DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 6/26/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant has not presented any arguments traversing the restriction as such the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/26/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/29/2026 has not been considered as the IDS filed 6/8/2026 contains the same references as cited on the IDS filed 5/29/2026 and was filed to correct an error on the 5/29/2026 IDS. The 6/8/2026, 11/14/2024 and 9/11/2024 IDS have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walling (US 6,455,055). Walling is cited on the 9/11/2024 IDS.
Regarding claims 1 and 7: Walling discloses as cosmetic composition comprising 0.01-50% by weight of crystalline vitamin B3 compound having an average particle size ranging from 0.01-200µm, reading on powder (Abs). Walling teaches the average particle size to preferably range from 0.01-20µm (col. 4, lines 60-65). The vitamin B3 compound is preferably niacinamide, reading on a nicotinic acid derivative (col. 3, lines 65-67).
While Walling does not teach the average particle size to be diameter of the powder, the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 2: Walling teaches the cometic to comprise at least 3% of the powder (Abs).
Regarding claim 3: Walling teaches niacinamide to be the preferred vitamin B3 compound for use.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gadient (WO 2015/011264). Gadient is cited on the 6/8/2026 IDS.
Regarding claim 7: Gadient, Example 1, discloses improved powderous formulations (abs). Gadient teaches a powder composition comprising 850g Nicotinamide (reading on a derivative of nicotinic acid) and 150g particulate sodium chloride (i.e. an inorganic powder). The final powder is taught to be a median size of 31µm.
While Gradient does not teach the average particle size to be diameter of the powder, the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding the claimed “cosmetic”, this is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the composition of the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. The prior art discloses a powder as claimed and therefore is capable of performing the intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walling (US 6,455,055).
Regarding claims 1 and 7: Walling discloses as cosmetic composition comprising 0.01-50% by weight of crystalline vitamin B3 compound having an average particle size ranging from 0.01-200µm, reading on powder (Abs). Walling teaches the average particle size to preferably range from 0.01-20µm (col. 4, lines 60-65). The vitamin B3 compound is preferably niacinamide, reading on a nicotinic acid derivative (col. 3, lines 65-67).
While Walling does not teach the average particle size to be diameter of the powder, the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 2: Walling teaches the cometic to comprise at least 3% of the powder (Abs).
Regarding claim 3: Walling teaches niacinamide to be the preferred vitamin B3 compound for use.
Regarding claim 5: Walling teaches the composition to preferably be free of water (col. 10, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 6: Walling teaches that the cosmetic can be formulated as a powder (col. 2, lines 25-30 and col. 10, lines 5-10).
Claim(s) 1-3, 4 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walling (US 6,455,055), as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-7 above, and further in view of Breyfogle (US 2013/0189332).
Waling makes obvious the limitations of claims 1-3 and 5-7. Walling further teaches the inclusion of 1-20% of a coloring agent including inorganic colors/pigments (col. 9, lines 158-30), however, Walling does not teach these to be powders.
Breyfogle teaches cometic compositions including colored pigments selected from inorganic powders [0010].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Walling with those of Breyfogle. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to use inorganic colored powdered pigments as the inorganic colors/pigments of Walling as its prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gadient (WO 2015/011264).
Regarding claims 1 and 7: Gadient, Example 1, discloses improved formulations (abs). Gadient teaches a powder composition comprising 850g Nicotinamide (reading on a derivative of nicotinic acid) and 150g particulate sodium chloride (i.e. an inorganic powder). The final powder is taught to be a median size of 31µm.
While Gadient does not teach the average particle diameter of the powder, the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding the claimed “cosmetic”, this is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the composition of the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. The prior art discloses a powder as claimed ad therefore is expected to be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 2: The nicotinamide can be calculated to make up 85% of the composition (850/(850+150) * 100).
Regarding claim 4: The composition contains particulate sodium chloride (i.e. an inorganic powder).
Regarding claim 5: The composition does not contain water.
Regarding claim 6: The composition is a powder.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/846120 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose powdered cosmetic compositions comprising at least 3% of a powder of nicotinic acid or a derivative thereof (including niacinamide, tocopherol nicotinate etc.) having an average particle diameter of 40µm or less in combination with an inorganic powder, wherein the composition comprise less than 1% water.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613