DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communication unit and control unit in claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, and 5 recite the limitation “in a case wherein scheduling is performed in the aggregation performed frequency band according to a unit” is confusing as written. The limitation will be interpreted as: in a case where scheduling is performed in the frequency band where carrier aggregation is performed according to a unit.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected because they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (US 20180227777).
Re claim 1:
Sun discloses a terminal comprising: a communication unit configured to perform an uplink or downlink communication by using a frequency band in which aggregation is performed by carrier aggregation (Para.[0074] As described above, for transmission schemes utilizing carrier aggregation techniques); and
a control unit configured to, in a case where scheduling is performed in the aggregation-performed frequency band according to a unit including a plurality of component carriers (Para.[0058] CFI information may be common across all Coresets in a Coreset group – Examiner Note: CFI is “a unit”),
expect that a control resource set frequency resource having the unit including the plurality of component carriers is obtained by calculating a total sum of control resource set frequency resources of component carriers included in the plurality of component carriers (Para.[0089] In embodiments where carrier aggregation is utilized for the transmission, the transmission may be a multicarrier transmission and the UE may monitor a first carrier of the transmission to detect a primary Coreset, and may monitor a second carrier of the transmission to detect a secondary Coreset) or
expect that a control resource set frequency resource will be configured by using the unit including the plurality of component carriers (Para.[0058] CFI information may be common across all Coresets in a Coreset group).
Re claim 2:
Sun discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit expects that the control resource set frequency resource having the unit including the plurality of component carriers is obtained by calculating a total sum of control resource set frequency resources of component carriers included in the plurality of component carriers (Para.[0089] In embodiments where carrier aggregation is utilized for the transmission, the transmission may be a multicarrier transmission and the UE may monitor a first carrier of the transmission to detect a primary Coreset, and may monitor a second carrier of the transmission to detect a secondary Coreset).
Re claim 3:
Sun discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit expects that the control resource set frequency resource will be configured by using the unit including the plurality of component carriers (Para.[0058] CFI information may be common across all Coresets in a Coreset group).
Re claim 4: Claim 4 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the base station.
Re claim 5: Claim 5 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
FOR COMPACT PROSECUTION, A SECOND GROUNDS OF REJECTION IS SET FORTH BELOW INTERPRETING “UNIT” AS A VIRTUAL CC
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20230198690).
Re claim 1:
Yang discloses a terminal comprising: a communication unit configured to perform an uplink or downlink communication by using a frequency band in which aggregation is performed by carrier aggregation (Fig.7 ref. 702 Aggregate a number of component carriers (CCs) to generate a Virtual CC and Para.[0052] A scheduler 246 may schedule UEs for data transmission on the downlink and/or uplink); and
a control unit configured to, in a case where scheduling is performed in the aggregation-performed frequency band according to a unit including a plurality of component carriers (Fig.7 ref. 704 Allocate data channel resources in the virtual CC based on a virtual bandwidth part (BWP) and ref. 706 Allocate control channel resources in the virtual CC based on the virtual BWP and Para.[0052] A scheduler 246 may schedule UEs for data transmission on the downlink and/or uplink),
expect that a control resource set frequency resource having the unit including the plurality of component carriers is obtained by calculating a total sum of control resource set frequency resources of component carriers included in the plurality of component carriers or (alternative addressed below)
expect that a control resource set frequency resource will be configured by using the unit including the plurality of component carriers (Para.[0084] In another configuration, the frequency domain resources are allocated to the CORESET of one CC (e.g., a first CC) in the virtual CC. In this configuration, the bitmap (e.g., first bitmap) is a 45-bit bitmap and each bit allocates frequency domain resources for a number of resource blocks in the virtual CC. The number of resource blocks may be six. Additionally, in this configuration, the frequency domain resources configured for the CORESET of the first CC may be mirrored to other CCs in the virtual CC. Another bitmap (e.g., second bitmap) controls the mirroring. For example, the second bitmap identifies particular CCs of the other CCs that should receive the CORESET resource allocation of the first CC. A length of the second bitmap may be based on a number of CCs in the virtual CC. The CORESET may be applied over all REG clusters and a single search space may be hashed over all clusters of the CORESET).
Re claim 3:
Yang discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit expects that the control resource set frequency resource will be configured by using the unit including the plurality of component carriers (Para.[0084] In another configuration, the frequency domain resources are allocated to the CORESET of one CC (e.g., a first CC) in the virtual CC. In this configuration, the bitmap (e.g., first bitmap) is a 45-bit bitmap and each bit allocates frequency domain resources for a number of resource blocks in the virtual CC. The number of resource blocks may be six. Additionally, in this configuration, the frequency domain resources configured for the CORESET of the first CC may be mirrored to other CCs in the virtual CC. Another bitmap (e.g., second bitmap) controls the mirroring. For example, the second bitmap identifies particular CCs of the other CCs that should receive the CORESET resource allocation of the first CC. A length of the second bitmap may be based on a number of CCs in the virtual CC. The CORESET may be applied over all REG clusters and a single search space may be hashed over all clusters of the CORESET).
Re claim 4: Claim 4 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the base station.
Re claim 5: Claim 5 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20230198690) in view of Zheng (US 20240178981).
Re claim 2:
As discussed above, Yang meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Yang does not explicitly disclose the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit expects that the control resource set frequency resource having the unit including the plurality of component carriers is obtained by calculating a total sum of control resource set frequency resources of component carriers included in the plurality of component carriers.
Zheng discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit expects that the control resource set frequency resource having the unit including the plurality of component carriers is obtained by calculating a total sum of control resource set frequency resources of component carriers included in the plurality of component carriers (Para.[0070] As further illustrated in FIG. 4, two or more (for example, up to five) CORESETs may be grouped into a CORESET pool. Each CORESET pool may be associated with a CORESET pool index… In a multi-TRP configuration, each CORESET pool index value may be associated with a particular TRP 405 and Para.[0066] In multi-DCI, a carrier aggregation (CA) framework may be leveraged to treat different TRPs as different virtual component carriers from UE capability perspective).
Yang and Zheng are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang to include a CORESET pool as taught by Zheng in order to improve reliability and increase throughput (Zheng Para.[0063]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeda (US 20210314993) shows virtual component carriers, scheduling, and CORESET.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471