DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Locking mechanism in claim 2 will be interpreted according to page 3 lines 1-13 of the specification as any mechanism adapted and configured to lock the inner cannula position and may include a locking member connected to the handle.
Locking member in claim 7 will be interpreted according to page 3 lines 8-12 as any structure operably connected to the handle which is configured to move between two positions.
Connecting member in claim 7 will be interpreted according to page 3 lines 7-9 as including a shaft or pin.
Biasing member in claim 9 will be interpreted according to page 3 lines 13-17 as any structure that biases the locking member towards a position.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, 6, 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, element (c) recites “having a proximal portion extending from the handle a distal end portion,” which appears to omit a conjunction between “handle” and “a distal end portion.” Correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “the distal end portion of outer cannula has cutting edge configuration” appears to omit the articles “the” and “a” before “outer cannula” and “cutting edge configuration,” respectively. Correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation “the blunt distal end portion of the inner cannula” lacks explicit antecedent basis because claim 2 does not expressly define the distal end portion of the inner cannula as blunt. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation “herein the locking member is configured to move between a first position and a second position about to the shaft” should be corrected to recite movement about the shaft or movement relative to the shaft.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation “which is configured to bias the inner cannula” should be clarified to identify the cannula biasing member as the component performing the biasing function.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jenkins et al. (US 20200113597 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Jenkins discloses a locking mechanism (locking member 1177’, including body 1178’ and downward projection 1184’; Fig. 9A-9B, para. [0123]) for a surgical device (telescoping needle assembly 1000’; Figs. 9A-9B) having one or more relatively movable telescoping tubular portions (outer cannula 1110’, middle cannula 1120’; Fig. 10A-10B, paras. [0121]-[0122]) configured for movement along a longitudinal axis between a first position and a second position (1120’ being longitudinally movable relative to outer cannula 1110’; Figs. 10A-10B, paras. [0120]–[0122]), the locking mechanism being associated with at least one of the relatively moveable tubular portions (locking member 1177’ having downward projection 1184’ configured to engage vertical stop 1163’ of outer cannula carriage 1158’; Figs. 10A–10A, paras. [0129]) and being configured to selectively control the relative longitudinal movement of the one or more tubular portions between the first position and the second position (locking member 1177’ movable between locked and unlocked states to restrict or permit longitudinal movement of the cannulas; Figs. 10A–12A, paras. [0129]–[0130]).
Regarding claim 2, Jenkins discloses a surgical device (telescoping needle assembly 1000’; Fig. 9A, paras. [0120]), comprising: a) a proximal handle (handle 1140’, including upper housing 1141’ and lower housing 1148’; Figs. 1, 10A–10B, paras. [0121]); b) an elongated tubular inner cannula (middle cannula 1120’; Figs. 9A-9B, para. [0120]) having a proximal portion extending from the handle (proximal portion of middle cannula 1120’ coupled to middle cannula carriage 1166’ within handle 1140’; Figs. 10A-10B, para. [0122]) and a distal end portion having a first configuration (distal end 1123’; Fig. 11B, para. [0128]); c) an elongated tubular outer cannula (outer cannula 1110’; Fig. 9A-9B, para. [0120]) having a proximal portion extending from the handle (proximal end 1110’ coupled to outer cannula carriage 1158’; Figs. 10A–10B, paras. [0122]), a distal end portion having a second configuration (distal end 1113’; Fig. 11B, para. [0128]), wherein the inner cannula is configured to move within the outer cannula between a first inner cannula position and a second inner cannula position (middle cannula 1120’ slidably disposed within outer cannula 1110’ from a collapsed to extended configuration; Figs. 11A–13B, paras. [0122], [0130]–[0132]); and d) a locking mechanism (i.e., mechanism 1177’, 1141’ is similar in function to the locking mechanism as disclosed above with regard to 112(f) because it is configured to lock the inner cannula position and may include a locking member connected to the handle) operatively associated with the handle (locking member 1177’ slidingly engaged with 1141’; Fig. 10A-10B, para. [0123]) and is adapted and configured to lock the inner cannula relative to the outer cannula to prevent movement of the inner cannula between the first inner cannula position and the second inner cannula position (locking member 1177’ having downward projection 1184’ engaging vertical stop 1163’ to prevent longitudinal movement of outer cannula carriage 1158’ and middle cannula carriage 1166’; Fig. 11A, para. [0129]).
Regarding claim 3, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 2. Jenkins also discloses wherein the distal end portion of the inner tubular cannula has a blunt configuration (middle cannula 1120’ having blunt distal end 1123’; Fig. 11B, para. [0128]).
Regarding claim 5, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 2. Jenkins also discloses wherein the locking mechanism is adapted and configured to lock the inner cannula in the first inner cannula position (locking member 1177’ having downward projection 1184’ engaging vertical stop 1163’ to prevent longitudinal movement of the cannula carriages in the loaded state; Fig. 11A, para. [0129]).
