DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Amendments to the claims have overcome the previously applied 112 rejections.
Applicant has amended the claims to state that the biomass composite is plant or animal material that has been constituted by artificially bonding plant or animal fibers together using an adhesive, clue, resin matrix or other binder.
Applicant argues that the amended claims include limitations not taught by Hiraoka.
Applicant argues that Hiraoka does not disclose a slurry, a biomass composite, a channel, or passing an electric current to “heat” the material.
In regards to a slurry, Applicant argues that the pain meaning of slurry would not read on Hiraoka’s teaching of a pulp. Applicant argues that the presence of water does not make a slurry and in a diaper, water is adsorbed by polymers and not considered free water, and that while some water might be present int eh pulp, a solid mass of pulp is not a slurry.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The reference teaches the presence of fibers, polymers, and then an added water into a mixture. Paragraph [0025] explicitly refers to a water adding step that is in addition to the pulp fibers, polymers, and water. There is a direct teaching of having water included in the mix throughout the discloser. Al of this takes place prior to the separation of fibers step. Therefore, the pulp mixture that includes pulp fibers, polymers, and water will indeed read on the plain meaning of a slurry.
Applicant argues that Hiraoka teaches an applied voltage section followed by a separation using specific gravity. Applicant argues that this proves that the material is not a slurry because two steps are needed to separate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The number of steps utilized between an applied voltage step and a separating step has nothing to do with the presence of a slurry or not. There are many multi staged separating steps that utilize specific gravity and have no effect on something being defined as a slurry.
If Applicant wishes for the slurry to be a set concentration or amount of water, then it needs to be actively claimed.
Applicant has amended the claims to require that a biomass composite materials must include plant or animal fibers artificially bonded by adhesive, glue, or resin matrix.
The reference teaches that the absorbent article can be a number of items but preferably a disposable diaper [0012]. It is taught that the mixture of pulp fibers, polymers, and water are treated in a squeezing operation [0016] that includes the act of affecting the outer layers which include a nonwoven fabric, film, rubber, etc.
The reference further teaches that hot melt adhesive agents are used in the absorbent article is present in the solution during treatment [0030]
While it would be clear to the average artisan that these films, rubbers, and other stated elements of the disposable diameter would include the claimed bonding of the fibers with an adhesive, glue, binder, or resin matrix, a new reference will be provided to explicitly address this.
Applicant further argues that the term “channel” requires that water flows through it and therefore will have to have a floor and side walls.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While a channel including the flow of water is a provided definition, this is not a teaching of a negative limitation (that water cannot be removed) to provide for the implied teaching of the presence of a floor and walls as part of the channel. Negative limitations require explicit support in the instant specification. As long as water makes it through the cited pathway, the pathway will constitute as a channel.
In this case, Figure 1 depicts the opposed conveyors with the first and second electrode (items 31 and 32) while the mixture of pulp fibers, polymers and water that make up item 13 travel through the pathway as shown with the resulting material of item 15, which is defined as “a mixture of pulp fibers, inactivated super absorbent polymers, and water”.
The reference explicitly states that water is still present in the mixture of item 15 that exits the channel as shown in figure 1.
As stated above, there is no definition as to how much water must be present that defines a slurry. The act of removing wastewater into item 14 in figure 1 does not disqualify the teaching that water is still part of the mixture that makes it to the end of the channel.
The claims are open-ended. By rule that allows for the presence of other limitations and actions to take place. Having a wastewater removal wire in the channel does not teach away from the fact that a mixture including water exits the end of the channel. Also, the term channel does not mandate that a wall and floor is present in the device. If these limitations are to be considered, then they must be explicitly claimed.
It is improper to read limitations into the claims that are not explicitly present.
Finally, applicant argues that the claims require passing sufficient charge to heat the polymers and that Hiraoka only teaches applying a current to effect electrophoresis and it teaches away from heating in [0052].
The Examiner states that the discussion of heat treatments in [0052] are directed to a sterilization step and have no bearing on the electrical application.
Additionally, the act of applying a voltage to the materials to effect a change in the separation of absorbed water from the polymers will produce an ohmnic heating action. The act of actively claiming something that occurs naturally does not differentiate it from the prior art. The claimed limitations are met as a voltage is moved across the ions in the mixture which will affect the deactivation of the polymers and allow of the separation of the fibers form the mixture in a later step.
Additionally, claim 9 teaches a heating step, but isn’t specifically defined to state that the electric current creates a heating effect until the composite material reaches the claimed temperature range. As stated above with the open ended nature of the claims the act of heating the water as the reference does is a valid reading on this limitation as the claim does not tie into the act of passive the current through the slurry.
It is recommended to clarify the method step of passing the electric current through the slurry with active parameters and not just end results. If the claims were amended to include specific parameters of the electric current, the arguments presented would be persuasive (as long as they were commensurate in scope with the amendments).
