DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, claims 1-4, 10, 12-16, 18, 21 and 24-26, in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 27, 60, 70-72 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/21/2026.
Applicants further elect Lipid 88 (in claim 26) as specific compound of formula (I). Lipid 88 is free of art. The examination moves to next species lipid 1 at the examiner’s choice. Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 read on the examined species lipid 1 and are under examination, claims 3,12-15, 21 and 25-26 do not read on the examined species lipid 1 and are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-4, 10, 12-16, 18, 21 and 24-26, 27, 60, 70-72 are pending; claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is national stage of international patent application PCT/US23/15119, filed on 03/13/2023; which claims priority from US provisional application 63/318971, filed on 03/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (WO2020247604).
The limitation of claims 1-2 is met by Xu et al. disclosing a lipidoid nanoparticle composing a CRISPR/Cas9 mRNA and a lipid 1 with the following structure (claims 1 and 23). This lipid falls into claimed lipid of formula (I), Ra is -CH3; n1=n2=3; Rb1=Rb2=Rb3=Rb4=CH2CH2-C(=O)O-(CH2)2-S-S-(CH2)7-CH3. Since both CRISPR/Cas9 mRNA (pharmaceutical agent ) and the lipid in the lipid nanoparticle, this meets the limitation of “pharmaceutical agent is assembled with the lipid”.
Lipid 1
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 22-23, 38-39 of copending Application No. 17543173 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference teaches lipid nanoparticle comprises mRNA and a lipid (claims 1 and 23) having following structure fall into claimed lipid of formula (I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4, 24 and 28 of copending Application No. 18265561 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a lipid composition comprising a nucleic acid and a lipid having a amine head (claim 4) and hydrophobic tail claim 28) which falls into a claimed lipid of formula (I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 57 and 85 of copending Application No. 18272024 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a composition comprising a pharmaceutical assembled with a lipid (claim 85) having structure falls into claimed lipid of formula (I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 154 of copending Application No. 18288484 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a nanoparticle comparing a nucleic acid and a lipid having structure fall into claimed lipid of formula (I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 86 of copending Application No. 18998674 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a nanoparticle comparing a nucleic acid and a lipid having structure fall into claimed lipid of formula (I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 10, 16, 18, 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 23 of copending Application No. 19708055 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches a nanoparticle comparing a MRNA and a lipid having structure fall into claimed lipid of formula (I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613