DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 22165073.2, filed on 03/23/2023 in EP.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 09/11/2024 has been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 10/18/2024 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. [US 2015/0205186].
Regarding claim 1, Park et al., disclose a vehicle camera circuit board (10, figures 1-6) comprising a first main side (a top surface of a circuit board 10, figure 2) and a second main side (a bottom surface of the circuit board 10, figure 2), where the first main side comprises an imaging sensor (11, figures 1-2) and a contact area (a peripheral area including adhesive 60 contacts a lens assembly 20, figure 2) that is adapted to face a contact part of a lens assembly (20, figures 1-3), and where the second main side comprises an attachment area adapted to receive a first connector part (a left connector has terminals 41, figures 1 and 3), wherein the attachment area is partly overlapping the contact area when seen against the main side (the attached area of the first connector part is partially overlapping the contact area from opposite surface of the circuit board 10, figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Park et al., disclose wherein the contact area comprises an adhesive (60, figures 1-2) that is adapted to attach to the contact part.
Regarding claim 3, Park et al., further disclose wherein the attachment area is positioned mainly within the a circumference of the contact area (the attachment area which is connected to the first connector part 41 is positioned mainly within the a circumference of the contact area which has the peripheral adhesive 60, figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Park et al., further disclose the first connector part is attached to the attachment area (the first connector having a terminal 41, figures 1 and 3-4) and where the lens assembly (20, figures 1 and 3-4) is attached to the vehicle camera circuit board such that a contact part of the lens assembly faces the contact area.
Regarding claim 8, Park et al., further disclose wherein the vehicle camera module comprises an adhesive (60, figures 1-2), and where the lens assembly is attached to the vehicle camera circuit board by means of the adhesive (60, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Park et al., disclose a method for mounting a vehicle camera module comprising the steps of;
providing a camera circuit board (10, figures 1-6) having a first main side (a top surface of a circuit board 10, figure 2) and a second main side (a bottom surface of the circuit board 10, figure 2), where the first main side comprises an imaging sensor (11, figures 1-2) and a contact area (a peripheral area including adhesive 60 contacts a lens assembly 20, figure 2) that is adapted to face a contact part of a lens assembly (20, figures 1-3), and where the second main side comprises an attachment area adapted to receive a first connector part (a left connector has terminals 41, figures 1 and 3), wherein the attachment area is partly overlapping the contact area when seen against the main side (the attached area of the first connector part is partially overlapping the contact area from opposite surface of the circuit board 10, figures 1 and 3).
providing a connector assembly (40, figures 1 and 3-4) with the first connector part (a left connector has a terminal 41, figures 1 and 3-4);
attaching the first connector part to the attachment area (figures 1 and 3-4);
attaching the lens assembly (20, figures 1 and 3-4) to the vehicle camera circuit board such that a contact part of the lens assembly faces the contact area; and
mounting a cover part (310, figure 6) to the lens assembly.
Regarding claim 10, Park et al., disclose wherein the attachment area is positioned mainly within a circumference of the contact area (providing a peripheral adhesive 60, figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Park et al., further disclose a vehicle comprising the vehicle camera module according to claim 7 (paragraph 0005).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Park et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area is positioned mainly outside a circumference of the contact area.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set an attachment area being positioned mainly outside a circumference of the contact area in a vehicle camera device of Park et al., in order to provide a different mounting connector location on a circuit board within a compact vehicle camera, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Park et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area is positioned where a circumference of the contact area performs a change of direction along an extension thereof.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set an attachment area at a location where a circumference of the contact area performs a change of direction along an extension, in a vehicle camera device of Park et al., in order to provide a different mounting connector location on a circuit board within a compact vehicle camera, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Park et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area is positioned where a circumference of the contact area follows a straight extension direction.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set an attachment area where a circumference of the contact area follows a straight extension direction ensures precise positioning, in a vehicle camera device of Park et al., in order to align a straight connector on a circuit board within a compact vehicle camera, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sigle [US 2018/0338070] discloses vehicle camera with cast resin sealing;
Sauer et al. [US 2022/0014651] disclose vehicular camera assembly with electrical connectors.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/Hung S. Bui/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841