DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalayciyan (US 20230016677 A1) in view of Lesso (US 11488606 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kalayciyan teaches A method for assuring at least a signal is received undistorted by an electronic device including, the method comprising[0012, 0030-0031 has ultrasonic system]:
at least one first transducer for receiving acoustic signals in a predetermined frequency band and digitizing said acoustic signals at a .....[0042 has echo produced and received by ultrasound];
at least one second transducer for transmitting acoustic signals in said predetermined frequency band corresponding to said .....[0041 has ultrasound at frequency range being transmitted];
an analyzing unit for comparing said transmitted acoustic signals with said received acoustic signals and[0043 has analyzer using the control system]
wherein the analyzing unit analyzes the quality of said received acoustic signals[0044 has noise detection], detects at least one deviation between said transmitted acoustic signals and said received acoustic signals[0045 has detection of interference meaning deviation], and adjusts said sampling rate and corresponding frequency band according to a set of predefined frequency bands and ....[0046 has adjustment of frequency based on interference]
Kalayciyan implies, but does not explicitly teach sampling in 0023 as computer and digital signal processing is occurring.
Lesso teaches predefined or controllable sampling rates [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan with the controllable or predetermined sampling rate of Lesso in order to control sampling rates and frequencies to analyze the signal based on desired triggers in order to processes signals at different frequencies in order to perform spoof detection as stated in the abstract and claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, Kalayciyan teaches An electronic device configured to assure that at least a signal is received undistorted, the electronic device comprising[0012,0030-0031 has ultrasonic system]:
at least one first transducer configured to receive acoustic signals in a predetermined frequency band and digitizing said acoustic signals at a .....[0042 has echo produced and received by ultrasound];
at least one second transducer configured to transmit acoustic signals in said predetermined frequency band corresponding to said .....[0041 has ultrasound at frequency range being transmitted];
an analyzing unit configured to compare said transmitted acoustic signals with said received acoustic signals[0043 has analyzer using the control system] ;
wherein the analyzing unit is further configured to analyze the quality of said received acoustic signals detect at least one deviation between said transmitted acoustic signals and said received acoustic signals[0044 has noise detection], and adjust said sampling rate and corresponding frequency band according to a set of predefined frequency bands and....[0046 has adjustment of frequency based on interference]
Kalayciyan implies, but does not explicitly teach sampling in 0023 as computer and digital signal processing is occurring.
Lesso teaches predefined or controllable sampling rates [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan with the controllable or predetermined sampling rate of Lesso in order to control sampling rates and frequencies to analyze the signal based on desired triggers in order to processes signals at different frequencies in order to perform spoof detection as stated in the abstract and claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit compares said acoustic signals at the lowest available sampling rate and corresponding frequency band to the electronic device [0026, 0046 has frequency band where there is no interference]
Kalayciyan implies, but does not explicitly teach sampling in 0023 as computer and digital signal processing is occurring.
Lesso teaches predefined or controllable sampling rates [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
Regarding claim 3, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the electronic device further includes a first conversion unit connected between said analyzing unit and said at least one second transducer, transforming encoded signals from said analyzing unit to acoustic signals for said at least one second transducer. [0023 has computer meaning there is analog to digital conversion]
Lesso also teaches wherein the electronic device further includes a first conversion unit connected between said analyzing unit and said at least one second transducer, transforming encoded signals from said analyzing unit to acoustic signals for said at least one second transducer. [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog-digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate meaning it would have been obvious to do analog-digital conversion when using a computer]
Regarding claim 4, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the electronic device further includes a second conversion unit connected between said analyzing unit and said at least one first transducer, digitizing received acoustic signals from said at least one first transducer to encoded signals for said analyzing unit. [0023 has computer meaning there is analog - digital conversion].
