DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawing(s) 7B are objected to because a ground sub-area 116c should correct as – 116b --. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud [US 2014/0168507] in view of Byrne et al. [US 2019/0143907].
Regarding claim 1, Renaud discloses a vehicle camera circuit board (150, figures 1-4) comprising a first main side (a left surface of the camera circuit board 150, figures 2A-2C) and a second main side (a right surface of the camera circuit board 150, figures 2A-2C), where the first main side comprises an imaging sensor (40, figures 2A-2B) and a contact area (an annual around the imaging sensor 40, figures 2A-2B) that extends annularly around the imaging sensor (paragraph 0008) and is adapted to face a contact part of a lens assembly (130, figures 2A-2D), and where the second main side comprises an attachment area adapted to receive a first connector part (190, figures 2A-2C).
Renaud discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area for the first connector part includes a signal conductor sub-area and one or more ground sub-areas that extend at least partially around the signal conductor sub-area, wherein the one or more ground sub-areas of the attachment area is positioned opposite of and partly overlapping the contact area when seen against the second main side for transferring to the lens assembly, a force from a harness applied via the first connector part.
Byrne et al., disclose discloses a vehicle camera circuit board (38, figures 1-18) comprising a first main side (a left surface of the camera circuit board 38, figures 15-18) and a second main side (a right surface of the camera circuit board 38, figures 15-18), wherein the second main side comprises an attachment area adapted to receive a first connector part (26, figures 9-18), wherein the attachment area for the first connector part includes a signal conductor sub-area (a central contact is cooperated a center pin 30 of a connector 26, figures 11 -18) and one or more ground sub-areas (one or more ground sub-contacts which are cooperated to outer contacts 32 of the connector 26, figures 11-18, paragraph 32) that extend at least partially around the signal conductor sub-area, wherein the one or more ground sub-areas of the attachment area is positioned opposite of and partly overlapping the contact area when seen against the second main side for transferring to the lens assembly, a force from a harness applied via the first connector part (figures 15-18).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a connector design of Byrne et al. in a vehicle camera of Renaud, in order to provide a shield path travels through the outer conductor of vehicle cables, through the vehicle connector, through the outer contact of the camera connector at the camera circuit board connector part.
Regarding claim 2, Renaud, in view of Byrne et al., disclose wherein the contact area comprises an adhesive (a heat transfer layer 140, figures 2A-2C) that is adapted to attach to the contact part.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Renaud, in view of Byrne et al., disclose wherein the attachment area is positioned mainly within a circumference of the contact area (190, figures 2A-2C).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Renaud discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area is positioned mainly outside a circumference of the contact area.
Byrne et al., further disclose wherein the attachment area is positioned mainly outside a circumference of the contact area (figures 15-18).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the attachment area is positioned mainly outside a circumference of the contact area, in a vehicle camera of Renaud, as suggested by Byrne et al., in order to provide a different mounting connector location for a compact vehicle camera, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Renaud disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area is positioned where a circumference of the contact area performs a change of direction along an extension thereof.
Byrne et al., further disclose wherein the attachment area is positioned where a circumference of the contact area performs a change of direction along an extension thereof (the center contact disposed on the camera circuit board which is cooperated with the center pin 30, and a plurality of ground contacts disposed on the camera circuit board which are cooperated with the outer contacts of the connector 26, figures 11-18).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set an attachment area at a location where a circumference of the contact area performs a change of direction along an extension, in a vehicle camera device of Renaud, as suggested by Byrne et al., in order to provide a different mounting connector location on a circuit board for a compact vehicle camera, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Renaud discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area is positioned where a circumference of the contact area follows a straight extension direction.
Byrne et al., disclose wherein the attachment area is positioned where a circumference of the contact area follows a straight extension direction (a straight extension direction is cooperated with a straight extension direction of two outer contacts 32 of a connector 26, figure 11).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set an attachment area where a circumference of the contact area follows a straight extension direction ensures precise positioning, in a vehicle camera device of Renaud, as suggested by Byrne et al., in order to align a straight connector on a circuit board within a compact vehicle camera, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Renaud, in view of Byrne et al., disclose the first connector part that is attached to the attachment area (the connector 190 mounted on a second major surface of the camera circuit board 150, figures 2A-2C) and where the lens assembly (120, figures 2A-2C) is attached to the vehicle camera circuit board such that a contact part of the lens assembly faces the contact area.
Regarding claim 8, Renaud, in view of Byrne et al., disclose wherein the vehicle camera module comprises an adhesive (140, figures 2A-2C), and where the lens assembly is attached to the vehicle camera circuit board by means of the adhesive.
