DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “61” in Fig. 2 has been used to designate several parts including “61a”, “61b”, “61c”, “61d” and “61e”. The notation “61a(61)” appears to designate a part “61a” but also includes “61” which is unclear. Similarly, “64” is used to designate parts “64a”, “64b” and “64c” and is likewise objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0107313).
Regarding claim 1, Murakami et al. discloses a water-absorbent resin material which is internally crosslinked (Abstract) and includes:
An ethylenically unsaturated monomer such as (meth)acrylic acid in amounts of 70-100 mol% relative to the total monomer units (par. [0029]-[0030])
A water retention capacity of saline 40g/g or more (par. [0088])
A water retention capacity under a load of 4.14 kPa of 20 ml/g or more (i.e. 20 g/g or more since 1 ml of saline water is approximately 1 g). (par. [0089])
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since Murakami et al. teaches a water capacity under load of 4.14 kPa of 20 ml/g or more, the sum of the saline water retention capacity and the water retention capacity under load with be 60 g/g or more, overlapping with the presently claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, Murakami et al. discloses that the upper limit of the saline water-retention capacity is preferably 60 g/g or less (par. [0088]), overlapping with the presently claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, Murakami et al. discloses that the water-absorbent material has a particle diameter in the range of 150-850 micrometers (par. [0110]), overlapping with the presently claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Murakami et al. teaches forming an absorbent article (i.e. an absorber, as claimed) with the resin composition. (Abstract).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2017/0107313) in view of Dairoku et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2006/0183828).
Murakami et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Murakami et al. does not disclose the residual monomer content of the water-absorbent resin.
Dairoku et al. teaches a water absorbent resin material having a low residual monomer concentration (Abstract). Dairoku et al. teaches a residual monomer concentration for acrylic acid monomers of preferably 300 ppm or less, as claimed, to reduce the likelihood of an abnormal odor when coming into contact with urea during use in the absorbent article and prevent sanitary issues when coming into contact with a user’s skin. (par. [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to minimize the residual monomer concentration to 300 ppm or less as taught by Dairoku et al. for the water absorbent resin material taught in Murakami et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to minimize the amount of residual monomer to reduce the likelihood of odor generation and prevent irritation of the skin when the absorbent resin comes into contact with the user of the absorbent article.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 08/06/2026