DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed on May 21st, 2026. Claims 1, 6, and 11-15 have been amended. Claims 16-18 have been added. Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1-18 remain rejected in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome each and every objection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 26th, 2026.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, and similarly claims 6 and 11, filed on May 21st, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 regarding that the prior art does not teach the limitation(s): "retrieve, from the non-volatile memory, a stored user selection corresponding to an area of the display panel" and "adjust, in response to receiving the enable signal, the area of the display panel corresponding to the user selection" have been fully considered. Arguments are directed toward the prior art of Sun (CN-104575443-A) and Kallamballe et al. (US-2020/0234450-A1).
3. First, regarding arguments directed toward: “retrieve, from the non-volatile memory, a stored user selection corresponding to an area of the display panel,” have been considered but are moot because of new grounds for rejection. It is the combination of Sun, Kallamballe, and Kim et al. (US-2002/0180812-A1) that discloses this limitation. Specifically, Sun discloses: “retrieve, from the non-volatile memory, a stored user selection corresponding to” (disclosed in Sun, page 6, [0035]) and Kim discloses a stored “area of the display panel” (disclosed in Kim, [0051]). Please see rejection below.
4. Regarding arguments directed toward: "adjust, in response to receiving the enable signal, the area of the display panel corresponding to the user selection,” it is the combination of Sun, Kallamballe, and Kim that discloses this limitation. Specifically, Sun is relied upon for “adjust … the area of the display panel corresponding to the user selection” (disclosed in Sun, page 6, [0035]; page 4, [0007]; page 6, [0032]; and page 5, [0028]) and Kallamballe is relied upon for “in response to receiving the enable signal.” (disclosed in Kallamballe, [0015], [0028], and [0055]). In addition, Kim further supports a display adjustment “in response to receiving the enable signal” in [0126]: “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.” The argument that the motivation to combine Sun and Kallamballe "does not address why one skilled in the art would ... implement a store-then-retrieve workflow, where a stored user selection is retrieved from non-volatile memory in response to an enable signal" (Applicant’s remarks, page 9, ¶ 2) is moot because it relies upon newly amended claim language that was not previously included in the independent claims. Thus, for the reasons discussed above, Sun, Kallamballe, and Kim discloses the limitation: “adjust, in response to receiving the enable signal, the area of the display panel corresponding to the user selection.”
5. Regarding arguments directed toward claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15, they are dependent on independent claims 1, 6, and 11 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent claim 1, and similarly claims 6 and 11. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with their combination, have previously been established and explained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN-104575443-A) in view of Kallamballe et al. (US-2020/0234450-A1, hereinafter "Kallamballe"), and further in view of Kim et al. (US-2002/0180812-A1, hereinafter "Kim"). (Examiner’s note: Citations to Sun use the original CN-104575443-A document locations.)
8. As per claim 1, Sun discloses: A display monitor comprising:
a display panel; (Sun, page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area …”)
an embedded processor [[communicatively coupled to the display panel; and]] (See Sun, page 6-7, [0037] below.)
a non-volatile memory [[communicatively coupled to the embedded processor,]] the memory storing instructions that when executed cause the embedded processor to: (Sun, page 6-7, [0037], “The present invention can be implemented at least in part in computer program code of tangible machine-readable storage media (e.g., random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROMs), optical discs, digital laser discs, Blu-ray discs, hard disk drives, flash memory or other tangible machine-readable storage media), wherein when the computer program code is loaded and executed on a computer, the computer becomes a device for implementing the present invention. The present invention can be implemented at least in some form of computer program code, whether loaded and/or executed on a computer, and when the computer program code is loaded and executed on a computer, the computer becomes a device for implementing the present invention. When a processor is implemented for general purposes, computer program code distinguishes the configuration of the processor to create a specific logic circuit. This invention can be implemented, at least in part, in digital signal processors constructed from application-specific integrated circuits, thereby fulfilling the purpose of this invention.”)
[[receive an enable signal corresponding to an onscreen display input;]]
retrieve, from the non-volatile memory, a stored user selection corresponding to [[an area of the display panel; and]] (Sun, Fig. 4; page 6, [0035], “Figure 4 shows a flowchart of a partial adjustment of screen brightness according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. Then, in step S4, the brightness adjustment unit 12 adjusts the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value. When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value.” and page 6, [0032], “The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and page 4, [0003], “In current mobile devices, the touch display device consumes a lot of power, and the brightness of the touch display device is mostly set by the user through the software provided by the system.”; Examiner’s note: Sun discloses in page 6, [0032] that “the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” This process stores the user’s desired preset values for minimum brightness and radius. As disclosed by Fig. 4 and [0035], Step S2 is shown as the process that stores these user settings. Then, in Step S6, at a time later in the process, when a touch point on the display is pressed as a separate action from the user, the preset brightness values and radius are recalled from storage and used to adjust the screen.)
adjust, [[in response to receiving the enable signal,]] the area of the display panel corresponding to the user selection. (Sun, page 6, [0035], “Figure 4 shows a flowchart of a partial adjustment of screen brightness according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. Then, in step S4, the brightness adjustment unit 12 adjusts the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value. When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value. … Conversely, if the touch display area A1 is pressed within a certain time, the brightness value of the circular area C1 will continue to be maintained at the preset brightness value.” and page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area; the brightness adjustment unit is used to adjust the brightness value of the touch display area, wherein the brightness adjustment operation further includes: adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area to a minimum brightness value, and when a touch point in the touch display area is pressed, the brightness adjustment unit increases the brightness value of an area formed based on the touch point to a preset brightness value.” and page 6, [0032], “The detection unit 14 detects the position of the pressed touch point P1, which is any point on the touch display area A1 displayed by the touch display device 10. The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and page 6, [0033], “Referring to Figures 1 and 3, when a user presses the touch point P1 on the touch display panel 32, the detection unit 14 detects, for example, the capacitance change of the electrode (not shown) on the touch display panel 32 to determine the position of the touch point P1.” and page 5, [0028], “The operation of adjusting the brightness of the touch display area A1 also includes adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value, ... wherein the area is, for example, a circular area, a rectangular area, a triangular area, a square area or a trapezoidal area.”)
