Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Patent No. 10410549 B1 and Kim hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses (figs. 1-6) a display device for a vehicle comprising: a housing (11) with one open side; a sliding assembly (860 and 840) located in the housing and including a slider which is movable away from or toward the opening (13, fig.3); a body (15) located in the housing and fixed to the slider (fig.5); and a display (2) coupled to the body, and which is movable out of the housing through the opening (fig.5), wherein the display comprises: a flexible display panel (3); and a folding module (911-912) which is located between the display panel and the body (fig.5), to which the display panel is coupled, and which is configured to bend or unfold the display panel (figs. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses (figs. 1-6) the display device for the vehicle of claim 1, wherein, according to a movement of the body, the display panel is located in the housing or is located outside the housing through the opening of the housing (figs 3-4).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses (figs. 1-6) the display device for the vehicle of claim 2, wherein, when the display panel is located in the housing, the folding module bends the display panel, and when the display panel is located outside the housing, the folding module unfolds the display panel (figs 3-4).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses (figs. 1-6) the display device for the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the folding module comprises: a bracket (912) coupled to the body; a plate (911) opposite the body with respect to the bracket, hinged (913) to the bracket, and to which the display panel is coupled; and a drive unit coupled to the bracket, the drive unit for hingedly moving the plate, wherein a hinge axis of the plate intersects a movement direction of the body (figs. 4-5), and wherein the display panel is bent or unfolded in accordance with a hinge motion of the plate (figs.4-5).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses (figs. 1-6) the display device for the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the sliding assembly comprises: a lead screw (840) extending in a movement direction of the slider; a motor (810) providing rotational force; and a power transmission member (a gear or a link L1 and L2) transmitting the rotational force from the motor to the lead screw, wherein the lead screw penetrates the slider and is engaged with the slider, and wherein the slider comprises a protruding portion protruding from a lateral side of the slider toward the body and fixed to the body (fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses (figs. 1-6) the display device for the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the sliding assembly comprises a pair of sliding assemblies opposite to each other with respect to the body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10, 12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to discloses, “wherein the drive unit comprises: a motor mounted to the bracket and providing rotational force; a drive pulley fixed to a rotation shaft of the motor; a driven pulley spaced apart from the drive pulley; and a belt engaged with the drive pulley and the driven pulley, and wherein the plate comprises: a knuckle formed at one side of the plate adjacent to the bracket; and a pin penetrating the knuckle, fixed to the knuckle, and including an end fixed to the driven pulley.”
Claim 6 is objected being depend on claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to discloses, “wherein the bracket further comprises: a vertical portion intersecting the body; a first horizontal portion bent from one end of the vertical portion toward the plate; and a second horizontal portion bent from another end of the vertical portion toward the plate, wherein the plate further comprises: an upper plate located between the first horizontal portion and the display panel, hinged to the first horizontal portion, and to which the display panel is coupled; and a lower plate located between the second horizontal portion and the display panel, hinged to the second horizontal portion, and to which the display panel is coupled, and wherein the upper plate and the lower plate opposite to each other or face in a same direction in accordance with hinge motion by the drive unit.”
Claim 8 is objected being depend on claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to discloses, “wherein the bracket further comprises a coupling portion protruding from the bracket toward the body and rotatably coupled to the body, wherein the display device for the vehicle further comprises a tilting module coupled to the coupling portion and rotating the coupling portion, and wherein a rotation axis of the coupling portion is parallel to the hinge axis.”
Claim 10 is objected being depend on claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to discloses, “a frame located between the slider and the body, wherein the frame comprises :a slot formed to be elongated in the movement direction of the slider and through which the protruding portion passes; and a rail extending long in a motion direction of the slider and spaced apart from the slot, and wherein the sliding assembly further comprises a carriage located between the rail and the body, fixed to the body, and movably coupled to the rail in a longitudinal direction of the rail.”
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to discloses, “a base coupled to another side of the housing; a door pivotably coupled to the base, the door being at least partially located at a movement path of the body and the display; and a pivot assembly pivoting the door with respect to the base, wherein the pivot assembly comprises: a pivot motor located on the base and providing rotational force; and a pivot arm connecting the base to the door, the pivot arm including a pivot point fixed to a rotation shaft of the pivot motor, a middle point located on the door so as to be adjacent to a boundary between the base and the door, and a top point spaced apart from the middle point in a width direction of the door.”
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to discloses, “a top cover covering one surface of the housing, the top cover including a first cover and a second cover connected to each other; and a folding assembly configured to fold or unfold the top cover, wherein the folding assembly comprises: a folding motor located on the one surface of the housing and providing rotational force; a folding arm which is rotatable in accordance with the rotational force from the 45 folding motor, the folding arm including one end connected to a rotation shaft of the folding motor and another end rotatably coupled to the first cover; and a connecting member coupled to an inner side of the second cover, the connecting member including one end hinged to the first cover and another end hinged to the housing, and wherein rotation axes of the one end and the other end of the folding arm are parallel to hinge axes of the one end and the other end of the connecting member.”
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841