DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 9/10/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-15 were canceled. Claims 16-33 were added. Claims 16-33 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20, 22, 24-29, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Im et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0053422 (henceforth referred to as Im).
As for claim 16, Im teaches a method of controlling a laundry treatment apparatus (Fig. 1: part 100), the method comprising: performing a water supply section (paragraphs [0093]-[0094]; Fig. 7: step 221) of generating a concentrated washing liquid by rotating a drum (Fig. 2: part 124) in which laundry is put at a first rotational speed (paragraph [0097]) to mix a detergent with water of a predetermined first water amount; and performing a washing section (paragraphs [0095]-[0106]; Fig. 7: step 222) by rotating the drum at a second rotational speed (paragraph [0093]) in order to mix the laundry with the concentrated washing liquid generated in the water supply section and introduced inside the drum, wherein the predetermined first water amount is predetermined to be a water amount of a level at which water supplied to a tub (Fig. 2: part 122) of the laundry treatment apparatus is abutted by a bottom end boundary of the drum (paragraphs [0087]-[0112]).
As for claim 17, Im further teaches that the performing the water supply section includes, in order to generate the concentrated washing liquid in a state where the laundry is dry clothing, rotating the drum of which the bottom end boundary abuts the concentrated washing liquid where the detergent and the water of the predetermined first water amount are mixed (paragraphs [0093]-[0094]; Fig. 7).
As for claim 18, Im further teaches that the concentrated washing liquid introduced inside the drum includes a bubble generated in the concentrated washing liquid that is abutted by the bottom end boundary of the drum due to rotation of the drum (paragraph [0151]).
As for claim 19, Im further teaches that the first rotational speed is a speed faster than the second rotational speed (paragraphs [0093] and [0097]).
As for claim 20, Im further teaches that the first rotational speed is a rotational speed at which the laundry and the drum are rotated together by centrifugal force due to rotation of the drum, and wherein the second rotational speed is a rotational speed for washing the laundry using a drop distance of the laundry (paragraphs [0093] and [0097]).
As for claim 22, Im further teaches that the drum rotates in one direction alone in at least one of the water supply section and the washing section (paragraph [0112]).
As for claim 24, Im further teaches that, after the washing section is ended, an additional water supply section and an additional washing section, different from operations in the water supply section and the washing section, are performed (Fig. 7: step 223).
As for claim 25, Im teaches a laundry treatment apparatus (Fig. 1: part 100) comprising: a tub (Fig. 2: part 122) that includes a drum (Fig. 2: part 124); a driver (Fig. 3: part 113) configured to rotate the drum; a detergent supply part (Fig. 1: part 133) configured to provide a detergent; a water supply part (Fig. 2: part 132) configured to provide water; and a controller (Fig. 5: part 141) configured to control at least one of the detergent supply part, the water supply part, and the driver to perform a water supply section (paragraphs [0093]-[0094]; Fig. 7: step 221) of generating a concentrated washing liquid by rotating the drum in which laundry is put at a first rotational speed (paragraph [0097]) to mix a detergent with water of a predetermined first water amount and perform a washing section (paragraphs [0095]-[0106]; Fig. 7: step 222) by rotating the drum at a second rotational speed (paragraph [0093]) in order to mix the laundry with the concentrated washing liquid generated in the water supply section and introduced inside the drum, wherein the predetermined first water amount is predetermined to be a water amount of a level at which water supplied to the tub is abutted by a bottom end boundary of the drum (paragraphs [0087]-[0112]).
As for claim 26, Im further teaches that the controller is configured to control the driver, in order to generate the concentrated washing liquid in a state where the laundry is dry clothing, to rotate the drum of which the bottom end boundary abuts the concentrated washing liquid where the detergent and the water of the predetermined first water amount are mixed (paragraphs [0093]-[0094]; Fig. 7).
As for claim 27, Im further teaches that the concentrated washing liquid introduced inside the drum includes a bubble generated in the concentrated washing liquid that is abutted by the bottom end boundary of the drum due to rotation of the drum (paragraph [0151]).
As for claim 28, Im further teaches that the first rotational speed is a speed faster than the second rotational speed (paragraphs [0093] and [0097]).
As for claim 29, Im further teaches that the first rotational speed is a rotational speed at which the laundry and the drum are rotated together by centrifugal force due to rotation of the drum, and wherein the second rotational speed is a rotational speed for washing the laundry using a drop distance of the laundry (paragraphs [0093] and [0097]).
As for claim 31, Im further teaches that the controller is configured to control the driver so that the drum rotates in one direction alone in at least one of the water supply section and the washing section (paragraph [0112]).
As for claim 33, Im further teaches that the controller is configured to control the detergent supply part, the water supply part, and the driver, after the washing section is ended, to perform an additional water supply section and an additional washing section, different from operations in the water supply section and the washing section (Fig. 7: step 223).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0053422 (henceforth referred to as Im).
Im teaches the features as per above. Im differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the first rotational speed is predetermined as 70 revolutions per minute (rpm) and the second rotational speed is predetermined as 30 rpm. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious to try. It is old and well known to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. In the instant case, the rotational speeds that result in laundry tumbling in the drum or being attached thereto by centrifugal force. See MPEP § 2143, I, E. Obvious To Try.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Im et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0053422, the closest prior art, differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the performing the water supply section includes, by mixing the detergent including a shrinkage prevention agent with a concentrated washing liquid of the predetermined first water amount, performing the water supply section of generating the concentrated washing liquid. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Im as claimed.
Conclusion
/LEVON J SHAHINIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711