Regarding claim 6, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 5. Jenkins also discloses wherein when the inner cannula is in the first inner cannula position the blunt distal end portion of the inner cannula extends beyond the distal end portion of the outer cannula (middle cannula 1120’ having blunt distal end 1123’ and being longitudinally movable relative to outer cannula 1110’; Figs. 11B-13B, paras. [0128]–[0132]), and when the inner cannula is in the second inner cannula position the blunt distal end portion of the inner cannula is retracted into the outer cannula (middle cannula 1120’ being longitudinally movable within outer cannula 1110’; Figs. 11B–13B) such that the distal end portion of the outer cannula extends beyond the blunt distal end portion of the inner cannula (i.e., at least during assembly and such that 1120’ is not in the telescoping configuration).
Regarding claim 7, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 6. Jenkins also discloses wherein the locking mechanism further comprises a locking member (locking member 1177’ including body 1178’, button 1179’, and downward projection 1184’; Fig. 10A-10B, para. [0123] is similar in function to the locking member as disclosed above with regard to 112(f) since it is configured to move between positions (para. [0123]) operatively connected to the proximal handle (locking member 1177’ slidingly engaging upper housing 1141’; Figs. 10A–10B, paras. [0121], [0123]) via a connecting member (i.e., 1130’ is interpreted as the connecting member since it extends through 1178’ according to 112(f) above as it includes a shaft).
Regarding claim 8, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 7. Jenkins also discloses wherein the connecting member includes a shaft extending through the locking member (Fig. 10A-10B shows 1130’ extending through locking member), and wherein the locking member is configured to move between a first position and a second position (locking member 1177’ movable between distal locked and proximal unlocked positions; Figs. 11A–12A, paras. [0129], [0130]) about to the shaft, relative to the proximal handle (paras. [0129]-[0130]; Fig. 11A-12A).
Regarding claim 9, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 8. Jenkins also discloses wherein the locking mechanism further comprises a biasing member (biasing members 1155′ is interpreted according to 112(f) above since it has the same function of biasing towards a position, which may comprise leaf springs; Fig. 10A, para. [0124]-[0125]; although handle 1140’ ) operatively connecting between a first end of the locking member and the proximal handle (biasing members 1155′ disposed between lower housing 1148′ and locking member 1177′; Fig. 10A, para. [0124]-[0125]) to bias the locking member towards the first position (biasing members 1155′ exerting an upward force urging raised rib 1180′ into engagement with rib recess 1181′; Figs. 10A–11A, paras. [0124]-[0125], [0129]).
Regarding claim 10, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 9. Jenkins also discloses wherein the first position is a locked position (locking member 1177′ positioned in a locked state wherein raised rib 1180′ engages rib recess 1181′ and downward projection 1184′ abuts vertical stop 1163′; Fig. 11A, para. [00129]) preventing movement of the inner cannula relative to the outer cannula (downward projection 1184′ restricting longitudinal movement of middle cannula carriage 1166′ and outer cannula carriage 1158′; Fig. 11A, para. [0129]) and wherein the second position is an unlocked position (locking member 1177′ displaced proximally, moving downward projection 1184′ away from vertical stop 1163′; Fig. 12A, para. [0130]) allowing movement of the inner cannula relative to the outer cannula (longitudinal movement of the cannula carriages being permitted following displacement of locking member 1177′; Figs. 12A–13B, paras. [0130]–[0132]).
Regarding claim 11, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 10. Jenkins also discloses wherein the locking mechanism is configured to move from the first position to the second position (locking member 1177′ movable from the locked state to the unlocked state; Figs. 11A–12A, paras. [0129]–[0130]) upon application of a force on the first end of the locking member (button 1179′ configured to receive a manually applied downward force; Fig. 10A, paras. [0123]–[0124]) that is greater than a biasing force applied to the locking member via the biasing member (biasing members 1155′ exerting an upward force on locking member 1177′, wherein a downward manual force overcomes the bias to disengage raised rib 1180′ from rib recess 1181′; Figs. 10A–12A, paras. [0124]-[0125], [0129]–[0130]).
Regarding claim 12, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 11. Jenkins also discloses further comprising a cannula biasing member (1166’ including wing 1176’) operatively connecting between the proximal portion of the inner cannula and a proximal end of the proximal handle (i.e., as shown in Fig. 10A), which is configured to bias the inner cannula toward the first inner cannula position (i.e., at least since 1166’ is limited between proximal stop 1192’ and distal stop 1152’; see also paras. [0122], [0132] which discloses that wing 1176’ engages 1192’ to transmit force and advance 1120’).
Regarding claim 13, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 12. Jenkins also discloses wherein the inner cannula is configured to move from the first inner cannula position to the second inner cannula position (middle cannula 1120′ longitudinally movable relative to outer cannula 1110′ through movement of middle cannula carriage 1166′ relative to outer cannula carriage 1158′; Figs. 11A–13B, paras. [0122], [0130]–[0132]) upon application of a force on the distal end portion of the inner cannula that is greater than a biasing force applied to the proximal portion of the inner cannula by the cannula biasing member (middle cannula 1120’ having distal end 1123’ configured for distal advancement relative to outer cannula 1110’, wherein continued distal advancement of handle 1140’ causes proximal stop 1192’ to engage wind 1176’ of middle cannula carriage 1166’ thereby transmitting an axial force through carriage 1166’ to advance 1120’; Figs. 13A-13B; paras. [0122], [0132]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins in view of Daum (US 6,572,593 B1)
Regarding claim 4, Jenkins discloses the device of claim 2. Jenkins also discloses wherein the distal end portion of outer cannula (outer cannula 1110’ having distal end 1113’; Fig. 11B). Jenkins does not directly disclose wherein the distal end portion of the outer cannula has cutting edge configuration to puncture a tissue.