9. Sun doesn't explicitly disclose but Kallamballe discloses: [[an embedded processor]] communicatively coupled to the display panel; and (See Kallamballe, [0008], [0079], [0011], and [0089] below.)
[[a non-volatile memory]] communicatively coupled to the embedded processor, [[the memory storing instructions that when executed cause the embedded processor to:]] (Kallamballe, [0008], “An apparatus for adjusting a display is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory.” and Kallamballe, [0079], “The processor 540 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof).” and [0011], “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for identifying a number of pixels of a background region of the display and a gray level value that corresponds to the background region based on the source surface pipe programming, where the first histogram may be determined based on the number of pixels and the gray level value.” and [0089], “The various illustrative blocks, components, and modules described in connection with the disclosure herein may be implemented or performed with a general-purpose processor, a DSP, an ASIC, an FPGA, or other programmable logic device …”)
receive an enable signal corresponding to [[an onscreen display input;]] (Kallamballe, [0006], “In other examples, a device may determine a region of interest (e.g., pixel rows and pixel columns of the display that correspond to the image or frame), and determine the histogram based on the ROI (e.g., without considering pixels and gray level values of the background filler). … That is, video enable signal information from a video pipeline may be used to compute the ROI histogram, such that pixels and gray levels of the ROI, obtained or identified from the video enable signal, may be considered when determining the histogram. As the video enable signal obtained from the source surface pipe programming may not include background filler information, the histogram may be determined based on the pixels within the image aspect ratio.”)
[[adjust,]] in response to receiving the enable signal, [[the area of the display panel corresponding to the user selection.]] (Kallamballe, [0015], “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, adjusting one or more gray levels of the region of interest may include operations, features, means, or instructions for performing an adaptive backlight adjustment process on the region of interest based on the video enable signal and the first histogram.” and [0028], “According to additional aspects of the described techniques, the enable signal used to determine the ROI (e.g., the enable signal used to determine the ROI histogram in the second example above) may further be used to control ROI enhancement. For example, the video enable signal may further be used to select only the ROI for content adaptive backlight adjustments, ABA, or a pixel tone mapping adjustments.” and [0055], “In some examples, the ROI block 330 may then use a signal, such as an enable signal (EN), to enable the histogram block (e.g., in ABA block 325) to get the respective data for display adjustment processing (e.g., EN may be generated as a function of a, V_en, and D_en).”)
10. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display monitor of Sun to include the disclosure of an embedded processor communicatively coupled to the display panel, a non-volatile memory communicatively coupled to the embedded processor and receiving an enable signal, of Kallamballe. The motivation for this modification could have been to accommodate many display types as well as store user settings. In addition, the enable signal helps to activate or enable certain aspects of a display monitor and can be associated with a user selecting various display features. Typically, these are standard features in displays.
11. Sun in view of Kallamballe doesn't explicitly disclose but Kim discloses: [[receive an enable signal corresponding to]] an onscreen display input; (Kim, [0126], “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.” and [0047], “If the user manually selects the partial region using the OSD 23, the MCU 25 transmits region information set by the OSD 23 to the IVP 27. The IVP 27 then adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the selected partial region.” and [0054], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58.”)
[[retrieve, from the non-volatile memory, a stored user selection corresponding to]] an area of the display panel; and (Kim, [0051]-[0053], “The region-setting unit 41 includes a region information and adjustment information register 42 for storing information concerning the size, position, contrast, and sharpness for the partial region selected by the user. The region-setting unit 41 outputs the region information and the adjustment information for the partial region to the highlighting adjusting unit 43. The highlighting adjusting unit 43 adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the partial region into a level designated by the user. Errors in the region information are compensated by the highlighting adjusting unit 43 in response to a data signal SDA and a clock signal SCL, or according to an external enable signal EXEN. The SDA and SCL signals can be transmitted from the MCU 25 to the IVP 27 using an I2C protocol. The external enable signal EXEN is generated by the MCU 25 in response to the signals generated by the S/W 13 or the OSD 23. The external enable signal EXEN is used for selecting a non-rectangular shaped partial region.” and [0054]-[0055], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58. If the default window is not the region desired by the user in block 52, the output window is automatically moved to a different position in box 53. If the moved window is the same as the region desired by the user in block 54, the new moved window is set as the default window in block 57 and region setting is finished in block 58. The moved window is identified as the desired location when the user activates a signal generating input, such as a button, on the on-screen display.” and [0060], “The region typically has a rectangular shape, but if an external enable signal is used as described below, the region may have a shape other than a rectangle, such as a circular or polygonal shape.” and [0047], “If the user manually selects the partial region using the OSD 23, the MCU 25 transmits region information set by the OSD 23 to the IVP 27. The IVP 27 then adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the selected partial region.” and [0126], “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.” and [0002], “The present invention relates to a computer system and more particularly to a method for setting a region of a monitor screen and controlling the contrast and sharpness of the set region.”; Examiner’s note: Kim discloses in [0055] that: “If the default window is not the region desired by the user in block 52, the output window is automatically moved to a different position in box 53. If the moved window is the same as the region desired by the user in block 54, the new moved window is set as the default window in block 57 …” A user is able to set a moved window region as a new default window region. A new default for a window region implies that it is saved for future use and can be recalled in the OSD interface process outlined in [0054].)
12. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display monitor of Sun in view of Kallamballe to include the disclosure of an enable signal corresponding to an onscreen display input and a stored user selection corresponding to an area of the display panel, of Kim. The motivation for this modification could have been to activate various display features according to a user’s input and store various information regarding that input. This would give a user the ability to customize display adjustments with the monitor and have those adjustments stored for when the same adjustments are desired again. This is more convenient than a user being required to make the same input adjustment every time that adjustment is desired.
