Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 35-51) in the reply filed on 9/11/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 52-54 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 35 and 42 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 35, line 8, it appears “comprises least one resistance element” should be “comprises at least one resistance element”.
In claim 42, line 2, it appears “venting holes venting holes” should be “venting holes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 is rendered indefinite by the limitation “which resistance element comprises”, in line 9, since it is unclear which resistance element is being referred to. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the limitation “which resistance element comprises” as “wherein the at least one resistance element comprises”.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the sealing element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 40 should depend from claim 39.
Claim 45 recites the limitation "the outer periphery of the partition means" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "the sealing element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 46 should depend from claim 39.
Claim 48 is rendered indefinite by the limitation “the container comprises a multitude of outlet openings” since it is unclear if the multitude of outlet openings include the at least one outlet opening defined in claim 35 or not. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets “the container comprises a multitude of outlet openings” as “the at least one outlet opening comprises a multitude of outlet openings”.
Regarding claim 50, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-37, 39-40 and 46-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Broek et al. (US 10,173,824) in view of Seymour (US 3,076,435).
Regarding claims 35-36, Van Den Broek discloses a container (container at 1 in Fig. 1a) for packaging products, comprising a container body (at 2 in Fig. 1a) with a product space (at 4 in Fig. 1a) for accommodating a product and a receiving space (at 6 in Fig. 1a) at least for receiving liquid from the product, the container body comprising and being integrally formed with partition means (partition at 8 in Fig. 1a) that separate the product space and the receiving space from each other, which partition means comprise at least one outlet opening (opening at 11, between elements 12 and 12, in Fig. 1a), the outlet opening being capable of at least discharging liquid from the product space to the receiving space, wherein a part of the partition means that faces the receiving space comprises least one resistance element (wall at 12 in Fig. 1a) extending into the receiving space, which resistance element comprises a protrusion (protrusion at 12 that extends from element 14) that extends toward the receiving space and surrounds the outlet opening in such a manner that the resistance element prevents the transport of liquid from the receiving space to the product space (e.g. when the container is inverted as shown in Fig. 1b).
Van Den Broek discloses the claimed invention except for the express disclosure of the diameter of the outlet opening and the protrusion comprising a rolled rim surrounding the outlet opening.
Regarding the specific diameter of the outlet opening, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet opening of Van Den Broek to have any diameter such as 4-7mm in order to allow for the desired flow of liquid from the product space to the receiving space. To modify the size/diameter of the outlet opening would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding the specifics of the protrusion, Seymour teaches a container (See Figs. 1-2) comprising a partition element (at 14) having an opening (top opening of 14, at the upper edge of 40 in Fig. 2) including a protrusion in the shape of a rolled rim (at 52 in Figs. 2-3) for the purpose of aiding in suppressing splashing (column 3, lines 36-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protrusion of Van Den Broek to have a rolled rim as taught by Seymour in order to minimize splashing of liquid from the receiving space into the product space.
Regarding claim 37, Van Den Broek-Seymour discloses the claimed invention except for the express disclosure of the rim height. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rim of Van Den Broek-Seymour to have any height such as 0.1-10mm in order to suppress the desired amount of liquid from flowing from the receiving space into the product space. To modify the size/diameter of the outlet opening would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 39-40, Van Den Broek discloses the receiving space is closed by a sealing element with is a sealing film (at 31 in Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 46, Van Den Broek discloses the at least one outlet opening and the resistance element are spaced from the sealing element (as shown in Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 47, Van Den Broek discloses the outlet opening is provided near a central part of the container body.
Regarding claim 48, Van Den Broek discloses the container comprises a multitude of outlet openings (at 11 and 11 in Fig. 6a), wherein the openings of said multitude of outlet openings are substantially evenly spaced.
Regarding claim 49, Van Den Broek discloses the openings of the multitude of openings lie in substantially the same plane.
Regarding claim 50, Van Den Broek discloses the receiving space is free from liquid-absorbing means, in particular free from a liquid- absorbing layer of material.
Regarding claim 51, Van Den Broek discloses a product (at 5 in Fig. 1a) is contained in the product space, and wherein the product space is closed by means of a further sealing element (at 32 in Fig. 1a).
Claims 38 and 41-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Den Broek et al. (US 10,173,824) in view of Seymour (US 3,076,435) as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Patterson (US 2004/0142124).
Regarding claim 38, as described above, Van Den Broek-Seymour discloses the claimed invention except for the express disclosure of the material of the container body. However, Patterson teaches it is well known in the art for a food tray to be made from a thermoplastic material for the purpose of making it substantially impervious to gas exchange ([0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified container body of Van Den Broek-Seymour to be formed from a thermoplastic in order to ensure it is impervious to gas exchange. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Regarding the thermoforming, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
Regarding claim 41, Van Den Broek-Seymour discloses the claimed invention except for the one or more venting holes. However, Patterson teaches a food packaging tray (See Fig. 1) comprising vent holes (at 8) for the purpose of allowing gas exchange through the tray. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified partition of Van Den Broek-Seymour with venting holes as taught by Patterson in order to allow for the flow of air through the partition.
Regarding claim 42, Van Den Broek-Seymour-Patterson discloses the claimed invention except for the express disclosure of the diameter of the vent holes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent holes of Van Den Broek-Seymour-Patterson to have any diameter such as 0.4mm in order to allow for the desired flow of air. To modify the size/diameter of the outlet opening would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 43, Van Den Broek-Seymour-Patterson discloses the one or more venting holes being void of a circumferential raised edge towards the receiving space.
Regarding claim 44, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
Regarding claim 45, Van Den Broek-Seymour-Patterson discloses the claimed invention except for the express disclosure of the specific location of the vent holes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vent holes of Van Den Broek-Seymour-Patterson to be at any location such as the outer periphery of the partition in order to allow for sufficient gas flow. The vent holes would perform the same function regardless of their location on the partition. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735