DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt of the preliminary amendment filed 09/10/2024 is acknowledged. This amendment provided a substitute specification, amended the abstract, cancelled claims 1-13 and added claims 14-33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 17, 19-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 214875226 U; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’; as cited by Applicant) in view of Zarrouk (US 2021/0009219) and Zhang et al. (CN 107671867 A; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claim 14, Li et al. discloses a robot (fig. 1; MTD paragraph 32) comprising: a motor (4); a robot body (1), a first leg and a second leg (figs. 1, 3-4 show two legs on opposite side surfaces of the body 1), each leg coupled to respective opposite side surfaces of the robot body (figs. 1, 3-4), each of the side surfaces of the robot body having a flat plate shape (figs. 1, 3-4), the side surfaces extending in parallel (figs. 1, 3-4); and a first wheel (3; 9, 10) and a second wheel (3; 9, 10) rotatably coupled to the first leg and the second leg (figs. 1, 3-4), respectively, wherein each of the legs include: a first link (5), the first link (5) being link-coupled to the respective side surface of the robot body (1); a second link (6), the second ling (6) being link-coupled to the respective side surface of the robot body (1) to which the first link (5) is coupled; and a third link (7), the third link (7) being link-coupled to the respective first link (5) and the second link (6), the third link (7) being coupled to the respective wheel (3; 9, 10). (Figs. 1-9, MTD paragraphs 7-47.) Li et al. discloses the motor is accommodated on the robot body but is silent regarding the motor and the battery being accommodated in the robot body and at least one of an upper functional module detachably coupled to an upper side of the robot body and a lower functional module detachably coupled to a lower side of the robot body. Zarrouk teaches of having the motor (210) and the battery (paragraph 194) being accommodated in the robot body (200; paragraphs 148, 194). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Zarrouk into the invention of Li et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to protect the motor and battery from outside elements. Zhang et al. teaches of at least one of an upper functional module (4) coupled to an upper side of the robot body (3) and a lower functional module (3-01) coupled to a lower side of the robot body (3). (Figs. 1-14, MTD paragraphs 36-44.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Zhang et al. into the invention of Li et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a touch screen used for human-computer interaction (MTD paragraph 41) and to assist with navigation and positioning for the robot (MTD paragraph 40). In addition, regarding certain elements being 'removable' or ‘detachable’, see MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art's] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").
With respect to claim 15, Li et al., as modified, discloses at least a portion of the robot body (1) is located vertically above (figs. 1-4) at least one of the first wheel (3; 9, 10) and the second wheel (3; 9, 10). (Figs. 1-9, MTD paragraphs 7-47.)
With respect to claim 17, Li et al., as modified, discloses the side surfaces of the robot body (1) include a first side frame (1; fig. 3, one side) and a second side frame 1; (fig. 3, opposite side), respectively, to which the first leg (5) and the second leg (6) are coupled, respectively, and wherein the first side frame (1; fig. 3, one side) and the second side frame (1; fig. 3, opposite side) are located in virtual spaces vertically extending above (figs. 1-4) the first wheel (3; 9, 10) and the second wheel (3; 9, 10), respectively. (Figs. 1-9, MTD paragraphs 7-47.)
With respect to claim 19, Li et al., as modified, discloses a first suspension motor (4) and a second suspension motor (4) configured to provide a rotational force to the first leg (figs. 1, 3-4 show two legs on opposite side surfaces of the body 1) and the second leg (figs. 1, 3-4 show two legs on opposite side surfaces of the body 1), respectively, wherein each first link (5) includes a motor coupling portion (figs. 1-4 show coupling structure to the robot body) coupled to the robot body, each first link (5) being connected to the first suspension motor (4) and the second suspension motor (4), respectively, and wherein the motor coupling portions (figs. 1-4 show coupling structure to the robot body) are located vertically above the first wheel (3; 9, 10) and the second wheel (3; 9, 10), respectively. (Figs. 1-9, MTD paragraphs 7-47.)
With respect to claims 20-21, Li et al., as modified, discloses each leg further includes a gravity compensator (8) coupled to the respective first link (5) and third link (7), the gravity compensator (8) being configured to apply a rotational force to the respective first link (5) and third link (7); wherein the gravity compensators (8) are configured to generate the rotational force in a direction of lifting the robot body (1). (Figs. 1-9, MTD paragraphs 7-47.)
With respect to claim 24, Li et al., as modified, discloses a module coupling space (figs. 1, 3) located at a lower side of the robot body (1) between the first leg and the second leg (figs. 1, 3-4 show two legs on opposite side surfaces of the body 1). (Figs. 1-9, MTD paragraphs 7-47.)
Claims 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., Zarrouk and Zhang et al., as applied to claims 14 and 17 above, and further in view of Fu et al. (US 12,559,187).