13. As per claim 2, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: The display monitor of claim 1, the adjust instructions further comprising increase a backlight value of the display panel of the area. (Sun, page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area; the brightness adjustment unit is used to adjust the brightness value of the touch display area, wherein the brightness adjustment operation further includes: adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area to a minimum brightness value, and when a touch point in the touch display area is pressed, the brightness adjustment unit increases the brightness value of an area formed based on the touch point to a preset brightness value.” and page 6, [0035], “Figure 4 shows a flowchart of a partial adjustment of screen brightness according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. Then, in step S4, the brightness adjustment unit 12 adjusts the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value. When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value. … Conversely, if the touch display area A1 is pressed within a certain time, the brightness value of the circular area C1 will continue to be maintained at the preset brightness value.” and page 5, [0028], “The operation of adjusting the brightness of the touch display area A1 also includes adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value, ... wherein the area is, for example, a circular area, a rectangular area, a triangular area, a square area or a trapezoidal area.”)
14. As per claim 3, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: The display monitor of claim 1, the adjust instruction further comprising apply a color histogram analysis of the area. (Kallamballe, [0006], “In other examples, a device may determine a region of interest (e.g., pixel rows and pixel columns of the display that correspond to the image or frame), and determine the histogram based on the ROI (e.g., without considering pixels and gray level values of the background filler). For example, a device may determine the histogram based on ROI information read from a video pipeline. That is, video enable signal information from a video pipeline may be used to compute the ROI histogram, such that pixels and gray levels of the ROI, obtained or identified from the video enable signal, may be considered when determining the histogram. As the video enable signal obtained from the source surface pipe programming may not include background filler information, the histogram may be determined based on the pixels within the image aspect ratio.” and [0031], “In some cases, it may be desirable to control the display panel 105 drivers in order to adjust the display panel 105 of a device 102 (e.g., to enhance a displayed image). As discussed above, such display processing techniques may determine a histogram of display information, which may be read from a display hardware pipeline, and may use the information from the histogram to compute and adjust backlighting, brightness settings, pixel tone mapping settings, etc.” and [0077], “In other cases, the I/O controller 515 may represent or interact with a modem, a keyboard, a mouse, a touchscreen, or a similar device. In some cases, the I/O controller 515 may be implemented as part of a processor. In some cases, a user may interact with the device 505 via the I/O controller 515 or via hardware components controlled by the I/O controller 515.”)
15. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display monitor of claim 1 of Sun in view of Kim to include the disclosure that the adjust instruction applies a color histogram analysis of the area, of Kallamballe. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow a user or display to make adjustments to the display if necessary. For instance, if the color histogram analysis indicates a saturated (or desaturated) color, the user or display could adjust that color to compensate, bringing it more into balance with other colors. In addition, by performing histogram analysis on different display areas, adjustments could be targeted to enhance visuals depending on the content.
16. As per claim 4, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: The display monitor of claim 1, the instructions further comprising:
provide a user a predetermined plurality of areas within the display panel; (Sun, page 6, [0032], “The detection unit 14 detects the position of the pressed touch point P1, which is any point on the touch display area A1 displayed by the touch display device 10.”; Examiner’s note: Any point on the touch display area would be considered a “predetermined plurality of areas.”)
receive the user selection of the predetermined plurality of areas; and (Sun, page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area; the brightness adjustment unit is used to adjust the brightness value of the touch display area, wherein the brightness adjustment operation further includes: adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area to a minimum brightness value, and when a touch point in the touch display area is pressed, the brightness adjustment unit increases the brightness value of an area formed based on the touch point to a preset brightness value.” and page 6, [0033], “Referring to Figures 1 and 3, when a user presses the touch point P1 on the touch display panel 32, the detection unit 14 detects, for example, the capacitance change of the electrode (not shown) on the touch display panel 32 to determine the position of the touch point P1.”)
store the user selection. (Sun, page 6, [0032], “The detection unit 14 detects the position of the pressed touch point P1, which is any point on the touch display area A1 displayed by the touch display device 10. The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.”)
17. As per claim 6, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: A display monitor comprising:
a display panel; (See Sun, page 4, [0007] and Sun, page 6, [0032] below.)
a touch-based input system corresponding to a complete surface area of the display panel; (Sun, page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area …” and Sun, page 6, [0032], “The detection unit 14 detects the position of the pressed touch point P1, which is any point on the touch display area A1 displayed by the touch display device 10.”)
an embedded controller communicatively coupled to the display panel and the touch-based input system; and (Kallamballe, [0008], “An apparatus for adjusting a display is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory.” and Kallamballe, [0079], “The processor 540 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof).” and Kallamballe, [0011], “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for identifying a number of pixels of a background region of the display and a gray level value that corresponds to the background region based on the source surface pipe programming, where the first histogram may be determined based on the number of pixels and the gray level value.” and Kallamballe, [0089], “The various illustrative blocks, components, and modules described in connection with the disclosure herein may be implemented or performed with a general-purpose processor, a DSP, an ASIC, an FPGA, or other programmable logic device …” and Sun, page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area …”)
a memory storing instructions that when executed cause the embedded controller to: (Sun, page 6-7, [0037], “The present invention can be implemented at least in part in computer program code of tangible machine-readable storage media (e.g., random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROMs), optical discs, digital laser discs, Blu-ray discs, hard disk drives, flash memory or other tangible machine-readable storage media), wherein when the computer program code is loaded and executed on a computer, the computer becomes a device for implementing the present invention. The present invention can be implemented at least in some form of computer program code, whether loaded and/or executed on a computer, and when the computer program code is loaded and executed on a computer, the computer becomes a device for implementing the present invention. When a processor is implemented for general purposes, computer program code distinguishes the configuration of the processor to create a specific logic circuit. This invention can be implemented, at least in part, in digital signal processors constructed from application-specific integrated circuits, thereby fulfilling the purpose of this invention.”)
