DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AMINO AZUSA (WO2014076837A1).
Regarding claim 15, AMINO AZUSA discloses a robot comprising:
a robot body (100, 100a; figs. 1-3; col. 4, lines 26-39);
a battery accommodated in the robot body (energy source e,g, battery; col. 15, lines 45 to col. 16, lines 16);
a first leg (400a, figs. 1-3; col. 7, lines 5-40) and a second leg (400b, figs. 1-3; col. 7, lines 5-40), each leg coupled to opposite first and second sides of the robot body, respectively (figs. 1-3; col. 7, lines 5-40);
a first wheel assembly (500a, 510a; figs. 1-5) and a second wheel assembly (500b, 510, figs. 1-3) rotatably coupled to the first leg (400 a; figs. 1-3) and the second leg (400b; figs. 1-3) respectively (col. 7, lines 4-58), the first wheel assembly and the second wheel assembly including a first wheel (500a; figs. 1-5) and a second wheel (500a; figs. 1-5), respectively (col. 7, lines 4-58);
a first suspension motor (a first set of actuators 413 and 415 are both placed on a right side of the robot to perform suspension activities; col. 14, lines 13-36) and a second suspension motor (a second set of actuators 413 and 415 are both placed on left side of the robot to perform suspension activities; col. 14, lines 13-36) accommodated in the robot body, the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor being configured to drive the first leg and the second leg, respectively (col. 14, lines 13-36), the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor being configured to be sequentially (sequence is interpreted to include simultaneously or at the same time or at different times since no particular sequence was claimed) driven when the robot body is tilted towards the first side or towards the second side when compared to a preset horizontal tilt of the robot body (tilted in the horizontal Y-axis; col. 14, lines 37-57); and
a first wheel motor (510a, figs. 1-3) and a second wheel motor (510b, figs. 1-3) accommodated in the first wheel assembly and the second wheel assembly (col. 7, lines 4-58), respectively, the first wheel motor (510a, figs. 1-3) and the second wheel motor ( 510b, figs. 1-3) being configured to provide a driving force (driving force could including rotation, tilt, pitch, forward motion) to the first wheel and the second wheel, respectively (col. 7, lines 4-58; col. 14, lines 37-57), the first wheel motor and the second wheel motor being configured to be driven simultaneously when the robot body is tilted forward or backward when compared to the preset horizontal tilt (col. 7, lines 4-58; col. 14, lines 37-57).
Regarding claim 16, AMINO AZUSA discloses the robot of claim 15, wherein the first wheel motor and the second wheel motor are configured to be driven so that the first wheel and the second wheel rotate backward when a tilted direction of the robot body is forward (col. 8, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 17, AMINO AZUSA discloses the robot of claim 16, wherein the first wheel motor and the second wheel motor are configured to be driven so that the first wheel and the second wheel rotate forward when the tilted direction of the robot body is backward (robot has Inverted Pendulum Balance, IPB; col. 5, lines 10-67; col. 8, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 18, AMINO AZUSA discloses the robot of claim 17, wherein, when the first wheel motor and the second wheel motor are driven in an opposite direction to the tilted direction, the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor are configured to be maintained in a stopped state (robot has Inverted Pendulum Balance, IPB; col. 5, lines 10-67; col. 8, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 19, AMINO AZUSA discloses the robot of claim 15, wherein, when a tilted direction of the robot body is toward the first side, the second suspension motor is configured to be controlled to be driven, and wherein, only when the preset horizontal tilt is not achieved, the first suspension motor is configured to be controlled after the driving of the second suspension motor is finished (robot has Inverted Pendulum Balance, IPB; col. 5, lines 10-67; col. 8, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 20, AMINO AZUSA discloses the robot of claim 15, further comprising a tilt detection sensor located in the robot body, the tilt detection sensor being configured to detect a tilting degree of the robot body (lineal, rotational, motion sensors 110; col. 14, lines 58-64).
Regarding claim 24, AMINO AZUSA discloses the robot of claim 15, further comprising a contact detection sensor configured to detect a state in which the first wheel and the second wheel are in contact with a ground (touch sensor on leg or wheel will sense ground contact (col. 14, lines 58-64).
Regarding claim 25, AMINO AZUSA discloses the robot of claim 24, wherein the contact detection sensor includes:
a time of flight (TOF) sensor disposed on each wheel assembly, the time of flight (TOF) sensor being configured to measure a distance to the ground (velocity, distance4. acceleration sensors, etc; col. 14, lines 58-64); and
a load cell disposed on each leg, the load cell being configured to detect a normal force received by the leg from the ground (force sensor on legs; col. 14, lines 58-64).