In the same field of endeavor, namely deflectable needle assembly, Daum discloses wherein the distal end portion of outer cannula has cutting edge configuration to puncture a tissue (external cannula 10 having distal tip 2 provided with beveled edge 11 configured to penetrate a physiological tissue barrier; Figs. 1-3, col. 4 lines 14-25; see also external cannula 39 having beveled distal tip 40; Figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify distal end portion of outer cannula of Jenkins to include a beveled cutting edge as taught by Daum, in order to facilitate direct tissue penetration by the outer cannula during advancement of the surgical device, thereby providing a known tissue-penetrating configuration with the predictable result of facilitating surgical access through tissue.
Claim 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins in view of Lipchitz (US 8,377,089 B2)
Regarding claim 14-18, Jenkins discloses the device of claims 13-17. Jenkins also discloses wherein a second end of the locking member, opposite the first end of the locking member, further includes a formed end (locking member 1177′ including body 1178′ and downward projection 1184′; Fig. 10A, para. [00123]); wherein the formed end of the locking member includes a ridge (locking member 1177′ having raised rib 1180′; Fig. 10A, paras. [0125]); wherein the locking mechanism is configured to prevent movement of the inner cannula in the proximal direction (locking member 1177′ having downward projection 1184′ engaging vertical stop 1163′ to restrict longitudinal movement of the cannula carriages; Fig. 11A, para. [0129]); wherein the locking mechanism biasing member is configured to automatically seat the formed end of the locking member (biasing members 1155′ urging locking member 1177′ upward such that raised rib 1180′ engages rib recess 1181′ of upper housing 1141′; Figs. 10A–11A, paras. [0124]–[0125], [0129]).
Jenkins does not directly disclose the formed end of the locking member being configured to seat within a recess in the proximal portion of the inner cannula; the recess of the inner cannula includes a circumferential groove complementary to the ridge; wherein the recess of the inner cannula includes a circumferential recess complimentary to a shape of the formed end of the locking member; wherein the locking mechanism is configured to prevent movement of the inner cannula in the proximal direction when the formed end of the locking member is seated within the recess of the inner cannula; and wherein the locking mechanism biasing member is configured to automatically seat the formed end of the locking member within the recess of the inner cannula when the formed end of the locking member and the recess of the inner cannula are substantially aligned.
In the same field of endeavor, namely surgical cannula assemblies incorporating mechanical locking arrangements, Lipchitz discloses the formed end of the locking member being configured to seat within a recess in the proximal portion of the inner cannula (projections 48 of cap 40 configured to engage J-shaped slots 32 formed in proximal portion 22 of cannula 20; Figs. 2A, 4, 6–8; col. 4, lines 1–7 and 41–55); the recess of the inner cannula includes a circumferential groove complementary to the ridge (i.e., at least since the groove extends along a circumferential direction on a portion of 20); wherein the recess of the inner cannula includes a circumferential recess complimentary to a shape of the formed end of the locking member (J-shaped slots 32 having a transverse locking portion configured to receive projections 48; Figs. 2A, 4, 6–8; col. 4, lines 41–55); wherein the locking mechanism is configured to prevent movement of the inner cannula in the proximal direction when the formed end of the locking member is seated within the recess of the inner cannula (projections 48 received and retained within J-shaped slots 32 to mechanically secure cap 40 to cannula 20; Figs. 7–8; col. 4, lines 41–55); and wherein the locking mechanism biasing member is configured to automatically seat the formed end of the locking member within the recess of the inner cannula when the formed end of the locking member and the recess of the inner cannula are substantially aligned (Col. 4 lines 41-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal portion of middle cannula 1120′ of Jenkins to include a circumferentially extending recess configured to receive a complimentary formed end of a locking member 1177′, as taught by Lipchitz (J-shaped slots 32 formed in proximal portion 22 of cannula 20 receiving corresponding projections 48 of cap 40; Figs. 2A, 4, 6–8; col. 4, ll. 1–7 and 41–55), in order to provide positive mechanical interlocking engagement directly between the locking member and the cannula, thereby maintaining the cannula in a selected position and restricting unintended longitudinal movement.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to retain the spring-biased locking arrangement of Jenkins (biasing members 1155’ urging locking member 1177’ toward engagement; see paras. [0124]-[0125]) in view of Lipchitz’s disclosure of an alternative spring-loaded ball-and-detent locking arrangement (Col. 7 lines 19-24), in order to permit automatic seating of the locking member within the complementary recess upon substantial alignment, thereby providing automatic locking without requiring a separate manual locking operation.
Conclusion
/RACHAEL L GEIGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771