With respect to claims 16 and 18, Li et al., as modified, is silent regarding the first and second wheel are thicker than the first and second leg. Fu et al. teaches of the first wheel and the second wheel are thicker (figs. 5, 6, 7F) than the first leg and the second leg, respectively. Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). MPEP 2125. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the first and second wheel thicker than the first and second leg, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., Zarrouk and Zhang et al., as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2018/0147734).
With respect to claims 22-23, Li et al., as modified, is silent regarding a electric wire frame structure. Nakayama et al. teaches of each second link (10) further includes a second link body (11-13), the second link body including: a pair of electric wire accommodation walls (fig. 5) protruding toward the robot body (30), and an internal space (fig. 5) located between the pair of electric wire accommodation walls (fig. 5) in communication with the electric wire through hole (fig. 5). (Figs. 1-11, paragraphs 19-50.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Nakayama et al. into the invention of Li et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent relative movement between the link member and the pipe or the wire when the link member is moved, which is advantageous for preventing damage on the pipe or the wire. (Paragraph 58.)
Claims 25-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., Zarrouk and Zhang et al., as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Nakaura (JP 2016/047170 A; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’), as cited by Applicant.
With respect to claims 25-27, Li et al., as modified, is silent regarding a coupling bar. Nakaura teaches of the lower functional module (20), wherein the robot body includes a coupling bar (31) provided on a lower surface (figs. 1-2) of the robot body (10), the coupling bar being configured to be coupled to the lower functional module (20), and wherein the module coupling space (figs. 1a-2a) is located vertically under the coupling bar (31); wherein the module coupling space (figs. 1a-2a) is disposed between the first wheel and the second (22; figs. 1b-2b); wherein the lower functional module (20) is electrically connected to the battery when coupled to the robot (MTD paragraph 20). (Figs. 1-5, MTD paragraphs 13-36.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Nakaura into the invention of Li et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an autonomous cleaning device that can easily clean up to the wall while maintaining a constant clearance between the cleaning unit and the floor surface. (MTD paragraph 7.) Regarding certain elements being 'removable' or ‘detachable’, see MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art's] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").
With respect to claims 28-29, Li et al., as modified, is silent regarding the lower and upper functional module and the upper functional module is electrically connected to the battery when coupled to the robot. Zhang et al. teaches of at least one of an upper functional module (4) coupled to an upper side of the robot body (3) and a lower functional module (3-01) coupled to a lower side of the robot body (3). (Figs. 1-14, MTD paragraphs 36-44.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Zhang et al. into the invention of Li et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a touch screen used for human-computer interaction (MTD paragraph 41) and to assist with navigation and positioning for the robot (MTD paragraph 40). Nakaura teaches of a battery electrically connected to an powering all elements of an autonomous robot (MTD paragraph 20). (Figs. 1-5, MTD paragraphs 13-36.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Nakaura into the invention of Li et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide power to the entire system. (MTD paragraph 20.)
With respect to claims 30-31, Li et al., as modified, is silent regarding a coupling bar. Nakaura teaches of the lower functional module (20), wherein the robot body includes a coupling bar (31) provided on a lower surface (figs. 1a-2a) of the robot body (10), the coupling bar being configured to be coupled to the lower functional module (20), and wherein, when viewing one of the side surfaces (figs. 1a, 2a) of the robot body (10), the coupling bar (31) is located vertically above the first wheel and the second wheel (22; figs. 1a-2a); wherein the lower functional module (20) is electrically connected to the battery when coupled to the robot (MTD paragraph 20). (Figs. 1-5, MTD paragraphs 13-36.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Nakaura into the invention of Li et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an autonomous cleaning device that can easily clean up to the wall while maintaining a constant clearance between the cleaning unit and the floor surface. (MTD paragraph 7.) Regarding certain elements being 'removable' or ‘detachable’, see MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art's] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").
With respect to claims 32-33, Li et al., as modified, is silent regarding the lower and upper functional module and the upper functional module is electrically connected to the battery when coupled to the robot. Zhang et al. teaches of at least one of an upper functional module (4) coupled to an upper side of the robot body (3) and a lower functional module (3-01) coupled to a lower side of the robot body (3). (Figs. 1-14, MTD paragraphs 36-44.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Zhang et al. into the invention of Li et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a touch screen used for human-computer interaction (MTD paragraph 41) and to assist with navigation and positioning for the robot (MTD paragraph 40). Nakaura teaches of a battery electrically connected to an powering all elements of an autonomous robot (MTD paragraph 20). (Figs. 1-5, MTD paragraphs 13-36.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Nakaura into the invention of Li et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide power to the entire system. (MTD paragraph 20.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614