Lesso also teaches wherein the electronic device further includes a second conversion unit connected between said analyzing unit and said at least one first transducer, digitizing received acoustic signals from said at least one first transducer to encoded signals for said analyzing unit. [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog-digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate meaning it would have been obvious to do analog-digital conversion when using a computer]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second analog-digital converter, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 5, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein said acoustic signals by the at least second transducer comprise of at least a probe signal, wherein said probe signal is a transmitted acoustic signal at a predetermined frequency band and predetermined time duration. [0007 has various signals. also 0049 has chirp which would be a probe signal of predetermined frequency and time]
Regarding claim 6, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one first transducer receives acoustic signals and the analyzing unit detects a deviation, wherein the analyzing unit adjusts the .....of the second conversion unit to a predetermined ..... and adjust said probe signal to a predetermined frequency band corresponding with the adjusted ...... [0026, 0046 and 0049 has different frequency and adjustment of frequency based on interference]
Kalayciyan implies, but does not explicitly teach sampling in 0023 as computer and digital signal processing is occurring.
Lesso teaches predefined or controllable sampling rates [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
Regarding claim 7, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit continues to detect a deviation, wherein the analyzing unit further adjusts the sampling rate of the second conversion unit to a higher ..... and adjust said probe signal to a .... band corresponding with the adjusted ..... [0061-0063 has change of frequency based on interference from noise]
Kalayciyan implies, but does not explicitly teach sampling in 0023 as computer and digital signal processing is occurring.
Lesso teaches predefined or controllable sampling rates [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
Regarding claim 8, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one first transducer receives acoustic signals and the analyzing unit does not detect at least one deviation, wherein the second conversion unit continues to sample said acoustic signals at the current sampling rate. [0059-0060 has normal mode with no interference]
Regarding claim 9, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one first transducer receives acoustic signals and the analyzing unit does not detect at least one deviation, wherein the analyzing unit analyzes available frequency bands for a probe signal with the current sampling rate. [0031, 0061-0062 has analysis for interference in a frequency band]
Regarding claim 10, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit detects an available frequency band for a probe signal at a lower frequency, wherein the analyzing unit decreases the frequency band of the probe signal transmitted to the first conversion unit to the detected frequency band, and decreases the sampling rate to sample the new decreased frequency band of the probe signal. [0031, 0061-0062 has analysis for interference in a frequency band and change of frequency based on available band].
Kalayciyan implies, but does not explicitly teach sampling in 0023 as computer and digital signal processing is occurring.
Lesso teaches predefined or controllable sampling rates [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
Regarding claim 11, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit does not detect an available frequency band for a probe signal at a lower frequency, wherein the analyzing unit continues to sample the current probe signal. [0031 has analysis for interference in a frequency band and monitoring the available band]
Regarding claim 12, Kalaciyan, does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one first transducer receives acoustic signals from an additional second transducer, wherein the frequency band of said acoustic signals does not correspond to the current sampling rate, the analyzing unit adjusts the sampling rate of the second conversion unit to a higher predetermined sampling rate.
Lesso teaches wherein the at least one first transducer receives acoustic signals from an additional second transducer, wherein the frequency band of said acoustic signals does not correspond to the current sampling rate, the analyzing unit adjusts the sampling rate of the second conversion unit to a higher predetermined sampling rate. [Fig 2 has multiple microphones namely transducers and Abstract has second sampling rate being higher than first; Col 6, Lines 50-60 and Col 12 Lines 30-40 have different frequencies and sampling rates]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan with the controllable or predetermined sampling rate of Lesso in order to control sampling rates and frequencies to analyze the signal based on desired triggers in order to processes signals at different frequencies in order to perform spoof detection as stated in the abstract and claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein said additional second transducer is from another electronic device. [0007 has the system form handling crosstalk between sensors namely other electronic devices]
Lesso teaches wherein said additional second transducer is from another electronic device [Col 3, Lines 55- Col 4 line 10 and Col 10, Lines 55-65 have signals sent to other devices]
Regarding claim 19, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit samples received acoustic signals at a lower sampling frequency than twice value of the highest frequency of said acoustic signal[0044-0046 has noise detection and detection of interference meaning deviation and adjustment of frequency based on interference], wherein the analyzing unit determines by calculation the original frequency of said acoustic signal.[0030, 0045, 0050 has various frequencies for sensor meaning the frequency is detected and known]
Regarding claim 20, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the electronic device further includes a filtering unit, wherein the filtering unit alters a probe signals frequency band to a higher or lower frequency, [0030, 0045, 0050 has various frequencies for sensor] wherein the analyzing unit adjusts the .....of the second conversion unit to a predetermined sampling frequency that is suitable to sample the altered probe signal. [0046 has adjustment of frequency based on interference], wherein the analyzing unit determines by calculation the original frequency of said acoustic signal [0030, 0045, 0050 has various frequencies for sensor meaning the frequency is detected and known]
Lesso teaches predefined or controllable sampling rates [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
Regarding claim 21, Kalaciyan, implies, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit is a DAC unit and an ADC unit. [0023 has computer meaning there is analog to digital conversion]
Lesso also teaches wherein the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit is a DAC unit and an ADC unit. [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog-digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate meaning it would have been obvious to do analog-digital conversion when using a computer]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan with Analog-Digital converters of Lesso in order to convert analog signals into digital ones and vice versa as the concept of analog-digital conversion is well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 22, Kalaciyan, does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic device includes a codec having the same connections and functionalities of both the DAC unit and the ADC unit.
