DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chavva et al (US 2021/0351885) [R1]
For claim 1, R1 discloses receiving, by a terminal from a network, at least one channel state information (CSI)- reference signal (RS) (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209, 223-225 Fig. 6A, 8, 9A); and transmitting, by the terminal to the network, at least one CSI report including information indicating a first precoding matrix (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209 Fig. 6A, 8, 9A), and a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on a second precoding matrix (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209, Fig. 6A, 8, 9A), based on the at least one CSI-RS, wherein the first precoding matrix is included in a set of precoding matrices defined based on at least one predetermined codebook (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209 Fig. 6A, 8, 9A via feedback configuration with the gNB), wherein the second precoding matrix is determined based on the first precoding matrix and at least one artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model-related information (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 192-197 209, Fig. 6A, 8, 9A ‘one of the CSI feedback parameters is a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), wherein the neural network (602c) determines a most probable PMI value amongst a predefined number of probable PMI values, wherein the predefined number of PMI values are selected amongst a plurality of predicted PMI values’).
For claim 2, R1 discloses the second precoding matrix is determined based on at least one of: a precoding matrix corresponding to a relatively finer granularity compared to the first precoding matrix; a precoding matrix corresponding to a channel state after a report time point of the information indicating the first precoding matrix; for a channel state estimated based on the at least one CSI-RS, a precoding matrix which is relatively closer compared to the first precoding matrix; a precoding matrix derived based on an AI/ML model trained based on the channel state estimated based on the at least one CSI-RS; information about a channel estimated based on the at least one CSI-RS; or information about a similarity with the channel estimated based on the at least one CSI- RS (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 192-197, 209-210,Fig. 6A, 8, 20).
For claim 3, R1 discloses the at least one AI/ML model-related information is shared in advance between the network and the terminal, the at least one AI/ML model-related information includes at least one of AI/ML model- related information of the network or AI/ML model-related information of the terminal (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 192-197, 204, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 9A, 20).
For claim 4, R1 discloses the at least one AI/ML model-related information includes at least one of: at least one AI/ML model configuration information; at least one AI/ML model parameter; data used to derive at least one of the at least one AI/ML model configuration information or the at least one AI/ML model parameter; or at least one AI/ML model type information (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 192-196, 204, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 9A, 20).
For claim 5, R1 discloses a report quantity to be included in the at least one CSI report is configured or indicated from the network to the terminal (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 104, 116-124, 131, 162, 192-196, 209-210,Fig. 6A, 8, 9A, 20).
For claim 6, R1 discloses the at least one CSI report includes: a single CSI report including a first precoding matrix index (PMI) indicating the first precoding matrix, a first CQI based on the first precoding matrix, and a second CQI corresponding to the CQI based on the second precoding matrix; a single CSI report including the first PMI and the second CQI; or a first CSI report including the first PMI, and a second CSI report including the second CQI (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 103, 116-124, 131, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).
For claim 11, R1 discloses information about a request for updating the AI/ML model-related information is transmitted from the terminal to the network (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 70, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).
For claim 12, R1 discloses based on at least one of the CQI based on the second precoding matrix, or at least one another CSI report quantity having a specific value, the request for updating the AI/ML model-related information is indicated (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 70, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).
For claim 13, R1 discloses the information about the request for updating the AI/ML model-related information corresponds to a request for transmitting a new training signal (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 70, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).
For claim 14, R1 discloses in response to the request for updating the AI/ML model-related information, whether to report the CQI based on the second precoding matrix from the terminal is configured or indicated by the network (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).
For claim 15, R1 discloses at least one transceiver (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 70, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, 223-225, Fig. 6A, 8, 20); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 70, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, 223-225 Fig. 6A, 8, 20): receive, through the at least one transceiver, from a network, at least one channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20); and transmit, through the at least one transceiver, to the network, at least one CSI report including information indicating a first precoding matrix, and a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on a second precoding matrix, based on the at least one CSI-RS (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 192-197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20), wherein the first precoding matrix is included in a set of precoding matrices defined based on at least one predetermined codebook, wherein the second precoding matrix is determined based on the first precoding matrix and at least one artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model-related information (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 70, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).
