DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/845986 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 09/11/24
2. The present application, file on or after March 16, 2013, is being examiner under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objection
4. Claims 1- 9, 11-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 9, and 16 states .. if there are two coherent groups,….; …if there are four coherent group….
Claims 2, 17 states…. if a number of coherent groups…. if the number ….
Claim 3, 18 states… if a reported… if the reported
Claim 4, 19 states…: if the configuration configures…
Claim 6 states… if the configuration configures…..
Claim 7 states… if the configuration configures..
Claim 8 states…. if a configuration configures
Claim 11-12 states … if the supported…. if the number…
Claim 13 states….: if the configuration….
Claim 14 states… if the configuration ….
Claim 20 states… if the configuration… if there are four coherent groups…; if there are eight….
The use of the term if, can suggest the associated limitation does not necessarily need to occur.
Applicant may choose to use when in it’s place throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-4, 6-9,16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over (CN 114501629A) referred to as CN in view of 3GPP 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #109-e R1-2204373
Regarding claim 1, CN teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration to configure two phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) pods for transmission, wherein: (see CN page 9 paragraph [0005] discloses…..Optionally, the configuration of the port of the first PTRS resource and the port of the second PTRS resource comprises: if the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is N, the maximum port number of the first PTRS resource and the second PTRS resource is N, and N is equal to 1 or 2; Alternatively, if the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is N, the PTRS resource of the PTRS port 0 is the first PTRS resource, PTRS resource of PTRS port 1 is the second PTRS resource, N is equal to 2.Alternatively, the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is indicated by the high layer signaling, or based on the received coherent (TPMI) characteristic of the wideband precoding matrix indication (TPMI) in the DCI.
…. )
if there are two coherent groups, each of which consists of 4 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group share a first PT-RS port and the antenna ports within a second coherent group share a second PT-RS port,
if there are four coherent groups, each of which consists of 2 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group and a second coherent group share the first PT-RS port and the 4 antenna ports within a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the second PT-RS port,
the first PT-RS port is associated with one of an indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the first PT-RS port according to a value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table, and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table.(see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource)
CN does not explicitly disclose 8 antenna ports uplink (UL)
However 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission also see 3.2 and 3.3 In addition, as discussed above, there could bc different types of UE antenna layout for different scenarios, SO that the 8TX UL codebook can be applicable to any 8TX UE antenna layout.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine CN with 3GPPnd. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve larger DCI indication (see observation 1)
Regarding claim 2, the modified CN taught the UE of claim 1, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: if a number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 1, a reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1; if the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 2, the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1 or 2; if the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 4, the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1 or 2 or 4; and if the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 8, the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1 or 2 or 4 or 8. (3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 3, the modified CN taught the UE of claim 1, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: if a reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1, a configuration configures one PT-RS port; if the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 2, the configuration configures one or two PT-RS ports; if the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 4, the configuration configures one or two or four PT-RS ports; and if a reported number of the coherent groups is 8, the configuration configures one or two or four or eight PT-RS ports. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 4, the modified CN taught the UE of claim 3, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: if the configuration configures one PT-RS port: the 8 antenna ports share the one PT-RS port; and the one PT-RS port is associated with one of an indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) port(s) according to the value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
5. (canceled)
Regarding claim 6, the modified CN taught the UE of claim 3, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port: if there are four coherent groups, each of which consists of 2 antenna ports, then, the 2 antenna ports within a first coherent group share the first PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a second coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a third coherent group share the third PT-RS port, and the 2 antenna ports within a fourth coherent group share the fourth PT-RS port; if there are eight coherent groups, each of which consists of 1 antenna port, then, the 2 antenna ports within a first coherent group and a second coherent group share the first PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a fifth coherent group and a sixth coherent group share the third PT-RS port, and the 2 antenna ports within a seventh coherent group and an eighth coherent group share the fourth PT-RS port; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of an indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) port(s) sharing the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits.
discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 7, the modified CN taught the UE of claim 1, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive an SRS configuration of one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set for non-codebook, wherein the one SRS resource set consists of up to 8 SRS resources, each SRS resource is configured with a PT-RS port; if a configuration configures one PT-RS port; all SRS resources within the one SRS resource set share the one PT-RS port; and the one PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports according to the value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table; if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port and a second PT-RS port: each of the first PT-RS port and the second PT-RS port is shared by up to 4 SRS resources within the one SRS resource set; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to SRS resources indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table; and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table; and if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port: each of the first PT-RS port, the second PT-RS port, the third PT-RS port and the fourth PT-RS port is shared by up to 2 SRS resources within the one SRS resource set; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 8, the modified CN taught the UE of claim 1, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive an sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration of multiple SRS resource sets for non-codebook, wherein a number of SRS resource sets for non-codebook is equal to a supported maximum number of PT-RS port(s); all SRS resources within the same SRS resource set for non-codebook share a same PT-RS port; if a configuration configures one PT-RS port: the one PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports according to the value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table; if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port and a second PT-RS port: the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within an SRS resource set indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table; and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table; and if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port: the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 9, CN teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a configuration to configure two phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) ports for transmission, wherein: (see CN page 9 paragraph [0005] discloses…..Optionally, the configuration of the port of the first PTRS resource and the port of the second PTRS resource comprises: if the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is N, the maximum port number of the first PTRS resource and the second PTRS resource is N, and N is equal to 1 or 2; Alternatively, if the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is N, the PTRS resource of the PTRS port 0 is the first PTRS resource, PTRS resource of PTRS port 1 is the second PTRS resource, N is equal to 2.Alternatively, the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is indicated by the high layer signaling, or based on the received coherent (TPMI) characteristic of the wideband precoding matrix indication (TPMI) in the DCI.
…. )
if there are two coherent groups, each of which consists of 4 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group share a first PT-RS port and the antenna ports within a second coherent group share a second PT-RS port, if there are four coherent groups, each of which consists of 2 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group and a second coherent group share the first PT-RS port and the 4 antenna ports within a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the first PT-RS port is associated with one of an indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the first PT-RS port according to a value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table, and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource)
CN does not explicitly disclose 8 antenna ports uplink (UL)
However 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission also see 3.2 and 3.3 In addition, as discussed above, there could bc different types of UE antenna layout for different scenarios, SO that the 8TX UL codebook can be applicable to any 8TX UE antenna layout.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine CN with 3GPPnd. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve larger DCI indication (see observation 1)
Regarding claim 16, CN teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: receive a configuration to configure two phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) ports for transmission, wherein: (see CN page 9 paragraph [0005] discloses…..Optionally, the configuration of the port of the first PTRS resource and the port of the second PTRS resource comprises: if the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is N, the maximum port number of the first PTRS resource and the second PTRS resource is N, and N is equal to 1 or 2; Alternatively, if the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is N, the PTRS resource of the PTRS port 0 is the first PTRS resource, PTRS resource of PTRS port 1 is the second PTRS resource, N is equal to 2.Alternatively, the maximum port number of the PTRS resource of the terminal is indicated by the high layer signaling, or based on the received coherent (TPMI) characteristic of the wideband precoding matrix indication (TPMI) in the DCI.
…. ) if there are two coherent groups, each of which consists of 4 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group share a first PT-RS port and the antenna ports within a second coherent group share a second PT-RS port, if there are four coherent groups, each of which consists of 2 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group and a second coherent group share the first PT-RS port and the 4 antenna ports within a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the first PT-RS port is associated with one of an indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the first PT-RS port according to a value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table, and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource);
CN does not explicitly disclose 8 antenna ports uplink (UL)
However 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission also see 3.2 and 3.3 In addition, as discussed above, there could bc different types of UE antenna layout for different scenarios, SO that the 8TX UL codebook can be applicable to any 8TX UE antenna layout.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine CN with 3GPPnd. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve larger DCI indication (see observation 1)
Regarding claim 17, the modified CN taught the processor of claim 16, wherein: if a number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 1, a reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1; if the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 2, the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1 or 2; if the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 4, the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1 or 2 or 4; and if the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 8, the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1 or 2 or 4 or 8. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 18, the modified CN taught the processor of claim 16, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: if a reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1, a configuration configures one PT-RS port; if the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 2, the configuration configures one or two PT-RS ports; if the reported supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 4, the configuration configures one or two or four PT-RS ports; and if a reported number of the coherent groups is 8, the configuration configures one or two or four or eight PT-RS ports. