Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: “characterized in that”. Should replace with “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase of “for degassing liquid hydrogen circulating in a circuit, the liquid hydrogen being able to be stored in a storage tank” or “for supplying a pump” is understood as being directed to and further reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which does not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the claimed invention, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02 and § 2112 - § 2112.02.
In this view, the “circuit”, “storage tank” and “pump” are neither positively recited nor required in the claimed invention.
Therefore, the at least claim 1 has been interpreted as follows:
“A device comprising a vertical degassing chamber with which three pipes communicate fluidically, an inlet pipe through which liquid flows to the vertical chamber, the inlet pipe comprising a mouth; a feed pipe to which some of the liquid entering the vertical chamber through the inlet pipe flows; and a return pipe receiving another part of the liquid entering the vertical chamber through the inlet pipe, the device being characterized in that the cross-section of the vertical chamber at the level of the mouth of the inlet pipe for the arrival of the liquid in the vertical chamber is greater than the cross-section of the inlet pipe for the arrival of the liquid at its mouth, in that the ratio between these two cross-sections is greater than or equal to two, and in that a deflector is arranged in the vertical chamber opposite the mouth of the inlet pipe.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the circuit comprising” in line 2. It is not clear whether the claims are directed to the “circuit” or the “device” as the claimed invention. To expedited examination, Examiner has interpreted the claims as being directed to the “device”.
Claims 2-6 depend to claim 1; and hence are also rejected.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the mouth of the return pipe" and “the mouth of the feed pipe” in lines 2 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Saint-Vincent et al (US 20180311597; hereinafter Saint).
As regarding claim 1, Saint discloses the claimed invention for a device comprising a vertical degassing chamber (2070, 3080) with which three pipes communicate fluidically, an inlet pipe (figs. 2B and 3; no number) through which liquid flows to the vertical chamber, the inlet pipe comprising a mouth; a feed pipe (about 3150) to which some of the liquid entering the vertical chamber through the inlet pipe flows; and a return pipe (about 3100) receiving another part of the liquid entering the vertical chamber through the inlet pipe, the device being characterized in that the cross-section of the vertical chamber at the level of the mouth of the inlet pipe for the arrival of the liquid in the vertical chamber is greater than the cross-section of the inlet pipe for the arrival of the liquid at its mouth, in that the ratio between these two cross-sections is greater than or equal to two, and in that a deflector (2060, 3060) is arranged in the vertical chamber opposite the mouth of the inlet pipe (fig. 3).
Alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the cross-section of the vertical chamber at the level of the mouth of the inlet pipe for the arrival of the liquid in the vertical chamber is greater than the cross-section of the inlet pipe for the arrival of the liquid at its mouth, in that the ratio between these two cross-sections is greater than or equal to two in order to enhance device performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen ratios or upon another variable recited in the claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen ratios are critical and unexpected results.
As regarding claim 2, Saint as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saint as modified discloses the claimed invention for the deflector (2060, 3060) is located in line with the axis (fig. 3; no number) of the liquid inlet pipe in the vertical chamber.
As regarding claim 3, Saint as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saint as modified discloses the claimed invention for the surface area of the deflector (2060, 3060) is greater than the cross-section of the mouth of the liquid inlet pipe in the vertical chamber.
Alternatively, since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the surface area of the deflector is greater than the cross-section of the mouth of the liquid inlet pipe in the vertical chamber in order to enhance device performance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (or dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC System, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As regarding claim 4, Saint as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saint as modified discloses the claimed invention for the mouth of the return pipe into the vertical chamber is arranged at a level of the vertical chamber which is higher than the level at which the mouth of the inlet pipe supplying the liquid into the vertical chamber is located and in that the mouth of the feed pipe supplying the pump in the vertical chamber is arranged at a level of the vertical chamber lower than the level of the mouth of the liquid inlet pipe (fig. 3).
Claim 5 is likewise rejected with similar reasons as set forth respected to claim 1 above.
As regarding claim 6, Saint as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Saint as modified discloses the claimed invention except for the velocity of the liquid hydrogen at the mouth of the inlet pipe into the vertical chamber is between 30% and 50% of the velocity of the liquid hydrogen in the inlet pipe. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the velocity of the liquid hydrogen at the mouth of the inlet pipe into the vertical chamber is between 30% and 50% of the velocity of the liquid hydrogen in the inlet pipe in order to enhance device performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 7-10 are likewise rejected with similar reasons as set forth in claims 1-4 above.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773