Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 12 states, “The system according to claim 11, wherein the gripper is configured to pick and place plants or plant receptacles from or into the orifices of the planting wall” which merely states an intended use or purpose of the invention as recited in claim 11 and does not impose any additional structural limitations to the apparatus of claim 11.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beavers (US 7018163 B2) in view of Ward (US 20130213841 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Beavers discloses a gripping system comprising: a gripper (see Fig. 1) for handling the plant or the plant receptacles in the vertical farming facility (capable of handling plants in a vertical farming facility); wherein the gripper comprises a gripper head with a first gripping element (223; see annotated Fig. 1) and a second gripping element (221; see annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first gripping element comprises two first lateral holding arms (see annotated Fig. 1) and the second gripping element comprises two second lateral holding arms (see annotated Fig. 1); wherein the gripper head is transferable between a clamping position (see Col. 7, lines 15-30), in which the first gripping element and the second gripping element are located close to each other to clamp the plant or the plant receptacle in between (see Col. 7, lines 15-30), and a release position, in which the first gripping element and the second gripping element are located apart from each other to release the plant or the plant receptacle (see Col. 7, lines 15-30); and wherein in the clamping position, the at least two rim portions of the base element are clamped between the first gripping element and the second gripping element for connecting the plant receptacle to the gripper (see Col. 7, lines 15-30; the clamping mechanism is capable of connecting a plant receptacle to the gripper).
Beavers fails to disclose a vertical farming facility; a plant receptacle comprising a base element providing a cavity for a plant and at least two rim portions, the at least two rim portions extend outwardly from opposing sides of the base element, the at least two rim portions are part of a single-piece circumferential rim of the base element.
However, Ward teaches a vertical farming facility (see Fig. 8-9); a plant receptacle comprising a base element providing a cavity for a plant (see Fig. 8 for base element having a cavity) and at least two rim portions (see Fig. 8 for at least two rim portions around the base element), the at least two rim portions extend outwardly from opposing sides of the base element (see Fig. 8), the at least two rim portions are part of a single-piece circumferential rim of the base element (see Fig. 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a vertical farming facility; a plant receptacle comprising a base element providing a cavity for a plant and at least two rim portions, the at least two rim portions extend outwardly from opposing sides of the base element, the at least two rim portions are part of a single-piece circumferential rim of the base element, on the gripping system of Beavers, as taught by Ward, in order to retain the containers in stacked relationship to one another during transportation by forming a stable transport module (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Beavers, in view of Ward, discloses the gripping system as claimed in claim 1, wherein each first lateral holding arm (223; see Fig. 2) has a protruding free end and wherein the free ends of the two first lateral holding arms (223; see Fig. 2) are spaced apart from each other along a lateral direction (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Beavers, in view of Ward, discloses the gripping system as claimed in claim 1, wherein each second lateral holding arm (221; see Fig. 2) has a protruding free end and wherein the free ends of the two second lateral holding arms (221; see Fig. 2) are spaced apart from each other along a lateral direction (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Beavers, in view of Ward, discloses the gripping system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first gripping element (223; see Fig. 2) and the second gripping element (221; see Fig. 2) are movable relative to each other along a vertical direction being transverse to the lateral direction to transfer the gripper head between the clamping position and the release position (see Col. 7, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 5, Beavers, in view of Ward, discloses the gripping system as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first gripping element (223; see Fig. 2) is an upper gripping element (see Fig. 2), and the second gripping element (221; see Fig. 2) is a bottom gripping element (see Fig. 2), wherein the upper gripping element is movable along the vertical direction relatively to the bottom gripping element (see Col. 7, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 6, Beavers, in view of Ward, discloses the gripping system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the upper gripping element (223; see Fig. 2) comprises an upper holding means (see annotated Fig. 1) to which the two first lateral holding arms are connected, wherein the upper holding means is angled or curved (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Beavers, in view of Ward, discloses the gripping system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the gripper comprises an articulated arm (117; see Fig. 1) rotatable supporting the gripper head (see Col. 5, lines 45-60), wherein the articulated arm is pivotably connected to a further articulated arm (109; see Fig. 1) which is supported by a base member (103; see Fig. 1), wherein the articulated arm and/or the further articulated arm is/are pivotable around at least two independent spatial axes (see Col. 5, lines 45-60).