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 19, the modified CN taught the processor of claim 18, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: if the configuration configures one PT-RS port: the 8 antenna ports share the one PT-RS port; and the one PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) port(s) according to the value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 20, the modified CN taught the processor of claim 18, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port: if there are four coherent groups, each of which consists of 2 antenna ports, then, the 2 antenna ports within a first coherent group share the first PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a second coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a third coherent group share the third PT-RS port, and the 2 antenna ports within a fourth coherent group share the fourth PT-RS port; if there are eight coherent groups, each of which consists of 1 antenna port, then, the 2 antenna ports within a first coherent group and a second coherent group share the first PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a fifth coherent group and a sixth coherent group share the third PT-RS port, and the 2 antenna ports within a seventh coherent group and an eighth coherent group share the fourth PT-RS port; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) port(s) sharing the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
Regarding claim 21, the modified CN taught the processor of claim 16, as described above. The modified CN further teaches wherein: the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to receive an SRS configuration of one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set for non-codebook, wherein the one SRS resource set consists of up to 8 SRS resources, each SRS resource is configured with a PT-RS port; if a configuration configures one PT-RS port: all SRS resources within the one SRS resource set share the one PT-RS port; and the one PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports according to the value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table; if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port and a second PT-RS port: each of the first PT-RS port and the second PT-RS port is shared by up to 4 SRS resources within the one SRS resource set; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to SRS resources indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table; and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table; and if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port: each of the first PT-RS port, the second PT-RS port, the third PT-RS port and the fourth PT-RS port is shared by up to 2 SRS resources within the one SRS resource set; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits. (see CN page 8 paragraph [0004] explains….For example, by 2-bit indicating four conditions, each condition comprises two PTRS resource respectively the correlation relationship of the DMRS port, see Table 4…..when the length of the PTRS DMRS association domain is 4 bits, there are two possible representation modes:…...For example, the front 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the first PTRS resource is associated with which scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource; the 2 bits in the PTRS DMRS association domain are used for indicating that the port of the second PTRS resource is associated with the scheduled DMRS port, wherein the DMRS port is sent on the PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource); 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission, section 3.2, 3.3)
7. Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting AH 1801 R1-1800438 in view of 3GPP 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #109-e R1-2204373
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP teaches a base unit station, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: receive a capability on supported maximum number of phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) port(s) from a user equipment (UE) equipped with ports,(see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It has been agreed that For CP-OFDM, support UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability and the maximum number of UL PTRS ports can reflect the number of oscillators at this UE…. ) wherein, the supported maximum number of PT-RS port(s) is equal to or smaller than the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports, where all antenna ports within a same coherent group are coherent and different antenna ports from different coherent groups are non-coherent; (see 3GPP section 1 discloses….FFS: whether the UL PTRS port index is associated to each SRS resource or resource set For partial-coherent and non-coherent codebook based UL transmission, the higher -layer parameter UL-PTRS- ports indicates the maximum number of PTRS ports. ) and transmit to the UE, a configuration to configure one or multiple PT-RS ports according to the supported maximum number of PT-RS port(s). (see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It is further agreed that if UE has reported capability of supporting full-coherent UL transmission, UE expects the number of UL PTRS ports to be configured as one. However, it should be clarified that UE report is only a recommendation and does not imply that gNB has to configure one PTRS port since gNB should have the full control of configuration… )
3GPP does not explicitly disclose a user equipment (UE) equipped with 8 antenna ports
However 3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP with 3GPPnd. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve larger DCI indication (see observation 1)
Regarding claim 11, the modified 3GPP taught the base station of claim 10, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein, if the supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1, the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 1 or 2 or 4 or 8; if the supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 2, the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 2 or 4 or 8; if the supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 4, the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 4 or 8; and if the supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 8, the number of coherent groups for the 8 antenna ports is 8. ,(see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It has been agreed that For CP-OFDM, support UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability and the maximum number of UL PTRS ports can reflect the number of oscillators at this UE…. )
Regarding claim 12, the modified 3GPP taught the base station of claim 10, wherein: if the supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 1, the configuration configures one PT-RS port; if the supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 2, the configuration configures one or two PT-RS ports; if the supported maximum number of the PT-RS port(s) is 4, the configuration configures one or two or four PT-RS ports; and if the number of the coherent groups is 8, the configuration configures one or two or four or eight PT-RS ports. ,(see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It has been agreed that For CP-OFDM, support UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability and the maximum number of UL PTRS ports can reflect the number of oscillators at this UE…. )
