DETAILED ACTION
(1)
(2)
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant amended claims 3-9, 12 and 13 and cancelled claims 1, 2, 10 and 11. No new matter is entered. Claims 3-9, 12 and 13 are pending before the Office for review. Claims 14-20 remain withdrawn in response to a restriction requirement.
(3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the terminal electrode" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This should be “the first terminal electrode” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the terminal electrode" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This should be “the second terminal electrode” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the contact layer structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if this refers to the first or second contact layer structure.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the terminal electrode" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if this refers to the first or second terminal electrode.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the contact layer structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if this refers to the first or second contact layer structure.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the MCS layer" in lines 4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if this refers to the first or second MCS layer.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the MCS layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if this refers to the first or second MCS layer.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the MCS layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if this refers to the first or second MCS layer.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the MCS layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear if this refers to the first or second MCS layer.
Claim 12 requires the first electrode is a front electrode and the first multi-layer contact structure is textured. This requirement is indefinite because the type of cell defined by claim 13, from which claim 12 depends is a back-contact solar cell. Accordingly, it’s not clear what is required by this feature of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first electrode" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite because their scope is unascertainable to one ordinarily skilled in the art. Claims 3-9 and 12 are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 13.
(4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3-8, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (KR 20190087104 A) and ZZZ. The citations to Chang refer to the included English language machine translation.
With respect to claim 13, Chang teaches a photovoltaic cell (Figure 3) comprising a first multi-layer contact structure comprising a semiconductor substrate (210), a first terminal electrode (282) and a first contact layer structure in direct contact with the semiconductor substrate and the first terminal electrode, the contact layer structure comprising a passivating tunnel layer (250) between a first, hole-selective metal-containing selective layer (262) and the semiconductor substrate. Figure 3 and Pages 3-5.
Chang further teaches the photovoltaic cell comprises a second multi-layer contact structure comprising the substrate (210), a second terminal electrode (284), and a second contact layer structure in direct contact with the semiconductor substrate and the second terminal electrode, the contact layer structure comprising a passivating tunnel layer (250) between a second, electron-selective metal-containing selective layer (264) and the semiconductor substrate, wherein the passivating tunnel layer is the same for each multi-layer contact structure. Figure 3 and Pages 3-5.
With respect to claim 3, Chang teaches the contact layer structure has a partial area contact with the terminal electrode. Figure 3.
With respect to claim 4, Chang teaches each contact layer structure comprises a transparent conductive film (272 or 274) disposed such that each other layer of each contact layer structure is between the transparent conductive film and the substrate. Figure 3 and Page 7.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Chang teaches the first and second metal-containing carrier selective layers are 2-15 nm in thickness. Pages 5 and 7.
With respect to claim 7, Chang teaches the first and second metal-containing carrier selective layers comprise a metal oxide. Pages 5 and 6.
With respect to claim 8, Chang teaches the passivation tunnel layer has a thickness of 0.5 to 2 nm. Page 5.
With respect to claim 12, Chang teaches the substrate and the corresponding first multi-layer contact structure are textured to improve power generation efficiency. Pages 4 and 7.
(5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (KR 20190087104 A) in view of Yoon et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0157497). The citations to Chang refer to the included English language machine translation.
With respect to claim 9, Chang teaches the transparent conductive film layer but is silent as to its thickness.
However, Yoon, which as previously-noted, deals with multi-layer contact structures comprising transparent conductive films, teaches a thickness of 50 to 100 nm is an effective thickness for such a film. Paragraphs 35-39. As per the MPEP, where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of Chang with Yoon is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. Both Chang and Yoon deal with photovoltaic cells comprising multi-layer contact structures comprising a transparent conductive film. Yoon teaches a thickness of 50 to 100 nm is an effective thickness for the transparent conductive film. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Chang’s transparent conductive film with this thickness because Yoon teaches it to be an effective thickness, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
(6)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection.
(7)
Conclusion
/ELI S MEKHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759