For claim 17, R1 discloses at least one transceiver (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, 223-225, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, 223-225 Fig. 6A, 8, 20): transmit, through the at least one transceiver, to a terminal, at least one channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20).; and receive, through the at least one transceiver, from the terminal, at least one CSI report including information indicating a first precoding matrix, and a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on a second precoding matrix, based on the at least one CSI-RS (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20)., wherein the first precoding matrix is included in a set of precoding matrices defined based on at least one predetermined codebook (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20), wherein the second precoding matrix is determined based on the first precoding matrix and at least one artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) model-related information (paragraphs 33-35, 60-61, 70, 103-104, 116-124, 131-135, 162, 173, 177, 197, 209-210, Fig. 6A, 8, 20)
. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by R1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1 in view of WO 2020/025109 (cited on IDS) [R2].
For claim 7, R1 discloses the second CQI corresponds to a differential value for the first CQI, the differential value includes a differential value for at least one of a CQI, a signal to noise ratio (SNR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209 Fig. 6A, 8, 9A). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses the second CQI corresponds to a differential value for the first CQI, the differential value includes a differential value for at least one of a CQI, a signal to noise ratio (SNR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (page 3 lines 8-15, page 12 lines 19-34, Fig. 1 terminal device predicts a CQI value, stores the predicted CQI value as the CQI of the current time interval, calculates a differential CQI on the basis of the obtained CQI and a CQI value of a previous time interval and transmits to the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the second CQI corresponds to a differential value for the first CQI, the differential value includes a differential value for at least one of a CQI, a signal to noise ratio (SNR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known technique in a similar device, to increase transmission efficiency, and design choice.
For claim 8, R1 discloses a frequency band size on which the first CQI is based and a frequency band size on which the second CQI is based are configured or indicated differently (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209 Fig. 6A, 8, 9A). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses a frequency band size on which the first CQI is based and a frequency band size on which the second CQI is based are configured or indicated differently (page 3 lines 8-15, page 12 lines 19-34, Fig. 1 terminal device obtains a CQI value, calculates a differential CQI the determined subband and obtain a differential CQI value for each of the subbands and transmits to the base station). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use a frequency band size on which the first CQI is based and a frequency band size on which the second CQI is based are configured or indicated differently taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known technique in a similar device, to increase transmission efficiency, and design choice.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by R1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1 in view of WO 2021/108940 (cited on IDS) [R3].
For claim 9, R1 discloses the CQI based on the second precoding matrix is transmitted to the network along with AI/ML model-related information of the terminal (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209, Fig. 6A, 8, 9A). Or, in the alternative, R3 discloses the CQI based on the second precoding matrix is transmitted to the network along with AI/ML model-related information of the terminal (paragraphs 58-63 device reports an index of an Neural Network model formed of several bits, in addition to normal CSI feedback) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the CQI based on the second precoding matrix is transmitted to the network along with AI/ML model-related information of the terminal taught by R3. The rationale to combine would be to use a known technique in a similar device, to increase transmission efficiency, and design choice.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by R1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1 in view of Jiang et al (US 2021/0273709) [R4].
For claim 10, R1 discloses information indicating that at least one of a first CQI based on the first precoding matrix, or a second CQI corresponding to the CQI based on the second precoding matrix is included is included in the at least one CSI report (paragraphs 33-35, 70, 116-124, 131, 162, 209, Fig. 6A, 8, 9A). Or, in the alternative, R4 discloses information indicating that at least one of a first CQI based on the first precoding matrix, or a second CQI corresponding to the CQI based on the second precoding matrix is included is included in the at least one CSI report (paragraphs 107-111 if the sum of N Ris exceeds 4, a UE feeds back two CQIs, and if the sum of the N Ris does not exceed 4, the UE feeds back only one CQI, with the CSI-1 including a CRI, sum of N Ris, and a CQI, CSI-2 including a CQI and PMIs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use information indicating that at least one of a first CQI based on the first precoding matrix, or a second CQI corresponding to the CQI based on the second precoding matrix is included is included in the at least one CSI report taught by R4. The rationale to combine would be to use a known technique in a similar device, to increase transmission efficiency, and design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lim et al (US 12,621,022) discloses precoding matrix determinations with the use of A.I. and neural networks.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463