receive a user selection from the touch-based input system, corresponding to an area of interest of the display panel; (Sun, page 6, [0032], “The detection unit 14 detects the position of the pressed touch point P1, which is any point on the touch display area A1 displayed by the touch display device 10. The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and Sun, page 5, [0028], “The operation of adjusting the brightness of the touch display area A1 also includes adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value, ... wherein the area is, for example, a circular area, a rectangular area, a triangular area, a square area or a trapezoidal area.” and Sun, page 6, [0033], “Referring to Figures 1 and 3, when a user presses the touch point P1 on the touch display panel 32, the detection unit 14 detects, for example, the capacitance change of the electrode (not shown) on the touch display panel 32 to determine the position of the touch point P1.”)
store the area of interest (Kim, [0051], “The region-setting unit 41 includes a region information and adjustment information register 42 for storing information concerning the size, position, contrast, and sharpness for the partial region selected by the user.” and Kim, [0054], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58.” and Kim, [0002], “The present invention relates to a computer system and more particularly to a method for setting a region of a monitor screen and controlling the contrast and sharpness of the set region.”) in a non-volatile memory; (Sun, Fig. 4; page 6, [0035], “Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. … When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value.” and Sun, page 6, [0032], “The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and Sun, page 4, [0003], “In current mobile devices, the touch display device consumes a lot of power, and the brightness of the touch display device is mostly set by the user through the software provided by the system.” and Kallamballe, [0038], “In some cases, background region 106 (e.g., background filler) may be set as a default setting in a device configuration.”; Examiner’s note: Sun discloses in page 6, [0032] that “the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” This process stores the user’s desired preset values for minimum brightness and radius. As disclosed by Fig. 4 and [0035], Step S2 is shown as the process that stores these user settings. Then, in Step S6, at a time later in the process, when a touch point on the display is pressed as a separate action from the user, the preset brightness values and radius are recalled from storage and used to adjust the screen.)
receive an enable signal corresponding to (Kallamballe, [0006], “In other examples, a device may determine a region of interest (e.g., pixel rows and pixel columns of the display that correspond to the image or frame), and determine the histogram based on the ROI (e.g., without considering pixels and gray level values of the background filler). … That is, video enable signal information from a video pipeline may be used to compute the ROI histogram, such that pixels and gray levels of the ROI, obtained or identified from the video enable signal, may be considered when determining the histogram. As the video enable signal obtained from the source surface pipe programming may not include background filler information, the histogram may be determined based on the pixels within the image aspect ratio.”) an onscreen display input; (Kim, [0126], “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.” and Kim, [0047], “If the user manually selects the partial region using the OSD 23, the MCU 25 transmits region information set by the OSD 23 to the IVP 27. The IVP 27 then adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the selected partial region.” and Kim, [0054], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58.”)
retrieve the area of interest (Kim, [0054]-[0055], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58. If the default window is not the region desired by the user in block 52, the output window is automatically moved to a different position in box 53. If the moved window is the same as the region desired by the user in block 54, the new moved window is set as the default window in block 57 and region setting is finished in block 58. The moved window is identified as the desired location when the user activates a signal generating input, such as a button, on the on-screen display.”; Examiner’s note: Kim discloses in [0055] that: “If the default window is not the region desired by the user in block 52, the output window is automatically moved to a different position in box 53. If the moved window is the same as the region desired by the user in block 54, the new moved window is set as the default window in block 57 …” A user is able to set a moved window region as a new default window region. A new default for a window region implies that it is saved for future use and can be recalled in the OSD interface process outlined in [0054].) from the non-volatile memory; and (Sun, Fig. 4; page 6, [0035], “Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. … When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value.” and Sun, page 6, [0032], “The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and Sun, page 4, [0003], “In current mobile devices, the touch display device consumes a lot of power, and the brightness of the touch display device is mostly set by the user through the software provided by the system.” and Kallamballe, [0038], “In some cases, background region 106 (e.g., background filler) may be set as a default setting in a device configuration.”; Examiner’s note: Sun discloses in page 6, [0032] that “the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” This process stores the user’s desired preset values for minimum brightness and radius. As disclosed by Fig. 4 and [0035], Step S2 is shown as the process that stores these user settings. Then, in Step S6, at a time later in the process, when a touch point on the display is pressed as a separate action from the user, the preset brightness values and radius are recalled from storage and used to adjust the screen.)
adjust, in response to receiving the enable signal, (Kallamballe, [0015], “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, adjusting one or more gray levels of the region of interest may include operations, features, means, or instructions for performing an adaptive backlight adjustment process on the region of interest based on the video enable signal and the first histogram.” and Kallamballe, [0028], “According to additional aspects of the described techniques, the enable signal used to determine the ROI (e.g., the enable signal used to determine the ROI histogram in the second example above) may further be used to control ROI enhancement. For example, the video enable signal may further be used to select only the ROI for content adaptive backlight adjustments, ABA, or a pixel tone mapping adjustments.” and Kallamballe, [0055], “In some examples, the ROI block 330 may then use a signal, such as an enable signal (EN), to enable the histogram block (e.g., in ABA block 325) to get the respective data for display adjustment processing (e.g., EN may be generated as a function of a, V_en, and D_en).”) an area of the display panel corresponding to the area of interest. (Sun, page 6, [0035], “Figure 4 shows a flowchart of a partial adjustment of screen brightness according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. Then, in step S4, the brightness adjustment unit 12 adjusts the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value. When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value. … Conversely, if the touch display area A1 is pressed within a certain time, the brightness value of the circular area C1 will continue to be maintained at the preset brightness value.” and Sun, page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area; the brightness adjustment unit is used to adjust the brightness value of the touch display area, wherein the brightness adjustment operation further includes: adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area to a minimum brightness value, and when a touch point in the touch display area is pressed, the brightness adjustment unit increases the brightness value of an area formed based on the touch point to a preset brightness value.” and Sun, page 6, [0032], “The detection unit 14 detects the position of the pressed touch point P1, which is any point on the touch display area A1 displayed by the touch display device 10. The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and Sun, page 6, [0033], “Referring to Figures 1 and 3, when a user presses the touch point P1 on the touch display panel 32, the detection unit 14 detects, for example, the capacitance change of the electrode (not shown) on the touch display panel 32 to determine the position of the touch point P1.” and Sun, page 5, [0028], “The operation of adjusting the brightness of the touch display area A1 also includes adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value, ... wherein the area is, for example, a circular area, a rectangular area, a triangular area, a square area or a trapezoidal area.”)