The arguments in view of the 103 rejection are appreciated as they address the intent of the claimed scope. The understanding of sandwiching the biomass material when recycling MDF was more efficient and avoided chunking issues when held to be physically confined in a channel without a removal of water to allow for efficient ohmic heating to take place.
The claims must be read on broadest reasonable interpretation and the reference cited in the act of recycling disposable diapers reads on the limitations as they are currently claimed. It is recommended to clarify the limitations in question (amount of water in a slurry, how the electric current is utilized, the definition of a channel, etc.) with actively claimed limitations and not interpretations which cannot be integrated form the specification.
The arguments provided in view of the 103 rejection would be considered to be persuasive if they were actively commensurate in scope with the claimed limitations, but the rejections are currently maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 7, 9-10, 12-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hiraoka et al, EP 3417954A1 (already of record) in view of Blanco, USP 5,207,664.
Regarding claim 7, Hiraoka teaches a method of recovering separated fibres from a biomass composite material (see abstract), the method comprising:
providing a slurry comprising a liquid medium and a biomass composite material (pulp and super absorbent polymer [0069]);
moving the slurry through a channel using two or more conveyor belts (see figure 1), wherein the biomass composite material is disposed between the two or more conveyor belts (items 31 and 32 referred to as first and second electrodes that are belt conveyers [0073]); and
passing an electric current through the slurry while the biomass composite material is between the conveyor belts to heat the biomass composite material [0070], to effect separation of the fibres in the biomass composite material (teaches deactivation of the polymers to allow for the separation of fibers polymers and waste material) [0070-0071]; and recovering the separated fibres (see abstract, claims 13-15 and [0071];
wherein the biomass composite is plant or animal material (pulp) that has been constituted by artificially bonding plant or animal fibers together using an adhesive, glue, resin matric, or other binder [0030].
The reference teaches that the absorbent article can be a number of items but preferably a disposable diaper [0012]. It is taught that the mixture of pulp fibers, polymers, and water are treated in a squeezing operation [0016] that includes the act of affecting the outer layers which include a nonwoven fabric, film, rubber, etc.
The reference further teaches that hot melt adhesive agents are used in the absorbent article is present in the solution during treatment [0030]
In the alternative, to show that fibers bonded with an adhesive, glue, binder, or resin matrix, is known in the art of disposable diapers to utilize a natural fiber material (see abstract) that is made with a heat activated matrix (see abstract) with absorbent polymers included (see claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the disposable diapers would include the plant fibers bonded with an adhesive or resin as taught by Blanco as conventional in the art to biodegradable disposable diapers.
Regarding claim 9, Hiraoka further teaches wherein the biomass composite material is heated to between 50 and 100 °C, and preferably between 75 °C and 100 °C (see claim 11)
Regarding claim 10, Hiraoka further teaches wherein the slurry is provided by feeding the biomass-composite material into the channel and wetting the biomass- composite material with water in the channel [0025 and 0029] - see figure 1.
Regarding claim 12, Hiraoka further teaches wherein the biomass composite material is shredded into pieces (figure 2 and [0015-0017] show the cutting of the starting material and the teachings of crushing and perforating the composite material to access the fibers and SAP).
Regarding claim 13, Hiraoka further teaches wherein the liquid medium comprises or is water [0025].
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Hiraoka further teaches wherein the water further comprises an electrolyte (ions and salts are included in the water during the processing and is removed as part of the wastewater [0032] saltwater reads on a brine).
Absent a showing of unexpected results and a specific definition of brine, it is understood that the salt in the water of the reference will read on the term brine.
Regarding claim 15, Hiraoka further teaches wherein the ratio of liquid medium to bio-mass composite material in the slurry is from 20:1 to 1:1 by weight (90% water [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraoka et al, EP 3417954A1 (already of record) in view of Blanco, USP 5,207,664, and in view of Nienaber et al, US Patent Publication 2021/0283749.
Regarding claim 11, Hiraoka further teaches keeping a steady speed on the belts [0070], but is silent as to what the speed should be.
In the same field of endeavor of controlling the speed of conveyors and screen electrodes in processing fiber materials, Nienaber teaches that the movement of the fiber material should be 1.52 meters per minute [0125], which equates to 25.33 mm/s.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the conventional belt speeds of a moving fiber material to be acted upon by a screen electrode as taught by Nienaber in the Hiraoka method for the benefit of utilizing a known and conventional value for the speed of the belt when the primary reference did not provide guidance on the speed. It is within the ability of the average artisan to look for the conventional values of basic engineering practices.
Regarding claim 19, Hiraoka teaches the act of breaking the outer portions of the starting materials (which can be diapers, or other forms of pads). The dimensions of the materials are not provided. It would be obvious to optimize the size of the shredded materials prior to future treatments as the reference already addresses this in concept but is merely silent as to what size the shredded intermediate piece is. The final product does not have a size restriction and the act of shredding and then further treatment, and collection is still the same. Absent a showing of unexpected results for shredding the intermediate pieces into the claimed size prior to formation of the slurry will be taken into consideration but will be required to overcome the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748