Regarding claim 27, AMINO AZUSA discloses a method of controlling a robot, the robot including:
a robot body (100, 100a; figs. 1-3; col. 4, lines 26-39),
a first leg (400a, figs. 1-3; col. 7, lines 5-40) and a second leg (400b, figs. 1-3; col. 7, lines 5-40), each leg connected to respective opposite sides of the robot body (figs. 1-3; col. 7, lines 5-40),
a first wheel assembly (500a, 510a; figs. 1-5) and a second wheel assembly (500b, 510, figs. 1-3) connected to the first leg (400 a; figs. 1-3) and the second leg (400b; figs. 1-3) respectively (col. 7, lines 4-58), the first wheel assembly and the second wheel assembly including a first wheel (500a; figs. 1-5) and a second wheel (500a; figs. 1-5) respectively (col. 7, lines 4-58),
a first suspension motor (a first set of actuators 413 and 415 are both placed on a right side of the robot to perform suspension activities; col. 14, lines 13-36) and a second suspension motor (a second set of actuators 413 and 415 are both placed on left side of the robot to perform suspension activities; col. 14, lines 13-36) accommodated in the robot body, the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor configured to drive the first leg and the second leg respectively (col. 14, lines 13-36), and
a first wheel motor (510a, figs. 1-3) and a second wheel motor ( 510b, figs. 1-3) accommodated in the first wheel assembly and the second wheel assembly respectively (col. 7, lines 4-58), the first wheel motor (510a, figs. 1-3) and the second wheel motor ( 510b, figs. 1-3) being configured to provide a driving force (driving force could including rotation, tilt, pitch, forward motion) to the first wheel and the second wheel respectively (col. 7, lines 4-58; col. 14, lines 37-57), the method comprising:
an attitude measuring operation of measuring a tilted direction and a tilt value compared to a preset horizontal tilt of the robot (lineal, rotational, motion sensors 110; col. 14, lines 58-64), and
a motor driving operation (driving operation could including driving force, rotation, tilt, pitch, forward motion) of driving the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor or the first wheel motor and the second wheel motor according to the tilted direction (tilted in the horizontal Y-axis; col. 14, lines 37-57), wherein,
when the tilted direction of the robot body is toward the first side or toward the second side, the motor driving operation including sequentially driving the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor or driving any one of the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor (col. 7, lines 4-58; col. 14, lines 37-57).
Regarding claim 28, AMINO AZUSA discloses the method of claim 27, wherein, when the tilted direction of the robot body is forward or backward, the motor driving operation includes controlling driving of the first wheel motor and the second wheel moto so that the first wheel and the second wheel rotate in a direction opposite to the tilted direction (col. 7, lines 4-58; col. 14, lines 37-57).
Regarding claim 29, AMINO AZUSA discloses the method of claim 28, wherein, when the first wheel motor and the second wheel motor are driven in the opposite direction to the tilted direction, the motor driving operation includes maintaining the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor in a stopped state (robot has Inverted Pendulum Balance, IPB; col. 5, lines 10-67; col. 8, lines 1-12; col. 14, lines 58-64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23, 26, 30-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
21. (New) The robot of claim 15, wherein each leg includes:
a first link, the first link being link-connected to a corresponding side of the first side and the second side of the robot body, the first link being connected to a corresponding suspension motor of the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor;
a second link, the second link being link-coupled to the corresponding side of the robot body to which the first link is coupled; and
a third link, the third link being link-coupled to the first link and the second link, the third link being coupled to a corresponding wheel assembly of the first wheel assembly and the second wheel assembly, wherein, when a tilted direction of the robot body is toward the first side, the second suspension motor is configured to be driven such that an angle between the first link and the third link located at the second side decreases.
22. (New) The robot of claim 21, wherein, when the preset horizontal tilt is not achieved and the angle between the second link and the third link that are located at the second side decreases to a preset minimum critical angle, the first suspension motor is configured to be driven so that the angle between the first link and the third link that are located at the first side increases .
23. (New) The robot of claim 22, wherein, when the preset horizontal tilt is not achieved, the angle between the first link and the third link that are located at the first side is a preset maximum critical angle, and the angle between the first link and the third link that are located at the second side is the minimum critical angle, the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor are configured to be driven so that the maximum critical angle and the minimum critical angle are maintained.
26. (New) The robot of claim 25, wherein, based on a signal from the contact detection sensor, each wheel motor is configured to stop driving the respective wheel regardless of a tilted degree of the robot body, when the respective wheel is spaced apart from the ground.
30. (New) The method of claim 27, wherein, when the robot is tilted towards the first side, the motor driving operation includes:
driving the second suspension motor to raise the second wheel located at the second side;
controlling the driving of the second suspension motor to stop when the second wheel moves upward to a preset maximum height in a state in which the preset horizontal tilt is not achieved, and moving the first wheel disposed downward by controlling driving of the first suspension motor; and
controlling the driving of the first suspension motor when the first wheel moves downward to a preset minimum height in the state in which the preset horizontal tilt is not achieved.
31. (New) The method of claim 27, wherein each leg includes:
a first link, the first link being link-connected to a corresponding side of the first side and the second side of the robot body, the first link being connected to a corresponding suspension motor of the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor;
a second link, the second link being link-coupled to the corresponding side of the robot body to which the first link is coupled; and
a third link, the third link being link-coupled to the first link and the second link, the third link being coupled to a corresponding wheel assembly of the first wheel assembly and the second wheel assembly, and
wherein, when a tilted direction of the robot body is toward the first side, the motor driving operation includes driving the second suspension motor such that an angle between the first link and the third link located at the second side decreases.
32. (New) The method of claim 31, wherein, when the preset horizontal tilt is not achieved and the angle between the second link and the third link that are located at the second side decreases to a preset minimum critical angle, the motor driving operation further include driving the first suspension motor such that the angle between the first link and the third link that are located at the first side increases.
33. (New) The method of claim 32, wherein, when the preset horizontal tilt is not achieved, the angle between the first link and the third link that are located at the first side is a preset maximum critical angle, and the angle between the first link and the third link that are located at the second side is the minimum critical angle, the motor driving operation further includes driving the first suspension motor and the second suspension motor so that the maximum critical angle and the minimum critical angle are maintained.
34. (New) The method of claim 27, further comprising:
detecting whether one of the first wheel or the second wheel is spaced apart from a ground; and
stopping driving the one of the first wheel or the second wheel regardless of a tilted degree of the robot body when the one of the first wheel or the second wheel is spaced apart from the ground.
Conclusion
The prior art, JP 5923621 B2, WO 2014076837 A1, US 20110054681 A1,
CN 214875226 U made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657