The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 1.
18. Claim 7, which is similar in scope to dependent claim 2 and independent claim 6, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above.
19. Claim 8, which is similar in scope to dependent claim 3 and independent claim 6, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above. The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 3.
20. As per claim 11, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: A non-transient computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed cause an embedded controller to: (Kallamballe, [0008], “An apparatus for adjusting a display is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory.” and Kallamballe, [0079], “The processor 540 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof).” and Kallamballe, [0011], “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for identifying a number of pixels of a background region of the display and a gray level value that corresponds to the background region based on the source surface pipe programming, where the first histogram may be determined based on the number of pixels and the gray level value.” and Kallamballe, [0089], “The various illustrative blocks, components, and modules described in connection with the disclosure herein may be implemented or performed with a general-purpose processor, a DSP, an ASIC, an FPGA, or other programmable logic device …”)
receive an enable signal corresponding to (Kallamballe, [0006], “In other examples, a device may determine a region of interest (e.g., pixel rows and pixel columns of the display that correspond to the image or frame), and determine the histogram based on the ROI (e.g., without considering pixels and gray level values of the background filler). … That is, video enable signal information from a video pipeline may be used to compute the ROI histogram, such that pixels and gray levels of the ROI, obtained or identified from the video enable signal, may be considered when determining the histogram. As the video enable signal obtained from the source surface pipe programming may not include background filler information, the histogram may be determined based on the pixels within the image aspect ratio.”) an onscreen display input; (Kim, [0126], “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.” and Kim, [0047], “If the user manually selects the partial region using the OSD 23, the MCU 25 transmits region information set by the OSD 23 to the IVP 27. The IVP 27 then adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the selected partial region.” and Kim, [0054], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58.”)
retrieve, from a non-volatile memory, a stored user selection corresponding to (Sun, Fig. 4; page 6, [0035], “Figure 4 shows a flowchart of a partial adjustment of screen brightness according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. Then, in step S4, the brightness adjustment unit 12 adjusts the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value. When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value.” and Sun, page 6, [0032], “The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and Sun, page 4, [0003], “In current mobile devices, the touch display device consumes a lot of power, and the brightness of the touch display device is mostly set by the user through the software provided by the system.” and Kallamballe, [0038], “In some cases, background region 106 (e.g., background filler) may be set as a default setting in a device configuration.”; Examiner’s note: Sun discloses in page 6, [0032] that “the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” This process stores the user’s desired preset values for minimum brightness and radius. As disclosed by Fig. 4 and [0035], Step S2 is shown as the process that stores these user settings. Then, in Step S6, at a time later in the process, when a touch point on the display is pressed as a separate action from the user, the preset brightness values and radius are recalled from storage and used to adjust the screen.) an area of a display panel; and (Kim, [0051]-[0053], “The region-setting unit 41 includes a region information and adjustment information register 42 for storing information concerning the size, position, contrast, and sharpness for the partial region selected by the user. The region-setting unit 41 outputs the region information and the adjustment information for the partial region to the highlighting adjusting unit 43. The highlighting adjusting unit 43 adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the partial region into a level designated by the user. Errors in the region information are compensated by the highlighting adjusting unit 43 in response to a data signal SDA and a clock signal SCL, or according to an external enable signal EXEN. The SDA and SCL signals can be transmitted from the MCU 25 to the IVP 27 using an I2C protocol. The external enable signal EXEN is generated by the MCU 25 in response to the signals generated by the S/W 13 or the OSD 23. The external enable signal EXEN is used for selecting a non-rectangular shaped partial region.” and Kim, [0054]-[0055], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58. If the default window is not the region desired by the user in block 52, the output window is automatically moved to a different position in box 53. If the moved window is the same as the region desired by the user in block 54, the new moved window is set as the default window in block 57 and region setting is finished in block 58. The moved window is identified as the desired location when the user activates a signal generating input, such as a button, on the on-screen display.” and Kim, [0060], “The region typically has a rectangular shape, but if an external enable signal is used as described below, the region may have a shape other than a rectangle, such as a circular or polygonal shape.” and Kim, [0047], “If the user manually selects the partial region using the OSD 23, the MCU 25 transmits region information set by the OSD 23 to the IVP 27. The IVP 27 then adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the selected partial region.” and Kim, [0126], “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.” and Kim, [0002], “The present invention relates to a computer system and more particularly to a method for setting a region of a monitor screen and controlling the contrast and sharpness of the set region.”; Examiner’s note: Kim discloses in [0055] that: “If the default window is not the region desired by the user in block 52, the output window is automatically moved to a different position in box 53. If the moved window is the same as the region desired by the user in block 54, the new moved window is set as the default window in block 57 …” A user is able to set a moved window region as a new default window region. A new default for a window region implies that it is saved for future use and can be recalled in the OSD interface process outlined in [0054].)