Regarding claim 9, Renaud discloses a method for mounting a vehicle camera module (100, figures 1-4) comprising the steps of:
providing a camera circuit board (150, figures 1-4) having a first main side (a left surface of the camera circuit board 150, figures 2A-2C) and a second main side (a right surface of the camera circuit board 150, figures 2A-2C), where the first main side comprises an imaging sensor (40, figures 2A-2B) and a contact area (an annual around the imaging sensor 40, figures 2A-2B) that extends annularly around the imaging sensor (paragraph 0008) and is adapted to face a contact part of a lens assembly (130, figures 2A-2D), and where the second main side comprises an attachment area adapted to receive a first connector part (190, figures 2A-2C).
providing a connector assembly (178, figure 2C) with the first connector part;
attaching the first connector part (190, figures 2A-2C) to the attachment area;
attaching the lens assembly (130, figures 2A-2C) to the vehicle camera circuit board such that a contact part of the lens assembly faces the contact area; and
mounting a cover part (120, figures 2A-2C) to the lens assembly.
Renaud discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area for the first connector part includes a signal conductor sub-area and one or more ground sub-areas that extend at least partially around the signal conductor sub-area, wherein the one or more ground sub-areas of the attachment area is positioned opposite of and partly overlapping the contact area when seen against the second main side for transferring to the lens assembly, a force from a harness applied via the first connector part.
Byrne et al., disclose discloses a vehicle camera circuit board (38, figures 1-18) comprising a first main side (a left surface of the camera circuit board 38, figures 15-18) and a second main side (a right surface of the camera circuit board 38, figures 15-18), wherein the second main side comprises an attachment area adapted to receive a first connector part (26, figures 9-18), wherein the attachment area for the first connector part includes a signal conductor sub-area (a central contact is cooperated a center pin 30 of a connector 26, figures 11 -18) and one or more ground sub-areas (one or more ground sub-contacts which are cooperated to outer contacts 32 of the connector 26, figures 11-18, paragraph 32) that extend at least partially around the signal conductor sub-area, wherein the one or more ground sub-areas of the attachment area is positioned opposite of and partly overlapping the contact area when seen against the second main side for transferring to the lens assembly, a force from a harness applied via the first connector part (figures 15-18).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a connector design of Byrne et al. in a vehicle camera of Renaud, in order to provide a shield path travels through the outer conductor of vehicle cables, through the vehicle connector, through the outer contact of the camera connector at the camera circuit board connector part.
Regarding claim 14, Renaud, in view of Byrne et al., disclose a vehicle comprising the vehicle camera module according to claim 7 (paragraphs 0003 and/or 0018).
Regarding claim 15, Renaud discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the one or more ground sub-areas include two separate ground sub-areas on opposite sides of the signal conductor sub-area.
Byrne et al., disclose wherein the one or more ground sub-areas include two separate ground sub-areas on opposite sides of the signal conductor sub-area (at least two outer contacts 32 of the connector 26 are separated and on opposite side of a signal pin 30; wherein the at least two outer contacts are cooperated with their corresponding ground sub-areas of a camera circuit board, figures 11-18).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use one or more ground sub-areas including two separate ground sub-areas on opposite sides of the signal conductor sub-area, in a vehicle camera circuit board of Renaud, as suggested by Byrne et al., in order to provide grounds for a connector.
Regarding claim 16, Renaud discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the two separate ground sub-areas are each have a generally arcuate shape.
Byrne et al., further disclose wherein each of the two separate ground sub-areas has a generally arcuate shape (the two separate ground sub-areas are coupled to their corresponding outer contacts 32 of a connector 26; and each has a generally acuate shape, as shown in figure 11).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the two separate ground sub-areas are each has a generally arcuate shape, in a vehicle camera circuit board of Renaud, as suggested by Byrne et al., for the purpose of enabling mate contacts for a connector.
Regarding claim 17, Renaud discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the attachment area for the first connector part defines a center line that extends through the signal conductor sub-area and a center of the one or more ground sub-areas, and wherein the one or more ground sub-areas of the attachment area overlaps the contact area at the center line.
Byrne et al., further disclose wherein the attachment area for the first connector part defines a center line that extends through the signal conductor sub-area and a center of the one or more ground sub-areas, and wherein the one or more ground sub-areas of the attachment area overlaps the contact area at the center line (figures 15-18).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a specific attachment area on a camera circuit board of Renaud, as suggested by Byrne et al., in order to provide an attachment area for an STP (Shielded Twisted Pair) connector or shield.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bingle et al. [US 7,965,336] disclose imaging system for vehicle;
BYRNE et al. [US 2010/0097519] disclose compact camera and cable system for vehicular application; and
HATANO et al. [US 2020/0163258] disclose camera.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Examiner, 2841/2800