Schindler, Huang, Enev, Mess, and Cooper before him/her, to modify the teachings of Evaluation of heating liquid pressure drops in a hydronic heating system of Schindler modified to include the radiators with pressure sensors at the inlet and outlet of each radiator of Huang further modified to include the user display capable of displaying pressure information from the pressure gauges of Enev further modified to include the electronic valve and pressure sensor in a housing of Mess to include the leak fault lamp of Cooper because adding the Leak detection and control of Cooper would allow for protection of leakage while avoiding complexities as described in Cooper [Column 2 lines 21-36] "Significantly, by the invention, the art is advanced in kind. In more commonly and broadly encountered situations, residential, commercial and institutional water lines can be protected against leakage automatically and with great efficiency with embodiments of the invention. The invention avoids complexities and uncertainties of known devices, and is highly reliable. It can generally discriminate between controlled and uncontrolled pressure decay at very low flow rates, i.e., those below detection by a flow switch, the former represented, for example, by replenishment in a refrigerator's ice-maker, the latter, an unwanted leak. It is cost-efficient to manufacture, install, and operate. Also, the three-valve manifold allows easy service and by-pass in the event water is desired for delivery during a power failure.”
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enev et al. (US20170131174A1) in view of Winterholler et al. (US20200158595A1).
Claim 23:
Enev teaches “A smart water system comprising: a water distribution system;” (Enev teaches a water system that supplies water to fixtures i.e. a water distribution system in Enev [0053] "In several embodiments, water system 200 can include cold water lines 232 and hot water lines 234 that supply cold and hot water respectively to various fixtures in water system 200."),
“a plurality of electronic pressure gauges, each electronic pressure gauge (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can communicate with a cloud computing system and a user device using a wireless transceiver in Enev [0073-0074] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1). In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network."; Enev teaches analyzing data from multiple leak detection devices i.e. the devices have an identifier in Enev [0087] "In many embodiments, leak detection device 224 and cloud computing system 504 can analyze the pressure data obtained by pressure sensor 226 to detect an occurrence of leaks and/or types of leaks that have occurred. For example, the pressure data output from pressure sensor 226 can be analyzed by the processor of leak detection device 224 in order to detect leaks, and the pressure data and can be streamed to cloud computing system 504. A cloud computing fabric in the cloud computing system 504 can ingest data sent from multiple deployed leak detection devices, and can analyze the data to perform one or more leak detection techniques."), and
“and a user electronic device having a user display, the user electronic device being communicatively connected with the electronic pressure gauges so as to be configured to receive the pressure readings and identifiers, and the user electronic device being configured to display pressure readings and identifiers and/or a derivative thereof.” (Enev teaches a leak detection device that can communicate with a cloud computing system and a user device in Enev [0073-0074] "Returning to FIG. 5, in a number of embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components that can allow leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 and, in some cases, with a user device (e.g., a user mobile device) that executes and presents graphical interface 506 to a user. In other embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can communicate with the user device and present graphical interface 506 to the user. In a number of embodiments, the user device can be similar or identical to access device 108 (FIG. 1). In several embodiments, leak detection device 224 can include connectivity components 510, which can include radio components 511, such as a wireless transceiver radio or interface, such as a WiFi™ transceiver radio or interface, a Bluetooth™transceiver radio or interface, a Zigbee™ transceiver radio or interface, an UWB transceiver radio or interface, a WiFi-Direct transceiver radio or interface, a BLE transceiver radio or interface, an IR transceiver, and/or any other wireless network transceiver radio or interface that allows leak detection device 224 to communicate with cloud computing system 504 or the user device over a wired or wireless network."; Enev teaches a graphical interface which may include a mobile interface which displays real time displays of pressure readings in Enev [0084] "In many embodiments, cloud computing system 504 can provide scalable analytics and storage as well as elements for notifying users of leaks through graphical interface 506, which may include a mobile or web interface, or another suitable interface. In many embodiments, for example, graphical interface 506 can include a dashboard component 545, which can provide a multi report-cycle view 546, such as reports of events and/or leaks over a time period, aggregated statistics 547, and/or real-time displays 548, such as current status of water system 200 (e.g., whether there are any current leaks detected, pressure readings, fixtures used, etc.).").
Enev does not appear to explicitly teach “a plurality of valves distributed around the water distribution system; a plurality of electronic pressure gauges, each electronic pressure gauge being at or adjacent to a valve and configured to measure a water pressure in the water distribution system adjacent to the valve to generate a pressure reading,” however, Winterholler does teach this claim limitation (Winterholler teaches multiple pressure sensors in Winterholler [0029] "Three circulation lines 10, 12 and 14 are connected to the supply line 6 and the drain 8, each having an inlet valve 16, 18 and 20, an outlet valve 22, 24 and 26 and a pressure sensor 28, 30 and 32. The inlet valves 16, 18 and 20 and the outlet valves 22, 24 and 26 are electrically controllable."; Winterholler teaches determining a leak location based on the amount of pressure change at the sensor in Winterholler [0041] "To detect a leakage in the circulation line 10, the pressure change (dP/dt) is then compared with a limit value and if the amount of pressure change (dP/dt) exceeds the limit value, a leakage is detected and the location of the leakage is located between the two valves 16 and 22.").
Enev and Winterholler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of distributing water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Enev and Winterholler before him/her, to Water leak detection using pressure sensing of Enev to include the pressure sensors through a water distribution system of Winterholler because adding the Arrangement and Method for Detecting Leaks in a Water Pipe System of Winterholler would allow for determination of location of a leak as described in Winterholler [0041] "To detect a leakage in the circulation line 10, the pressure change (dP/dt) is then compared with a limit value and if the amount of pressure change (dP/dt) exceeds the limit value, a leakage is detected and the location of the leakage is located between the two valves 16 and 22.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rudd et al. (US20200393324A1) teaches a smart water valve that can detect a likelihood of leaking in Rudd [0035], a model that can predict which device is leaking water in Rudd [0053], and if a leak is detected it can close a valve in Rudd [0062].
/Z.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116