adjust, in response to receiving the enable signal, (Kallamballe, [0015], “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, adjusting one or more gray levels of the region of interest may include operations, features, means, or instructions for performing an adaptive backlight adjustment process on the region of interest based on the video enable signal and the first histogram.” and Kallamballe, [0028], “According to additional aspects of the described techniques, the enable signal used to determine the ROI (e.g., the enable signal used to determine the ROI histogram in the second example above) may further be used to control ROI enhancement. For example, the video enable signal may further be used to select only the ROI for content adaptive backlight adjustments, ABA, or a pixel tone mapping adjustments.” and Kallamballe, [0055], “In some examples, the ROI block 330 may then use a signal, such as an enable signal (EN), to enable the histogram block (e.g., in ABA block 325) to get the respective data for display adjustment processing (e.g., EN may be generated as a function of a, V_en, and D_en).”) a displayed image in the area of the display panel corresponding to the user selection. (Kallamballe, [0022], “A device, when displaying an image or frame, may adjust display settings (e.g., brightness settings, pixel tone mapping settings, backlighting) for image enhancement, visibility enhancement, battery conservation, etc.” and Kallamballe, [0034], “System 100 may further support ROI display adjustments (e.g., application of display adjustments to the image region 107). For example, an enable signal used to determine the image region 107 (e.g., the enable signal used to determine the ROI histogram obtained from source surface pipe programming) may further be used to control image region 107 enhancement.” and Sun, page 6, [0035], “Figure 4 shows a flowchart of a partial adjustment of screen brightness according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to Figures 1 and 4, starting from step S0, enter the local screen brightness adjustment mode. Step S2: The user sets the preset radius R and the preset brightness. Then, in step S4, the brightness adjustment unit 12 adjusts the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value. When a touch point P1 of the touch display area A1 is pressed, i.e., in step S6, the process proceeds to step S8, whereby the brightness adjustment unit 12 increases the brightness value of the circular area C1 formed with the position of the touch point P1 as the center and according to the preset radius R to the preset brightness value. … Conversely, if the touch display area A1 is pressed within a certain time, the brightness value of the circular area C1 will continue to be maintained at the preset brightness value.” and Sun, page 4, [0007], “In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides an electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen. The electronic device for locally adjusting the brightness of its own screen includes: a touch display device and a brightness adjustment unit; the touch display device is used to display a touch display area; the brightness adjustment unit is used to adjust the brightness value of the touch display area, wherein the brightness adjustment operation further includes: adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area to a minimum brightness value, and when a touch point in the touch display area is pressed, the brightness adjustment unit increases the brightness value of an area formed based on the touch point to a preset brightness value.” and Sun, page 6, [0032], “The detection unit 14 detects the position of the pressed touch point P1, which is any point on the touch display area A1 displayed by the touch display device 10. The user sets the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R through the setting method provided by the electronic device 100, such as through software setting, and the storage unit 18 stores the minimum brightness value and the preset radius R.” and Sun, page 6, [0033], “Referring to Figures 1 and 3, when a user presses the touch point P1 on the touch display panel 32, the detection unit 14 detects, for example, the capacitance change of the electrode (not shown) on the touch display panel 32 to determine the position of the touch point P1.” and Sun, page 5, [0028], “The operation of adjusting the brightness of the touch display area A1 also includes adjusting the brightness value of the touch display area A1 to a minimum brightness value, ... wherein the area is, for example, a circular area, a rectangular area, a triangular area, a square area or a trapezoidal area.”)
The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 1.
21. As per claim 16, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: The display monitor of claim 1, wherein the enable signal corresponds to user activation of a user-selectable toggle (Kim, [0047], “If the user manually selects the partial region using the OSD 23, the MCU 25 transmits region information set by the OSD 23 to the IVP 27. The IVP 27 then adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the selected partial region.” and [0126], “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.”) within an on-screen display (OSD) menu provided on the display panel. (Kim, [0054], “FIG. 5 shows how a partial region is selected using the On Screen Display (OSD) 23 independently of the computer 10. In block 50, the user starts the process of setting a partial region. In block 51, a default window having a predetermined size is output at a predetermined position. Box 52 determines whether the default window output in box 51 is the same as the region desired by the user. This is determined by the user activating a button or other user interface on the OSD 23. If the default window is the region desired by the user in block 52, the current window is set as the default window in box 57 and region setting is finished in block 58.” and [0060], “The region typically has a rectangular shape, but if an external enable signal is used as described below, the region may have a shape other than a rectangle, such as a circular or polygonal shape.” and [0051], “The region-setting unit 41 includes a region information and adjustment information register 42 for storing information concerning the size, position, contrast, and sharpness for the partial region selected by the user.” and [0052]-[0053], “The region-setting unit 41 outputs the region information and the adjustment information for the partial region to the highlighting adjusting unit 43. The highlighting adjusting unit 43 adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the partial region into a level designated by the user. Errors in the region information are compensated by the highlighting adjusting unit 43 in response to a data signal SDA and a clock signal SCL, or according to an external enable signal EXEN. The SDA and SCL signals can be transmitted from the MCU 25 to the IVP 27 using an I2C protocol. The external enable signal EXEN is generated by the MCU 25 in response to the signals generated by the S/W 13 or the OSD 23. The external enable signal EXEN is used for selecting a non-rectangular shaped partial region.” and [0047], “If the user manually selects the partial region using the OSD 23, the MCU 25 transmits region information set by the OSD 23 to the IVP 27. The IVP 27 then adjusts the contrast and sharpness of the selected partial region.” and [0126], “The external enable signal EXEN is a signal generated in the MCU 25 in response to the signal output from the S/W 11 or OSD 23. The EXEN signal is used when a nonrectangular partial region is selected by the user.”)
22. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display monitor of claim 1 of Sun in view of Kallamballe to include the disclosure of an enable signal that corresponds to user activation of a user-selectable toggle within an on-screen display (OSD) menu provided on the display panel, of Kim. The motivation for this modification could have been to provide an interface for a user to enable and disable features of a display monitor. The user-selectable menu interface makes for a quick and convenient way for a user to access these features.
23. Claim 17, which is similar in scope to dependent claim 16 and independent claim 6, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above. The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 16.
24. Claim 18, which is similar in scope to dependent claim 16 and independent claim 11, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above. The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 16.
25. Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN-104575443-A) in view of Kallamballe et al. (US-2020/0234450-A1, hereinafter "Kallamballe"), further in view of Kim et al. (US-2002/0180812-A1, hereinafter "Kim"), and further in view of Micro-Star International (MSI) Co. (NPL: "Optix Series LCD Monitor: Optix MPG321UR-QD (3DC0), Optix MPG321QRF-QD (3DB8) User Guide," Revision, V1.0, 2021/09., hereinafter "MSI").
