DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 11,692,374).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a tool storage system comprising:
a cabinet (78);
a drawer assembly installed in the cabinet, the drawer assembly including: a drawer (80) operably coupled to the cabinet to enable the drawer to slidably open and close; and
a sensor (70) configured to detect a user action to open the drawer (predetermined position X1; c6, l.21-22);
a lock assembly operably coupled to and between the cabinet and the drawer, the lock assembly including an electric lock (20) and a latch (54), the electric lock configured to engage the latch when the drawer is closed, and disengage the latch to enable the drawer to open (c.8, l.41-42): and processing circuitry (of electrical elements, motor, drive c.1, l.40-41; c.6, l. 65-67) operably couple to the sensor and the electric lock, the processing circuitry configured to receive a signal (c.6, l. 65-67) from the sensor responsive to detection of the user action (c.8, l. 62-64) to open the drawer, and control the electric lock to disengage the latch responsive to the signal.
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al. discloses the tool storage system of claim 1, wherein the electric lock (20) is affixed to the cabinet (78), and the latch is affixed to the drawer (Fig.12).
Regarding claim 3, Chen et al. discloses the tool storage system of claim 1, wherein the electric lock (20) is affixed to the drawer and the latch is affixed to the cabinet (Fig.12).
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. discloses the tool storage system of claim 1, wherein the sensor includes an optical sensor pressure sensor, touch sensor (elastic sensing; c.7, l.6-11) or electric switch configured to detect the user action to open the drawer.
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al. discloses the tool storage system of claim 1, wherein the electric lock includes a spring-loaded pin (58, 52) that is compressed inside the electric lock (Fig.10) when the electric lock is engaged with the latch, and configured to extend out (Fig.8) from the electric lock when the latch is disengaged to push the drawer at least partially open.
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al. discloses a drawer assembly for a tool storage system that includes a cabinet (78), the drawer assembly comprising:
a drawer (80) operably coupled to the cabinet to enable the drawer to slidably open and close:
a sensor (70) configured to detect a user action to open the drawer when the drawer assembly is installed in the cabinet: and
an electric lock or a latch (54) of a lock assembly that includes the electric lock (20) and the lock assembly, the electric lock configured to engage the latch when the drawer assembly is installed in the cabinet and the drawer is closed, and disengage the latch to enable the drawer to open,
wherein the sensor and the electric lock are couplable with processing circuitry (of electrical elements, motor, drive c.1, l.40-41; c.6, l. 65-67) configured to receive a signal (c.6, l. 65-67) from the sensor responsive to detection of the user action to open the drawer, and control the electric lock to disengage the latch responsive to the signal.
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al. discloses the drawer assembly of claim 13, wherein the drawer assembly includes the latch (54) that is affixed to the drawer (80, Fig.12).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al. discloses the drawer assembly of claim13,wherein the drawer assembly includes the electric lock (20) that is affixed to the drawer (Fig.12).
Regarding claim 16, Chen et al. discloses the drawer assembly of claim13, where in the sensor includes an optical sensor, pressure sensor, touch sensor (elastic sensing; c.7, l.6-11) or electric switch configured to detect the user action to open the drawer.
Regarding claim 18, Chen et al. discloses the drawer assembly of claim 13. wherein the sensor (70) configured to detect the user action includes the sensor configured to detect a pulling force applied to the drawer (by opening).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 11,692,374) in view of Cooper et al. (US 2021/0259417)
Regarding claims 5 and 17, The tool storage system of claim 1, wherein the drawer assembly further includes a drawer handle that allows the drawer to be opened and closed.
Chen et al. does not discuss : a handle, although any structure is capable of serving as a handle.
Cooper et al. teaches a handle (216) for the purpose of opening and closing a drawer in a cabinet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen et al. with a handle as taught by Cooper et al. for the expected benefit of opening and closing a drawer in a cabinet.
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. as modified by Cooper et al. discloses the tool storage system of claim 1, wherein the sensor (70) configured to detect the user action
Chen et al. does not disclose: sensor configured to detect a pulling force applied to the drawer.
Cooper et al. teaches sensor configured to detect a pulling force applied to the drawer (depressible button 218) for the purpose of opening and closing a drawer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen et al. with sensor configured to detect a pulling force applied to the drawer as taught by Cooper et al. for the expected benefit of opening and closing a drawer.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 11,692,374) in view of Tsai (US 2006/0186776).
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al. discloses the tool storage system of claim 1, wherein the tool storage system and the processing circuitry is configured to control the electric lock.
Chen et al. does not disclose: further comprises a second drawer that is operably coupled to the cabinet, disengage the latch only when the second drawer is closed.
Tsai teaches further comprises a second drawer that is operably coupled to the cabinet, disengage the latch only when the second drawer is closed ([0002]) for the purpose of providing a cabinet with locking drawers allowing only one drawer to be pulled out.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen et al. with a second drawer that is operably coupled to the cabinet, disengage the latch only when the second drawer is closed as taught by Tsai for the expected benefit of providing a cabinet with locking drawers allowing only one drawer to be pulled out.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Chen et al. (US 11,692,374) as modified by Cooper et al. (US 2021/0259417) discloses the tool storage system with the exception of: a drawer handle movably affixed to the drawer, and the sensor includes an electric switch (218; Cooper et al.), and
wherein the drawer handle is movable into contact with the electric switch responsive to the pulling force applied to the drawer handle, and the electric switch is there by configured to detect the pulling force.
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Chen et al. (US 11,692,374) as modified by Cooper et al. (US 2021/0259417) discloses the tool storage system with the exception of: a drawer handle movably affixed to the drawer, and the sensor includes an electric switch, and wherein the drawer handle is movable into contact with the electric switch responsive to the pulling force applied to the drawer handle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675