Regarding claim 11, Ward further teaches wherein the vertical farming facility comprises a substantially vertical planting wall (286; see Fig. 27), wherein the planting wall comprises multiple orifices or grooves, into which plants or plant receptacles are insertable (see Fig. 27 for grooves where plants are inserted). See motivation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Beavers, in view of Ward, discloses the gripping system as claimed in claim 11, wherein the gripper is configured to pick and place plants or plant receptacles from or into the orifices of the planting wall (the gripping system of Beavers is capable of gripping plants and placing them into a planting wall).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Holland (US 5320649 A) in view of Beavers (US 7018163 B2), further in view of Ward (US 20130213841 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Holland discloses method for handling a plant or a plant receptacle in a vertical farm facility, wherein the plant or the plant receptacle are picked from a tray in a first step by a gripper (see Abstract), the gripper comprises a gripper head with a first gripping element (see Abstract) and a second gripping element (see Abstract), wherein the gripper head is transferable between a clamping position in which the first gripping element and the second gripping element are located close to each other to clamp the plants or the plant receptacles in between (see Abstract and Fig. 11-12) and a release position in which the first gripping element and the second gripping element are located apart from each other to release the plant or the plant receptacle (see Abstract and Fig. 11-12), wherein the first gripping element is an upper gripping element (see Fig. 11-12), the upper gripping element comprises an upper holding means (102; see Col. 4, lines 25-30), the upper holding means is angled or curved (see Col. 4, lines 25-30 for “upper angled portion”), and wherein in a second step, the picked plant or plant receptacles are placed by the gripper in orifices of a substantially vertical planting wall in a second step (see Abstract and Fig. 4-5).
Holland fails to disclose a method for wherein the first gripping element comprises two first lateral holding arms and the second gripping element comprises two second lateral holding arms, wherein the plant receptacle comprises a base element providing a cavity for the plant and at least two rim portions, the two rim portions extend outwardly from opposing sides of the base element, the two rim portions are part of a single-piece circumferential rim of the base element.
However, Beavers teaches a method for a gripper wherein the first gripping element comprises two first lateral holding arms and the second gripping element comprises two second lateral holding arms (see annotated Fig. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a method for a gripper wherein the first gripping element comprises two first lateral holding arms and the second gripping element comprises two second lateral holding arms, on the method of Holland, as taught by Beavers, in order to articulate the robotic implement through a range of angular and linear motion (see Col. 2, lines 10-15).
Further, Ward teaches a method for handling a plant or a plant receptacle in a vertical farming facility (see Fig. 8-9), wherein the plant receptacle comprises a base element providing a cavity for the plant and at least two rim portions (see annotated Fig. 8), the two rim portions extend outwardly from opposing sides of the base element (see annotated Fig. 8), the two rim portions are part of a single-piece circumferential rim of the base element (see annotated Fig. 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a method for handling a plant or a plant receptacle in a vertical farming facility, wherein the plant receptacle comprises a base element providing a cavity for the plant and at least two rim portions, the two rim portions extend outwardly from opposing sides of the base element, the two rim portions are part of a single-piece circumferential rim of the base element, on the gripping system of Holland, as modified by Beavers, as taught by Ward, in order to retain the containers in stacked relationship to one another during transportation by forming a stable transport module (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Holland, in view of Beavers and Ward, discloses the method as claimed in claim 13, wherein the gripper head is transferred from a release position into the clamping position during the first step (see Abstract), and wherein the gripper head is transferred from the clamping position into the release position during the second step (see Abstract; “selectively movable between gripping and release positions.”).
Regarding claim 15, Holland, in view of Beavers and Ward, discloses the method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the plant or plant receptacle are picked from the planting wall by the gripper in a third step and removed by the gripper in a fourth step (see Abstract; “A system for transplanting plants from a seedling tray to a plant tray includes a gripper head having gripper arms which are selectively movable between gripping and release positions.”).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654