26. As per claim 5, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: The display monitor of claim 4, wherein one of the predetermined plurality of areas comprises an area of the display panel [[corresponding to a targeting reticule rendered in a video stream.]] (See rejection for claim 4.)
27. Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim doesn't explicitly disclose but MSI discloses: [[The display monitor of claim 4, wherein one of the predetermined plurality of areas comprises an area of the display panel]] corresponding to a targeting reticule rendered in a video stream. (MSI, page 13, “Smart Crosshair … Through AI algorithm, this function enhances the visibility of in-game crosshair. Users can select the color and position of the crosshair.” and page 14, “Optix Scope … The center point will zoom in when Optix Scope is enabled, user can adjust the details through the Scope Size and Scope Ratio settings. Smart Crosshair and Optix Scope can be enabled at the same time. ... Screen Size 1:1 will be set to Auto while Optix Scope function is enabled.”; Examiner’s note: A user is able to enable and select a position for a “smart crosshair.” The position can be chosen so that it matches the targeting reticule area in a video stream. The MSI monitor also has the ability to perform automatic adjustment based on the selected position, such as enhancing the visibility of the crosshair in real-time. Lastly, if the targeting reticule in the video stream is in the center of the screen (like for many video games), the Optix Scope feature allows the center point to be zoomed in by a scope ratio in real-time.)
28. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display monitor of claim 4 of Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim to include the disclosure that one of the predetermined plurality of areas of the display panel corresponds to a targeting reticule rendered in a video stream, of MSI. The motivation for this modification could have been to focus adjustments of the display to a region that likely has a user’s attention, the targeting reticule. If a user is playing a first-person shooter (FPS) style game, they are likely watching the region surrounding the targeting reticule closely. Thus, it could be beneficial to have the display region around the targeting reticule dynamically adjusted to assist the user see the video stream clearly and for enhanced visuals.
29. Claim 13, which is similar in scope to dependent claim 5 and independent claim 11, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above. The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 5.
30. Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN-104575443-A) in view of Kallamballe et al. (US-2020/0234450-A1, hereinafter "Kallamballe"), further in view of Kim et al. (US-2002/0180812-A1, hereinafter "Kim"), and further in view of Lim et al. (US-2018/0262727-A1, hereinafter "Lim").
31. As per claim 9, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: The display monitor of claim 6, the instructions further comprising:
[[evaluate a video stream for high dynamic range metadata; and]]
adjust [[color values corresponding to the video stream]] in the area of interest [[based on the metadata.]] (See rejection for claim 6.)
32. Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim doesn't explicitly disclose but Lim discloses: [[The display monitor of claim 6, the instructions further comprising:]]
evaluate a video stream for high dynamic range metadata; and (Lim, [0015], “According to an aspect of an example embodiment, there is provided a display apparatus which processes and displays an image signal, comprising: an image receiver configured to receive an image data; a decoder configured to divide the received image data into an image signal and metadata; and an image processor configured to acquire information relating to an area of interest by using the metadata and to perform a high dynamic range (HDR) processing with respect to the area of interest by using the acquired information relating to the area of interest.”)
[[adjust]] color values corresponding to the video stream [[in the area of interest]] based on the metadata. (Lim, [0016], “The information relating to the area of interest may include a coordinate corresponding to the area of interest and color range information relating to a front view and background included in the area of interest.” and [0043]-[0044], “The image processor 130 may acquire information relating to the area of interest by using the metadata acquired via the decoder 120. In addition, the image processor 130 may perform an HDR processing with respect to the area of interest by using the acquired information relating to the area of interest. For example, the image processor 130 may acquire information relating to the area of interest by using the metadata acquired via the decoder 120. In this regard, the information relating to the area of interest may include a coordinate corresponding to the area of interest, a color range information relating to a front view included in the area of interest and color range information relating to the background, to represent the area corresponding to the area of interest. … In addition, the color range information with respect to the front view and background included in the area of interest may include information relating to at least one range from among maxRGB, red (R), green (G), and blue (B). In addition, the color range information with respect to the front view and background included in the area of interest may be information relating to a hue saturation value (HSV) and an Ycbcr range.”)
33. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display monitor of claim 6 of Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim to include the disclosure of evaluating a video stream for high dynamic range metadata and adjusting color values corresponding to the video stream in the area of interest based on the metadata, of Lim. The motivation for this modification could have been to supply HDR metadata so that the display can dynamically adjust colors in various regions of the display. This is beneficial because only certain regions of the display will need to be adjusted at any given time, improving bandwidth and response time.
34. Claim 12, which is similar in scope to dependent claim 9 and independent claim 11, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above. The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 9.
35. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN-104575443-A) in view of Kallamballe et al. (US-2020/0234450-A1, hereinafter "Kallamballe"), further in view of Kim et al. (US-2002/0180812-A1, hereinafter "Kim"), further in view of Lim et al. (US-2018/0262727-A1, hereinafter "Lim"), and further in view of Ward et al. (US-8248486-B1, hereinafter "Ward").
36. As per claim 10, Sun in view of Kallamballe, further in view of Kim, and further in view of Lim discloses: The display monitor of claim 9 the instructions further comprising:
receive a signal in the metadata; and (Lim, [0042], “The decoder 120 may decode the received image data and separate the image signal from the metadata. For example, in response to an image data including metadata being received via the image receiver 110, the decoder 120 may parse a message included in the received image data and acquire metadata.”)
[[revert an adjustment of the area of the display panel to correspond with the video stream.]]