Lesso teaches wherein the electronic device includes a codec having the same connections and functionalities of both the DAC unit and the ADC unit.[Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter and Col 13, Lines 20-25 has codec]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan a codec of Lesso in order to process signals before passing them to an applications processor.
Regarding claim 24, Kalayciyan, as modified teaches that wherein the electronic device further includes a filtering unit, wherein the filtering unit is configured to alter a probe signal's frequency band to a higher frequency. [0030, 0045, 0050 has various frequencies for sensor]
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalayciyan (US 20230016677 A1) in view of Lesso (US 11488606 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schwartz (US 9295444 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Kalayciyan does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic device is utilizing Time Divisional Multiplexing (TDM) for transmitting and receiving signals.
Schwartz teaches that wherein the electronic device is utilizing Time Divisional Multiplexing (TDM) for transmitting and receiving signals. [Col 53, Lines 1-25 has TDM being a well known technique for signal transmission]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan with the TDM of Wchwartz in order to use well known techniques in the art in order to manage signal transmission.
Regarding claim 15, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit does not detect any additional ….. for a probe signal at the current probe signal frequency band and other frequency bands with the current ….., wherein the analyzing unit adjust the sampling rate of the second conversion unit to a higher predetermined frequency band and adjust the probe signal frequency band to correspond with the adjusted ….., wherein the analyzing unit utilizes available ….. from the adjusted frequency bands of the ….. and probe signal. [0031, 0061-0062 has analysis for interference in a frequency band and change of frequency based on available band]
Lesso teaches sampling rate [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
Schwartz teaches that time slots. [Col 53, Lines 1-25 has TDM being a well known technique for signal transmission]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan with the controllable or predetermined sampling rate of Lesso and the TDM of Wchwartz in order to manage signal transmission with well known techniques in the art and to control sampling rates and frequencies to based on desired triggers in order to processes signals at different frequencies in order to perform spoof detection as stated in the abstract and claim 1 of Lesso.
Regarding claim 16, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one first transducer receives acoustic signals and the analyzing unit does not detect at least one deviation, wherein the analyzing unit analyzes available time slots in all available frequency bands at the current sampling rate. [0059-0060 has normal mode with no interference]
Regarding claim 17, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit detects available …..for a probe signal at a lower frequency band with the current ….., wherein analyzing unit decreases the frequency band of the probe signal transmitted to the first conversion unit to the detected frequency band, and decreases the ….. to sample the new decreased frequency band of the probe signal [0031, 0061-0062 has analysis for interference in a frequency band and change of frequency based on available band]
Lesso teaches sampling rate [Abstract, claim 1, 4 has analog to digital converter with controllable or predetermined sampling rate]
Schwartz teaches that time slots. [Col 53, Lines 1-25 has TDM being a well known technique for signal transmission]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor in Kalayciyan with the controllable or predetermined sampling rate of Lesso and the TDM of Wchwartz in order to manage signal transmission with well known techniques in the art and to control sampling rates and frequencies to based on desired triggers in order to processes signals at different frequencies in order to perform spoof detection as stated in the abstract and claim 1 of Lesso.
Regarding claim 18, Kalaciyan, as modified, teaches wherein the analyzing unit does not detect any available time slots for a probe signal at a lower frequency band with the current sampling rate, wherein the analyzing unit continues to sample the current probe signal. [0031 has analysis for interference in a frequency band and monitoring the available band]
Conclusion
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645