Regarding claim 13, the modified 3GPP taught the base station of claim 12, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein: if the configuration configures one PT-RS port: the 8 antenna ports share the one PT-RS port; and the one PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) port(s) according to a value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table; if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port and a second PT-RS port: if there are two coherent groups, each of which consists of 4 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group share the first PT-RS port and the antenna ports within a second coherent group share the second PT-RS port; if there are four coherent groups, each of which consists of 2 antenna ports, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group and a second coherent group share the first PT-RS port and the 4 antenna ports within a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the second PT-RS port; if there are eight coherent groups, each of which consists of 1 antenna port, the 4 antenna ports within a first coherent group, a second coherent group, a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the first PT-RS port and the 4 antenna ports within a fifth coherent group, a sixth coherent group, a seventh coherent group and an eighth coherent group share the second PT-RS port; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the first PT-RS port according to the value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table; and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table; and if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port; if there are four coherent groups, each of which consists of 2 antenna ports, then, the 2 antenna ports within a first coherent group share the first PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a second coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a third coherent group share the third PT-RS port, and the 2 antenna ports within a fourth coherent group share the fourth PT-RS port; if there are eight coherent groups, each of which consists of 1 antenna port, then, the 2 antenna ports within a first coherent group and a second coherent group share the first PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a third coherent group and a fourth coherent group share the second PT-RS port, the 2 antenna ports within a fifth coherent group and a sixth coherent group share the third PT-RS port, and the 2 antenna ports within a seventh coherent group and an eighth coherent group share the fourth PT-RS port; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) sharing the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits. ,( see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It is further agreed that if UE has reported capability of supporting full-coherent UL transmission, UE expects the number of UL PTRS ports to be configured as one. However, it should be clarified that UE report is only a recommendation and does not imply that gNB has to configure one PTRS port since gNB should have the full control of configuration… see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It has been agreed that For CP-OFDM, support UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability and the maximum number of UL PTRS ports can reflect the number of oscillators at this UE….3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission )
Regarding claim 14, the base unit station of claim 10, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein: the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit an sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration of one SRS resource set for non-codebook, wherein the one SRS resource set consists of up to 8 SRS resources, each SRS resource is configured with a PT-RS port; if the configuration configures one PT-RS port: all SRS resources within the one SRS resource set share the one PT-RS port; and the one PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports according to a value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table; if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port and a second PT-RS port: each of the first PT-RS port and the second PT-RS port is shared by up to 4 SRS resources within the one SRS resource set; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to SRS resources indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table; and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table; and if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port: each of the first PT-RS port, the second PT-RS port, the third PT-RS port and the fourth PT-RS port is shared by up to 2 SRS resources within the one SRS resource set; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources indicated with the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits. ( see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It is further agreed that if UE has reported capability of supporting full-coherent UL transmission, UE expects the number of UL PTRS ports to be configured as one. However, it should be clarified that UE report is only a recommendation and does not imply that gNB has to configure one PTRS port since gNB should have the full control of configuration… see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It has been agreed that For CP-OFDM, support UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability and the maximum number of UL PTRS ports can reflect the number of oscillators at this UE….3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission )
Regarding claim 15, the modified 3GPP taught the base unit station of claim 10, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein: the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit an sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration of multiple SRS resource sets for non-codebook, wherein the number of SRS resource sets for non-codebook is equal to the supported maximum number of PT-RS port(s); all SRS resources within the same SRS resource set for non-codebook share a same PT-RS port; if the configuration configures one PT-RS port: the one PT-RS port is associated with one of indicated demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ports according to a value of a 3-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined first table; if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port and a second PT-RS port: the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within an SRS resource set indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of the first two bits of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined second table; and the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of the last two bits of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined second table; and if the configuration configures a first PT-RS port, a second PT-RS port, a third PT-RS port and a fourth PT-RS port; the first PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the first PT-RS port according to the value of a first bit of a 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on a predetermined third table; the second PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the second PT-RS port according to the value of a second bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; the third PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the third PT-RS port according to the value of a third bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; and the fourth PT-RS port is associated with one of the indicated DMRS port(s) mapped to the SRS resources within the SRS resource set indicated with the fourth PT-RS port according to the value of a fourth bit of the 4-bits PT-RS-DMRS association field based on the predetermined third table; where the first bit, the second bit, the third bit and the fourth bit are from a most significant bit to a least significant bit of the 4-bits. ( see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It is further agreed that if UE has reported capability of supporting full-coherent UL transmission, UE expects the number of UL PTRS ports to be configured as one. However, it should be clarified that UE report is only a recommendation and does not imply that gNB has to configure one PTRS port since gNB should have the full control of configuration… see 3GPP section 2 discloses…..It has been agreed that For CP-OFDM, support UE to report the desired maximum number of UL PTRS ports as UE capability and the maximum number of UL PTRS ports can reflect the number of oscillators at this UE….3GPP2nd section 1 discloses we discuss the performance evaluations of 8TX UL transmission )
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478