37. Sun in view of Kallamballe, further in view of Kim, and further in view of Lim doesn't explicitly disclose but Ward discloses: [[The display monitor of claim 9 the instructions further comprising:]]
[[receive a signal in the metadata; and]]
revert an adjustment of the area of the display panel to correspond with the video stream. (Ward, col. 1, lines 27-36, “To support backwards compatibility as well as new HDR display technologies, an HDR image may be represented by a tone-mapped image with additional metadata comprising grayscale luminance ratios. On one hand, the tone-mapped image may be used to present a normal dynamic range image (e.g., on a legacy display). On the other hand, the additional metadata may be used with the tone-mapped image to generate, recover, or present an HDR image (e.g., by an HDR display).”; Examiner’s note: Additional metadata is used to “recover” (or revert) an HDR image)
38. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display monitor of claim 9 of Sun in view of Kallamballe, further in view of Kim, and further in view of Lim to include the disclosure of reverting an adjustment of an area of the display panel corresponding with a video stream with HDR metadata, of Ward. The motivation for this modification could have been to adjust the display due to user preference or to a different display device. By reverting the effect of HDR metadata, this would display the video stream content in a more “standard” way, such as on a non-HDR screen. A user could simply turn HDR off, if preferred, or a change to a non-HDR display could revert the content to a non-HDR version.
39. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN-104575443-A) in view of Kallamballe et al. (US-2020/0234450-A1, hereinafter "Kallamballe"), further in view of Kim et al. (US-2002/0180812-A1, hereinafter "Kim"), further in view of Lim et al. (US-2018/0262727-A1, hereinafter "Lim"), and further in view of Micro-Star International (MSI) Co. (NPL: "Optix Series LCD Monitor: Optix MPG321UR-QD (3DC0), Optix MPG321QRF-QD (3DB8) User Guide," Revision, V1.0, 2021/09., hereinafter "MSI").
40. As per claim 14, Sun in view of Kallamballe, further in view of Kim, and further in view of Lim discloses: The non-transient computer readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the video stream [[corresponds to a rendering of a sequenced plurality of frames rendered of a video game.]] (See rejection for claim 12.)
41. Sun in view of Kallamballe, further in view of Kim, and further in view of Lim doesn't explicitly disclose but MSI discloses: [[The non-transient computer readable storage medium of claim 12, wherein the video stream]] corresponds to a rendering of a sequenced plurality of frames rendered of a video game. (MSI, page 14, “Night Vision … This function optimizes background brightness and is recommended for FPS games.” and page 21, “HDMI CEC … When Sony PlayStation®, Nintendo® Switch™, or Xbox Series X/S is connected, Game and Pro Mode will be automatically set to User mode (Default) and can be adjusted to users’ preferred modes later.” and page 21, “HDMI 2.1 (for Optix MPG321UR-QD) 4K 120Hz – Console” and page 22, “Refresh rate ... 144Hz“; Examiner’s note: The Optix MPG321UR-QD and MPG321QRF-QD are gaming monitors released by MSI. There are numerous references to connecting the monitors to games or video game consoles. In addition, the refresh rate of both monitors is at least 144Hz which means it is capable of displaying a plurality of rendered video game frames.)
42. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the non-transient computer readable storage medium of claim 12 of Sun in view of Kallamballe, further in view of Kim, and further in view of Lim to include the disclosure that the video stream corresponds to a rendering of a sequenced plurality of frames rendered of a video game, of MSI. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow for a region adjusted display to benefit video gaming. Modern video game consoles can run games that produce dynamic HDR colors at high resolutions. By using dynamic region display adjustment, this can make modern games visually even more immersive by making “brights” look brighter and “darks” look darker.
43. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN-104575443-A) in view of Kallamballe et al. (US-2020/0234450-A1, hereinafter "Kallamballe"), further in view of Kim et al. (US-2002/0180812-A1, hereinafter "Kim"), and further in view of Furihata et al. (US-2022/0223080-A1, hereinafter "Furihata").
44. As per claim 15, Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim discloses: The non-transient computer readable storage medium of claim 11, the adjust instruction comprising [[manipulation a gamma curve corresponding to the displayed image.]] (See rejection for claim 11.)
45. Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim doesn't explicitly disclose but Furihata discloses: [[The non-transient computer readable storage medium of claim 11, the adjust instruction comprising]] manipulation a gamma curve corresponding to the displayed image. (Furihata, [0002], “In such implementations, the user may be asked to put the user's finger on a predetermined region of the display panel, and the display device may be configured to increase the brightness level of the predetermined region to illuminate the user's finger.” and [0023], “A display device may be configured to display a part of an image with a brightness level higher than that of the remaining part of the image. In one implementation, the display device may be configured to increase the display brightness level of a predetermined region of a display panel than that of the region external to the predetermined region. Hereinafter, the predetermined region may be also referred to as local high brightness (LHB) region, and the region external to the LHB region may be also referred to as background region.” and [0025]-[0027], “The LHB region may be used for other purposes. For example, the LHB region may be used to emphasize a desired portion of an image displayed on the display panel. The emphasizing may be performed under control of an entity external to the display device and/or in response to a user operation. In one or more embodiments, disposing an LHB region on the display panel may include adjusting a gamma transformation applied to input image data in a display driver configured to provide output voltages to pixel circuits of the display panel to update the pixel circuits. ... The input-output property of the gamma transformation may be represented by a gamma curve. The gamma curve may correlate input graylevels with output voltage levels. In such embodiments, the gamma curve may be adjusted to increase luminances of the pixel circuits disposed in the LHB region.”; Examiner’s note: User can choose a predetermined region with their finger and can be used to “emphasize a desired portion of an image displayed on the display panel.” This can then include a gamma transformation that may be represented by a gamma curve.)
46. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the non-transient computer readable storage medium of claim 11 of Sun in view of Kallamballe, and further in view of Kim to include the disclosure of manipulating a gamma curve corresponding to the displayed image, of Furihata. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow a user to either increase or decrease the brightness of the gamma. Depending on the gamma curve, this could saturate or desaturate certain colors on the display. The gamma curve could be used to optimize the image, preventing images that are either too dark or washed out.
Conclusion
47. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW CLOTHIER/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614