DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of Applicants’ remarks and amended claims filed on July 31, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Claim 1 has been amended. No claims have been cancelled.
All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on July 31, 2026 is acknowledged. A signed copy is attached to this office action.
Withdrawn Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because claim 1 recite “a first (second) coating solution, suspension, or dispersion comprising or consisting of..” in lines 9-10 and 17-18 and it is unclear what is excluded/included in the claim based on the comprising/consisting of language has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of the “consisting of” language from the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haksar et al. (WO 2021/115649) in view of Jain et al. (EP 3986969) has been withdrawn in view of the prior art and the instant application having common ownership and receipt of the certified English translation of the Indian Priority Document.
Newly Applied Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Guha et al. (WO 2019/096833, cited on IDS dated 11-21-2023) in view of Lovgren et al. (CA 1,292,693).
Guha discloses a process for preparing a polymer-coated hard shell capsule, suitable as container for pharmaceutical or nutraceutical biologically active ingredients, wherein the hard shell capsule is comprising a body and a cap, wherein in the closed state the cap overlaps the body either in a pre-locked state or in a final-locked state, wherein the hard shell capsule is provided in the pre-locked state and spray-coated with a coating solution, suspension or dispersion comprising a polymer or a mixture of polymers to create a coating layer which covers the outer surface of the hard shell capsule in the pre-locked state (abstract).
The polymer or polymer mixture comprised in the coating layer are preferably film-forming polymers and may be selected from the groups of anionic polymers, cationic polymers and neutral polymers or any mixtures thereof (page 10, lines 33-35).
The coating layer can optionally comprise excipient (page 18, lines 28-30). Suitable excipients include plasticizers, fillers, glidants, and pigments (page 23-25).
The coating layer is from about 1 to about 8 mg/cm2 (page 17, lines 14-22).
A sub coat may be located between capsule and the coating layer, comprising the polymer or polymer mixture as disclosed. A sub coat has essentially no influence on the active ingredient release characteristics but may for instance improve the adhesion of the polymer coating layer. A sub coat is preferably essentially water-soluble, for instance it may consist of substances like HPMC as a film former. The average thickness of a sub-coat layer is usually very thin, for example not more than 15 μm (page 25, lines 10-19).
There is no disclosure of the coating being applied anywhere but the outer surface of the capsule.
Regarding claim 2, the material of the body and cap is selected from hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, starch, gelatin, pullulan and a copolymer of C1- to C4- alkylester of (meth)acrylic acid and (meth)acrylic acid.
Regarding claim 3, as noted above, the sub coat (a1) can be HPMC.
Regarding claims 4-6, the polymer or polymer matrix (a2) can comprise anionic (meth) acrylate copolymers (page 10, lines 10-12). Suitable anionic (meth)acrylate copolymers are those polymerized from of 40 to 60% by weight methacrylic acid and 60 to 40% by weight methyl methacrylate or 60 to 40% by weight ethyl acrylate (page 11, lines 18-20), for example.
Regarding claim 7, as noted above, the at least one polymer a1) can be HPMC.
Regarding claims 10-13, , the coating layer excipients can include glidants, emulsifiers, plasticizers, and flow agents, fragrances, pigments, flavoring agents, flow aids, or stabilizers (page 23, line 7-12), which would be addition additives. Examples recite the polymer is present in the amount of about 77-84% , which reads on the up to 400% recited in the claim.
Guha does not disclose the sub coating comprises an alkaline component.
Lovgren discloses a sub coating applied to capsule formulations. The sub coating comprises inert reacting compounds which are soluble or rapidly disintegrating in water, or polymeric, water soluble film forming compounds, optionally containing pH-buffering alkaline compound (abstract).
Regarding claim 8, examples of the alkaline compound include magnesium oxide (page 6, lines 1-36).
Regarding claim 9, Table 2 discloses a separating layer comprising a polymer and the alkaline agent in a 2.0:0.3 ratio.
Regarding claim 14, following the method of instant claim 1 results in a polymer coated hard shell capsule.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites a functional property of the instant capsule. Since the capsule has been rendered obvious by the prior art, it would necessarily have the same functional properties, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust and optimize the components of the coating in order to obtain a coated capsule with the desired dissolution rates through routine experimentation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included an alkaline compound into the sub coating of Guha, as suggested by Lovgren since it is disclosed as providing a stabilizing effect.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,980,692; claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent 11,523,992, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,993 in view of Lovgren et al. (CA 1,292,693).
The patents disclose a capsule coating comprising the same components as those recited in the instant claims. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the patented claims are drawn to processes of preparing a polymer coated hard capsule shell utilizing the same polymeric coating.
The cited patented cases do not recite a sub coating.
Lovgren discloses a sub coating applied to capsule formulations. The sub coating comprises inert reacting compounds which are soluble or rapidly disintegrating in water, or polymeric, water-soluble film-forming compounds, optionally containing pH-buffering alkaline compound (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included sub coating comprising a polymer and alkaline compound, as suggested by Lovgren, since it is disclosed as providing a stabilizing effect.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/563,327 in view of Lovgren et al. (CA 1,292,693).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the copending claims are drawn to processes of preparing a polymer coated hard capsule shell utilizing the same polymeric coating.
The copending claims do not recite a sub coating.
Lovgren discloses a sub coating applied to capsule formulations. The sub coating comprises inert reacting compounds which are soluble or rapidly disintegrating in water, or polymeric, water-soluble film-forming compounds, optionally containing pH-buffering alkaline compound (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included sub coating comprising a polymer and alkaline compound, as suggested by Lovgren, since it is disclosed as providing a stabilizing effect.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Due to the new grounds of rejection presented in this office action, this action is made Non-Final.
/MELISSA S MERCIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615